Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jan Brito - Small Elegant Hotels 4 stars

Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#46 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1057 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Smashing location, super friendly staff and yummy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room up in eaves of this glorious, historic building. Comfy, romantic with pretty bathroom. Perfect location and yummy breakfast. Staff could not be more helpful. Parking is very close in a public car park but the hotel has reserved spaces so all good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Location- very close to city center, easy to navigate out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small and did not have a window we could look out of. Breakfast at 18 euro was somewhat overcharged.

    Location- very close to city center, easy to navigate out of city. Also- electrical cars can load at 100 meter distance.. Breakfast was quite good. Staff at reception was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect for exploring Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being older we would prefer a walk in shower rather than over bath.

    Location was perfect for exploring Bruges. The very friendly and helpful staff. A very nice lounge for reading, coffee or a nightcap before bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well equipped. We were at a room by the corner. Very calm and relaxing atmosphere at the hotel. The private Hamman and sauna sessions are the best. Parking at the city center is quite tricky but the hotel already had a parking place reserved for us at a parking just 200m from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive, so we found many other restaurants. There is a cute bagel shop just around the corner.

    Clean. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quiet room. Huge bathroom with a well functioning shower, but some bad smell from the sewage that we could not get rid of. Perfectly located in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Location of the hotel is great, just nearby top tourist...
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Location of the hotel is great, just nearby top tourist destinations. The hotel is very beautiful and immersing yourself in history. They also serve very good breakfast. Reception staff is also very helpful especially we have a sick child with us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff where so lovely could not do enough for you our phone charger had broken and they let us borrow one. The location is brilliant we arrived by train and got a taxi for 8 euro from outside the station leaving the hotel called us a taxi. We stayed in the romantic room 2 the shower was amazing and everything was absolutely spotless breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal, but 20-30 restaurants within 15 mind walk!

    Excellent location, 10 mins from Bruges centre. Comprehensive continental breakfast but also offering bacon, egg and sausage and mushrooms. Very quiet. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The time has stopped in Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The time has stopped in Hotel! It's very very beautiful Hotel in amazin town! You feel yourself the part of the history in Hotel. There are beautiful gardner and fitness room! Parking is near the Hotel. Thanks for all staff of Hotel for the best time in Brugge! We love this town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    most enjoyable and can't wait to go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing to complain about at all

    Staff were all friendly and helpful, willing to go the extra mile. The rooms were beautifully restored and in keeping with the age of the building whilst having all the modern amenities. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was varied and tasty, there was something for everyone's taste. The minibar prices were acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful, there was an option to reserve a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, there was an option to reserve a parking space, good location, breakfast was plentiful and the room was cosy and clean. I sincerely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming traditional hotel with some delightful Flemish touches. The deluxe standard room was spacious and comfortable. The handy location great for walking into the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    great location, beautiful building and setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only small issue was having to pre-arrange if you want to check out before 8am which i did. The staff handled it fine but should have been highlighted to me on check in.

    beautiful building and location with unique rooms, small but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great location, lovely staff and a beautiful historic feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The historic feel of this hotel was lovely and at the same time the room was well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast was very fresh and included a good range of choices and was in a lovely spacious room with views of the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Bruges is a gorgeous place and we will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in our room were very dim and it was hard to read or use our laptops. Also we couldn’t find a light switch at the top of the stairs to light the landing and it was a bit dark at night.

    We absolutely loved the hotel - the charm, the history and the ambience. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly and our room was beautiful - we loved the monogrammed towels! Having tea & coffee making facilities in our room was a bonus. The location was great and it was easy to explore the fascinating lanes and the square in the town and surrounding areas on foot - St James church is stunning. The breakfast was excellent and our whole experience was wonderful. We wish we could have stayed longer. Having tea & coffee making facilities in our room was a bonus. Awesome shower!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Position and rooms good! Breakfast for the money POOR!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heated food trays for Breakfast were only just warm!! this happened on both days, thought the first day was just unlucky !! Then the same cold breakfast for the second!! Every one checking out had the same complaint! Breakfast is very important to start your day especially when in Brugge most places only open for lunch! Mussels for breakfast not for me!

    position good, Reception staff good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was good however the hot food was cold both mornings which was disappointing . We did ask to be linked with our friends & to be honest couldn’t have been further apart .

    Room a bit tight for space but overall clean & comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    I was told I can already check-in 2 hours in advance because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vaulted ceiling on the second floor too low, not comfortable for tall people

    I was told I can already check-in 2 hours in advance because my room is ready

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Location and the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have had a two days stay here. And I am not totally sold. The hotel building itself is nice, and it is a good location, but the facilities are in need of an upgrade. I honestly feel it is overpriced for what you actually get. We stayed in a family room with mezzanine. The bathroom is clean, BUT freezing cold! I could not get my kids there. As for the service, we were disappointed. The first night we wanted to eat dinner at the hotel’s restaurant, as it was raining and we had two small children. There was none. And we asked for a recommendation of a nearby restaurants. The lady at the reception explained that we did not have to order. We got two recommendations, only to find out that the first one was closed every Thursday and Friday (it was à Thursday), and the second was full. Rather disappointing to be sent for such a chase in the rain with small kids. Another thing that really annoyed me: the parking arrangement. We “reserved” a parking space beforehand, meaning that we get at the hotel a prepaid ticket from a nearby underground parking at a price of 10 euro per day. That’s it - not a reserved spot or anything. We use the ticket to get into the normal public parking facilities. And the annoying part is the fact that without the “reservation” through the hotel it is actually less expensive to park: 8,50 euro per day, opposite to a 10 euro per day.

    Location and the building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the bar to serve home made hot chocolate, made from creamy Belgian chocolate, instead of a microwave mix and better tasting snacks. The stale pound cake was very dry.

    Liked the old character and atmosphere of the hotel . The location was close to restaurants and historic sites. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice in Spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok... bit pricey for the options offered.

    We had a room with a relax courtyard view, very relaxing. Really loved that they had bikes available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast we did have some coffee cups that were cracked.

    All staff in particular were very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is also superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    A lovely stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable in historic rooms. The staff were very friendly, very helpful and spoke good English. Centrally located, it was an excellent base to explore the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    great hotel for families with small children, very friendly staff and ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, I liked a lot the family room we got (a double bed + mezzanine with 2 single beds). Beds were super comfortable, staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was excelent (fresh fruits, fresh baked products, and great coffee). From location point of view the hotel is also Perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, ideally located, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, the building itself is very nice. The room was cosy and nicely decorated. The location was great, never more than a 5 minutes walk from anything. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Changed rooms as the single was extremely small tv didn't work bedding very sparse for winter no duvet wrinkled bed cover Had to take a junior suite as nothing else offered to me although hotel didn't seem full. Suite large furniture dated and shabby everything looked as though it needed a good clean. Breakfast nice but croissants ran out never replenished 30 mins before the end of breakfast no decaf optons or soya /skimmed milk

    Reception staff friendly helpful but overworked only ever one person on duty Checkout was a wait no expected from a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Charming convenience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is on narrow street and arriving with car is challenging, there is no shelter from rain, so getting luggage out of the car into the door was a challenge. Having said that, reception staff was there to help. Room was bit narrow and smaller than expected.

    We like the character and charm of the historical building, location and atmosphere. Staff were helpful and internet is working fine in the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    We loved our stay at Jan Brito
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our standard room (#15) was quite small, but otherwise fine for the price. The plastic and plexiglas shower stall, however, seemed to belong to a much cheaper accommodation. Was very rickety, doors did not slide closed easily, and plastic dial/button with which you should be able to regulate temperature didn't seem to work well. It didn't match the quality of the rest of the place.

    Outstanding location, lovely 'old-world' atmosphere, great breakfast. A special mention for the staff, who were all amazingly friendly and attent. No parking on site or on street that hotel is on, but underground parking garage is right around the corner, just a couple hundred metres away. We found it no inconvenience whatsoever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Great place but needs maintenance
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained, room heating did not work, fridge did not work, needed to wade through a 5cm deep puddle to get to room.

    Good location, heritage property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Really well located, historically quaint, welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more space needed to pass by the bed into the room.

    Never felt such amazing water in a shower. Nice, quiet back street location 5 minute walk from the absolute centre. 2 minute walk from great priced underground car park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.4
    It was ok.. it wasnt the best hotel I don’t think I would stay again.. the breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room although there was always a strange smell in the whole room.. very noticeable when entering.. smelt of drains/sewers.. and also had an old musky smell.. there was a leak in the toilet room.. and the floor was constantly a puddle.. was also charged hours after leaving hotel for wine from minibar which we never had???

    Comfy bed.. nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Don't go to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not the same in the picture and not the same in the size There is bugs on the roof falling on my wife face When I talk to the reception they call the owner and they told them let them pay the first night or we will call the police for them to take them out

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Warm, friendly hotel close to Bruges centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection could be better. Hot buffet was not very appetising; it would be nicer if eggs could be cooked to order.

    Warm, friendly hotel; hotel receptionist made us feel very welcome. Hotel location is ideal for visiting Bruges on foot. It has a very elegant and historical feel with all rooms beautifully appointed in terms of décor and furnishings. Bed was comfortable; bathroom spacious with good, hot shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    I couldn't wonder better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The red color was a bit to much in the room...

    Excellent hospitality, very friendly and helpful staff, kind and romantic environment, fantastic breakfast, brilliant location. Absolutely highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel but better value for money can be had in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower. Water temperature tepid both evening and morning. Sounds silly but not being able to enjoy a good shower is a let down. Hotel bar did not have lemonade.

    Breakfast excellent Location excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    A good address in Bruges but avoid the budget room unless travelling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we were charged the room (budget double) was definitely a bit too crammed for two people (and bed smaller than usual). Inadequate storing space (small wardrobe). The shower room is quite fine and big in comparison. A tip: Worth including breakfast when booking as it works out less than half the price.

    Centrally located in the old town yet very quiet and peaceful. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very nice residents lounge with blazing open fire on freezing nights. Very nice coffee and breakfast. Nice and cozy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a charming city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is difficult to drive a car into the old city and to find parking there. We parked in one of the large public car parks on the periphery. It cost EUR 7.80 for 24 hours, which was not bad but it did mean dragging bags and children to the hotel. Given the price of the rooms, it would have been nice if they could have included cost of breakfast. EUR 15 per person is quite steep.

    The location is very good - right in the heart of the old city but not too close to noisy bars or thoroughfares. The hotel has a lot of charm and character and the staff were very friendly and welcoming to our kids.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Little taste of Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass lift in the court yard not to everyone liking if you don’t like heights but I’m nippicking

    Bedroom very roomy, bed comfy and comfortable provided good night sleep and good location close to main square. Good choice and tasty breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    If you want the rooms that are in the advertised photos, then pay for a premium room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tiny room, paper thin walls (and ceiling), having to rearrange the furniture to make use of all of it and seeing all of the graffiti on the ceiling beams above the bed.

    The staff were very friendly and the main areas of the hotel were very well presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place and highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better and the room can have more lights!

    The property is superbly located and the staff including the owner Betty were so very helpful! My baggage was lost and had not arrived for the two days but they took very good care of my needs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in on Friday night/early Saturday, I asked about the Wellness Center. The gentleman said it would be open in the morning. I then asked if he could tell me what time and he repeated "in the morning". I then asked about the gym and he said it would also be open the following morning. I then specifically asked about the time and mentioned that I like to run around 6 am; he replied to come down between 0800-0900. Turns out the gym is open 24hrs a day. The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. The lady at the front reception was friendly and helpful. The gym is open 24 hours and has a beautiful view of the garden. They offered options for parking and booked a reservation for us nearby for 20 euro (for the weekend). The wifi worked well too. Everything is clean and well presented! It was a pleasant stay for all of us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Location of the property was very close to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 plug socket available in the room that we could find, the view wasn't the best and the bed was slightly on the firm side

    Location of the property was very close to the centre of Bruges and only a short walk to attractions and plenty of eateries. Bathroom was very clean and room was well kept.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    One of our Favorite Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are probably due for a refurbishment. While the structure is 400 years old and charming, the bathroom and furniture is probably 20 years old and less so.

    In September of 2013, my wife, two friends, and I stayed in one of the two-level "family rooms". We were captivated by how charming the hotel was and loved sleeping below the old, oak-lined vaulted ceilings. The location was perfect (although, I cannot recommend enough to take the bus from the train station--rolling your bag on a mile of cobble stone streets is brutal!) and the staff were tremendously friendly. We still cite one of the service moments that most stood-out to us: We were staying for just one night and were to leave at 5am, over 3 hours before breakfast service was to begin. Upon hearing this, and without us asking, the staff made sure to have a partial form of their breakfast available for us to prepare for the next leg of our journey. I've stayed at 5-star resorts that wouldn't have made such a thoughtful (and complimentary) gesture. With this story still on our minds, when my wife and I had the opportunity to return to Bruges this September, we knew we would have to stay at the Hotel Jan Brito again. We were happy to see that the prices were more than fair and checked into a double room. The hotel is as charming as we remembered. The front desk helped store our bags and while they recognized that it was a return trip to Bruges, made sure to give us a presentation on the town to prepare for our stay. Wifi was good and my room's view of the belfry was perfect for sipping beer to. Like many locations in Bruges, this hotel allows you to feel like you're staying "in" the history and not simply visiting it. Oh, and this time, we took advantage of the full breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    The character and historic nature of the building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The character and historic nature of the building, expecially the rooms on the top floor. This was our 5th stay since 1998 and we will definitely come back. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall, a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many unpleasant smells. People were smoking in the next room so we had to put a towel under the door to keep it out! Also unpleasant smells of manure in the courtyard and hallways! The staff was a bit curt and I was charged for an extra bottle of water from the mini bar in my room even though I let them know I had drunk it and paid before I left!

    The bed was extra soft, nice atmosphere. Elegant feel inspite of being very old.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming, serene, delightful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little outdated - the shower above the bath was fantastic but the shower curtain material got in the way! It would have been nice to be able to have moveable blinds to enjoy the courtyard view although the gym slightly reminded me of school buildings. Tiny complaints.

    Attractive and comfortable rooms - charming courtyard, facilities we enjoyed were the beautiful bar with original paintings, the peaceful elegance of the breakfast room. The reception staff were enormously helpful and charming, particularly the evening receptionist. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Beautifully located old word charm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location and general feel of the property and area was particularly to our taste. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast was very good quality and varied. As we were leaving we did have a leaky 150 year old window in our beautifully furnished bedroom. The staff responded immediately, couldn't fault them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    The layout of the room was excellent & staff went over and above for service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. We rented some bikes and mine broke down, and she actually tried to fix it for me !!!!!!!! And got grease all over herself in the process - but the bike was fixed and I was set to go on exploring.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location - just 5 minutes walk from Markt and Belfry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location - just 5 minutes walk from Markt and Belfry. Lovely and friendly staff who were very helpful. Nice family room with 4 beds in duplex format - with medieval character to it - as with everything in Bruges. A cosy and convenient spa for free. You can book a 1 hour slot at the reception and its private for your family. Also the hotel had a storage room to keep our luggage after checkout so that we could enjoy our final day at Bruges before catching our evening return train. All in all a superb experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff, charming hotel in great location. Public parking one block from hotel. Located on quiet street away from tourist noise and tourist boats. Close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complementary water in the room. Our room was had great facilities and was very spacious. Lacked natural sunlight at times.

    Great hotel in an excellent location. Not far from Burges Square and Market. Less than one minute from a beautiful canal bridge. We had a lovely continental breakfast each morning. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.5
    Very enjoyable and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was described as budget and it was a bit - very small and in the eaves so when we had a terrific thunderstorm felt like it was in the room! The bathroom was divided from room with a sort of plastic sliding door which didn't really shut properly so had to share with a good friend!

    Staff very helpful and accommodation quaint but functional and quirky. Location perfect. Excellent value for money .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    I do not understand Why is this a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked rather sad inside. Super old fashion! I was expecting elegant and vintage, as this is how the hotel promotes itself. For my taste this was not it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant place in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably this is some kind of mistake, but we could not open the windows, so we could not enjoy the fresh air.

    Everything was really nice, the staff is very friendly. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Charming original renovated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not easy to reach the hotel by public transport so we took a taxi. The triple suite is quite dark, you can open the curtains but as it's on the ground floor, people who are sitting in the garden or taking a bike could see straight into your room. For it's price, the breakfast is ok but not that huge. The bathroom is not that luxurious as you might expect from a 4star hotel.

    Charming hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, close to the city center. We took the triple suite which was very spacious, the single bed was situated in a separate room with own tv. There is a nice minibar in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Jan Brito ... Great Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was the upstairs lobby was dimly lit, I had trouble getting back into the room after returning at night. (But not a big problem at all)

    The location of the Hotel Jan Brito was great, within walking distance of all sites and attractions. The room we booked was a Junior Suite and was very comfortable, clean, and had all amenities we required for our short stay. (Including robes) We did not book breakfast as wanted to explore the town however the food looked great. The Hotel was great value for money and would be somewhere we would stay if we returned to Brugge. Lastly I would just like to note the Receptionist who greeted us was excellent, we had luggage with us and arrived 2 hours early, we were unable to check in as rooms required to be made ready but they did keep our bags safely locked up for our return, they also offered this on are final day after check out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant as all ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Now ! yes i do realize the building is old, but please can we refurbish the front windows, i do like fresh air not false air from a air con on the wall. other then that the rooms are superb, as is the staff.

    We have always stayed at the Jan Brito its so close to the city centre for all your shops and Restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay, but expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficiently staffed. Reception is often unmanned if the Receptionist has to attend to guests elsewhere in the property. Only one socket in the room, and it was already in use for the desk lamp and the coffee maker provided. Lift up to the floors is very dodgy.

    I liked the location and the historic ambience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is helpful and brilliant. The location is in old city, very close to everywhere but still in a quiet location. The hotel itself is a beautiful old house. Nearby underground parking costs only 10 EUR for 24h.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Cool, character property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room servicing wasn't really thorough, found a few things left behind from the previous guest, some quite obvious like a big "21st" birthday streamer tied across the chandelier. Didn't bother me but I did wonder about how thorough the servicing of the room was. Also no food options for dinner etc., you have to head out to a restaurant, though these are only 5 mins walk away.

    Nice location, short walk to the inner city but also very quiet being a bit on the fringe. It's an old character property, apparently the mansion of a Baroness in the past which adds character to the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    If your paying a little more don't except room 6
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom no6 was given to myself and husband and bedroom no2 to our friends. Our room compared to their was dark and small the tv did not work. As we both paid the same price I felt that I should have has a similar room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Charming place in very good location, but could improve on comfort side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cosy, but very small, to the point that one could pass the bed only sideways. The sound insulation to the neighboring rooms could also be better. The mattress was somewhat too soft.

    Very nice breakfast buffet, good quality food, always topped up. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The house is charming, old wooden beams, nice backyard garden, everything suitably and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Stayed in the family suite, great size but the stairs were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the family suite, great size but the stairs were rather steep and beams, while charming, were dangerously close to your head while laying in bed...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Small, elegant hotel close to everything in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel did cost us more than we've paid at other hotels in Bruges, but it was conveniently located and very comfortable.

    Conveniently located and an elegant small hotel with great service. Parking is at a nearby underground garage, but it is convenient. Rooms were very comfortable and they provided a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    It was good to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's bit run down- and the budget room is bit small with the slide toilet partition not the proper door.

    They have a nice spa facility that can be used only by one room guests, very private and comfortable! the breakfast was good and the breakfast room was beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We booked a family room, it was very spacious with a separate lounge with a tv and mini fridge. There was a tv in the bedroom with 2 beds on a very spacious mezzanine level. The area was quiet on an evening so quiet to sleep. The breakfast room was beautiful with all you could eat breakfast continental and cooked. Great service and everyone was very helpful and friendly. We could leave our cases even after we had checked out. Will definitely return and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.3
    A decent, well located hotel but not quite as nice as it looked on the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was located under the roof, it was small and the only windows were two small unreachable velux windows with no blinds. The small plastic door between the room and the bathroom made a lot of noise and didn't close properly. The whole experience didn't really feel like we were in a four-star hotel.

    The location. The room was very clean and the mattress very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Period style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast ,good choice of food ,Hot and cold. Our room over looked courtyard and the room was very quiet, excellent sleep. Staff very friendly .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    bed is very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as for a four star hotel i wouldn't expect to see a bit of fungus on a silicone in the bathroom. and i saw it

    bed is very comfy interior, style staff prepared very well

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Super hotel with old worlde charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great warm welcome from Mieke when we arrived quite late. So professional and showed us to our rooms. Nice to see fires burning so late also. All the staff were great. Room was great with original wooden floors and breakfast which is included is very decent. You won't be disappointed...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly ok place with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website describes as having a sauna and steam room which didn't seem to be available. Hotel is a little shabby.

    Staff were nice. It was close to sites we wanted to see. Had a large tub!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite in the old stable block so very pleased with our stay. Will definately be staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    A peaceful place to relax and unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No booze in the room would be a nice option.

    The room was in the attic, all corners and angles, and very cozy. I could hear the water fountain in the garden when I opened up the wee window. The bathroom was all marble. LOVED the Hammam and sauna, which you reserve and you have all to yourself.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    It is listed as having parking which it did not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is listed as having parking which it did not. The request for parking was too late so last minute bookings 2 days in advance are not sufficient. We found this out after we arrived so spent an hour trying to park the car. Not a good start.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Jan Brito - Small Elegant Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: