Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jacobs Brugge 3 stars

Baliestraat 1, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#97 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1464 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.0
    The worse shower in a hotel room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower!

    The worse shower in a hotel room! The shower head was so high it felt like trying to have a shower in the rain! And what if I don’t want to wash my hair everyday?!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Acceptable for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money, it was a small, basic room. The bathrooms are very small, awkward sink, shower pressure very low and hot/cold water sporadic.

    Helpful staff. Quaint hotel. Good for a 1 night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    At least it had a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. With cases on the floor there was no room to walk. Old and uncomfortable bed. Pokey bathroom with tiny basin with a shelf above so had trouble cleaning teeth. Only 3 pillows for 2 people.

    At least it had a lift. Free wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, good breakfast, perfectly clean. Our bathroom had a problem with the plumbing so the staff helped and moved us to another room. Great service. Easy walk into old town - beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    I specifically asked for a double bed and not 2 singles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically asked for a double bed and not 2 singles pushed together. Got the latter. Two towels each the size of hand towels. No pressure in the shower, impossible to rinse off. A very basically decorated room, nothing like the photos on-line. I don’t mind paying 149 euros(not including breakfast) but expected a quality room in return. This was far from worth the money. The lady at reception this morning told us we should have complained immediately and changed rooms but we just dropped our bags off and went into town. No one was at reception when we got back. She offered us coffee and mini-croissants. No parking facilities. Costs €9 for 4 hours to park in the street. Very disappointed.☹️☹️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, 10 minute walk to the main market, friendly and helpful staff, basic facilities but clean and comfortable, great value for the price we paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Fine for one night in a 3 star B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our experience would have been improved by having tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Our check in experience was good - the clerk was helpful and gave us a discount card which we used to rent a bike, to take a city bus tour and to visit the chocolate museum.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Quiet neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, almost no space for clothes, steep and narrow stairs, only cold breakfast. We had to choose specific time for breakfast during whole stay (hotel was full).

    Quiet neighbourhood. Very nice lady at the reception, gave us some advice about city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location, old historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioner Thin walls, very noisy Creaking floor upstairs, we heard every movement our neighbors made Very weak water pressure, it was hard to take a shower Bed uncomfortable Though it was a quiet neighborhood, you could hear every passing car in the street, very noisy

    Good location, old historical building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean and Spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little costly but I didn't know that it coincided with a religious festival.

    Clean and Spacious. Lovely helpful staff. I'm the old part of town with ask the charm virtually at the doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Okay for two nights but wouldnt return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were polite but not overly friendly or helpful. We didnt have the breakfast because it looked poor quality and not too much choice. Bar was never open when we were around!

    Bed was comfortable and room clean. Location is 10-15 min walk from centre and in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concerns about this hotel or/and my stay on it.

    The hotel is well located. It is just a short walking distance to and from the city centre. It is also located in a nice historical building. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had all the basic things needed and it was clean. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Quadruple room we booked was more than enough for us, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple room we booked was more than enough for us, with two young kids aged under 9. The rooms were great and the breakfast was excellent with a large spread that both my kids enjoyed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    A cute hotel in a quiet area close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent two nights in a room on the 3rd floor. The bed was comfy, the room and the toilet were nice, clean and big enough for two. From our window we could see the rooftops and towers of Bruges which was actually pretty romantic :) Walls are a bit thin but nothing too disturbing. Main square is only 8-10 minutes away and Tom's Diner, a restaurant highly recommended, is just 3 minutes away. Breakfast was okay, nothing special but good enough to start your day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good on this visit.

    The room was quite large. 2 rooms in fact, a double room and a room with 2 singles. There was a tv with a few English channels. The bathroom was new and very clean. The breakfast had a large selection to choose from. Teas, coffees and even a pot of hot chocolate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast and location near the Saint Gill's church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far from railway station. Also we paid attention to the non-working light in our room, but during two days of our stay no one fixed it, so it was impossible to use the main light.

    Good breakfast and location near the Saint Gill's church. 7-10 minutes walk to Markt, but it was very quite around. 5 minutes to supermarket Carrefour, which is very important because it's not so easy to fing a good not-touristic store in Brugge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    A decent place to sleep, provided that you use earplugs, but not a nice place to wash in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was cramped, had rusty fittings, a shower head that leaked, a toilet seat held on by only one bolt (dangerous) and almost no toilet paper. Even when I asked for a new toilet roll at reception, one was not supplied to the room :-( . Also, there was a lot of noise through the walls and ceilings in this old building.

    Staff were very polite and spoke good English. Bed was clean and comfortable and room lighting was easy to control (thick curtains made it very dark, if required).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Tight rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking at the hotel. Very disapointing, because I took the option with parking by my filter. Room very small, not more than 50cm place between bad and walls. And just one chair in double room. As we arrived it was icy cold in the room. Bathroom small and not comfortable. Watter pressure very low.

    Bad was comfortable. Breakfast room and reception nicely decorated. The staff gave some advice about restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Size of rooms to allow children in one room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room, poor broadband and shower flooded. Poor breakfast selection as well for expensive room.

    Size of rooms to allow children in one room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    room is fine, good view of roofs. DO NOT GET BREAKFAST!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast was aweful! €12,50 extra. there was no fruit left, no coffee left(wouldnt make more). Only some crusty pieces of wonder bread and cereal. aweful!

    the view from the room was nice. bathtub was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and staff but not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was TINY and outdated. When booking online, the photos portrayed larger rooms with more appealing furnishings and decor. I definitely felt misled and was disappointed that I spent so much money on the room. The breakfast was also disappointing. Mostly crackers and dry foods. There was a hair in the bread basket, which the employee continued to fill. Additionally, there were inadequate serving utensils, so people were grabbing food with their hands.

    The receptionist at the front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating. The location was ideal - only a 10 minute walk to the main square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value and location; helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room small. Shower very poor, sometimes almost no water. Breakfast satisfactory but could have been improved with a couple of small additions.

    Attractive old house with handy location in quiet part of centre. Staff very helpful (recommending restaurants, giving advice on a day of rail strikes), good service, clean rooms. Good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, lovely room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! We really liked the room, it was perfect for us.

    Great breakfast, great location, really helpful staff :) Also liked the extra storage features eg hooks on wall, made everything a bit easier! We also had a fantastic view of the city from our window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Cozy, how hotels should be, perfect with the setting of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Staff was super friendly. Communication through Booking.com was helpful - we found out there was storage at hotel so we could still travel in town on our check-out day and leave luggage there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    My stay was very disappointing!! 😕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare. The hotel room was tiny for a double room. The bathroom was a shoe box 😕 There was not even a small bottle of water in the room, no kettle for tea or coffee, no fridge. The phone didn’t have any instructions on how to call reception so couldn’t reach the reception for assistance in the room. I was just disappointed overall.

    Just the location. Central and close to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.3
    the price was good ... it was not far away from the city center... no breakfast next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not realy good ... after the first morning i walked in the city to get good breakfast there was a hole in the bathroom wall... maybe just in my room

    The hotel is not far away from the center... 5 min walk ....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    We booked a room for 5 (three adults and two children), but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was average. Cold eggs, wattery juice, no coffee, unripe fruits, just to mention a few.

    We booked a room for 5 (three adults and two children), but we got 2 rooms, which made it possible to let the children sleep while the adults could stay up longer and chat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel in lovely spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were a little thin, could hear a lot from rooms next door and above. There was no kettle or drink making facilities in the room

    Good location, In beautiful spot. very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was ok the rooms need updated it wasn't very clean the beds were comfortable the breakfast was good would go back

    It is a good hotel near everything 10mins walk to town breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    A disappointing, soulless hotel, which should be renamed Hotel Mary Celeste !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has very few staff, the reception was not manned between 21:00 and 08:30/09:00 and the only interaction with any staff at breakfast was to ask your room number. I don't know what would have happened if we had come back after the reception staff had gone home and had forgotten our key ? There were no tea / coffee making facilities in the room, which was unusual and inconvenient as we like our early morning coffee in bed before we get up. Breakfast was a continental one, EXACTLY the same for all 3 days, very uninspiring ! The bathroom, whilst adequate was just that, the bath was little more than a deep shower tray and there were a few broken fittings, most notably the shower wall fitting, which made showering awkward. The safe in the wardrobe didn't work and there were no instructions / numbers to ring by the phone. There were no communal areas other than the small soulless bar which was staffed by reception, so guess what if you wanted a drink after 21:00 ! It wasn't expensive, but we were very disappointed and expected much more based on the pictures and write up ! Suffice to say we won't be staying there again if we revisit Bruges !!

    The location was great for us, only a short walk into the centre of Bruges, but far enough out not to be too busy. It is not a canalside hotel, as many are, but the bells from the nearby church were quaint. The room was a good size and nice and clean, although not that well appointed and the bed (although two singles pushed together) was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.9
    Awful Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the first hotel review I have written but I feel it's important to share our experience and warn others. We were two families ( children aged 9 - 15) staying in two family rooms for two nights over the New Year's Eve period. We were given only one key per room. We arrived back just after midnight to find one of the families had lost their plastic key card. There were no staff at all in the hotel and we repeatedly tried to call the advised emergency number on the hotel phone in the other room as advised. The internal phone system did not work so we called internationally via mobile and after many attempts someone finally answered. The lady who answered the phone didn't care one jot about our trouble,and initially refused to help, saying it was impossible to get another key. She said "listen - you get one key only and thats it" We tried to explain that we had young children who needed to sleep in their beds and she then said "This number is for an emergency only - if there is a fire or if someone is dying!" After a very upsetting and nerve wracking exchange with this vile woman we were desperate and even offered money to get back into the room. The offer of money seemed to eventually persuade her and she agreed to tell us where there was a spare key ( all this time there had been one in the hotel.) It was like being in the secret police as we scrabbled around to find a torch to locate the key whilst she instructed and watched us on a security camera , insisting "Only one of you !!! I am watching!! We were so relieved and offered thanks but all she said was "don't speak to me! I don't want to hear your voice anymore!!" Throughout this awful exchange there was a man in the background on the phone swearing at us in English .."You can't find a F****** torch?! What do they want us to F******** do!?

    Bruges

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.9
    Awful Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the first hotel review I have written but I feel it's important to share our experience and warn others. We were two families ( children aged 9 - 15) staying in two family rooms for two nights over the New Year's Eve period. We were given only one key per room. We arrived back just after midnight to find one of the families had lost their plastic key card. There were no staff at all in the hotel and we repeatedly tried to call the advised emergency number on the hotel phone in the other room as advised. The internal phone system did not work so we called internationally via mobile and after many attempts someone finally answered. The lady who answered the phone didn't care one jot about our trouble,and initially refused to help, saying it was impossible to get another key. She said "listen - you get one key only and thats it" We tried to explain that we had young children who needed to sleep in their beds and she then said "This number is for an emergency only - if there is a fire or if someone is dying!" After a very upsetting and nerve wracking exchange with this vile woman we were desperate and even offered money to get back into the room. The offer of money seemed to eventually persuade her and she agreed to tell us where there was a spare key ( all this time there had been one in the hotel.) It was like being in the secret police as we scrabbled around to find a torch to locate the key whilst she instructed and watched us on a security camera , insisting "Only one of you !!! I am watching!! We were so relieved and offered thanks but all she said was "don't speak to me! I don't want to hear your voice anymore!!" Throughout this awful exchange there was a man in the background on the phone swearing at us in English .."You can't find a F****** torch?! What do they want us to F******** do!?

    Bruges

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Our first time in Bruges
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a small upgrade is needed but it's just a matter of taste

    Very cozy, very friendly staff, very nice little bar area, the coffee was really good and we listened to our country's Christmas carols. Now that was a nice touch. Breakfast was great and as a location, it's about 5-10min walking distance from the market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.3
    The location, historical building, nica staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and needs to be refurbished, not so clean, the shower drain doesn’t work. The most important negative thing was the smell of the room. It was awful.

    The location, historical building, nica staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    Give it a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired small bedrooms, poorly furnished, uncomfortable small single beds pushed together, tiny bathroom. At 90e/ night extremely poor value for money

    Good location close to centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    I personally recommend this hotel for groups! In general, we had a nice experience. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some stuff could have been better. In fact, the safe didn't work, even after changing the batteries. The room doesn't have a phone, so every time we needed anything, we had to go all the way down to the reception and ask for stuff (such as batteries for the safe). The room doesn't have a fridge, for example, I had a medication that needed to be kept in a cold place, so I had to put it in the hotel's kitchen.

    Good location. The hotel was very clean. Not recommended for a romantic couples, but very practical for groups who would like to benefit from connected rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the temperature was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Quaint little hotel offering pure Belgium hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little hotel tucked away on beautiful cobbled streets of Brugge very quiet area. Lovely soft mattresses. And a great European breakfast . Happy hour 5-6 great knowledge of the Belgium beer. Extremely clean too . Pleasant young lady on breakfast duty, attention to detail . Johan explained everything very well, the local knowledge of Brugge restaurants etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very close to the centre of Bruges, but it is about 25 min walk from the train station - however through the picturesque streets of Bruges. If you are not ready to walk, other options are a bus or a cab.

    Quiet location, very large bed, spacious room, very good breakfast - wide choice, amazing breakfast area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Shower had little to no pressure - when we told the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had little to no pressure - when we told the reception at the end they knew that it happens so we prob weren’t the first to complain. Otherwise fine 3 star but they should mend the plumbing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.3
    The room and bathroom had a very unpleasant and strong smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom had a very unpleasant and strong smell. In the morning someone stepped in our room and it's very noisy in the hotel so we woke up several times during the morning. The staff wasn't really welcoming either.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    The location is pretty close to main center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe everything could be better for the value. Needs refurbishment.

    The location is pretty close to main center. Walking distance to all amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was by the stairs and we could hear every single step. People running up and down

    The bed was super comfy, and the room spacious and warm (you can adjust temperature). Bathroom was clean and shower working perfectly. The breakfast is a buffet with loads of choice. The staff at reception was very friendly and funny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities. No shampoo. Thin wall - can hear every single footsteps/creaking floor, toilet flush & conversation on upper floor.

    Location is good. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.4
    very basic ,unfriendly, poor value for money. Final payment/checkout confusing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff unfriendly, uninterested, bordering on rude. Pillows were awfull, breakfast basic and boring. put some of our clothes in the tiny space in the wardrobe (no drawer space) and they came out smelling of cigarette smoke.

    nothing in particular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Great for flying visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally located for one night visit. Just off main bus route so parking not a problem (parked at train station). Good smallish room. Good breakfast. Quiet yet within easy walking distance of main visitor attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location - small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a 3-star hotel I was expecting for the breakfast buffet, as scrambeld eggs, fresh coffee (specialities) and ´real` rolls - not the ones from the supermarket to warm up. I reported a broken light in our room on the first day of our stay. Although we stayed for 3 nights and it seemed like the receptionist checked on it, it hasn´t been fixed during our stay. Also the receptionist wouldn´t come back to us about this issue. The room is very small - I wasn´t expecting that from the pictures, even with just a small suitcase and a backpacker it was quite difficult to store everything, when you stay for more than a night...

    Great location. It i snot directly in the coty centre, but within 10min you can walk to the city centre. The lady from the Check-In was very lovely, she gave us some tipps on where to park [The best option is to park at the train station 3,50€/24hrs + free bus ticket into the city] and to eat, back then there was the Kookeet-Festival going on which she recommened. Very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    We have enjoyed previous visits. The price was extortionate and we shall not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped as was the shower room. The shower temperature had to be controlled by use of separate hot and cold taps - not thermostatically controlled. This is extremely DANGEROUS because if another room was running a hot tap we have stayedand then turned it off, the shower temperature would rise sharply possibly to scalding. Furthermore the shower curtain was held up on a rail which fell down. A new system of parking had been introduced since our last visit to the area but the person on reception wasn't at all helpful in explaining it

    Very good breakfast but 8.30 is really too late for those who have a long onward journey to make.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    The rooms were a good size and the cleaner did a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work in our room. The shower was just a trickle of water.

    The rooms were a good size and the cleaner did a wonderful job. The location was great, town was just a short walk away and being right next to a church tower if was easy to find even if you got lost among the little streets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is on the street, 9 euro for 4 hours max. every 4 hour you need to top up

    breakfast was good room/bed was nice convenient and quiet location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location to walk into centre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on the street. Parking meters that need to be feed 9 euros every 4 hrs from 9am to 6pm. So where ever you go to for the day you need to keep returning to the parking meter

    Great location to walk into centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very average. The bar was supposed to be open till 10pm but closed without reason at 10.15. Staff were grumpy. The rooms were tiny, but to fair they were very clean. Overall a very average hotel.

    It was clean and perfectly good as a business hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    When we arrived to check-in, we were provided the key to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived to check-in, we were provided the key to a room that had not been cleaned. In addition, it did not at all resemble the photos provided online for a 'superior double room' - which we had paid 119 euro for, for 1 night. Customer service is lacking. The rooms do not have soundproofing (despite the online description), and given that it is an old building, it is quite loud.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Not too far from the city center, also the breakfast lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady behind the reception should retire, she scared the four of us with her nasty unwelcoming way of handling her job, completely incapable for the reception, maybe she is good with gardening, hotel business will die under her hands, a big no!

    Not too far from the city center, also the breakfast lady did a great job for everybody, she could very well be the new manager, as the lady behind the counter can learn a few lessons from the lady at the breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    It was a good base and a nice walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a nightmare to find all the streets look the same. The staff weren't rude but could do with trying to smile a bit more!

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.9
    El Hotel nos estafó.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cuando a las 9:30 de la noche reclame la habitación y pedí toallas me dijeron que por la mañana, que la recepción cerraba de 10:00 de la noche a las 8:30 de la mañana y no podían hacer nada. Tuve que esperar a las 8:35 para tener toallas, aunque teníamos previsto salir a las 8:00. Por supuesto al día siguiente la respuesta a las quejas fue, es que tenemos el hotel lleno y no podemos cambiarle la habitación. Cuando pedimos la hoja de reclamaciones y la rellenamos pusieron que había sido un problema de comunicación, cuando simplemente no quisieron darme una habitación como la que había pagado. Mirar la foto, porque eso es lo que hay, la habitación es exactamente lo que veis 2,5 mt + 3 mt baño incluido y con dos camas en ese espacio

    El Hotel nos estafó. En vez de la habitación de las fotos de Internet (que existe, aunque es mas pequeña de lo que parece en las fotos, nos dio una habitación con dos camas de juguete (los pies salían de la cama),con un fuerte olor a humedad, en la que la luz no funcionaba (cuando me queje me dieron una lampara ridícula), en el baño no había toallero porque no cabía, el armario eran colgadores en la pared encima de la cama. Cuando nos quejamos nos dijeron que no les quedaban mas habitaciones que estaba lleno y cuando llene la hoja de reclamación, nos dijeron que había sido un problema de comunicación. A la hora de cobrar la habitación, nos cobraron la habitación de la foto en booking, y obviamente nos dijeron que pagábamos la que habíamos reservado en booking y que lamentaban no habernos podido dar esa habitación, pero que el precio era el de la que habíamos reservado

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.3
    Panicking and not willing to listen won't help your guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to Brugge and stayed at this hotel for a night. The location is great. I paid for a double bedroom but got a twin apparently due to availability. The person who checked us in was helpful. We went to the room and saw the room wasn't cleaned properly. It was stinking. I tried to get a shower but water pressure was too low, it was closed to midnight. My wife didn't even try. The worse thing was the bed I slept on wasn't even, probably mattress had some bumps or something, I got a back ache in the morning. Next day morning we went to the reception and said we didn't enjoy the stay due to above reasons. There were two people at the reception, the female who handled the payment got panicked and started to say that was one of the best rooms and refused to even talk about a compensation. They just tried to defend their story without listening to us. I haven't even received any apology. Stay away from this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Better value in Brugges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unless you pay extra for a superior room the rooms are extremely small. They do not fit two people. The photos on Booking.com are of the superior rooms which are approx. 40% more expensive

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Good for short 1-2 nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, breakfast is very basic (only boiled eggs, no omelette etc), but pastries were ok.

    Great location, quiet area, clean room, good wi-fi connection, friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    Room was hotter than humanly comfortable, full of mosquitoes, and the 'parking' was a parking meter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hotter than humanly comfortable, full of mosquitoes, and the 'parking' was a parking meter on the street that was expensive so be warned. Try elsewhere first.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a very old mattress, they really need to be replaced as they give very little support.

    Very helpful staff. Good location which was a short walk to the centre. Good selection at breakfast which was constantly being replenished.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing , we even made friends with the lady at the reception, she was super nice! The hotel is beautiful and really clean, and breakfast is really complete. I loved this hotel and so did my friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Price. In fairness to the hotel, this is Bruges. Accommodation is expensive. And we stayed Friday and Saturday summer nights. Everywhere else was expensive. But I realised as I browsed through Booking.com, weeknights cost nearly half the price.

    1. Staff. We asked for a room with bath (tub) and we were gladly given that. That's after given a double room despite a twin-room special request indication. Turns out, there's no guarantee one gets what's requested. As twin rooms run out, you get the double. You've to confirm it with them prior to be sure. Reception explained that nicely. And we had our double beds modified to twin. 2. Location. Although most hotels available on booking.com are situated within the city centrum or just close by. Bruges is relatively a small pedestrian-friendly city. Markt (Main Square) is a 10-min walk from this hotel. Hotel surroundings seem like a ghost town morning and late afternoon--true for the most of Bruges' centrum outskirts. Oh, bus stops are close by too. We only took the bus to get to the hotel and to the train station. Rest of the time we were on foot. 3. Breakfast. My friend was expecting more considering the price we paid for the room (it was a weekend and summer...go figure). But I personally was happy with the breakfast--what was served and the ambience. There's hot milk. I hate cold milk in my coffee ;) 4. Cleanliness and comfort. Hotel didn't seem old with the neat renovations. Most of the hotel was clean but the bathroom. My friend borrowed cleaning chemicals and started spraying on the bath the clean it before we could use. I personally was okay with the cleanliness. Friend's just OC. But I noticed rust chipping the silver coating of the handrail in the bath. And the discolouration of the pipe behind the toilet bowl. Other than that, it was o'right. I personally loved the wooden furnishings like the bedside table, headboard, closet and table--all real wood. Oh there's air-conditioning too. It's pretty quiet in here too, so you get to sleep well. There's fast WIFI too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Really good choice for a family and for a romantic weekend in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water pressure in shower but this is not a big deal. sometimes you can listen a little bit the neighbouring rooms but just take an earplug and that is totally fine.

    Warm and welcoming staff. Nice location, quiet street but 10 min walk only to historic center. Nice bed and pillows. They were really nice and put me and my family in really close rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Bruges - Beautiful buildings & canals, great beer too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If in a car, don't leave it parked outside for long as too expensive, moved ours to 'Zand' but was 26 euros for 3 days. Breakfast could have been better especially at the 9:30 sitting as they didn't really fill up the bread or pastries.

    Lovely building and we had a Comfort Double room which was lovely on the 2nd floor - 205, weather was hot so glad to open the windows in the bedroom & bathroom. Spacious room and felt very safe to walk around the whole area of Bruges. Would recommend to others as a lovely place to visit, ask reception for anuthing you need to know, they will provide map etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.3
    Woeful customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have already complained and am waiting for news of what refund we will receive. The double room booked was not available, no compensation was offered. The sink was blocked and filled with dirty water immediately. The shower only ran scalding hot. I am very annoyed that 2 days later we still have not had resolution despite paying full price.

    Location and age of property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1)Check out time is 11:00. I had issue in daily tour out of Brugge and had to stay out of Brugge. The next day was check out date, I explained that I'll be at hotel about 13:30-14:00 in mail but they weren't understanding and they kicked my stuff off. I collected them from the reception area which was not nice for a hotel guest! 2)When I entered to the bathroom it was not clean. 3)No hair dryer in the room. 4)Beds are not comfortable. 5)The location seems 'center' but considering Brugge is small city, even though it takes 10-15 minutes by walking, I thought I'm out of center, due to very very silent and 'human-free' streets. 6) No reception service as of 22:00. 7) More than 30 minutes walking to the central station. Very difficult to walk with luggages with stoned grounded streets so you'll need to take a bus or taxi to reach to the hotel from central train station. 8) I couldnt see air conditioner, I could just open the window to get fresh air. The ground in the room is covered with wall-to-wall carpet. If you have allergia for house dust, you may have trouble. If you don't mind comfortable environment in the room and hospitality but price is more important for you, then you can choose this hotel.

    Brugge is small city so even though this hotel is not located in the middle of center, it takes 10-15 minutes by walking to the center. This hotel neighbourhood is very silent. If you want peace and silence, you can choose. If you want to stay in a lively environment you may be disappointed here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, value for money, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could have done with is possibly an extra few towels however other than that honestly couldn't fault it, we did book when it was a discounted rate but for what we got it was perfect, however just due to the quality of the room, if we'd booked last minute it would have been double the price, staff wise the price was as brilliant as they were, however again the quality of the room wouldnt reflect the price had it been any more.

    We thought we were going to arrive late due to a delayed flight, and check in closed at 10pm so we called ahead and we're told it was fine and they let us know how to get into the building and where to find our key, they also helped out with recommendations to food, where the local supermarket was and booked/advised which taxi's to use ( didn't want to get ripped off) they also provide with your key a card where you can get discounted entry on many of the attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    Too basic and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good 10-15 minutes walk from grote Markt square. In a very quiet almost dead area. Parking on the streets is from 9am -8pm every 2 hours u have to renew the parking so definitely not easy we instead parked in an underground parking garage very close to the square called the beehorf it's about €8 for 24 hours. The breakdast was too basic toast soft boiled eggs (which not many like) some cereals, cheese, cold cuts coffee& tea which is ok Room is too small totally mislead from the pictures shown on the site no AC no fan, the corridor is so narrow just one person can fit through and the elevator takes max 2 people. I wouldn't wanna stay here again for the price I paid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly small Noise isolation between rooms and floors was pretty poor.

    Convenient location, in a quiet area and at walking distance from the historical centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. The kids loved the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice coquette stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, bathtub full with hair from other clients, they help us remove it but the experience was awful

    The stuff, the breakfast, the view of the street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.5
    AVOID THIS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were rude, aggressive and unlike anything I have ever experienced. I mistakenly locked my room key inside my room and got told to take my wife and two babies and sleep on the street, even though he was standing in front of me with a master key. I wasn't once rude or anything. This hotel needs to be avoided at any cost.... it's the worst and scariest experience I've had in a hotel. Please DO NOT STAY!!!! Other than that Brugge is a beautiful city. He needs to be shut down.

    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.8
    Great hotel, worst dormitory room ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the one dormitory room was not up to standards for the price. No curtains around the beds so absolutely so privacy. Cots were extremely narrow and far too close to each other. It was honestly quite awkward. The shower had a cloth shower curtain which was clearly rancid with mildew because it smelled terrible, like literal poop (and there was no toilet in there). It was difficult getting up to the top bunks because there are no handles to hold on to. I've stayed in lots of hostels-- this was by far the worst one and the most expensive.

    Clean, nice hotel and good location. Restaurant downstairs was great as well as the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    2.5
    Corrupt shabby and inconvenient: beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corruption- this Russian owned hotel tried to keep our 5 night full pay deposit- then attempted to charge us double the rate to stay there for the same nights and kicked us out with prepaid days remaining but would not refund unused days. The hotel staff was belligerent, hostile and corrupt. The location is inconvenient, shabby interior, poor internet but it is their illegal vindicative behavior that should keep all Americans away. We are a mild mannered late 60's and 70's married couple rendezvousing with our Berlin based son- the hotel managers behavior was traumatizing and I believe it is an intentional pattern of deceptive practices against Americans based on her derogatory comments.

    nothing- it was a horrid hotel- blatantly anti american Booking.com tried to support us. On the day of arrival booking.com told manager that it was illegal to cancel room, keep all the money and refuse us a room without cause. They were in daily contact with the harassing management and helped us stay safe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad location as we had to walk best part of a mile into the centre of Bruges. Brochure states that the hotel is situated in the Historical Centre but does not clarify that this is a very good walk to the town centre (no public transport route at all).

    Beautiful hotel,wrong location for older people or those with mobility issues.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a comfortable double room but actually the room and the bathroom were tiny .. it's hard to stay in two people. Price too high for a room so ... for the rest good cleanliness and great location

    Position

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Jacobs Brugge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: