Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Belgium hotel reviews
  3. Brussels Region hotel reviews
  4. Brussels hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel La Vieille Lanterne

Reviews of Hotel La Vieille Lanterne

Des Grands Carmes 29, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#106 of 212 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    8.3
    clean, friendly, super central pension!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first evening it was a little bit loud outside, as the streets around are quite busy with tourists! But in the nights it was quiet, I had no problem sleeping. It looks more like a pension than a hotel - only to get an idea what it is like. I would still suggest it!

    The room was very clean and the staff more than friendly, although not 24 hours there! It is very central, next to Maneken Pis statue (this makes it easier to find in maps and by asking), in the old town of Brussels, in the most touristic area, which means there are a lot of opportunities for food, drinks and sightseeing around.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    A day in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Narrow staircase was a bit dicey for large suitcases but we managed.

    Great little boutique hotel. Owner was amazing and very helpful. Right in the main palace market region. Steps from the statue of the peeing boy. Everything was within walking distance. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    Very nice room with en suite, very central and has good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice room with en suite, very central and has good selection of tv channels and great wifi. Staircase very narrow yes, but not something that can be changed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.3
    the location is very nice the hotel is just next to manequin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no lift so if you are carrying heavy baggage then you really need to be careful because of the stiff and narrow stairs. stairs are typical european hotels. but aside from that i had a great time staying in the hotel l.

    the location is very nice the hotel is just next to manequin pis and walking distance to train station and grand palace. the staff is very nice and accomodating.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.6
    it was very interesting and beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing was good

    The owner very kind woman, sympathetic The location beautiful and safe especially for visitors because the Brussels is not a safe place very clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    8.3
    There are paper thin walls between the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are paper thin walls between the rooms. The young girls in the neighbourhood were screaming and shouting until late night. They were very happy but we could not sleep well.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    5.8
    Simple and efficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no breakfast room. The entrance and reception are quite small and cramped.

    The location is very central. The hotel is small and older-styled in a pleasant way

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.9
    Convenient and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was in a wonderful location and the room was old but functional. The bathroom had some paint peeling from the ceiling and the fan needs fixed or replaced.

    The location and ease of accessibility.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.0
    One Night, and Only One Night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was right next to the "Pissing Boy" statue, which meant there were lots of people right outside the hotel and you could hear them talking all through the night. The bathrooms could have been cleaner as there was some dirt ingrained into the shower.

    It really was more like a hostel, but with your own room. The location is okay, just a short walk to the city square in Brussels. But there was a bright streetlight right next to our window and their shades didn't do much to darken the room. Plus, if you have heavy luggage, the tiny spiral staircase is like trying to climb a ladder with a large Samsonite in tow.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.8
    The mattress was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff hours ended at the same time as regular business hours so any time we were out past dinner time, we did not see anyone in the hotel, even the reception. We had a key to unlock our rooms and the main door but it was dim in the stairway/lobby. Very small entrance and we did not get the breakfast due to price and breakfast time.

    The mattress was very comfortable. The location was excellent for walking the city and very close to tourist shops and local attractions. The staff was nice. The bed was two twin beds that could be kept together or separated with our request. Very adjustable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.8
    Booking com should be more careful in selecting accommodation providers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel owner was drunk and acted irresponsibly. One day there was no heating, the water was cold and greyish, so it was impossible to get a shower or wash. I received the instructions for entering the hotel too late when I was already there. The reception desk was closed most of the time and the only option the guests had was to use telephone connection.

    Location right in the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    The receptionist carried our suitcases up to the second...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling with two large suitcases that were difficult to manage up the small spiral staircase. This hotel is located across the intersection from a local point of interest that attracts a lot of tourists. It would be very noisy in the summer with the windows open. We were there in November and it wasn't too bad with the windows closed.

    The receptionist carried our suitcases up to the second floor for us. We really appreciated this since there was no lift. Our room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, much less noisy that I expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic location, much less noisy that I expected. I did not have any problem sleeping thanks to isolated windows. The room was cleaned every day, new towels, etc. These made me write my first comment in Booking for La Vieille Lanterne.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.1
    Great location for tourists.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looking old.. not very attractive.

    In BRU centre. Literaly opposite the manneken pis Personnel very friendly and helpful Bathroom was new and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are a bit difficult particularly when one is dragging along some heavy luggage... which remind us not to buy as many souvenirs and gifts!

    The whole room was very comfortable and quiet and Mireille (if I remember her name correctly) was extremely nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    5.0
    The owner was very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old amenities. Mattress was sunken and uncomfortable and pillows were old/stained. Bathroom was clean but shower did not drain properly.

    The owner was very friendly and welcoming. Great central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Blessed to have stayed here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not imagine a better fate than to stay at this hotel during our first visit to Brussels. Wonderful hosts, who welcomed, smiled, offered tea, cleaned the room daily so diligently and were always eager to help. Five minutes from Brussels-Central. Riiiiiiiight next to Maneken Pis. Our rooms windows overlooked this boy! So we woke up every morning to the music of his “squirting” and tourists’ multilingual conversations. Close to everything. Five minutes to Grote Markt, 10 minutes to all main cathedrals, restaurants and parks. Great cafe around the corner “Le Temps de Tartines”. Best breakfasts in Brussels. Though hotel itsels also offers great breakfasts Thank you, dear hotel team. You made our visit unforgettable. God bless you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff and location does not compensate other shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet not working at all !!!! Hotel is very small ,no lobby to hang out. Very narrow stairs makes large suitcases hard to carry to the room.

    Location. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    The location is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were many narrow stairs to reach the room. There were not enough space in the room. No kettle, No glass for tea! The door of the WC had problem and it was hard to open and close it. I think it was somehow expensive!

    The location is fantastic! Very close to many nice and touristic places. Very nice morning and night view over the alley. Easily reach to stations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs were steep but we expected that due to other reviews. We were given two single beds but it didn't worry us for a one night stay, may have been a misunderstanding in booking.

    The staff were lovely, the room was clean and the location was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect! Pretty easy to find with my GPS. I was on my own, so it was big enough for me. The bathroom was good for a small place. The bed was comfortable enough. I only stayed one night so it worked out well for whatt I needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect: 5 mins walk to the old town square,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff don't speak English, so you need a couple words in French. They are helpful though.

    The location is perfect: 5 mins walk to the old town square, 15 to the central station, you see the Manneken-pis out of your window. The room and bathroom comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, charming lady who brought us a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little noisy in the evenings but really due to the excellent central location

    Excellent location, charming lady who brought us a great breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great Cozy Brussels location!..would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairway is narrow...but so are all of the older hotels. Need some more cups and hot water for drinks please.

    The owner was very nice....the place has no lift so try to get lower floors. Great location right next to Manneken Pis. Lively corner. There is a small cute store front. Really close to everything, including the train station. No one to bother you or checking in a key going in or out of your room. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Trip to Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel was really nice it would be better if there were mini fridge in the room so travellers can cool their drinks, a hair dryer must be in the room. The stairs wasn't a big deal for us even if it's a bit narrow. As the hotel is situated in the street, you can hear people and local noise. No reception desk is not a big deal as we always plan everything the day before.

    The strong point of the hotel is that it is very near to the famous Manneken Pis, Grote Markt and many other famous tourist spot in Brussels. It is surrounded by many restaurants, pubs, bars, and shops where you can buy everything you want. The staffs were really nice and helpful. The room wasn't so big though it was really comfortable. If you are looking for a simple and an easy access to tourist spots in Brussels, then you can try this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Small nicely located hotel for adults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise isolation was not good, you could hear everything from the street and your neighbours, not a place with small children. The noise died out in the evening so we slept nicely through the night.

    A tiny very central hotel, only 10 meters from Maneken Pis. The hotel had only 6 rooms and breakfast was additional and served in the room. You had to place your order with your requestes the day before. The room was pretty large with the necessary inventary, no luxury but sufficient with good beds. Ok bathroom with the necessary although we never found the hairdryer if there was one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Good option to stay and walk around
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet was bad. The staff also is a little bit disorganized. It has 6 rooms, however, one of the staff was asking each morning if I am leaving or showing a bill that was not mine, because she was confussed about guests and rooms. And thst was a bit annoying especially when that requires 10 mins of my time when I was on my way to work

    It is very well located nearby the European comission buildings and the touristic area. They have the option of breakfast in the room, it was a good breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Basic but worth every penny/euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is quiet despite being right next to Mannequin Pis; in a great neighborhood. Staff really nice and helpful. Room spare and not luxurious (but I wasn't expecting luxe). Clean, everything worked, bed was fine for my finicky back--all in all, incredible value. I'd definitely stay here again unless I was in the mood for a bit more luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.1
    Location very good, staff was accommodating, overvalued, would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No on site staff; meant I had to wait outside upon arrival for over an hour before staff showed up to let me in (I had notified them of early arrival time.) Old building meant no lift and very narrow spiral staircase. Old building meant very noisy from other room occupants. Linens had an off smell.

    Location was very central. Bed was comfortable, bath/shower was good. Staff was generally accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable hotel for short stay in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There is no proper reception desk, so it would be difficult to find help. There was nobody to return room key. 2. Typical Brussels nuisance of replacing a proper bed quilt with a blanket sandwiched between two bedsheets is used.

    Room and bathroom were quite comfortable for the price. Perfect central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Clean room, quiet place, familiar personal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, quiet place (despite the proximity of the manneken pis) familiar environment, close to train and Grand Place. I stay there almost every time I travel alone to Brussels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excelent value for the location will stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs felt a bit dangerous. Would not recomend to older people or familiea with young kids. Very old furniture but functional and cozy.

    Excelent location. Very low price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    6.7
    OK for a short stay when you need to be in the city centre, but do not expect too much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough peaceful; loud door slamming, noise as if someone tumbled down the stairs (hopefully not. as they are so steep) and telephone ringing, woke me up two three times during the night. Everything can be heard in my room.

    Location is really great, very close to the Brussels Central Station and to the city landmarks...if you visiting Brussels for sightseeing and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    4.2
    bad ending of a nice day in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the room was great winter after arrival.We had to turn on the heating themselves.why does not it do the staff? In the evening at ten o'clock after returning from the city the heating was cold again. it started to boil until morning. all night cold! I can not recommend anyone. Peter

    nothing I liked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    8.3
    Best value for money in the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staircase is extremely steep and narrow.

    Located at the very heart of Brussels, great for going out but also if you need an affordable place to stay when working in the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, very central, 5-10 min walking from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs, as you are climbing a cathedral tower, and no elevator. I really don't recommend if you have a luggage larger than carry-on size. WiFi was very weak at the top (3rd) floor. Rather old rooms with very old furniture.

    Good location, very central, 5-10 min walking from the central gare.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    4.6
    This hotel is dingy and in need of maintenance. Not worth the cost to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel seemed dingy to us. It felt like the builders did only a half-decent job about 30 years ago, and things haven’t been improved since then. We wouldn’t want to stay here again. The location is loud at night (people in the streets) and in the morning (street cleaners). The online pictures make the hotel seem better than it actually is. The dresser was fake (there are no drawers). One bedside lamp didn’t work; the other was taped together. There were holes in the plaster by the light switch. The table leg was crooked (about to collapse?).

    The woman who runs the hotel is kind and walked us up to our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.3
    The lady who check in us is very friendly and provide a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Stair is steep. Might not suitable for elderly and those with bulk luggage.

    The lady who check in us is very friendly and provide a lot of information to us. The hotel itself own a souvenir shop down stair which is quite convenience for us to buy souvenir. The manneken pis is just opposite of the hotel. Hairdryer must request from staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    8.8
    Super central location: walking distance from Square Meeting...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor detail: a reading lamp on the desk would have been nice.

    Super central location: walking distance from Square Meeting Centre and Brussels Central Station. Tiny hotel with 6 rooms, mine (#1) was quite charming, with desk. Breakfast good, it is brought to your desk at time agreed the day before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.9
    Location, location, location. And clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shop below the hotel where you would interact with hotel employees was not open at the hours they said they would be open. Fortunately, I observed this during the first two days of my stay and was able to arrange payment two days before checkout. If I had followed the advice they gave me and waited to pay the morning I was leaving, it would have caused a headache for all involved.

    The room was in a convenient location, was clean, had a great shower and bathroom by budget European standards and it was easy to come and go on your own schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location and a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small negative was that the stairs were narrow and very steep. Apart from that we loved the place and will go back.

    Fantastic location. Nice clean and comfy room. All the staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    9.6
    The location is excellent, right across the street from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no elevators and the stairs are quite narrow. No breakfast :(

    The location is excellent, right across the street from the Manneken Pis and only three blocks away from the main square. The reception is next to the shop located in the ground floor. At night it is closed, but they give you a key. The bedroom was small, but quite comfy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Quaint and close to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The rooms were quaint but had every necessity. The area was filled with people but quiet and comfortable. There were many shops and a great bar with specialty beer that was terrific. The hotel was small and unassuming and was perfect for our journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    6.3
    Good location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is more like a guest house than a hotel. Before we drive to the hotel we call to ask about parking place, but whoever answer said she was too busy to give us information. When we arrived at the place, because we book the room on the same day, they didn´t find our reservation (was not printed yet!). After some time they directed us to the room but a couple of minutes later they show up to search in the closets just to make sure the room was really not taken yet. Familiar business, they were nice but seem a bit lost.

    Good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, has a great terrace outside and the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be cool to have some healthy breakfast options

    Great location, has a great terrace outside and the very good working space, the private rooms are big and the beds are very good as well

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.5
    Simple but very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very simple hotel. No facilities. Wifi weak on top floor (though it still worked)

    Clean and safe. Great location, close to major sights and public transport. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    7.1
    the view from the windows on MannekenPIS.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful on steep stair (no lift) Weak wifi connection on last floor Staff is available till 20.00, you have to arrive within this hour

    the view from the windows on MannekenPIS. Cleanliness Nice place and steep stair

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    8.3
    Great location at a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you're travelling with luggagea then it might be challenging bec there is no elevator.

    The location was great, it was about 2-4 mins walk to the Grand Place and near souvenir shops and brussels centraal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can imagine that big fat people with a big luggage could dislike the steep stairs into second floor. (I was fine with this).

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect location!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light in bathroom did not work.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.1
    Made sightseeing very easy as location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is excellent, close to everything.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.8
    perfect location in the heart of historical city center,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location in the heart of historical city center, very friendly stuff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.5
    Location, right in the center of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the smell in the room

    Location, right in the center of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge

    Great location, very friendly owner, every day new towels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    6.7
    nice location, really centered and quiet during the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the style of the rooms is very old and basic

    nice location, really centered and quiet during the night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room was not clean, had scratches and a lot of dust. too much noise at night and the bed was uncomfortable...

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    It was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tastefully decorated and the staff was really nice and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.8
    I loved the location and the cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entarance and the stairs were very narrow. There should be hairdrier in the rooms.

    I loved the location and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for short stay in Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lobby.

    Location is perfect, ladies who run the place are very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great location and nice room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and nice room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.9
    Central location and good room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location in a building with character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    8.3
    Location, staff, un-corporateness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit cramped Room facilities a bit sparse (but still great VFM)

    Location, staff, un-corporateness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location and wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location and wonderful staff! Would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.9
    Great location for a quick city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I guess I would not be coming here for a longer stay, but that is because I prefer airbnb.

    The location - price combination is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.6
    Very helpfull and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.9
    Right in the middle of town, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right in the middle of town, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and stay near Mannequin Piss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small steps leading to the rooms.

    Location and staff behaviour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    7.5
    Affordable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls, noise from the streets

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. No elevator. No refrigerator, no microwave.

    Great location. The grand place is just 5 minute walk. You can see the Manneken Pis from the window.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    7.5
    Location is Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep stairs.No mat on floor.Loud noise at night because there are bar nearby.No hair dryer.

    Location is Good.Nice staff.She help me to carry my big luggage up to upper floor.

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some people smoked in their rooms which we could smell from our room. I m not sure if those were smoking rooms or people simply misbehaved. There is no hairdryer, be aware.

    Excellent location, friendly staff. We had a large comfortable bed. Small but cozy room. If you think (like us) what you needs is only a nice place to sleep in a central location, this hotel was good value for the money.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel La Vieille Lanterne Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: