Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Passerelle 2 stars

Chaussée Des Prés, 24, 4020 Liège, Belgium

#21 of 22 hotels in Liège

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.5
    The worst hotel that I have ever been to in my life and I have travelled a lot. Never recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like my stay in Hotel La Passerelle at all. First of all, when we arrived at 12am the hotel and the reception were closed, so we could not enter at the beginning. After some minutes, a person opened us (without informing if she was the receptionist, a cleaning lady, a hotel worker...) but we had to leave our luggage there in the middle of the reception hall (between the breakfast tables) until 4pm (check-in time opening) So we left the hotel (because they closed again until 4pm and they didn't let us to stay there) during 4 hours without knowing if it would be safe, without any door or security. Secondly, when we arrived at the hotel for the check-in, the hotel was closed again. After some minutes, the receptionist opened us. When we were doing the check-in he asked us if we preferred two beds instead of a double one (we have already requested this change some weeks ago when doing the booking, and they answered us that it was possible to do this change. They didn't say anything about an extra cost, so we supposed that the price was the same). We answered yes, and when he gave us the bill it had two extra charges: 5€ for the city tax and 5€ for having two beds! I couldn't believe that. Moreover, when I did the reservation some weeks ago, I chose paying by card. When I was going to pay he told me that if I payed with card it had a 3% of extra cost! Seriously? Yes. He said: These are the hotel conditions, so at the end we payed by cash and 70€ instead of 60€. After that uncomfortable and incredible start, we went my to see our room. The corridor was so narrow that it was difficult to pass through by the luggage. The elevator is super small and from last century, yo feel like you areb inside a wardrobe and you are going to get trapped there. The room was very dirty and not nice at all (any similarity with the website pictures is just pure coincidence). One of the beds was not a regular one, it seemed to be a suppletory bed.

    Nothing at all. Very bad experience in all senses.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    Good that we were with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a peculiar place really. Comfortable enough though quite basic, it could do with a complete refurbishment. It worked out to be only €10.00 cheaper than our exceptional ibis hotel in Aachen, once parking and breakfast were factored in. Parking was secure but too expensive (perhaps cashing in on expensive street parking?). The breakfast too followed an increasing trend to charge heavily in most places. €12.00 - really? The shower really only dribbled, there was no hairdryer in the room as stated and it would have been nice to have a level bathroom shelf! (It only needed the bracket turning at one end!) There was a tear in the curtain. Our friends even found a cigarette placed carefully on a shelf in the wardrobe of their non smoking room - how long had it been there we wondered? The manager was very friendly and helped us park the car, but surely regular checking of the rooms and some basic maintenance would make such a difference?

    Secure parking - though very expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location and people, very good if you just have to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a bit small and not lit very well. Finding the place also might be tricky since it's right at the corner but without any signboard. I had to call the owner to locate it, and I has passed on it twice already as on the maps.

    The staff is very courteous and helpful. They were more than happy to listen to my questions and give an appropriate answer, them speaking English was a bonus for me. They extended my checkout by 1 hour as I had some work to finish. Overall on the hospitality front it's a big YES! Location is perfect, it's bang in the city center and 5-10 mins walk from the downtown area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice people but not such a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Comfort Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow staircase; in the event of a fire it would be lethal. Pricey for the location which was in a pretty run down area. Not a very attractive city.

    Pleasant staff and useful lift to upper floors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Nothing to complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Comfort Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Family members run this hotel ,they are friendly ,helpful...breakfast cost 7euro is a little expensive ,not much foods but they make fresh coffee and eggs. They spend their time to talk with us when we have questions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    Fine if there's nowhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Check-in hassle - told to go away & come back later even though it was after the agreed check in time. Then took ages to process (>30mins) with no explanation as to why. 2. Dirty sheets & no bedding in room - asked for some but not provided, so had to just lie on top of the bed to sleep. 3. A leg broke from the bed during the night! Had to keep bed propped up with my bag... 4. Didn't feel safe leaving anything in the room - dodgy window latch.

    OK breakfast... close enough to the main town / river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.7
    Overall disappointing stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fan of French run hotels where the desk shuts down. Am used to USA hotels where someone is available 24/7. Breakfast included is not really a fair statement - perhaps better would be "we'll give you a couple rolls, have a little cheese and meat and a packaged yogurt for you". Compare to my previous two nights stays where the breakfast was outstanding for similar price, was very disappointed.

    Place was clean and the room was what I expected for the price paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.0
    Good location but beware the extra costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was horrified to have to pay a 150 euro deposit to use the free wifi. However I did get this returned, after some delay the next morning. Also I wasn't told on booking, there was a 3% charge to pay by credit card.

    The location was great, close to the old part of the City.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    The staff was friendly, very willing to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls were pretty thin, so I could hear the next door's guest snoring all night. Oh well.

    The staff was friendly, very willing to help. It was definitely worth the money, and would recommend for business travel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    The hallway was very small and not nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway was very small and not nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    The worst place to stay ever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst place to stay ever.

    The worst place to stay ever.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Too far from station. Owners arrival unpredictable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner did not arrive on site according to the timings given.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Smaller than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller than expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.5
    No
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    The stay was not to bad, people where very friendly , foods was also good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The white shirt was disgusting

    Rhe check in was good feiendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    A very good 2-star hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower needs fixing. The TV channels are not organized at all.

    Very comfortable mattress. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    It's comfortable but the street is very noisy. Don't bother with the breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was terrible, really not worth the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    The price is too expensive for a poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too expensive for a poor hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    we smoked in the bathroom and as a 'disciplinary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we smoked in the bathroom and as a 'disciplinary measure' our room did not get cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    helpful personnel, well maintained bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Comfort Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small beds, no information about wifi and phones in room

    helpful personnel, well maintained bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift had a disconcerting habit of stopping halfway.

    Proprietor was very genial and helpful. Parking was very secure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Cleaners had done a great job.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is old/shabby.

    Cleaners had done a great job. Very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    I like the city
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Very clean, good internet, kind receptionist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, good internet, kind receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    The bed was really really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really really good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    The water was very cold and the room was very cold
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was very cold and the room was very cold

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very comfortable and the area very quiet. Staff was undertanding

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    A simple, nice choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Comfort Double Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple....Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.4
    Simple clean rooms with location in the city centre with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a eerie part of the city. The hotel stank of fried fat and was bad illuminated.

    Simple clean rooms with location in the city centre with loyal staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    Close to the city center
    • Family with older children

    Linen was not changed during the entire stay of 5 days. Room does not have space

    Close to the city center There's only one person who is the owner to handle all the work and who is nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Hospitality, breakfast, location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Sometimes it was cold in hotel (heating was not functioning from time to time)

    Hospitality, breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff perfect location within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff perfect location within walking distance to the city and good local restaurants secure off street parking clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    the staff were professional and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no fixed shower and very basic amenities.

    the staff were professional and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    6.7
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast just ok

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    4.2
    parking garage
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad air in the room and toilet

    parking garage

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: