Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kasteelhof 'T Hooghe 3 stars

Meenseweg, 481, 8902 Ypres, Belgium

#7 of 14 hotels in Ypres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 944 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the old part of the Hotel and this is slightly old-fashioned but in a very good way. The main reason for being there, however is it's location as it is in the centre of the First World War battlefields around Ieper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't seem very motivated, not proud of their unique situation. Lodging accommodation was quite basic and dated. Breakfast was very limited and impractically placed in the breakfast room. Unworthy the many international travellers the place receives.

    Liked the original setting of the "Inn" especially with the history behind it it's quite incredible to imagine what happend right there under your feet. Next to the hotel is the t'hooghe museum and across the street the cemetery. Both a must see when you're visiting. Gives a very good view of the war. Great guide who knew how to tell the interesting details.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little dark in the daytime but this was not a problem for us.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast, dinner and service all with a smile and good choices. Ample parking. Near many WW1 important sites. The building works in view out the back alarmed us at first but they did not impact on our stay in any way. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic type room could be very hot in summer and mosies an issue although good nets. Pillows smelt of previous occupants.

    Location excellent if you wish to visit memorial sites near Leper and hotel garden is a little museum with trenches etc. Food very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 4 nights, and had dinner in the hotel restaurant on three nights, we found the dinner menu a little limited. More choice should be included.

    Everything was absolutely fine, the staff were couteous and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See 'what did you like' + our bedroom and bathroom, while large, could have done with a complete refit.

    It's difficult to comment about this hotel as it had charm while also being somewhat dated and Gothic. We had a good meal from a limited menu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    We traveled with 8 family members, and xs dog, 6 'kids' over 20, all very interested in World War History. Ypres (Ieper) proved to be very interesting. The very friendly man at the front desk explained all the locations to us in detail. My husband and I stayed in the main house, great atmosphere, cafe and restaurant (which we did not use). The building is situated on a battle ground. Very interesting. The 6 boys stayed in the new annex, very modern, clean and practical. Their suite had a kitchen, we decided to buy food at the supermarket and the traiteur and prepare at the place. Great breakfast in the beautifully decorated living room. All in all very nice, Ypres was above expectations as was this hotel. And we're thankful we could bring our xs doggie.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing was a little loud and I would have welcomed a kettle with tea and coffee in the room

    At the last minute I asked if one of the rooms I had booked could be on the ground floor. The staff acted quickly and emailed me soon after to say the rooms had been changed so my Dad didn't have to walk up stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 41 was in the old part of the property. It was dated and very noisy with people traffic outside the door, we believe the new addition is better. Breakfast was organised chaos although adequate. Fortunately the weather was superb and we were able to sit outside.

    The location is fantastic and central to all sites we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was to our liking; especially having a fan in each bedroom. It was a very hot night - a long and noisy thunderstorm plus lightening for several hours during the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant at weekends, bar shut for residents at 23.00 sharp! Very much an "easy lifestyle" for the current owners

    Location is perfect for tours around Ypres area, near all major battle grounds, old style building, very quaint, air con great as it was hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When eating in the restaurant we had to put everything on the room, would have preferred the option to pay for the meal the night we had it.

    Location and parking was great, easy to find. We stayed in the older part of the hotel which I loved, as it had plenty of character and charm. My partner and I travelled with my mother. So we requested to have 2 rooms close together, which they managed to do for us. Breakfast was lovely pastries breads, cheese, meats and fruits etc.. Then your regular cereals, coffee etc.. Recommend getting there early though, as it soon filled up fast; but that was okay as we were able to sit outside (brilliant weather) and the food was replenished often. Staff were very accommodating and spoke English brilliantly, which certainly made things easier. The restaurant there was fantastic! Highly recommend checking it out at least once during your stay. The outside was fantastic, you were able to wander about the trenches that were from WW1. Interesting and plenty of information about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. Very good.

    We've stayed here twice before and labelled it 'Fawlty Towers" - not is a bad way, but in its quirky charm. But this year we were thrown a curved ball when we were offered rooms in the new block across the car park. Wow! Were we pleased to be offered the rooms over there! Top notch accommodation - couldn't fault it. As usual we had an excellent breakfast, and the staff even turned in early for us as we had to make an early morning start to the Netherlands. As you'll gather my friends and I really like this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms in the main building are in need of some update if you are fussy, but don't let that put you off. There is a new annex that caters for the more discerning. If you want ambience & can sacrifice some luxury however, stay in the main historical building.

    Countryside Hotel 5 mins drive from Ypres oozing character & history with famously preserved WW1 area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain! Always sticks to you.

    Wow this place was superb. Great big room. Very comfortable bed. Really quiet. Great hot water. Really good breakfasts. Lovely welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The setting in beautiful grounds. WW1 trench exhibition in the grounds. Friendly staff who all spoke English. Spacious stylish room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, perfectly clean. Bar and restaurant plus outside seating, lovely food. We were in the annex, which is new, with a kitchen downstairs for our use if we wanted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is fantastic - if you're doing a WW1 tour, it is literally on where the front line was for much of the war, with lots of stuff to see right outside the front door. It's about 2 miles to the Menin Gate in Ypres. If you're with a family who need other stuff to do, there's a large waterpark right next door. There's a road right outside, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of traffic, at least not when we went (April) and it was very quiet/no noise. We stayed in the modern annex building, which was clean, modern and spacious. The 'Suite' would be more than suitable for a family of four - double bedroom, and a separate children's room with large bunk beds (the lower bunk bed would possibly sleep two if they squeezed up and didn't mind sharing). Plus a large cooking/dining/living area. The suite is on the end of the building on the top floor, so there is no overspill noise into the bedrooms from neighbouring rooms. Another of our party who was in another downstairs room mentioned that there was some 'footstep' noise overhead in their room, and some noise through the walls, but minimal/negligable. The staff were happy to help with pointing out sights, including some that we had overlooked or weren't aware of in spite of fairly extensive pre-trip research. All good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be careful of Gravel drive ( motorbike ) but the owner kindly let me park on hard standing at entrance,

    lovely room and views outside of the crater and lake,great food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room in the outbuilding. Modern and clean, but sparse. Breakfast but no other services. Outside of town, but the Hooge Crater Museum next door is interesting and has a cafe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get meals after 8pm. Very limited menu (although tasty) and no meals at weekends (although it seemed some people were able to get meals even though others were told they did not do them). New block was very clean and comfortable but very noisy and not what we were expecting from the website. Completely different to the main building which is what we were expecting.

    Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was satisfactory with a fair choice of meat/cheese/bread/cereals and pastries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have a safe deposit box although it was mentioned in the document details. Not a major problem.

    Hotel room was excellent. Car parking on site and easy access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was great

    Great location for visiting war graves, lovely new accommodation, comfortable, clean and with every thing you need - would definitely go back and stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children remarked that the beds were incredibly comfortable. We booked it mostly on the basis that it was one of very few hotels which would give us a genuine triple room with three single beds and it delivered.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful, friendly staff. The bedrooms are cosy with decor that reflects the building. It also has a tearoom/restaurant. The hotel is within walking distance to a war museum and cemetery and a short drive to the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was easy to find, very comfortable, warm, and had a lovely view out the back to a small pond. The staff was very helpful in providing a map and providing intel on how and when to see the Menin Gate ceremony. Breakfast was also quite good - I was in a rush to get on the road, so did not get to savor it for as long as I would have liked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and tea coffee in room would improve our stay.

    Good size room for three. Breakfast was in a comfy room. Good location for our visits and onward journey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Huge room in new block, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Easy to find location, good base for exploring the area by car. Everything worked and represents good value for money. Breakfast was good. Free onsite parking always appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say that was not excellent.

    My complete stay was faultless. I really enjoyed my stay and would go back to stay for pleasure or business. I had a delicious meal and can't fault any part of my 3 days at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was good. With the entourage it felt a bit like spending a weekend at granny's, but she had modern stuff when it came in handy. Granny still has it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have had the bar/lounge in a different room to the restaurant.

    Good welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble, comfortable bedroom, great shower, couldn't fault breakfast or dinner. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    such a clever idea to have a fully equipped very large guest kitchen/dinning room so you could make dinner and cook food if you wanted to , tea coffee available 24/7 and real fresh coffee. and so easily accessible to all the rooms, a very good buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room If you want seclusion here you have it if you want to enjoy the company of others you have it very good place to stay I would recommend to anyone travelling in West Flanders Old world charm of the main building and ultra modern rooms in the new building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    When I arrived I was made very welcome, The hotel is really nice.even got trenches etc in the garden,brilliant to walk around,i stayed in the new part.lovely comfy warm room with a fantastic bathroom,bed was really comfy aswell.brilliant internet. I ate there,the food I ordered was lovely ,very tasty. The owners are lovely folk and gave me good advice where to visit. I would deffo go back and id like to thank them for the fantastic week I had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no tea or coffee facilities in the room, not a big problem it would have nice

    good location quiet rooms were very well furnished plenty of hot water television staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good evening meal was lovely and a good price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drawback was that evening meals were only served between 6.30pm to 8.00pm.

    The situation of the hotel and the grounds were very interesting. The staff were helpful and gave information about the history of the hotel and surrounding area. Ieper was only 3 kilometres away with a good bus service near the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hooge Crater open air museum with a bunker and trenches in the garden badly neglected and had recently fallen trees on half of it (which actually lended some authenticity!). It’s a shame as it could be a good attraction.. Note that dogs not allowed in tea room/restaurant ( not a big problem but it’s often ok in Europe ).

    Lovely well equipped room in the new annex was spacious with great walk in shower. No knowledge of the rooms in main building. Good location for visiting WW1 memorials and also Ieper ( Ypres) itself.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in the modern annex are large, quiet and comfortable. The 'war museum park' in the grounds is evocative and well worth spending some time in. Very good for visiting the Polygon Wood sector of the Ypres battlefields.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real double bed would have been nice rather than 2 singles pushed together Didn't know about tea making facilities until last day..other wise fab..great shower spacious room yum breakfast chill bar area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and coffee\tea facilities in the rooms would be a bonus. That first coffee before going to breakfast...

    Quaint, clean, good location, friendly welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind at this time.

    All meals that we had at the hotel were very good. The breakfast though were in our opinion the highlight. The selection of meats cheeses and other items were always fresh and well presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't blame the hotel but one has to accept that the time of the Last Post ceremony in Ypres is inconsistent with an evening meal at the hotel restaurant.

    Room was large; beds fine The breakfast was very good. Parking provision generous. We and our grandson found the trenches and bunker in the hotel grounds most interesting. Next door is an extremely good museum - looks small from outside but astonishingly large and comprehensive inside. In fact we rate it more highly than the official museum in the Cloth Hall in Ypres. And just opposite the museum is the Hooge British Cemetery - large and as usual immaculately maintained by the CWGC. Altogether the hotel is ideally located for visits to the Flanders battle sites and cemeteries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put in a room in the new building, which was disappointing as I wanted to stay in the old one. Bed was a bit too firm for my liking. It was unseasonably warm so we had to have the window open otherwise we'd have been too hot in bed, but the traffic noise was constant and loud as we were right on the main road. No tea or coffee-making facilities in the rooms. A bit too far out of town really, taxi was v expensive. There was a deer in the grounds who was alone and deer are pack animals, it was pacing - please get it a friend.

    The bread at breakfast was amazing. The breakfast was excellent, continental and plentiful. The room was spotlessly clean and the shower was excellent, lots of power. The grounds are very interesting with lots of WW1 detritus and craters and even a bunker. There are sheep in the grounds!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The write-up/pictures about the hotel stressed its quietness and did not mention that it is located between a theme park and a major road. While the noise interference was not great, it was unexpected and we felt as though we had been slightly misled. Our rooms were not in the main hotel, but in an outside building: there was an unpleasant smell both in the rooms and outside the hotel.

    Staff were helpful and friendly (made sure we knew about the 8pm Last Post ceremony at the Menin Gate), rooms were large and clean, beds comfortable and good breakfast. The little open-air museum (trenches and crater you could walk around and through) next door was a real bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a bland international style hotel, this is not the place for you.

    What an eccentric, unusual hotel! Exploring the garden with its trenches, bunker and WW1 memorabilia was atmospheric, then meeting the beautiful antlered stag was a delight. The museum next door is a must to visit. The Lutyens designed CWGC cemetery opposite is serene and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No draft beer in the bar. Location is too far to walk into Ypres at night and buses stop around 7pm. A taxi one way at 20 euros is extortionate. Not much around the hotel for evening food and drink. You need a car. No food on a Sunday night.

    It’s the perfect location to explore WW1 sites. Grounds have remains of trenches and a large crater. Next door is the museum. We stayed in the new building which though not of the same character as the main house, it had excellent modern facilities (incl a brilliant shower) and a spacious room. Menu was good at night (loved the steaks) and continental breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect and we are struggling to find something wrong.

    The hotel was situated in a wooded area which suited the hotel. Everything was within easy reach and only a short drive. The breakfasts and evening meals were substantial and satisfying. It was a relaxing break that we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps not best suited for children, but no problems

    Traditional atmosphere/ambience, friendly mix of guests. Excellent location for key battlefield sites

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely comfortable rooms, nice beds and pillows. Continental breakfast- good choice of foods. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent situation for visiting the WW1 sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was in the new annex, which is the first time that I have had a room in that block. It is modern and fitted out in a contemporary style and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and consistently re-stocked. The staff are caring and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the place was absolutely right for our three day stay to celebrate my partners 70th with friends in ypres good comfy bed and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the new block which was functional but characterless and cheaply furnished although the bed was comfortable. The main building is 'quaint' but in urgent need of refurbishment.

    Room was very clean and staff helpful. Close to the centres we wished to visit. They accept dogs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location some distance from Ypres. Buses into town do not run in evenings.

    Comfortable. Close to interesting sights such as Hooge crater which is next to the hotel. Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pleasant but not overly welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathrooms were very dates circ 1970' breakfast was okay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a little confusion about payment. I thought I had already paid Booking .com but then I was asked to pay the whole amount.

    Just a friendly atmosphere and the whole building somehow fitted into the area in which it is based

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I walked from the train it was a bit long of a walk approx 5km, but it was a nice walk with a nice country pub on route so not so bad

    The location outside of town was very peaceful, it was an excellent location to walk to WW1 historic sites. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good. Very homey

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was spot on for what we wanted as we were in Ypres to commemorate the anniversary of the passing of a family member in the great war. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and positive. The interaction with other guests staying in the property also added to our satisfaction.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a proper shower and no curtain so water went all over floor but it is an old building so not too much of a problem

    Large room, comfortable bed, good choice for breakfast. Staff very friendly and effecient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything that I disliked

    convenient location for students of WW1. Convienieny distance from Ypres centre. comfortable. Staff V friendly and helpful. I have stayed there before and will stay there again. Easy to reach from Calais. staff are fluent in English (and probably other languages). In all a good place to stay to visit Ypres and the Ypres Salient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like, really.

    Quiet yet near main road to Ypres. Bed was especially comfortable, thus guaranteeing an excellent night's sleep! The room we had was a corner room with windows on two sides with an opening door onto a small balcony. The location of this hotel was especially good for the visits we made to various WW1 sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little too far out of Ypres to walk into the centre

    Clean room bed was comfortable helpful staff food good beer good overall a pleasurable stay at this hotel would stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Hotel was very good, room was clean& comfortable. Breakfast is good the restaurant meals in the evening excellent nice bar and the staff are helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Had a quadruple suite in the new block. Everything looked new and clean. Ideal location for the theme park and had a little open air museum within the grounds about the trench warfare of WW1. Close enough for a €12 taxi into Ypres. Lovely breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , all great

    It's decorated in the original style as 1920 ts, when it was re built from the stables. Has all you need around it within walking distance .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no tea / coffee making facilities in the room.

    Our huge room was in the modern extension which has excellent Wi-Fi as it s also a conference centre. The menu has been greatly improved since our last stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    Breakfast was OK, Coffee, luke warm, and cups too small. that's all. The rest was fine. Location was just right for what we required for our short stay. Receptionist gave us good advice and directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable beds, great shower, The breakfast was very good. The bar well stocked with a wide variety of drinks. The hotel was in an excellent location just outside Ypres and close to many WW1 sites. Excellent all round.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was very good, the dinner in the restaurant excellent quality and good value for money. If we visit Yepres again we will stay at the Hotel Kasteelhof again. We will also recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with history on the doorstep. Food and beer at the resturant was great. Comfort of the room/beds was also great. Towels were a little bit tired.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the new section which was very comfortable , Family room was two linked rooms with lots of space. The new section also had a kitchen which was useful for warming up food and getting coffee ! Had a wonderful Steak chips and Belgium beer meal followed by dame blanc - fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) Waterproof liner on the bed and pillow made sweating inevitable thus distracted from what was a comfortable bed. It was also noisy when turning over during the night which interrupted sleep for both of us using the room when the other turned. Whilst I understand the reason for this better padding between the waterproof cover and bottom sheet in our opinion is needed. 2) Whilst there was a reasonable sized mirror this was located too close to the bathroom door, thus care had to be had that on leaving the bathroom you didn't accidentally strike the mirror user. It was assumed the mirror was located where it was so it was usable with the hair dryer in the bathroom. Hanging the door on the opposite side of the frame would have provided the facility whilst being a little safer. 3) The breakfast servery table was too small and too close to the door into a second room causing congestion around the area where guests were pouring and moving away with hot drinks. An oblong table (rather than two small round tables) would have provided better and safer facilities.

    Good sized room and en-suit, very clean provided with mosquito nets (albeit we didn't see any).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is like a roadchef! The old building has very dated rooms. Threadbare towels. Handheld shower over bath but no shower curtain. The modern block is sterile, clinical, like a hospital. The view at the front it of the road and the electricity substation. The view at the back of the hotel is of an old wooden rollercoaster (in use).

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice location on WWI sight, other sights such as Ypres, Paaschendale, and Poperinge are close by. Westvleteren is also close. Breakfast was great, room was huge and kept clean. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A pleasant country house hotel on the outskirts of Ypres. I stayed in the main house where the rooms are more traditional in style - there is a modern annexe on the other side of the car park. My room was clean and comfortable. I had a balcony overlooking the grounds, which includes a WW1 bomb crater, bunker and trenches etc. - it's possible to walk around this area. There is also a very good museum and cafe in the former chapel next-door. Excellent continental breakfast - a good selection of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, eggs (hard-boiled), bread and croissants etc. I also had dinner for three of my four nights there - a varied menu with generous-sized portions (especially the chips!). Friendly helpful staff. Well-situated for visiting the WW1 cemeteries and museums in 'Flanders Fields'.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location was great!! Stayed in the newer part of the hotel although breakfast was served in the older part. The hotel was lovely very spacious and clean. All english speaking and very polite. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    We have stayed here before and like the rooms and restaurant. The owners are friendly and helpful and allowed us to park our motorcycle in a secure garage. The restaurant menu, whilst not extensive, provided good meals and the breakfasts are also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed at 23:00. Theme park next door could be noisy during daytime. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Gravel drive tricky for motorcycles.

    Fantastic hotel in lovely building with friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful rooms with aircon and great views of the gardens, which include a fascinating open air WW1 museum, complete with trenches and a crater. Good bar. Great breakfast, which was served early to fit in with our needs. Biker friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: