Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Potinière 1 stars

Rue François Joseph Navez 165-167, Schaarbeek / Schaerbeek, 1030 Brussels, Belgium

#215 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

4.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.4

  • Comfort

    4.6

  • Location

    5.1

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise was terrible by the guests. The staff did try but it the levels of noise were so bad I could not sleep

    The Staff really did try to be helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt pretty grubby - didn’t really want to touch the panel in the lift - shower had tile missing and no way to attach hose to wall resulting in one handed washing techniques. Bed very hard.

    The staff were available and polite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff couldn't find my booking when I arrived. Room and hotel were unclean. The hotel smelt poorly. Only stayed because it was close-ish to the airport, but not close enough to the airport to justify staying here. Wouldn't recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpowering smell of smoke in the room to the point of nausea, electricity was off or fused in the morning, noisy, tiny room and bathroom, uncomfortable bed

    This was a terrible place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were marks all over the walls, the shower leaked water all over the floor, the heater did heat the room up very well and there was an AWFUL smell coming from the bathroom.

    I had my own bathroom which was great and there was towels and a hair drier provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is very unfortunately that the room was not so clean. I organized my own cleaning myself because after cleaning by hotel cleaning staff it was worst condition than before. Chair was so nasty so I had packaged it with cellophane.

    Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The pictures do not coincide with reality It was the most horrible hotel ever - dirty, smelly and poorly cleaned, I couldn't stay there and had to move. Let's see if I get reimbursed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    scarsa pulizia - dirt struttura ed arredi vetusti e rovinati - structure and furnishings moldy and ruined puzza di fumo e altri sgradevoli odori in camera e nei corridoi - smells of smoke and other unpleasant odors in the room and corridors Gancio per la doccia rotto - broken shower's hook mancanza di sapone liquido - lack of liquid soap / bath-gel and other amenities mancanza del telecomando per la tv - lack of TV's remote control rapporto qualità prezzo totalmente insoddisfacente - price ratio is totally unsatisfactory

    Niente / nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice food smell coming in my room at noon at 4th floor yummy ( if you are not hungry is ok) No free parking in front of hotel or along the street ( and still not very crowded and easy to find a parking place) but the parking guys are vigilant. 25 euros / day fine. If you pay for 24 hours is the same price ( 9h-21h)

    The hotel is situated in a quite safe and and calm, populated area. Nice rooms and quite large, nice old style furniture, not noisy, confortable beds, clean enough, very politely and friendly staff, 15-20 min walking down the street to Gare du Nord (night shops drinks food everything) .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy when I arrived, check in was just give you a key and find your own way. Area is unsafe. Location is far from Brussles tourist areas. Checked out a day early as I really felt my safety was at risk ( men eyeing me up going into my room). 8th trip this year and this was the worst hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the shower and some things in the bathroom were broken.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean with comfortable beds. There was a mistake with our booking so the staff gave us a bigger room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing bad Nothing good in this hotel The smell of Indian food dictates the place It is an Indian family lives in the place Transportation is very far from the hotel you must walk 500 m to find bus station

    Bed uncomfortable the water running out from bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and cozy room with a good size bathroom. Not hot because you can open the windows fully. Relatively close to the center, good public transportation connections (train station and tram station very close). Reception is open around the clock.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had problems with warm water and was bit dirty. Pillows weren't very comfortable. Ventilation in shower was very noisy.

    Staff personnel were very kind. Room size was quite ok. It's easy to reach with public transport. As a 1star hotel it's very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like nothing the room was quite small and really old bed dirty room shower.over all the room I had it wasn't good enough for any one else to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful at hotel but i do feel the facilities could be better provided by the hotel i.e. a fan in the room. There was an electrician that worked at the hotel doing odd jobs and the owner of the hotel asked him if he could take me too places and he agreed. This person is a scammer he tried to take extra money from me as there was an occasion when I needed to buy an suitcase and I asked him to help me purchase it he said normal price for the suitcase is 180 Euros but he could get it for 120 Euros which i thought was expensive but agreed to go and look. On the way he wanted me to wait in the car while he got the suitcase to which I said no too anyway when we got to the shop and agreed on the bag Serge the electrician told me to wait outside while he paid the shopkeeper which I did but I still could see how much money he handed over which was 50 Euros anyway when we left he said he wanted 100 Euros for the bag but I refused and told him that I saw him only hand over 50 Euros. He also asked for the address of a friend of mine and made her feel uncomfortable so therefore i strongly suggest people not use serge as a Driver and instead use a regular taxi that is licenced. This was not the fault of the hotel though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I tend to agree with a lot of the other reviews that the rooms could do with a major clean. I left a list of specific items to address with them and they were very good about it. The big problem I found was the smoking. I suppose we Brits have got used to no smoking indoors in a public place, but here was excessive. There seems to be a ventilation shaft which carries the smell from the ground floor all over the hotel. Judging by the strong smell in the room there had been someone actually smoking in the room which is not safe. They should cater for those who find this distasteful and have some no smoking rooms. Whether guests would take any notice is another matter.

    The best way of getting there is to Schaerbeek mainline station which is one stop north of Nord on the Antwerp line. Turn right out of the station and walk back down by the railway, crossing the Number 7 tram line not far from the hotel. Some trams operate from Metro stations, actually from the same platforms as the ordinary Metro. I love the square around the station which is full of bars. My favourite was "Diables Rouge" to the right of the station. There are also a lot of small food shops. There is also a train museum housed in the original station building, which is in itself an architectural gem. There has been a lot done to improve the hotel. The reception is really well appointed. The rooms have been recently decorated but are already in need of a good clean. It was also adequately quiet at night, except that there is a school next door so you get bursts of happy noise during the day! It is also excellent value for money. The only cheaper alternatives in Brussels are hostels or being equally far out of town. It is worth noting that hostels have an age limit of 35, except for the two HI ones. I also found the staff helpful and understanding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even after complaining about how dirty my room was, it remained unchanged although I was told that it had now been cleaned

    The bed was reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No PC for guest. No printing service. Unusued areas very dirty. Extra small showers.

    VERY nice staff & Manager. BEST cheap options in Schaerbeek, just 2 mins walk from the Schaerbeek station connected by tram, bus and trains. Free WIFI, huge beds. Satellite TV in the rooms. Cheap "extra person in the room" fee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the rooms as the rooms were stinking smell not cleaned before allocating to the next customer the toilets were also not cleaned . My suggestion is to clean the rooms after a check out for a new check in. I don't recommend any of my friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a challenge, isolated at the north end of Schaerbeek, over 1km north of Gare du Nord. You really need to understand the tram system (which is complicated) or be prepared for a big inner-city (but safe) walk to reach central Brussels!

    Brussels is expensive and this is a good value hotel. But it's not a modern, international hotel - people with a spirit of adventure and atmosphere will appreciate it. Wifi was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy sometimes, the mattresses were so soft we literally sunk into them which was a quite uncomfortable way to sleep (causing a bit of back pain), and the neighborhood is somewhat shady (there's a red light district nearby, the streets are really dirty and full with obnoxious locals with no manners).

    It was really easy to find. Cheap, fast wi-fi, helpful and friendly staff, quite near to Brussels Noord station (about 15 minutes by walk). Important tram stations nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You better choose another hotel with the same price or a bit more, than this crappy hotel which was awfully dirty, such as the bed linen were not changed as there were a lot of man body hair on it, the hotel room floor even was not cleaned. There were both big dead and living spiders in the room. The windows were so dirty as if were not cleaned for a year or so. There is nothing that I can talk positively about this hotel.

    Nothing. It was a crappy hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been cleaner and shower leaked. Apart from this I could not fault the place especially for so cheap!

    The staff were very helpful in providing directions and advice - the older gent from Pakistan was lovely :) As a solo traveler they made me feel very welcome. The room was basic but bed very comfortable. When I stayed, it was very humid outside but the room itself was cool. Room was quiet with a nice big window.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and some guest do not respect take knock to wrong room almost mid night time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    No breakfast was given

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything location was poor rooms dirty. Bad smell everywhere. Shower was in the middle of the room. Mould everywhere

    Nothing it was disgusting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    position of hotel feeling good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for my liking.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View myroom not good but not bad

    Service / friendly / clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is not in proper condition. Like door, almari. Little bit outside.

    Budget accommodation.****

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not everybody from the staff knows English at least at a basic level, not the best neighborhood.

    Nice staff, big bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I mind just a stain of shower curtain.

    Staff was nice, kind and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, old, dirty and not comfortable bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - WiFi - Douche facility - Bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was filthy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't pay by credit card, bad location, room smells like cigarettes

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small. The hotel is urgent need for renovation.

    The WiFi was extremely fast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El hotel infection....tenie que mirar la INSPECTION SANITAIRE,un llugar de infection publica..!

    Todo el hotel lleno de isectas ,miserable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel Below the expectation No facilities except for the Wifi

    Availability of street free car parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and poor condition the rooms.

    The staff they were nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's cold, noisy. The hotel is inhabited by Pakistanis and Moroccans who rustle all night until 5am

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning

    That I have space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Place falling apart

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy, unclean, remote, expensive for very poor quality. You did not dare to go outdoors after dark, dodgy area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got disturbed always by people walking around in other rooms.

    The price. It was dirt cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty and poorly kept

    close to the center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture could be better also toilet seat and char without old stains....

    Nothing special well the bed was comfy that's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, very old, shower not working, dirty

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was double-billed and am trying to resolve the matter now.

    I lost my wallet and a cleaning person returned it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no breakfast although we have expected to have it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good area of town if I would have known would have not stayed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It does not look modern .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really helpful and hospitable,especially Mr.Sajid on the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, people were smoking in the reception, poor clean. Acceptable for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very small and noisey

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was some dust under the bed

    No comment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good

    No clean very dirty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very dirty

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy, in total disrepair, would not advise anybody to stay here, worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel was decorated nicely. The room was a good size with good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the bathrooms....

    Only the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs smoke inside the hotel infont of customer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy.

    Very good price-quality ratio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    it is in nice location, connected by tramp. Staff is friendly and were very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound of people having sex all night And baby scream

    Not like

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old, poor equipment, the bathroom is very small

    the hotel is near the city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small showers, not very clean.

    Very nice personal. Coffee was good. We had an internet connection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smelling

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fast WiFi, very close to Railway station and to the Train World museum. Not noisy, good place to stay for a night.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Potinière traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: