Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tree Hotel 3 stars

Hoefijzerlaan 21, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#74 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1601 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    very close to city center, peaceful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel very close to the city center and has a parking area inside the garden. You may leave your car in the hotel and go to the city center within 5-7 minutes on foot. I accommodated there with my wife for a day. Everything we need was inside the room. We felt really comfortable within accommodation. Breakfast was favorable for our taste and culture. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were ok but the pillows not so much.

    We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Good location near the train station and short walking distance to the center of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The bedroom has lots of different lights and color lights that make the room very cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    We had three lovely days in Brugge and the hotel wasn’t far from the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could also use a fan for when you shower.

    We enjoyed our stay but I do have some gentle suggestions 😊 Our room #22 was easy to get in and out off, my mom is elderly but the bathroom was big and brand new only the shower curtain didn’t reach the floor, was about hip length and that made the floor of the bathroom wet and slippery when taking a shower not good even for young people as it would be easy to slip and fall. Also not much room to place your toiletries , I would suggest adding some shelves, especially since the room can hold 4 people. Then I would add some wash clothes so you can wash your self!! Plenty of towels, that was not a problem. The room is very stuffy when the temperature is high outside, a fan or air condition would be awesome. But other that the room was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Noisy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was on a very big noisy street and extremely busy. So noise was a big problem when you want some rest and sleep. Also the coffee machine in the lounge area was out of order all the time! The bathroom glasses provided were also never cleaned during the 3 night stay.

    Old hotel, clean room and close to the square. Staff helpful with taxi and luggage storage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Only hotel we stay at when visiting Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is now assigned. Don't mind it too much unless the car parked next to yours is a little too close.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location. It is an easy walk to the sites. Breakfast was a good spread that my picky children looked forward to eating breakfast. We stay at this hotel every time we come to Bruges for holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet location yet still very central to all key areas. Very clean and comfortable rooms with excellent service by all the staff. Will 100% be back here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.9
    dirty bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inner side of the bed cover is dirty, I found it before go sleep, and there is no staff, no reception after 9, so no one to change it. if you want to stay there,better check it earlier.

    no

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There was a hot drinks machine available in the foyer but you had to pay each time you used them which was inconvenient. The rooms were up a flight of stairs and it was confusing to find as the wrong room numbers were posted.

    The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a good location just a short walk to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location from the main square, bus station and train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a double room, but upon check in were given a twin room. The lady on reception kindly moved our room so we had a double like ordered. However in this room the air con did not work. We informed the staff of this but nothing was done. There was a small fan in the room, but unfortunately it didnt do much and the room was uncomfortably warm compared to the corridors which were the perfect temperature.

    Good location from the main square, bus station and train station. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, very well priced, charming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would book a room again in a heartbeat.

    Super location, very friendly and polite staff, quick check-in & check-out, clean room and bathroom, good Wifi signal. The price is very attractive!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    It could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very hot. The air conditioner was in the wall but not working. The phone was not working either. To get the room there was 03 scalators and no elevator. We had 02 heavy suitcases

    The localization is wonderfull. The breakfast either The check in was perfect, we arrived very late and they let the kyes wating in a special place under a code

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    We had a lovely stay at The Golden Tree Hotel. It is close to the main streets that lead to the centre of the city. The staff was friendly and polite, and we were able to leave our luggage after we checked out, which was very useful because we spent another few hours in the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, would definitely recommend for a stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was at the front of the hotel, and I found the road was a little loud as I could hear trucks rumbling as they passed. But this didn't happen too late into the night so didn't disrupt my sleep too much.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful, and we were given a map and a general description of the area for sightseeing on our arrival. Lovely room, comfortable bed. Location was very convenient, and has reserved off road parking. Heavy blackout curtains made for a great night's sleep. Bathroom was very modern and impressive, generally very clean with nice decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    It is located at a beautiful place 1 minutes from the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit noisy but it was the guests fault not the hotel. The double bed could have been bigger and the mattress harder.

    It is located at a beautiful place 1 minutes from the old town. They were wery kind. The small hotel looks awsome, with a nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only fault was a lack of kettle in the room for making tea/coffee. Perhaps being British means this is not as important to others!!! There was however a coffee machine where you could pay for hot drinks, but I often take teabags everywhere I go in the hope for a kettle to be in the room. It did not by any amount ruin the stay though, and there are tea-rooms to satisfy those "brew cravings".

    Really welcoming property. We were running a little late for check-in and I received a phonecall from the lovely lady on reception double checking our arrival time to ensure we could get checked into the property. The rooms were really comfortable and clean. The location was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel just by the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The réception was not open enough and didn t give alot of advice. We said that the sink wasn t evacuating well. They didn t even check it and i m sure we re not the first ones to have mentioned it. You have to take the huge key with you all day... Yes à bit poor on the staff

    The location was nice. Rooms and view are lovely. Bes are confortable and all was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Hugely disappointing. Terrible v4m Eur 900 for 4 nights for a horrible cheap place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dirty .... smelly .... parking was a mess and completely mis-represented when we booked. Couldn't find the hotel (no signs) so much worse than where we stayed last yr. Left my (expensive) reading glasses there and the advertised e-mail address doesn't work - cosmic!

    the staff were friendly and genuinely tried to help - not their fault

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Not a hotel more a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no indication that there was no facilities for evening meal or bar The only thing there was a small coffee maker at a price of 2.5 Euro for small latte The reception closedown at 2100hrs We had to go to the square for a meal and a drink The towels in our room had hole,s in them Would not call this a hotel more a B&B I say Our room was very hot when we got there ,had shut the skylight and put the air conditioner full to bring the temperature down It was good job I did as during the night we had a thunderstorm and the bed was directly under the skylight

    The room was decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Spacious, clean room with modern decor. Location good - hotel 5-10 min Walk from main attractions Great fun sitting out on the courtyard chatting to other guests!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Very close to the city center, very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too small for being called "deluxe" and the ventilation was bad for the weather.

    Very close to the city center, very nice people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.5
    Pleased we selected this hotel, perfect for our needs, would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions to the car park were not quite as clear as they could have been, but easy to find once you knew where to go, very convenient and inexpensive too.

    Perfect location for the city and lovely room with large bathroom and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was that their was building work going on at the hotel. Didn't effect our stay but was a bit of a eyesore

    Great front desk staff and first class roon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for the room we had. Room 22.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed a couple of years ago in a proper family room. This year we paid significantly more for a smaller room! Was very, very disappointed with that.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great place when traveling solo. Clean, comfortable, modern interior design with local architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was very helpful especially when I called when couldn’t find entrance to hotel (parking area being renovated until May). Clear, calm instructions and stayed late just to make sure I was well settled in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    Room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need to register my indignation at the receptionist of the Golden Tree Hotel (Hoefijzerlaan 21, Bruges), one of receptionists very rude. On arrival, when I realized that I had been charged double the daily municipal fee, I politely asked for correction. Very stressed, she returned the difference in money roughly. When I asked her about the price of the room for one person and two people for the same, she even wanted to hear it and started talking loudly and said that I should look for another hotel. It is really disappointing this quality in this hotel. To finish, it is written on the hotel's business card the following: “we wish you a nice and relaxing stay”...

    Room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Amazing, my wife had a fabulous birthday and was very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was no tea/coffee making facility in the room however there was a vending machine but unfortunately it wasn't working so the staff made my wife and I a drink instead. Happy days.

    The hotel was just amazing, warm friendly clean hotel in a fantastic location. Our room was amazing with lovely ambient lighting, very relaxing and cosey! We will definitely book again !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect, near to Brugge center (5 min walk)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was not hard enough, the room and the bathroom was not so clean as expected. Also we had a problem with absorbing water in the bathtub.

    The location was perfect, near to Brugge center (5 min walk) and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    French door to room — glass was broken in need of repair. Booking.com said city tax was included in price but hotel made us pay it again!

    Hotel basic but clean no frills

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very pleasant hotel, central located, good breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very good location, just walking distance from the centre. Check in and staff were quick and friendly. The room was pleasant and clean, breakfast was very good. My father had an accident and fell on the street and hurt his hand, at the reception they provided immediately first help with alcohol, band-aid and pain killers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lovers Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We have booked the lovers room , but it seems that it wasn't available. However , our room was really nice , very comfortable bed and bathroom was very functional and spotless . Very please with everything !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more expensive than we normally budget without any extra perks. Parking was very limited. We had to have 2 rooms, and they were on separate floors. The top floor room was nice & remodeled, however very hot!

    It is close enough to walk to the Bruges center. The staff was polite. The bed was comfortable & toiletries were provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    No tea or coffee facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. There was a machine in the reception are which charged €2. Not something I expect when staying in a hotel. Also when I got up early to leave and drive back to Dunkirk the machine wasn't working.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good WiFi and good value for money. Nice staff and reasonable facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon booking I asked for help with things to make the holiday special for my partner as it was a surprise for my birthday, but i never got anything back nor was there any acknowledgement of this by the hotel or the staff. Then just small things like there was no “do not disturb” option, the bin wasn’t emptied daily and glasses weren’t replaced during the whole trip so we just had the same plastic cups

    There was a small quiet area to make coffees and get snacks. The rooms were well presented and the WiFi is the best I’ve ever had at a hotel. Large rooms with excellent bathrooms. Very good value for money and a very good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Central location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. The door to the stairs banged closed all night and early morning (a hotel like that should put a mechanism that stops the door from doing that).

    Central location and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we didn't have breakfast in the morning but I was under the impression that we had that included with the price. Nevertheless , we still loved our stay there .

    Was very happy with our stay , me and my girlfriend enjoyed 2 nights at the hotel and would go back when we revisit Bruges

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee,

    The room was very comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful And overall we enjoyed our stay I would definitely recommend to friends and family ,the location was also good just a ten minute walk to the centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was quite soft for my taste Access to the parking was a little bit confusing (but it's ok)

    Great breakfast Good location (near the center)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    It was on the main road.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small beds. I would say 1 person 1 bed even you are skinny.

    It was on the main road. We arrived quite late have to self check in but the emergency number guy was quite helpful. Steadily enter the room. Halal food and the shopping district were quite near though

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    3.3
    Will not be booking with them again or staying at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked through booking.com which was easy then they sent the wrong information to the hotel so we was put in the wrong room so paid more for a room we didn’t get!! When we asked for a refund we was refused at the hotel and booking.com ignored all our emails so was out of pocket! The room left a lot to be desired! It had damp on the wall the bed was hideous and the room just felt unclean! The staff was not helpful what so ever with our issues and room problems, they kept saying it was booking.coms fault talk to them. We are still waiting for a reply after sending 5 emails.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Very Christmassy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed a bit of maintenance (but was still clean)

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. We liked the decorations they put out for Christmas! The room was comfortable and well laid out. There was a good choice for breakfast. The location meant it was easy to get to the main square etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall a fine location and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the room was not fully finished (some bits of masking tape, uncovered pieces of wall and visible wires). Value for money could be better since the services provided are limited and extra services need to be purchased (parking is more expensive than at the parking garage 200m away, no complementary coffee or tea).

    Overall a fine location and building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Cosy, romantic and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lovers Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought the bathtub was a jacuzzi at first, but soon realised it wasn't. We also felt that the breakfast was too expensive and should have been included in the room price.

    The top bunk in our 'Lovers Room' and the clean and spacious bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    No value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic with twin beds given to a couple. Practically nothing is available in the room except for a soap in bathroom. For the price charged, we felt it’s not worth.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall very happy so thumbs up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I took a travel kettle just in case but would be better if one were provided in the room.

    Very comfy bed, the room was nice and clean and the staff were helpful. Also the breakfast was good value with plenty on offer and excellent coffee. Would be happy to re-book for a longer stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice property and convenient to all attractions in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guest room we were in was very dark. There was no overhead lighting in the room, only over the window. There was a "screen" over the window that didn't pull up to get more light in the room. The only lights in the the bedroom was at one end leaving the rest of the room in darkness. In order to use the room safe, we had to use our flashlight to read the numbers on it. There was a lamp on the "desk", but what most hotels don't seem to take into consideration is that there should be a mirror over the desk for ladies to put their make-up on and perhaps a vanity mirror. I tried putting my make-up on in the bathroom, but the sink was very wide and I couldn't get close enough to the mirror. Another problem we did have was that you couldn't switch the shower off to run a bath. There was faucet for the bath, but there was no switch to change from shower to bath. I did find a very dark hairs in the bathtub which is always a turn off for me. The bathtub was clean but should have been checked. On our last day there, we were the first to arrive in the breakfast room and I helped myself to some beans and mushrooms. Unfortunately, they were cold. Apparently the switch to heat up them up hadn't been turned on. There was no one to ask about it, so I went ahead and turned it on myself. One last thing was one of our neighbors. Very loud. Even taking a shower, we overheard them. They didn't quiet down till after 11:30pm. This of course does not reflect on the hotel, as you can't really do anything about it except ask them to be quiet. One thing to suggest would be to have coffee and tea service available in the guest rooms.

    The location of the hotel was excellent and a very easy walk to Christmas Market and all attractions in Bruges. The Hotel itself was quite pretty done up for Christmas and the staff was excellent. Parking was convenient and adjacent to the property. Once parked, never used it again till we left. Quite pleased that there was an elevator to get us to our room instead of having to walk up 2 flights of stairs as with some hotels. The rooms were clean. Buffet breakfast was nice and had a good variety of things to suit everyone. Very pleased about the hair dryer being actually in the bathroom. So much easier to use. We were concerned about the room being on the "street" side, but thankfully, the traffic was very light and we didn't hear very much traffic at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Love Bruges beautiful place but not sure if I would stay again due to noise of the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the front of the hotel is on a Busy main road so is quite noisy if your used to quiet at night, the room was quiet small and no tea / coffee in rooms so a hot drink cost 2.50 from the machine downstairs in a paper cup,

    Nice and close to everything with the parking a big bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay even though the weather wasnt that good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car park is a little small.

    we loved the atmosphere in the hotel,beds were comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. the location is also very good,being only afew minutes walk to the centre and easy to access on inward and outward journeys.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Hotel charged the room on my credit card 37 hours prior to arrival!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged my credit card one and 1/2 days (5 a.m. Oct 31, 2017) prior to my arrival at 7:00 p.m. On Nov 1, 2017 and the receptionist informed me that this practice was "normal". I did not think it was normal as no other hotels with reservations in the past two years had ever charged my credit card prior to arrival. I 100% resented this practice of the Golden Tree hotel. Also, they have "lost" my special request for "a quiet room away from traffic and elevators" and booked me a room next the the elevator that was facing the main road with high traffic noise. After talking to the manager I was assigned a quiet room as originally requested. Both incidents were disappointing and unnecessary.

    Manager had corrected room assignment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Dissapointing -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on arrival was hopeless - I requested parking and there was none availible they could have let us know in advance - asked for manager she couldn't tell me when he was in - tried to charge me city tax twice - may be a kettle and coffee and tea facility in rooms needed as no bar in hotel - but the receptionist spoilt the experience for me in the main - would look at other hotels before returning - I always recommended this hotel in the past to friends and family but NO more - this review seems a contradiction but hotel building and rooms fab - but receptionist not fab

    Great choice for breakfast hot and cold buffet - don't be fooled by the exterior of the building as inside is tastefully decorated to high standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Like a fairytale. City is just beautiful, hotel was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to put here really. Maybe slightly over priced but that’s me being very critical and very British.

    Lovely hotel in an absolutely outstandingly beautiful city. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly, rooms were clean, shower was amazing and beds comfy. Excellent nights sleep as the hotel is situated at a perfect distance from Bruges’ busy city centre for a quiet night but close enough to be able to walk to the following day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Stylish and comforatble stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to find, no parking available at the hotel when we arrived but there was plenty parking spaces near by.

    Small but fabulous dining room. Friendly staff. Spotless clean rooms and stylish décor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and we have no reason to complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facility would have been nice, but not vital. Car park slightly challenging.

    Location was good, rooms reasonable size, bathroom good, beds comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. Overall would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    We were not automatically provided soap and napkin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not automatically provided soap and napkin. Staff assigned during the morning tried to bill us for the other day’s breakfast buffet without even looking at the computer to confirm that we already paid. When I told her that we already paid, she said “not to me.”

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    The location was very good, less than 10 minutes' walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a 3 night stay for our 1st wedding anniversary and emailed ahead of time to mention this, also requesting a quiet room. My email was unanswered. We arrived and discovered our request for a quiet room had not been fulfilled and we were on the second floor next to the busy road. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, no mini fridge should we want to keep our own drinks cool and the only window was in a floor to ceiling double door which opened out onto the noisy road - no fans or air con meant nights were too warm to sleep well. Our shower screen (room 212) was damaged which meant if we wanted a shower we would have flooded the bathroom. I complained about this at the front desk and was told it would be looked at when it was less busy. The problem was not dealt with. I was very disappointed especially as it was such a special occasion for us. Will not be staying again.

    The location was very good, less than 10 minutes' walk to the shopping streets and centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely friendly and town was beautiful will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in the room so had to use machine if I had change or wait till breakfast

    The breakfast was great everything I love and the room and bed was lovely very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient for families with kids, well positioned not in the center but very close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise isolation is very poor modern lights management is nice but, too many lights during the night

    Quadruple room was very confortable Bathroom large and modern Car park very convenient if driving

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Friendly,helpful staff and the beds were generously sized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works on and around the hotel site.

    Friendly,helpful staff and the beds were generously sized. While hotel was traditionally modern. Good location just outside the centre of Bruges.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    A nice, clean place to stay. Close walk to downtown. Just bring your ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the bath towels looked dirty and stained badly,the rest were clean. Probably the laundry they used made the error in sending them out. On a very busy street which wasn't stated. The breakfast is over priced.

    Very new bathroom and bedroom well done, not the "old world" charm I thought to get,but very nice modern room. Comfortable. Clean. Helpful, pleasant staff. Close to downtown and train station. Vend machine has a nice selection, microwave and glasses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    2 days in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very comfortable in the room provided. Modern decor and minimal furnishings gave us more space and there was more than enough storage and hanging space for our things.

    The exterior of the building conceals a beautifully presented entrance hall adorned with statues elegant decor. The reception area is very grand without being cluttered or untidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Bad customer service, ignorance, lies, and cold room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our experience with this hotel was simply the worst in 20 odd years. When we came to the hotel at about 10pm we realised the radiator / heater was broken. It was getting cold outside, and inside the room as well. We promptly called the reception, only to find out there was no one there. The "night manager" picked up the phone, from a different location, and he could not really speak English, so it took time to explain to him what was the issue. He then said he could not do anything at all with the radiator. I said we needed a different room or at least blankets. His response was - can't do. I then called him again and demanded to talk to the hotel owner - they position themselves as a family-run business. I was refused my request and again told nothing was possible. And so I called Booking and explained the situation. The Booking lady called the same person and was assured the hotel owner was coming to fix the situation. However, no one came! And so we had to sleep in our clothes in a cold room. Next morning I was given the most ridiculous explanation of the events last night, which didn't sound right, and anyway didn't solve the problem. Left the Golden Tree hotel most disappointed

    It is located not so far from the city centre, therefore not so very expensive. It is within walking distance to the centre though. On a busier street, but it is quiet inside, and overall the hotel itself is quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I think there might be a flaw with Booking.com when it prompts to parking on this location. When I booked I chose a parking space. Apparently it did not get through to the hotel. We had to park at an parking lot not on the grounds.

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Looks like the rooms were given a new coat of paint. So, meaning, tastefully done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Thanks for a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath was hard to get into. Lack of a kettle and coffee making in room.

    Close to centre of city. Breakfast was very good. Staff were very kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building still in the process of being upgraded possibly, bathroom not finished, pretty sure people could see into bathroom from the street. Very hot room, no fan, air conditioner not yet working, phone not working, maybe it will be better when they finish working on it.

    I'm sorry but I wasn't very happy with this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    When we return to Brugge, the Golden Tree will be among the first places we consider staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was as it should be. No dislikes.

    The staff were especially helpful and accommodating. The offered (without our asking to store our bags and to let us continue to park in their parking area for the rest of the day AFTER we checked out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Location was excellent for the centre of town, but the coffee let it down a minor complaint overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was out of a machine and didn't taste very nice, and no kettles in the rooms giving you the choice to make your own.

    Rooms were lovely, the light switching on as you walked past them through the night was excellent, the showers and bathrooms were exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    2.9
    New rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start!!!!! Staff awful! Woken up at 8am by builders in the loft above us! Couldn't get passed the ladder leading to the lift part... good job it wasn't urgent! Room was roasting. Air con unit on the wall but it does not work and apparently that's normal! Never again. Doubt ever using booking.com if that's the sort of hotels you use

    New rooms. That's it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Short stay enroute to CenterParcs at Kempervennen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with tea/coffee making facilities.

    Good location, near to the Z'tand and central Bruges. The staff were really warm and welcoming from the young man on the front desk when we arrived through to the server in the breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    This was our second visit and the owners are very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second visit and the owners are very friendly and the hotel has very convenient parking and is an easy 10min walk into the old town. The décor is classical and quirky with very smart room decoration aswell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    We wish we took another place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was not very clean. We add pictures of the condition of the hotel... We had problems with electricity in the bathroom and no one to talk to in the evening.

    Almost nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is moden I like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if the hotel provided kettle in rooms to boil hot water. One of my friends was sick, we needed some hot water. But reception was closed. We could get hot water from the coffee machine but u know each time is 1 euro at least. We could easily spend 10 euros for hot water.

    Hotel is moden I like it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Cheap & cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower flooded the bathroom and the bedroom! This was in just one of our rooms, but it happened twice and nothing was done to prevent it.

    Extremely friendly family run hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went during a heat wave, so not exactly the property's fault. However, it was so hot in the room. We had a tiny fan, but it just couldn't cool the room off. I would stay here again, just not in the summer when there is a possibility of a high heat index.

    We stayed in a triple room and had plenty of space, the breakfast got the job done. The location was great and easy to walk into the city center. There were several restaurants around within a couple minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Great lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities other than at breakfast. This sounds trivial but it is important. Kettle in room or machine accessible at any time would have got them an extra star.

    The hotel is friendly, welcoming and comfortable. Lovely bathroom. Better than the average budget city break hotel. Breakfast very good, all very fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely break in Brugge with visiting family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    . No aircon - rooms were unbearably hot (fan provided but of no help) . Smell - coming from bathroom pipes (sewerage) . Bathroom shower seals were inadequate and kept flooding the floor no matter what we tried . Noise in room (from traffic). I asked if the rooms were quiet and was told yes. Ours wasn't unfortunately. Not soundproofed rooms obviously and other guests noise travelled. . Pillows lumpy. I don't usually review so severely however, I felt the overall stay in the hotel and travelling with three seniors did not work for us on this occasion.

    . The decor of the room was nice. . Staff were friendly . Distance to Old Town Belfry is 1km. It is a pleasant walk strolling along the streets. . Brugge is a beautiful City.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe put tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Lovely hotel . Clean, plenty of hot water. Near to centre, bars and squares. Staff very helpful . Useful lift. Rooms well equipped with plenty of pillows. Good addition of a fan as was very warm during our stay. Great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Tree Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: