Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Vieille Lanterne 1 stars

Des Grands Carmes 29, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#103 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairway is narrow...but so are all of the older hotels. Need some more cups and hot water for drinks please.

    The owner was very nice....the place has no lift so try to get lower floors. Great location right next to Manneken Pis. Lively corner. There is a small cute store front. Really close to everything, including the train station. No one to bother you or checking in a key going in or out of your room. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel was really nice it would be better if there were mini fridge in the room so travellers can cool their drinks, a hair dryer must be in the room. The stairs wasn't a big deal for us even if it's a bit narrow. As the hotel is situated in the street, you can hear people and local noise. No reception desk is not a big deal as we always plan everything the day before.

    The strong point of the hotel is that it is very near to the famous Manneken Pis, Grote Markt and many other famous tourist spot in Brussels. It is surrounded by many restaurants, pubs, bars, and shops where you can buy everything you want. The staffs were really nice and helpful. The room wasn't so big though it was really comfortable. If you are looking for a simple and an easy access to tourist spots in Brussels, then you can try this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise isolation was not good, you could hear everything from the street and your neighbours, not a place with small children. The noise died out in the evening so we slept nicely through the night.

    A tiny very central hotel, only 10 meters from Maneken Pis. The hotel had only 6 rooms and breakfast was additional and served in the room. You had to place your order with your requestes the day before. The room was pretty large with the necessary inventary, no luxury but sufficient with good beds. Ok bathroom with the necessary although we never found the hairdryer if there was one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was bad. The staff also is a little bit disorganized. It has 6 rooms, however, one of the staff was asking each morning if I am leaving or showing a bill that was not mine, because she was confussed about guests and rooms. And thst was a bit annoying especially when that requires 10 mins of my time when I was on my way to work

    It is very well located nearby the European comission buildings and the touristic area. They have the option of breakfast in the room, it was a good breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is quiet despite being right next to Mannequin Pis; in a great neighborhood. Staff really nice and helpful. Room spare and not luxurious (but I wasn't expecting luxe). Clean, everything worked, bed was fine for my finicky back--all in all, incredible value. I'd definitely stay here again unless I was in the mood for a bit more luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on site staff; meant I had to wait outside upon arrival for over an hour before staff showed up to let me in (I had notified them of early arrival time.) Old building meant no lift and very narrow spiral staircase. Old building meant very noisy from other room occupants. Linens had an off smell.

    Location was very central. Bed was comfortable, bath/shower was good. Staff was generally accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There is no proper reception desk, so it would be difficult to find help. There was nobody to return room key. 2. Typical Brussels nuisance of replacing a proper bed quilt with a blanket sandwiched between two bedsheets is used.

    Room and bathroom were quite comfortable for the price. Perfect central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, quiet place (despite the proximity of the manneken pis) familiar environment, close to train and Grand Place. I stay there almost every time I travel alone to Brussels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs felt a bit dangerous. Would not recomend to older people or familiea with young kids. Very old furniture but functional and cozy.

    Excelent location. Very low price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough peaceful; loud door slamming, noise as if someone tumbled down the stairs (hopefully not. as they are so steep) and telephone ringing, woke me up two three times during the night. Everything can be heard in my room.

    Location is really great, very close to the Brussels Central Station and to the city landmarks...if you visiting Brussels for sightseeing and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the room was great winter after arrival.We had to turn on the heating themselves.why does not it do the staff? In the evening at ten o'clock after returning from the city the heating was cold again. it started to boil until morning. all night cold! I can not recommend anyone. Peter

    nothing I liked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staircase is extremely steep and narrow.

    Located at the very heart of Brussels, great for going out but also if you need an affordable place to stay when working in the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs, as you are climbing a cathedral tower, and no elevator. I really don't recommend if you have a luggage larger than carry-on size. WiFi was very weak at the top (3rd) floor. Rather old rooms with very old furniture.

    Good location, very central, 5-10 min walking from the central gare.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed dingy to us. It felt like the builders did only a half-decent job about 30 years ago, and things haven’t been improved since then. We wouldn’t want to stay here again. The location is loud at night (people in the streets) and in the morning (street cleaners). The online pictures make the hotel seem better than it actually is. The dresser was fake (there are no drawers). One bedside lamp didn’t work; the other was taped together. There were holes in the plaster by the light switch. The table leg was crooked (about to collapse?).

    The woman who runs the hotel is kind and walked us up to our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Stair is steep. Might not suitable for elderly and those with bulk luggage.

    The lady who check in us is very friendly and provide a lot of information to us. The hotel itself own a souvenir shop down stair which is quite convenience for us to buy souvenir. The manneken pis is just opposite of the hotel. Hairdryer must request from staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor detail: a reading lamp on the desk would have been nice.

    Super central location: walking distance from Square Meeting Centre and Brussels Central Station. Tiny hotel with 6 rooms, mine (#1) was quite charming, with desk. Breakfast good, it is brought to your desk at time agreed the day before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shop below the hotel where you would interact with hotel employees was not open at the hours they said they would be open. Fortunately, I observed this during the first two days of my stay and was able to arrange payment two days before checkout. If I had followed the advice they gave me and waited to pay the morning I was leaving, it would have caused a headache for all involved.

    The room was in a convenient location, was clean, had a great shower and bathroom by budget European standards and it was easy to come and go on your own schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small negative was that the stairs were narrow and very steep. Apart from that we loved the place and will go back.

    Fantastic location. Nice clean and comfy room. All the staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no elevators and the stairs are quite narrow. No breakfast :(

    The location is excellent, right across the street from the Manneken Pis and only three blocks away from the main square. The reception is next to the shop located in the ground floor. At night it is closed, but they give you a key. The bedroom was small, but quite comfy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were quaint but had every necessity. The area was filled with people but quiet and comfortable. There were many shops and a great bar with specialty beer that was terrific. The hotel was small and unassuming and was perfect for our journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is more like a guest house than a hotel. Before we drive to the hotel we call to ask about parking place, but whoever answer said she was too busy to give us information. When we arrived at the place, because we book the room on the same day, they didn´t find our reservation (was not printed yet!). After some time they directed us to the room but a couple of minutes later they show up to search in the closets just to make sure the room was really not taken yet. Familiar business, they were nice but seem a bit lost.

    Good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be cool to have some healthy breakfast options

    Great location, has a great terrace outside and the very good working space, the private rooms are big and the beds are very good as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple hotel. No facilities. Wifi weak on top floor (though it still worked)

    Clean and safe. Great location, close to major sights and public transport. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful on steep stair (no lift) Weak wifi connection on last floor Staff is available till 20.00, you have to arrive within this hour

    the view from the windows on MannekenPIS. Cleanliness Nice place and steep stair

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're travelling with luggagea then it might be challenging bec there is no elevator.

    The location was great, it was about 2-4 mins walk to the Grand Place and near souvenir shops and brussels centraal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the very top room, where I stayed, was intermittent and weak.

    Superb location, friendly landlady (doesn't speak much English, which I like but others may not). Very small hotel with just 6 rooms above a souvenir shop, personal service, no communal facilities. If you just want a clean, friendly b&b in a great location to enjoy Brussels this is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is important to have a reception and a security service. When I had problems with another person in the hotel, nobody of the structure was in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not say it's a minus: not so comfortable as in a good hotel, but excellent for this money. The main word is excellent.

    Very good location, so friendly Luigi. Would come here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good, but, I never wanted breakfast. I did not select it on my booking! And the bill there was 240 EUR for three nights. Then when I was staying in the apartment the lady brought breakfast, which was nice, but, I was not aware it will be on the final bill. There was no receptionist overnight, and on the last morning i had to leave for the airport around 7.30 but there was nobody to advice me about the payment and the bill.

    The location and the place is charming. :) At least it was for me! :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to leave the key in the special box, so I could not get into the hotel. At 12:30 a.m. I had to look for a different place to sleep. Drama!

    --

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the Hotel is in the heart of the City, Easy to walk from station. Good food stalls nearby, Staff is very friendly and the best budget hotel were you can enjoy the night life of the City. Staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entarance and the stairs were very narrow. There should be hairdrier in the rooms.

    I loved the location and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lobby.

    Location is perfect, ladies who run the place are very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and nice room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location in a building with character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit cramped Room facilities a bit sparse (but still great VFM)

    Location, staff, un-corporateness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location and wonderful staff! Would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess I would not be coming here for a longer stay, but that is because I prefer airbnb.

    The location - price combination is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of town, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small steps leading to the rooms.

    Location and staff behaviour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls, noise from the streets

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit rude. Always trying to check what time you come back and control your life. This isnt a proper hotel but a family house.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well located, I could see the Manneken Pis from my window and reach most destinations by walking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too much noise in the night

    very central - staff really nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift and no facilities

    Great location, very clean, cozy and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location Clean, enough space in room, early check in, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy outside. Sleeping with open windows not advisable.

    Good location. Excellent breakfast in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. No elevator. No refrigerator, no microwave.

    Great location. The grand place is just 5 minute walk. You can see the Manneken Pis from the window.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep stairs.No mat on floor.Loud noise at night because there are bar nearby.No hair dryer.

    Location is Good.Nice staff.She help me to carry my big luggage up to upper floor.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some people smoked in their rooms which we could smell from our room. I m not sure if those were smoking rooms or people simply misbehaved. There is no hairdryer, be aware.

    Excellent location, friendly staff. We had a large comfortable bed. Small but cozy room. If you think (like us) what you needs is only a nice place to sleep in a central location, this hotel was good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and stairs are a bit small and the hotel is not very fancy.

    There are flowers outside the window. The breakfast in the room is a nice plus. The hotel is right in front of one of the city's attractions.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Very good location, very good and helpful stuff in this hotel. There was very warm in the room (it was great in December)! And also there was a very comfortable bed. It was really very good after walking around the city.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stairway was a little small but as I wasn't carrying alot of luggage I did not face any problems but someone with luggage may have difficulty as there are no lifts

    The location was perfect and the room was really nice, clean and cozy. Perfect for a single traveller or a couple. I have fond memories of the place and really enjoyed my stay

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    my only comment was the stairs is too tight and in my case travelling with 2 huge luggage it was an issue for me but its not the hotel fault

    location was great,staff are so nice and i wouldn't think twice to book there again

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On holidays and the weekend it tends to get noisy with partying Brussel youth late at night at Manneke Pis, the double windows do not isolate sound sufficiently then.

    Close to the centre, helpfull staff, good rooms and bathroom for the price

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was very cosy and rustic with a lovely big comfortable bed and pretty windows with a view of the Manequin Pis. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't the hotel for you, but for us it was perfect and we would definitely stay here again next time we visit Brussels.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Delivery trucks come to these narrow streets quite early in the morning and make some noise. The staircase is not appropriate for elderly people or those with large suitcases...

    Location is very convenient, buliding is very picturesque with old fashioned windows, rooms have good view...

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of the workers did not speak English. Blanket was uncomfortable

    Location was great!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very smoky air is often comming into the room.

    Good location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hygiene

    Location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Best location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a big room but decent bathroom, good bed and hotel is in a superb location. Small hotel, your breakfast comes by default to your room :)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift.

    Staffs were kind. Wifi and shower work well.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor Internet connection

    Staff helpfulness, location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Narrow spiral staircase .no bar or breakfast room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather well worn with stiff bathroom door. Breakfast in room at variable times.

    Excellent location. Good value. Welcoming host.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is small No air conditioning If open window Mosquitos will enter

    Location & staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was impossibleF

    Breakfast, location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Facilities - hair dryer was missing.

    Perfect location, helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit noisy, and even thou its non smoking someone in another room smoked and stank out my room, nice and considerate of them.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very faint smell of sigaret smoke in room

    easy to find

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Vieille Lanterne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: