Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Royale 1 stars

Martelarenplein 6, 3000 Leuven, Belgium

#25 of 27 hotels in Leuven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1090 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, no airco, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for a room during Rock werchter festival is to much. Over €200 for 1 night and it was very hot and the room did not have airco so the price is not fair. For that price the room should be perfect.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful central location in the very center of Leuven, a hotel with grandeur and motivated staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been more comfortable with airco in the room, but for a stay for 1 night this was really not such a problem. The noise though, in the very early morning at 6 am I guess, was rather disturbing on a Sunday morning, This is of course a decision of the City of Leuven, but it is not convenient for a hotel guest.

    I liked the easy check in with my voucher. I could pay at once, as I requested because I had an early morning leave. The location was spot on for me, as I was travelling by train. Breakfast more than average. Very friendly hotel staff that treats you as a guest, rather than a money spender. Price-quality balance was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure Noisy doors Very hot room Old elevator

    Good location Near to the train station Very good base for Rock Werchter Good breakfast Quiet room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Very well located opposite the train station and a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located opposite the train station and a few minutes walk from Grote Markt. Friendly welcome and facilities explained. No a/c so room very warm and streets noisy with the windows open. Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    convenient value-for-money hotel to explore Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel with good restaurant and breakfast, on square with more pubs and restaurants, and easy 12 min walk to historic downtown area. Communication with hotel was perfect, they even called afterwards for some luggage left behind by accident.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Just opposite of railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot (No. 431). No aircon. There isn’t a mirror in the room (only in the bathroomm in chest-height), not a small fridge or minibar. Only 1 window facing some ugly rooftop. The closing of the door has some issue. You have to turn the key twice to close the door, otherwise it opens.

    Just opposite of railway station. Simple but tasty breakfast. Quick elevator. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The bed and pillow was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work on the square, woke me up early. No hairdryer.

    Value for money, nice rooms with high ceilings and large bathroom. Good selection of TV channels. Comfy bed. no aircon, but big windows to open. Great selection at breakfast, and the bar attached meant you could sit outside and have a drink on the square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    the location was central OVERALL IT WAS OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival one of the chair broke when I sat on it. the light over the mirror in the bathroom was not working facilities did not met my expectations.the Room should have a kettle in it if you want to make a cup of tea or coffee

    the location was central OVERALL IT WAS OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel for nice price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small. Also, it was a bit hot in the room. Even with the windows open, the temperature was a bit too high.

    The rooms were fine, the beds okay! Good money-quality ratio! Breakfast also okay. Overall, a nice experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    ok for a short stay but bring ear plugs
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My sister and I got stuck in the elevator and its good we had phone reception and the number of the hotel to call because sounding the alarm was no help at all. I requested a quiet room, but there was construction directly outside starting at 4am so we didn't get the sleep we needed. The bathroom could have been cleaner.

    The breakfast was good and so was the location. The staff was helpful and professional when I decided to end my stay early due to the construction noise and discomfort in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Great , Will Be Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel LaRoyale is located across the square from the main station , Easy walking all round Leuven , Great Restaurants & Beer , Clean Quiet Room & Very Helpful Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Extremely dissapointing room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small, grey, extremely noisy room, with small bed, no bedcupboard, awful smell (especially in the bathroom), dirty floor in the bathroom, weak lightening (not every bulb working).

    Short distance to the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Clean and friendly but dated and in need of renovation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would describe the general condition of the hotel as being rather tired. The bathroom was dark, the furniture was worn, the locks were old. It was all very 1980s at a fierce 2020 price.

    The hotel is an attractive building in a fine location, the bed was comfortable, and everything seemed to be clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    No frills, many buses, but charming and a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    However there was no air conditioning and it got hot. Also it is right across from the bus depot and is unusually loud, with many buses coming and going, and alot of exhaust. Louder than a normal busy street.

    The room was pretty, with high ceilings. There are cafes on the street which are also really loud until late at night but that did not disturb me. The location is definitely central, easy to access and near the shops and restaurants, museum and Cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value, huge bed, superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few cobwebs in out of the way places and the walls were a little scuffed. Marble stairs in need of repair.

    Huge bed, very comfortable. Superb breakfast with loads of choice: croissants, doughnuts, crusty rolls, fruit, yogurt and great bacon, eggs and sausage too, served in sunny, high-ceilinged room with a view of the square. Very friendly welcome; panoramic view from fourth floor. Very close to the station on a pretty square, beautiful old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building and parts of the interior is a bit dated, but not worn or in bad shape, just dated.

    Friendly staff, good size room, varied buffet for breakfast and an extremely convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good spot to explore Leuven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to say. My 1-night stay was too short...

    Nice ancient building on a perfect location. Very friendly staff. Room offers all you need (the high ceiling gives something extra). Good, basic breakfast. Nice hotel if you prefer 'local' instead of chains...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Right across street from train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are a little thin - can hear people in adjacent rooms. As long as have quiet neighbors, no problem.

    Right across street from train station. Good breakfast. Room nothing special but was fine. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.8
    Location and connectivity
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. Shower didn't drain well and a shower curtain is impractical and outdated. Amount of towels and size was also less than expected

    Location and connectivity Internet Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good location for the train station and historic city. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a hairdryer in the room which may have been noted in the hotel information on booking.com, but I think I just assumed that all hotel rooms have hairdryers.

    The location and friendly staff. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Hotel was quiet. The restaurant and bar connected to the hotel looked very nice and would loved to have eaten there if we had more days in Leuven.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, supersized room .
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not speedy. Heating in the bathroom did not work so a bit chilly in the shower. The restaurant serves mediocre food and does not employ sufficient staff to provide a good service.

    Great size room with two single beds and one big double bed and plenty of space to walk around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and small you had to look round a post to see the tv No basic facilities like kettle hair dryer fridge Bed dumped in middle of room no head board no bed sides I’ve stayed at better pensions than this If this is the caliber of booking.com 3 star hotels I will book elsewhere

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Cheap and Cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There lift needs an overhaul. It stopped working a few times over the space the weekend leaving 4 people trapped for 15 mins mid floors unable to call for help and then myself until it reset itself. General Maintenance - The lights didn't work in my bathroom - told the receptionist who brought a box of spare bulbs but was unable to change it. So i have to do it myself but still didn't work. Was promised it would be looked at in the morning but no one ever did which meant I was unable to have a shower after returning to my room in the evenings after long cold days.

    Excellent Location. Decent breakfast. Warm room. Clean room. The Weekend Market outside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent short stay to sample the Christmas delights of Leuven. Where we stayed just added th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any negatives. It was an affordable, comfortable, easy to find, in a great location hotel. Extremely friendly Staff and set in a lovely area.

    Excellent hotel, very close to station and underground carpark. We stayed over night and car park fee was €15. Breakfast as you would expect and the coffee is to die for! Hotel has restaurant attached (which was handy as we arrived at 19:30 after a drive from England) and the food and service was brilliant. Would recommend to anyone wanting to sample the delights that Leuven holds. Would look to book this hotel again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is very close to the railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi is very poor. Lift is curious: You are not allowed to touch the door before the lift has completely stopped. If you do so, the door is blocked and you are not able to leave it - you must travel to another level and try to open it again.

    Hotel is very close to the railway station. It is rather quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good bed (and price/quality) in the centre of Leuven
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor was a bit cracking. The shower gives only a few drops per minute. No Wifi in the room and the television only had one channel!

    Very friendly staff, great restaurant. I had a good sleep and breakfast was simple but good! I forgot my telephone charger and I received a mail to inform me about that. :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    3.3
    Big mistake to book this place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 12:00 midnighf, We stayed for 2 hours in the cold outside because there was no one to open the door which was locked and we didn’t have the code. At 2:30 another hotel gave us a call and gave us a code to enter. When I told them next morning they didnt even apologize and they just said “normally there is someone here 24 hrs”. I will never try this hotel again. The wifi is a disaster with lowest speed ever. Terrible experience unfortunately.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.3
    My stay was disappointing and I wished I had booked elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and dingy. Breakfast could not be arranged before 7 on day I left. Internet worked poorly. Cost was too high for value.

    Location was handy for train. There was a lift. Breakfast was adequate on day I had it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Short but sweet stopover in Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't stay long enough to find any faults.

    Stayed for a night en route from the UK to Germany. Chose La Royale on friends' recommendation. Friendly and helpful staff. 15 minute walk to city centre. Comfortable room if a bit small but not complaining for the price. Plenty to choose from at breakfast. Good for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    convenient location but room not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room at the back, overlooking a light well, or a back wall, so it was very dark inside, even though outside it was really sunny; we had to have lights on all the time. The bathroom was dark as well, and room facilities were simple. The room was also really small. We wanted a convenient location and somewhere to crash at night, and didn't plan on relaxing in the room - so it was fine for us, but it wasn't characterful. It was the type of room that gets you outside, so you can explore all the fantastic things Leuven has to offer!

    The bed was really comfy and the hotel is opposite the train station. Breakfast was nice and reception staff were super pleasant and helpful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good position, just in front of the railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather old room and furnishing. Three steps to reach the shower, in a rather unconfortable position.

    Good position, just in front of the railway station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Good price-value, but sound inside hotel was too loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound isolation at all inside the hotel. We were woken up multiple times because of other guests, but mostly the cleaning ladies talking very loud in the hallway and you could here everything.

    The room was nice and we couldn't hear any noise from the street. It was clean and breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Unbeatable price for 2 bed family room in the heart of Leuven
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small reception area/lift slightly difficult getting all our luggage up to the 4th floor

    You could your breakfast outside and soak up the atmosphere of one Leuven's busy squares

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Better then staying in a tent. But thats about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room is into a wall, there was no air condition which made the room incredibly warm and there was no movement of air so i had to go out and purchase a fan, just to be able to sleep.

    Good location next to the train station. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    OK for one night, but don't stay longer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Biggest minus for the breakfast: the staff putting the croissants, cheese and other fresh products on the trays with the same hands that were touching the cleaning cloth and dirty dishes etc. Not very hygienic... Then, the wifi did not work in our room as the router didn't reach far enough. We had to sit in the breakfast area to work each night (which was fine), so we noticed that the reception isn't occupied in the evenings. Guests tended to come back and ask for their key, but nobody was responding to the bell, or very slow, so they ended up walking around and taking the key themselves. This happened every day.

    The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Awsome
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have bigger mirrors in the room.

    The staff was awsome and the location is perfect, specially for Rock Werchter! It doesn't hurt that it is an awsome old looking building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location right on the train station, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very very old, no air conditioning, the bathroom was dirty and the beds weren't comfortable at all... it was way too expensive for what we got...

    Great location right on the train station, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Very near to train and bus station and the center of Leuven. Hotel is clean and pleasant. I would have liked a coffee maker in my room, but the restaurant below had excellent coffee. The price was low and I actually expected mold in the bathroom and threadbare carpet, but the room was nicely furnished, no mold and nice carpet, which looked new. Good breakfast. It is basic, but a good basic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.0
    may be OK for royalty but not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive for poor quality, breakfast was terrible. The first room we were offered had to be the worse hotel room I have ever seen

    Girl on reception was nice and changed our room without issue. Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    Value for the money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired hotel, in need of a bit of TLC plus a lot of echoes from doors slamming and people talking.

    Price reflects the location, fair selection of food for breakfast, plus parking very convenient and cheap

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    This property worked for me and my daughter.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really did not like the room. It was very small and poorly lit. There was carpet that needs to be removed because it wasn't clean. The mattress was not good, and there were stains on the sheets, and the towels had threads hanging. That tells me they needed to be replaced. The water did not drain quickly in the shower.

    Breakfast was good. There was a wide selection. The eggs however were cold. They were not kept warm. Delicious soup in the restaurant. The location of the hotel was perfect. It was across from the train station and a short walk to the historic center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is located close to the centre of the city next to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very small and they were dark. There was cold on the first evening in the room, it was some issue with the heating.

    The hotel is located close to the centre of the city next to train station and public aprking. The food in the restaurant of the hotel was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.5
    Location is really good - next to the train station, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the radiator wasn't working in the first night. it was working on the second, but the room was still cold.

    Location is really good - next to the train station, the city center is 5 minutes walking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay with breakfast included, which was. The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights. There was no refill of new toilet paper after housekeeping came on our first night stay. The sink in our room was blocked, i.e. the water took a while to flow down the drainage pipe, thus causing an unpleasant smell. There was no hair dryer although this can be requested at the reception

    The location was excellent, just opposite the central train/ bus stations as well as the Christmas markets, church, restaurants and shops

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    6.3
    Good location, crappy shower.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our family room was the worst shower I've ever had. Very little water and constantly changing temperature. I didn't want to put my son under it because of this. Also, several door handles in our room came off the doors. Not the biggest of issues but annoying nevertheless.

    The location was really good as well as the size of the family room. There was enough space for us. The building also looks very regal from the outside. The restaurant downstairs serves an excellent meal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    The Royale has a sense of old world elegance not found in modern, utilitarian hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been useful but ...no big deal.

    I liked the old world feel of the hotel. As a child I travelled around Europe with my parents by rail and we stayed in hotels like the Royale. Fond memories!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.8
    Way overpriced hotel for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Occupant of next room chain smoked (illegal I believe). Smell permeated out of room. Wi-Fi to third floor virtually unusable. Door locks very noisy and people coming & going through Saturday night. The congealed yellow stuff that was supposed to be scrambled egg I think. Broken room fittings not fixed. Minimal room lighting.

    Fresh hot bread at breakfast. Opposite railway station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice traditional European hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few things could be improved for a more comfortable stay: 1) Adding a fridge with free bottled water 2) Adding a full length mirror would be convenient and add space to a small room 3) The phone in the room did not work, was dead 4) There was 2 light globes missing from the main bedroom light so was a bit dark if we wanted the curtains shut

    A lovely traditional building, staff were friendly and spoke good English. Was opposite the beautiful train station so convenient and also on the corner of the main shopping avenue, plus close to major bus terminal. Close to Stella Brewery and easy walk into the town centre past lots of nice shops. Hotel has a popular restaurant. Hotel has a lift and being on floor 4 we were not disturbed by any noise from the nice square visible from the window. I liked our room, was on the corner of the hotel, was small but cosy for a couple visiting for leisure. Breakfast was sufficient and in a nice room, with lovely wooden features, choices were scrambled egg, bacon , sausages, fresh breads and pastries, yoghurt, cereals, juice, teas and coffee machine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there had been a water cooker in the room to make coffee for myself, that would have been nice. But for the rest, I was very satisfied with the service, the friendliness of the staff, and the wonderful breakfast!

    Yes, everything was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    located in the city centre, very good price-performance-ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    car parking is possible only in a public garage (extra fee)

    very good breakfast central location - very close to the train station and city centre good und reasonable priced restaurant in the Hotel friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to sleep with the window open due to the noise, so it was quite warm at night.

    The staff was very customer-oriented and they did us a huge favor after letting us check-in earlier than we should. The breakfast had everything we wanted and the location is very convenient (15 min. walk to the city center). For the star-range of the hotel, we got more than we were expecting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was during the summer, it was a bit too much warm inside the room due to no air conditioning :( Only negative point

    Great location! Great hotel! Great staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Best price/quality option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fine for just a short visit

    Price/quality/location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast is pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbearable without air con when it was 30 degree

    Breakfast is pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather small bathroom

    Perfect location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Nearby restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great coffee!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great coffee!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    A perfect room to stay with your family and friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was was just perfect for family and a great location, just across and in front of the train station. The breakfast is good and excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Ligging
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv posten

    Ligging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Super
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was in orde

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Due to the seafood expo the price was quite high (140 EUR)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the seafood expo the price was quite high (140 EUR)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Location and staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    Convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free tea coffee in the room

    Location is very near to the station and the main shopping street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin, you could hear people in other rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Try to look something else around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIfi was very poor, unstable signal. Breakfast could be better, egg holders, some meat, not only beacon

    Location, just next to train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Freindly English staff. Rooms clean and a lovely size. Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were really helpful spoke English. The croissants were really fresh and flaky. Rooms were clean and a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Location, Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    I was told breakfast time is 7am but it was not ready 7am on...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was told breakfast time is 7am but it was not ready 7am on Sunday. That was surprising for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Location immediately opposite train station, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed was quite Spartan.

    Location immediately opposite train station, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    In summary, a recommendable hotel with a fair cost-benefit ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location next to the railway station, all historic sites in walking distance, only 10 min to the City House as well as to the most popular pubs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay, great for the train station & short walk into town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Convient location, friendly staff, good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice accomodation for a few days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was a little unstable. Breakfast OK but every day the same.

    Excellent location. Warm spaces.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.2
    Very small, smelly room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small, smelly room. Pillow was a cushion. Restaurant has dropped in quality compared to 2 years ago.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Royale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: