Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Karel de Stoute 3 stars

Moerstraat 23, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#21 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 693 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how homey the place felt. I didn't want to leave, the staff was very kind, and I could tell they cared about this hotel. It was very comfy and awesome quality!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought it was particularly great that they cook you something hot for breakfast, without asking! Very attentive - We had a poached egg with bacon wrap on the first day, hard boiled egg on the second - all with a glassful of fruit and tea and coffee. This is separate from the full choice of continental buffet! Very helpful staff and excellent facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem for us but no lift and no air-conditioning

    Very conveniently located to walk to the scenic places in Bruges. Room was on the second floor - note no lifts. We had one of the bigger bedrooms with the en-suite in what was previously a tower ! Room overlooked the street but traffic was light. There was some noise when cars went by and tourists dragged their cases over the cobbled street but not significant to spoil our sleep. No air-conditioning but a fan was provided which was sufficient for a fairly warm night. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Continental breakfast spread was excellent - choice of cereals, breads, cold meats and cheese, yoghurt, home made jams. Also individual portion of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. Very clean and a comfortable bed. Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an excellent stay at hotel karel de stoute. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. While having the nice look of an old cosy building, the interior is very modern. The center of Brugge is also just around the corner, great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't any vegetables for breakfast (tomato, paprika, cucumber, onion, etc.)

    The Hotel was a tipical boutique hotel. It was marvellous, charming accomodation with big, comfortable bed, clear bathroom. The staffs were very helpful and smiling. The breakfast was delicious (cheese, cold cuts, egg, pancake, jam, fruits, coffee and tea). The street, in which the hotel was very silent in spite of the lot of tourist in the town. The hotel is very close to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside of this hotel would be for people of limited movement, as there is no lift and the staircase to the second floor is quite steep with small steps. slightly difficult carrying luggage up there. Not a problem for us but could be for some.

    The breakfasts were superb. Never had bacon & egg done in that way before but excellent. The glass of mixed fruit too was great. Good selection of other breakfast items with wonderful crispy breads.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean and modern. There was plenty of room considering our two daughters were staying with us. The breakfast was extremely good. The location couldn't have been better between both market and TZand squares.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that there is no elevator, so must be able to carry suitcases up that beautiful stairway!

    Spacious, beautiful and comfortable room - loved that our bathroom was actually in the tower - so unique and cleverly designed! The breakfast was amazing...fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, yoghurt, marvelous jams and honeys, cereals, delicious breads and pastries - all served in a beautiful high-ceilinged room with relaxing music playing. And the fresh-baked cookies offered in the afternoon were a treat! Lovely family makes one feel so welcome in a former prince's residence. Loved the location too - an easy walk to everything, and in a lovely neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room had a brilliant view and had everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing! Couldn’t have wanted for anything more. Loved it. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit disappointed that our ‘double’ bed was two singles pushed together.

    The hotel is an older building with lots of character. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for my poorly back, but not a major problem.

    Helpful staff, great location, spacious room. Breakfast was a simple buffet, with fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. Lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem not being close to the hotel and then having the road closed on a one way system did cause a problem on checkout but didn’t need a car while in Bruges

    Comfortable room... great location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was the noise in the hall when folks came in late at night. Not terrible and maybe not any worse than any other hotel but always annoying to be woken up.

    This hotel is in a great location - easy walk to all the sites! The family room was so comfortable for our family of 4! New and clean as well! We loved it. Breakfast was very good - fresh orange juice, a different egg dish each day and plenty of bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit choices! All served with a smile!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Everything about this hotel was lovely - great location and such a quirky building. The room was lovely and the breakfast was amazing. Me and my daughter really enjoyed it and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dark and the toilet seat was very squeaky! The stairs up to the bedrooms may be a little challenging for some.

    Lovely breakfast to start the day off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike but would prefer breakfast served until 11am rather than 10am

    Location was perfect, building has lots of character, clean tidy rooms with free safe, comfortable beds, free wifi and helpful pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly check in - we were early, but room was ready and accessible. parking was arranged in nearby parking garage. beautiful old building, in the old town centre of Bruges. walking distance from everything. Breakfast included: it was amazing!!! fresh fruit salad, fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, croissants, all sorts of breads... and of course muesli, cerals, milk, yogurt... so good! would recommend and visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated in a great location, within walking distance to the attractions and shopping. The front desk staff was super friendly and professional. The rooms were comfy and very clean! Breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    apart from the fact that our cocker spaniel could stay with us we loved the lavish, complimentary breakfast spread. The hostess was gracious and recommended some lovely places for us to eat at. We even got a discount card for a few places with our stay. The hotel is located in the heart of old town with most of the major attractions being just a walking distance away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was super cozy and nicely decorated for Christmas! Breakfast was extensive and charming. The freshly squeezed orange juice was amazing. We will definitely stay there again in the future!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 rooms, my in laws were on 2nd floor, the heating wasn’t working and was freezing cold. The weather was freezing so we were very unhappy that there was no electric heating that could be put in the room. The hotel did deal with this for our 2nd night but was still only just acceptable. I don’t think the staff dealt with this negative issue very well. Reception is not manned 24/7 to deal with issues we were given a number to call. We felt it was the breakfast staff who actually took the Issue seriously and done something about it. Just a reminder hotel does not have a lift, but we were aware of this when booking, these are historical buildings and staircases are quite high.

    The breakfast is really nice with a good buffet and friendly staff on breakfast shift. Standard of decor is very good, hotel is in great location for walking around the city. The family room I had on 1st floor was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heat in the bathroom; temperature of room was slightly chilly. Plug for kettle was not near the table so had to plug kettle in on floor. Steep stairs to top rooms. Very close to main square and shops

    Bed was very comfy, breakfast room was very pretty, staff were very friendly although did not see much of them

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor and the very steep stairs were very daunting - not for people who have any problems with mobility.

    The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic. The staff brilliant. Good central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a bit of a problem. But a parking garage is close by.

    Breakfast was really delicious. The breakfast room is quite beautiful and pleasant to eat in. Location is just perfect, close to all sightseeing areas. The hotel staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were under the impression that there was allocated parking but that turned out to be a public car park a couple of blocks away which had a 'Full' sign outside. Apparently we should have ignored that and parked in there but didn't so drove round looking for another car park which, once we had found and parked left us not knowing how to get back to the hotel. We had had a 12 hour journey from Italy so really didn't need all of this hassle at the end of it. Other than that there was absolutely nothing to complain about.

    The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main square and on a quiet street. The breakfast was exceptional - probably the best 'Continental' breakfast we have had anywhere. No Full English available of course - we didn't expect that but fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, superb coffee plus the usual selection of meats, cheeses, cakes, cereals, yoghurt, etc. When we first arrived we were surprised to find that, once shut, the bathroom door was difficult to open and the handle on the outside of the room door came off in my hand! I pointed these things out to the receptionist and they were both fixed within a very short time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can't make tea, bless them. Bit of a walk with luggage to the underground car park, not the hotels fault.

    Very good breakfast . Big towels. Nice people, hotel had lots of old, nice character. Good to have kettle in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, but manageable.

    Wonderful breakfast with beautifully decorated breakfast room. The hotel was well situated. Our hostess was very thorough and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this property was a pleasure except the steep narrow stairs to reach our 2nd floor room.

    This was a very characterful place being formerly part of the Prince's residence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is only served form 8 to 10 am. For me this is quite late, I was on a business trip and had to be out and about by 8am. The bed sheets, had some holes in them, from wear and tear I assume, but it really contrasted and stood out in the middle of all the nice and comfortable décor and style.

    It was a pretty good experience in this cosy hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude. We stayed in a quadruple room and needed the extra city map and key, since four of us wanted to visit different places, but they refused to give. I can somehow understand only one key exists, but refusing to give a city map... Hostels even won't do it! We were four for gods sake... The kettle in the room had rusty metal pieces in it. I can't imagine those things traveling through my stomach if I haven't realized that kettle was broken down. I felt very uncomfortable it was like they were counting everything from an extra shampoo (4 people, 2 small shampoos and cleaning service off for one day (because we were sleeping ...) so we desperately needed that 3rd one) to a city map. There were no vegeterian/vegan options for the breakfast. Only a bottle of orange juice.... I wouldn't consider to visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The travel from the airport was tough. We ended up finding a coach, which took a couple of hours. We probably should've researched this more before we arrived. The travel aspect is nothing to do with the hotel by the way!

    Wonderful and friendly hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and advised where to visit etc. Breakfast was lovely and leisurely. Felt completely at home in this quirky little gem

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed to be charged €25 for a late check in when I arrived at 10:04pm. It's Brugge and in the middle of Summer, peak tourist season and I am surprised that their check-in closes at 9pm. It's mentioned on the email but when you're booking hotels for business trips you don't read those details. If they have a late check in rule then fair enough but i thought €25 fee for each hour I'm late was excessive.

    Clean and big rooms with good WiFi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain, I hate them. But it won't stop me going again :-) No parking, but there are a couple of car parks a few minutes away so not a problem. Staff told us where to go.

    Breakfast area has character, and I like the personal service with fruit , eggs and coffee delivered to your table. Staff are friendly and it is family run nice sized place. We liked it so much we called in again on our way back home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms facing the street were a bit noisy with car traffic.

    The breakfast was amazing - one of the most tranquil and bountiful we have experienced while on the road. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, esp. for a last minute addition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive. we were 1 hour late , thus got 25euro fine which seemed really funny. Since we were late key were kept on the reception desk and the door were opened . We pushed open the door and entered in the hotel. There were no stuff , so no point of taking that fine!! After checking out we booked a taxi from hotel to Bruges station. From hotel we were given a 10 euro card for the taxi. We were initially happy and thought it was for our benefit. But later saw the taxi bill was 7 euro, so it was a loss as well. So, a couple of things happened, thus didn't feel really good in the hotel.

    Clean, homely feeling since breakfast were made fresh and served on table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 2nd floor so had to carry our cases up 2 flights of stairs.

    Beautiful breakfast room with personal touches and fantastic breakfast. Karel de Stoute is in a great location for the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little bit small since it's an old house. No A/C but do have a small fan.

    Great location to the center. 5 mins to the parking garage $8.7/24hrs. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a bit small for 2 people

    Very close to Brugge center, they offer awesome and delicious breakfast, staff are nice and friendly to help people about tourist information

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator in the building, getting even to the first floor was a challenge after whole day of walking around the city.

    Hotel is within 5 min walk from the center of the city. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no "do not disturb" sign available, so you have no way of signaling to someone who wants to clean the room that you are still inside :)

    A wonderful family-owned hotel. The staff is great, I believe they are also the owners. The hotel is quite close to the main square in Brugge and within walking distance to any place you might visit. Make sure to get the breakfast, it was one of the best we ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was humid, as the heating had already been turned off. The lack of an elevator and a very steep staircase, with large suitcases will be problematic to climb.

    A wonderful small hotel located in a historic building in a quiet street. Located not far from the center, five minutes by a slow step. The attendants are very friendly, a special thank you to the girl Searis at the reception. Breakfasts are the same every day and not very diverse, but sufficient, in order to eat tightly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doors in the shower non tight.

    We liked everything. Old building, nice room with 2 spacious queen beds, good breakfast, great atmosphere, central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in time is rather short.

    We were welcomed very friendly at the Hotel and given tips on what to see. The hotel is old but very clean and nicely arranged. Breakfast has a small selection of good food including homemade marmalade and muffins and fresh orange juice. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs going up to the room were very steep (I didn't see an elevator), with quite an uneven one at the top. They might want to fix that before someone falls!

    Perfect family room (two large beds) in a great location. Excellent breakfast; friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift in this hotel.

    Friendly staff and helpful. Room was clean and the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is close to the market.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bit of difficulty finding the parking garage which is located a short distance from Hotel Karel de Stoute.

    I liked the historical ambience and the helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy. You can hear the neighbors. No air conditioner.

    The location is central but quiet. The receptionist is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Comfy bad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for people who can't get up stairs or for families with small children in pushchairs. Stairs are fairly steep and uneven and no lift.

    Staff were lovely. Hotel situation was excellent, quiet. Rooms were a good size, beds comfy, bathroom clean. Breakfast was good with special touches i.e. Went at Easter and had chocolate mini eggs on the table, plus they surprised us with a different egg dish every day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. Noise heard easily in other room. Room was sometimes cold during the night and the water in the shower went cold after a few mins.

    Location was very good. Friendly staff. Room very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been travelling to Bruges for 23 years. This was our worst experience!!!! No bar facilities even though advertised a cellar bar....and still advertising. No hot water for 2 days. Very arrogant owner/manager. Refused to compensate for lack of a basic requirement.....hot water!!!!! On arrival the owner/manager demanded payment before handing over the keys, again never experienced this before...always paid on departure.

    Breakfast and location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator so with heavy luggage this can be a bit more difficult.

    We had booked a parking space nearby which came in very handy and is only a short distance away and at a reasonable price. The hotel is very well located, slightly off the main roads but still within short walking distance of the main sights. The breakfast was very nice, a proper flemish breakfast and with a lot of eye for detail. We'll definitely come back on our next trip here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and the breakfast provided was exceptional; only regret was that the cellar bar was not available but there are plenty of alternative drinking places within walking distance

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a little noisy! I could hear the people down the hall quite well (maybe they were just loud). Also the room I was in was quite small, and there was no desk there (which was put as a facility). It's an old building, so some of these things can be expected.

    Lovely small touches throughout my stay; bonbons on my bed, a bunch of recommendations at my arrival, homemade cupcakes in the foyer. It's a beautiful old building, with wooden beams in the rooms and all! Nevertheless the bathroom is very modern :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has history to it and the family run aspect to it is great. The breaskafst is 5 star and a must is to have a drink in the lower ground bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all perfect!

    The hotel had many plus points from its original features (and good decoration) making it very cosy to the amazing breakfast. The staff were very friendly from the off and their attention to detail was second to none. We stayed for New Years and received a champagne breakfast in the morning - an unexpressed surprise. The subtle Christmas music in the dining room and in the entrance hall was also an excellent touch! Theo location is great, just 5 minutes walk to the main market square and 2 minutes from the main shopping street. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no dislikes for the hotel👍🐶

    The hotel was very close to main shops! A Very friendly and homely atmosphere! Breakfast had a lot of choice & we loved the fresh orange juice! Room was very clean & the bed was big & comfy! Freddy dog also loved his stay! We have been visiting Brugge for 12 years & we will definitely be booking to stay at Hotel Karel de Stoute again! Thank you for a wonderful, enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor only. Bathroom cold - portable heater in there didnt work . Connecting door to next room meant sounds heard very clearly .

    staff & breakfast fantastic - superior room 7 very spacious with nice decor. Bar in cellar really nice - shame not open on sunday though. Great location - only 5 mins from main square but very quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel very near to market square. Family running the hotel were friendly n helpful. Loved the superb breakfast, the attention to detail at the breakfast table was superb. Loved the excellent service n food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not one thing. The property and our stay was wonderful !

    Property is in a wonderful location and is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Beds were large and very comfortable. Breakfast is served each morning in a beautiful dining room and was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There nothing we didn't like.

    The breakfast was fantastic, plentifully and plenty to choose from. Rooms where comfy and lean, staff where friendly and very helpful.we enjoyed relaxing in the cellar bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggestions: A little bit better wifi signal in the room and possibly a shower handle with a cord

    Area, room, owners, facilities, breakfast, all wonderful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to improve at this hotel.

    This hotel is a hidden gem. Ideally located close to the centre of the old town, the hotel is authentic and represents the architecture of the city. We were greeted with sweets on the pillows in our room and given chocolates on departure. The staff are helpful and courteous and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a special treat and one of the highlights of our stay in Bruge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs pretty steep and parking few blocks away although we could drop the bags.

    Location in old center but don't trust your gps, as many one way streets. Breakfast very good with fresh cooked eggs and in the small garden. Room basic but all you need for short stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful historic hotel! We couldnt fault a thing, everything was perfect! Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel. The basement bar was welcoming and cosy and the staff were just lovely! Our room although compact had everything you could need. Conveniently located to main sites but on a quiet wee street away from the crowds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge in the room would have been useful .

    The effort made for breakfast was exceptional, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice was amazing, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great people, very good breakfast and excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and service. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hoteliers were excellent and very engaging. All the recommendations for places to eat and places to go were perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners were very friendly and accommodating. The place was charming 😄

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints

    The breakfast was super. The location excellent. All very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillow, but it is personal opinion

    Staff very friendly and helpfull, breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that it took me so long to find out about this place!

    Breakfast each morning was a charm. Just wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location with an awesome breakfast, would recommend 10/10 for anyone staying in Brugges

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Karel de Stoute traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: