Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Librairie 2 stars

Comte Théodule d'Ursel, 20, 6940 Durbuy, Belgium

#4 of 22 hotels in Durbuy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms for our party. 1 room was on cobblestone street and cars early in morning were very noisy. Room on river side was quiet. Rooms were very hot. Unusually hot May weather

    Good location, clean and room facilties good. Nice terrace for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that there isn't any air conditioning which meant the room was a bit hot overnight

    Great location with parking. Beds were comfortable and staff very friendly. The breakfast far exceeded expectations and was a great start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first time when we accessed the car park it was a bit daunting but we were ok after that.

    Great location, free parking. We arrived on a Saturday that was very hot, the town had a lovely vibe, lots of bars and restaurants and was very popular. The hotel has a central location, we were at the back of the hotel, coffee making facility, large room. I was amazed how quiet it was at night, we stayed for two nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper shower and no curtain/screen or place to attach the shower head making showering a pain! If you like baths you'll be fine. Room a little odd in decor but minor issue.

    Breakfast was good. Room a good size. Parking was a massive bonus! Definitely request a room on the back. We had one facing the front unfortunately and seeing the view the other way we were a little disappointed we didn't!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large free car park at rear. Loved the view from the room on the top floor at the rear of the hotel. Great view of river and topiary gardens. Breakfast was delicious, especially the smoked ham

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not something negative but there is not much to do nearby so you should take into account if you haven't got car.

    Breakfast really tasty and very varied. All the staff and owner are extremely welcoming. Next to it there is a big park with beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Amazing hotel in wonderful little town Durbuy. The location is great, parking easy. A specially people very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Room very clean and everything brand new, view from the window to the forest and river. Service was great. Thank you very much for great hospitality. We will certainly come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is located in a very centric area and they provide free parking. Special mention to the owners who were always extremely helpful and nice to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    IF I had a disability the stairs Would be a problem but apparently if you request you can have a ground floor Room

    Lovely hotel, Lovely location Welcoming staff Great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a fine hotel in the heart of Durbuy - the location is its main trait. It offers a fair value for money and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't really think of anything... Except no airconditioning, but the windows open up nice and big.

    This place is unbelievable for a two star hotel, 99 Euro per night per room. Every single thing was superb. The room was modern and clean. The minibar had water, soft drinks, beer and champagne. The mattress was excellent. You could tell that this place has only recently been refurbished. No airconditioning though. The breakfast was ample and of good quality. You can get breakfast till 11am. The eggs were half-boiled, just the way they should be. If you want them hot you can ask them to make new ones. The jam is locally produced and very good. There are two choices of cheese slices, and two choices of meats (smoked/boiled ham and salami). Also yoghurts, cream cheese, two types of cereal, fruit, chocolate spread, etc. Hot milk, water and coffee. Cocoa powder. Two types of bread plus baguettes, pistolets and croissants. The room doors open up via a door code. The external door is opened by key if you come home late. The parking is free and down 2 flights of stairs near the river Ourthe (lots of elevation change in this river city). Free parking is not a given in the smallest city in the world. There is no night desk, this is a small hotel (8 rooms). Four rooms on the 2nd floor, four more on the 3rd. The first floor (aka ground floor) is the entrance, the breakfast room and a newspaper/gift shop/alcohol and cigarette shop. If you arrive after 6pm you need to let them know so they can be present for your arrival (the owners don't live there). We didn't know this so they called us on the phone while we were driving there to ask when we'd be arriving. Checkout at 11:30 am. The staff is extremely friendly, maybe too much so. I'm somewhat autistic so I don't like a lot of conversation. They were always asking how we were and if they could do anything for us. I am handicapped and they went out of their way to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location; excellent staff! The room is very comfortable, nice bathroom. Very good breakfast, fresh. A beautiful place to spend several days, in a marvelous historical town, parks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC room was really hot at night. We slept with the window open which wasn't great because of the summer early sunrise. Maybe a fan will be a good idea over the summer.

    Staff were amazing !!! So welcoming and helpful Breakfast was delicious! Fresh bread and pastries !!! Room over looking the river fabulous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good or better, nothing I didn't like.

    The owners are awesome! Really good, free, breakfast. Slept too late one morning due to my jet lag... They held some breakfast for me when I finally got up!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for a double bed but it turned out that they they don't have double beds in the hotel . They have only two single beds attached. The heating and lighting in the room stopped working. But the hotel fixed it when we asked. The room smelled of cigarettes. There were renovations on the roof next to our window while we were in the room that made noise. The town a bit boring. All shops close at six in the evening. Nothing to do there more than two days.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't think anything could have been better. But this is more a very good B&B (pension) rather than a hotel.

    The friendliness of the owners The overall feeling of 'cosiness' parking availability and view at back of hotel So easy to get into teh town, few minutes walk The flexibility on request to have a earlier breakfast. The standard breakfast time anyway is excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was down a steep slope which could catch some people out. There is no lift within the hotel and that means you have to climb 4 stories from the car park to your room if you are on the top floor.

    The hotel was great. Dedicated parking for the hotel. The rooms were big and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning had a good selection and staff were very attentive. Wouldn't let the minor issues stop us coming back which we are already planning for next year 👍

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    Fantastic location right in the centre of Durbuy. Lovely room overlooking the river beyond. Breakfast was fantastic, lovely choice of good quality produce. We realised that we were going to be late due to bad weather en route and wires pleased that staff waited to check us in and welcome us. We also got a wave goodbye as we rode off on our motorbikes. Such a friendly place! if I head back to Durbuy I would definitely try to book here again!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delivered as expected no issues

    . Comfortable accomodation good breakfast very good location and relaxing view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Durbuy is very small and quite quiet midweek.

    Being able to park in the centre of Durbuy was a real bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in center of town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was very helpful and nice. The location is perfect and there's a nice mountain view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect arranged

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were a little hot, but then it was a heat wave when we were there.

    The owners were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind

    Everything was just great, the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location with private parking!! clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really! Ideally, we would have preferred a double bed instead of two singles.

    Superb location Excellent / fresh breakfast Very friendly owners On-site free parking

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Since we had our 9 months old son with us, chosing a hotel was not the best solution, no kitchen facilities, steep, narrow stairs to the room, breakfast starting late at 8:30, lack of a shower cabin

    The location, the friendliness of the staff, an included parking spot, wi-fi, the afct the room was tidy

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The last morning we couldn't have breakfast because we had to leave early. The owner made for us a bag with bread and drinks in it! It was a large bag: so good!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Good central location, though Durbuy is so small it would be difficult not to be "central". Parking was fine, contrary to some previous reviews. The wifi worked well, once we discovered the password was lower case not upper case letters as written. The breakfasts were excellent. Though we stayed during very hot weather and had to leave the windows open for ventilation we were not disturbed by street noise.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I would advise is to know that stairs are involved. Didn't bother us, but could some people with problems.

    Location was perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was newly renovated in the last few years. It felt airy, clean and fresh. We really liked it and it felt comfortable. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Excellent location. As hotel is small it is best suited for a short stay

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hospitality Nice breakfast Free parking

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would like stronger coffee (the only thing to nag about)

    Nice clean room and bathroom. Looks recently refurnished. Breakfast is absoluut spot on.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: