Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel L'Auberge Autrichienne 2 stars

Avenue Stalingrad, 122, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#213 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

4.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.2

  • Comfort

    4.3

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    4.3

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    4.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located in a horrible part of the city. Homeless and beggars slept outside the front door. The streets smelled of urine and garbage. The advertised pictures make the hotel look much more modern and clean than it was. The carpets were stained and ripped. The bathrooms were dirty, and had a considerable amount of mold. Spend the extra 20-40€ a night and don’t make the same mistake that I did.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood seems to be dangerous. The hostel is old.

    The staff is really nice and attentive. Its a good location, in the center of the city, with a lot of stores and restaurants around and close to the bus and train/metro stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was disgraceful. The door of the Wardrobe was falling off, the curtain poll was falling down and to top it all off I GOT BEDBUGS FROM SLEEPING IN THE BED. I would never ever stay in this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does need a overhaul on all rooms and hallways. It is in disrepair and needs some tlc. But I feel the management are trying to rectify the problems .

    The staff were friendly There was filming going on inside the hotel! Ben Kingsley was filming a new movie Breakfast was good, choices of croissants, baguettes, cheese and meats. Coffee, tea or fruit drinks. Location is great from train station .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a terrible condition. As a woman traveling by myself i felt unsafe in the neighborhood but also in my room. There were only men in the hotel and I had the impression that people were actually constantly living in that place. Very sketchy. I decided to check out the next day and find another hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains goes in front of window, very dirty, can’t lock a door, can’t close a window, rain comes inside, radioator is cold. I asked to turn heater on but it was only for 5 min. Disaster! Terible. In this place only live Turkish people. They are everywhere. Worst hotel in mine life! Should forbidden to sell a rooms on booking.com

    I cant find nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most disgusting, filthy, noisy place I've ever stayed. No way anyone can sleep there. Rooms 10 metres away from the very busy trainline.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Literally attached to rail way. You can feel and hear trains. Really old equipment and building. A bit smelly overall. Cold, heating was not sufficient at this weather especially at night. Noisy, you could hear everything. We could hear the noise from the street, but still better than the trains. We were lucky to have the street side view. Windows could not open - taped in order to isolate, or stay together? Overall for this price, it was a let down.

    Location is indeed good. But in ethnic quarter (north africain people mostly), which we didn't mind. Beds were quite OK and comfy. We were quite positively surprised that they changed bed sheets every day. Personnel was rather friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the train tracks right by the bedroom window. The noise from other guests walking above and talking. Pillows not great

    The location was excellent, very close to train station and transport links. WiFi worked in room as was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Place should not operate as a hotel. It has to be inspected by public safety and health Bed bugs, fielthy sheets, broken furniture, sleeping people in the breakfast area ...... This was the worst pleace I have ever stayed as a hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Close to Brussels Midi train station, however this does mean hearing trains in early morning and late night, sometimes feeling the trains passing too. Needed a place close to catching Eurostar so location was main factor in staying. Brussels tourist spots within 10-30-minute walk, hotel is located on avenue to Grand Place - certain roads are less well-lit at night so took metro when dark. Old hotel, facilities did work - shower quick to warm up and no drainage issue. Place could use new shower curtain & most importantly correct the short bathroom curtain. Wifi worked. Do note that area is ethnically diverse, has north African and halal eateries around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was dirty, cigarette stubs on the balcony. no english knowledge. Noisy rooms.

    Location of the hotel is near to the city. Good transportation, easy to reach even on foot the city. Low prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty. Broken furniture. No working light in the bathroom. Cigarette burns through the sheets .Noise from neighbouring rooms (taps/ occupants etc). Door wasn't safe. Ridiculously overpriced. Strong smell of cigarettes in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms is old and not clean good , I was with my husband and my child and in our room didn't have enough towels and pilios enough for 3 person also when I make book by booking.com there I saw the price what I have to pay bit when I arrived in hotel there ask me for more 10€ extra without any kassa ticket orsomething with what I can proofind what I pay and the last is that me and my son we leave the hotel with rash all over the body !

    Only the location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too close to the railway. The floor squicks each time you walk in the room. The room smells, the bed sheets has a blood stain and smells. The room fan is not working. Has bed bugs on one of the bed as my son is covered with bites. Surrounding area ie reception/stairs smells and carpets need changing.

    close to midi station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was dirty, uncomfortable and very, very noisy. The bed vibrated when the trains passed by. They only stop between something like 1am and 5am. Neighborhood very colorful but didn't have a safe or nicec feel to it. I owuld not recommend it to anyone.

    Location close tho Midi Station and shuttle to Charleroi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing was the noise of traffic at certain times of the day who blow their car horns all the times. But just shoot the window and that solves that problem more or less.

    It was an idea hotel with its nearness to the Eurostar - only about a 7 minute walk. Also ideal for the short walk to Grand Square. In fact it is ideally situated. We never used the bar and meal area as chose to eat out but it looked a really nice area for a relaxing drink etc. The staff were always on hand and Meyer who I dealt with with mails etc, was a really nice guy and friendly. The bedding was clean as was the room and bathroom. No problems with the hotel at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were rather musty. The bathrooms had mold on the shower curtain, the tiles, and in the bathtub. Lighting in the bathroom was virtually nonexistent. The proximity to a major intersection made the room noisy at all hours.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an average hotel but BILAL! He was our host/manager, he was amazing and such a hospitable person. He Made our stay great. Assisted us with maps and places to see. Courteousness is in his blood. Probably the most friendliest hotel manager we met throughout our trip in Europe. I recommend this place for non French speaking people and people who love to be felt hospitable! It's all cause of Mr.Bilal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early, so we got some complementary coffee before check-in while we waited. We waited in the nicely decorated restaurant area. There was even a fireplace which I thought, was very pretty. The room was clean and comfortable. It was way prettier than the room we stayed in the night before. In this room we had nice big windowns with natural light and a little bit of a view over the street. We also had a little french balcony and the bathroom was equiped with an hairdryer. After checking in, we went and had some food. Just next to the hotel, there are fruit stands and restaurants with good and cheap food. We got a late check-out (2pm) without any problems or fees. Also printing my ticket for the airplane was no problem for the staff, which was really helpfull. I offered to pay for the print, but the staff member didn't want any money for it. Since my flight was late in the evening we were also able to leave our luggage in the hotel after check-out, while we explored the city some more. All in all it was a very friendly and nice stay and I would go there again :).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEDBUGS! Avoid like the plague. Not to mention that room door did not lock from the inside. Had to rest my suitcase against it to feel safe. Complaints about room were basically ignored and I was told there were no other rooms available. Disgusting.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furnitures, toilet fittings. Shower too slow. There was a fan, but didnt work. Fairly OK to stay again.

    Friendly staff, location was comfortable with a few minutes walking to midi station, ample shops and restaurants nearby. The reception guy offered me a early morning breakfast as I wanted to check out very earlier. I was grateful. However, I did not accept that.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot af tv channel didn't work, but I where most time in the city 😬

    Nice was the near distance to city center, a lot of food market around and I was little surprised there where carusel and stuff right in front of the street.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found weird bugs. Was quite loud because it was near the street/ station.

    The location is quite central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Train and car noise all night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host are really friendly, he even gave us free breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad hygiene / cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    It was the worst place I started in all my life!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car was smashed in the street parking.

    Poor hotel,door can not lock, not safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bad hotel, but the only one in central Brussels with a room left. For Eur 165/night in a dodgy area it was terrible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is falling apart

    Near the train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should be demolished.

    Near station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay there was very good and Asad was super nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom has awful smell. Bed bugs!

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi in the rooms and the staff is not helpful at all.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on the shower

    Close to the train station and good wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything + incredible price

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location near to Brussels Midi railway station, short walk to the centre of town. Friendly staff, the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst hotel I have stayed. Actually a hostel for hotel price, even wi-fi was not working in the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty Hard to sleep with the train tracks nearby Wifi only in lobby Bed bugs on sheets!!!!!!

    Close to train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy, poor rooms, sad and tired.

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a hole in the door above the door handle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smeeeelll cigarrettes...dirty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and convenient location, not much luxury but handy for quick trips to the centre. The staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dorty

    staff and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs some renovation. The room was old and didn't smell fresh, smokey air.

    Location is good, friendly host

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    guy at reception asked me to pay twice by same number - he just made two copies of reservation and told that I made reservation for 2 numbers, but I've found that this is a fraud! whole room had a smell cigarette smoke noisy thing walls, unreal to have a sleep before 1am Wi-Fi is terribly bad - works only at 1-st floor near receptionist-fraudster

    - nothing! worst hotel I've ever been!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a nice hotel at all. Right next to international railway, although the noise wasn't a problem in the end. It is a place to rest your head and nothing more. If you like budget hotels that don't pretend to be anything else this is for you, but be warned it is not nicely decorated or very clean. Not suitable for young families or couples wanting a romantic break.

    Location, a short walk to Grand Place and an even shorter walk to main transport terminal and shuttle bus to Charloroi airport. price, great price for location but that is all.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed very uncomfortable. Smoking fumes entering room leaving my clothes smelling, TV not working, Washbasin taps falling off. Hair drier falling off wall. No room wifi, Noise & vibration from railway. Very outdated.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like at all that the toilet was dirty. With wet toilet paper (?) with obvious no clean surfaces and mold on the ceiling.

    I liked the fact that it was near the train station.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was mold in the bathroom. Most of the employees of the hotel did not speak English, it was problematic even to order a sparkling water. Back side of the hotel is connected with railway station. You could feel the vibrations when the train was passing by. And you will make at about 5 am in the morning because trains start coming at that time. At the reception there is a big sign that it is not safe to leave anything in the room, because the hotel is not responsible if anything got stolen. (So if it is so easy to get into the room and steal anything, I rather barricaded myself in the room at night.) Some people on my floor had shared bathroom in the corridor. So I met men in the underwear when I was leaving my room. When I came to my room in the evening, the TV was on, and it was not me who has turned it on :( There was a strange odor in the lobby.

    One receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom light didn't work, towel wrack broken. Owner could do some repairs and give the place a propper clean.

    The manager, Bilal, was fantastic. He gave us excellent information about things to see and do. All the staff were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the first night we heard trains that is all

    i just came back and i can say the staff is really nice and helped us . it is close to the train and you can walk to the center in 15 min . breakfast has what you need for a starter day

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The whole premises are in a extremely tatty state of repair. Messy, unclean room, in the verge of filth, the decoration solely consisting in the bone of a date nearly glued to one wall. No proper curtains, but net curtains only, which didn't prevent light from disturbing in the morninng hours. No actual wifi.

    The staff was kind

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, very bad It strange that you put such a hotel on your site Absolutly not its money worth I wouldnt reccomend it to anyone Dont go

    Absolutly nothing !

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was filthy, the staff barely spoke English, the room was not secure. Very poor condition

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located under a train bridge, indifferent staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was very dirty and uncomfortable.

    It was near the station.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is noisy

    The position is good it is near Midi station Many Sightseeing are located at walking distance from the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room is not clean' wifi cannot connected in the room

    Staff is good

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The common areas are not in a perfect shape and the cleanliness is not 100%.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is good for the value.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Couple

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1-Bed Bugs 2-Dirty Beds 3-poor furniture 4-No wifi signals in rooms Be away from this hotel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lift is smaller than me Breakfast id poor I had to change rooms as the first one had no toilet seat and no curtains

    Internet

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stuff is friendly and helping.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    old furniture

    location, staff

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: