Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Ferronniere 3 stars

Voie Jocquée, 44, 6830 Bouillon, Belgium

#11 of 23 hotels in Bouillon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is supposed to be very good but was not open so we never got to experience it, which was a shame. A lamp was not working over where the luggage stand was, making it hard to rummage in the dark. Wi-Fi was not working, despite showing full signal. Mentioned it to the owners who asked us to double-check things were plugged in (they were) and yet it was never solved as they never followed up and we were only there for one night so did not have the energy to make a big thing of it. We lived with it but is inconvenient if you wish to watch something being streamed or call family abroad which can be very data-heavy pastimes. A bit short on towels for 5 people, but I'm sure they'd have brought us more if we had asked.

    The place is family run and there is a good attention to detail, especially for families. They have three kids so know what it is like trying to find a room for everyone to fit comfortably, that is not extortionate. Our room was lovely and spacious and they had arranged for the kids to sleep upstairs and for us adults below. The bathroom was very clean and well lit. Apparently built 10 years ago but it looks brand new. The furnishings were warm and neutral, a bit like a chalet in the country: Lots of raw wood and French carved lamp stands and exposed beams. We had a balcony / terrace backing on to a wooded area which was nice. It felt as if we were in a treehouse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, nice terrace, but not a comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located on the top floor where it was very very warm and with no aircon or even a ventilator available. Room also quite dated, with an uncomfortable mattress. A bunch of mattresses and other equipment was stashed in the hallway (not a very tidy look)

    Hotel at excellent location in Bouillon, at walking distance from centre ville. The hotel/restaurant is situated on a hill and has a fabulous garden with evening sun overlooking the city and its castle: a true gem after a long drive. Nice restaurant with a good collection of wines and attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A pleasure to stay at
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful hosts. A beautiful setting overlooking the town. A talented chef and wholesome food. We had a great view of the light show at the castle from the beautiful garden terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely building located above the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small although it did have a nice large corner bath

    Lovely building located above the town. The room had amazing views over the town and castle. Also had a lovely sized balcony to sit and relax and take in the views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    For families with kids, the playground could use a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For families with kids, the playground could use a makeover. It's too tempting for the little ones, but it doesn't seem to be maintained. Otherwise, everything was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal safe base for exploring the Ardennes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get into the restaurant on a Saturday night even though I was a guest.

    Hotel clean, comfortable and ideally located to explore the area by motorbike. Safe, secure overnight parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place and high level of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay overlooking the town from the terrasse and the room. Very nice people and a high level of service. Can highly recommend the place. Have both traditional rooms and modern rooms in connection with the spa area (we were given a tour around the place). Both very nice. Also the town is worth a visit seeing the old castle and down town close at the river. Can highly recommend to stay at the hotel and see the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.6
    Not so good standard and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not available at the hotel despite the advertising. We had to park away from the hotel at extra cost. The station overnight also was a meeting place for rowdy people. Disappointed overall. Think options are better elsewhere.

    Staff at reception on arrival were helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Amazing surrounding area, hotel accommodations slightly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff available for a drink or room service. Wifi not working at room although at top floor. Restaurant was closed. Some noise from the highway

    Nice building, nice garden. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming country house hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's churlish to come to a beautiful place in the country and complain about the wifi... but the wifi was patchy.

    We had a superb view of the castle and the town from our room, which made our stay memorable. The view made it worth walking up the hill to get there. Well worth paying the extra for the sauna-steam room - the facilities are brand new and sparkling clean. One of the hosts kindly gave us a lift to the city centre on our last day, as the rain was coming down in torrents. Very good breakfast with lots of homemade jams, fresh bread and local charcuterie.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Unique and beautiful hotel on the outskirts of Bouillon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night was incredibly hot in the room, mainly due to the weather but also the windows in the bedroom had been shut all day.

    All the staff were very welcoming. The hotel is well maintained and very nicely decorated. The conservatory from the dining room leads out onto a patio area with great views across to Bouillon Fort. Plenty of parking on site, with only a 10-15 minute walk into Bouillon Centre. Breakfast was an additional cost but plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day so the rooms were a little warm.

    Incredibly beautiful property. We had two rooms one in the new section of the property and one in the old home. Both were amazing rooms, very clean. We could have spent the entire time at our hotel property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Charming and comfortable with a memorable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boullion itself was still in off-season mode when we visited in late March. There would have been more options for dining and activities in town if we had gone a little later in the year.

    Breakfast was great. As vegetarians we loved the diverse spread of cheeses and homemade jams, eggs, bread and croissants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    It was very good actually. Will go back again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast not included

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great place and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't know

    Wonderfull, cosy at the same time and personal approach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great service, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price in peak season

    Great service, great food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The couple of hosts were Bert friendly and helped us out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple of hosts were Bert friendly and helped us out with hiking routes and beach spots! Geest location! Beautiful room and garden views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was excellent !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smelly... :-(

    Breakfast was excellent !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, breakfast very good, accommodation overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, breakfast very good, accommodation overall good. Came on motorbikes and they were safe and secure in the grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Average value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed not to have access to the spa advertised on Booking.com

    The place is calm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    If you can afford it, you won't regret it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Authentic building means stairs.

    Local products at breakfast Gastronomic dinner Hotel with standing & likewise guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    staff is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is a little bit too expensive.

    staff is very nice. room is clean. the location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Had a great few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great few days. The food, wellness and interior design was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    We recommend their breakfast, with locally made jams, fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We recommend their breakfast, with locally made jams, fresh beads and delicious coffee. We also enjoyed a drink in their sunroom which offered amazing views if the Bouillon Castle. We sampled local infused spirits made with plums. Just wonderful. And the rooms are very comfortable. We will definitely stay there again if our travels bring us too that area.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    Nearness of center Bouillon, big bathtub, very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    15€ to use the wellness, rather hard mattress , weak falling-away wifi in certain parts of our bedroom, wellness and breakfast could have been included in the price for the room(380€ for 3 nights)

    Nearness of center Bouillon, big bathtub, very good and varied breakfast buffet (15€), helpful personnel, spacious well equipped bedroom with Samsung smartTV, very nice green setting of the hotel , the Australian shepherd dog of the house, very good overall comfort and feeling at ease, good reflexology session (though 60€ for 40'')

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    We stayed in the annex building which was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It got very warm up in the mezzanine and there's so many light switches, that we lost track sometimes :-) The manual in the room had some contradicting information to Booking.com's hotel info, like a check out time of 9 am...

    We stayed in the annex building which was fantastic. We were greeted upon arrival by the owner. The room was clean, with a great interior and lovely big beds. Breakfast was very nice in a lovely dining hall. When checking out, they even thought of a little Mother's Day gift!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.0
    Breafast was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. There was an unpleasant oudor. 2. The room was on the second floor with cash. 40 steps to climb with the luggage. 3. The access to the toilet was inconvenient.

    Breafast was delightful.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice staff, beautiful spa at no extra cost, cozy pup to play...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the cheapest, certainly in high season, but well worth it

    Nice staff, beautiful spa at no extra cost, cozy pup to play with. Huge room (they all are, both old and new, we come here regularly)

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    6.3
    Really lovely duplex room with very nice spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slightly strange stuffy atmosphere about the place. Insisted that we both had the same menu despite wanting different. Food overpriced for the quality. Some attention to detail lacking in the room like loose tap fitting...

    Really lovely duplex room with very nice spa facilities. Great breakfast spread

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    7.9
    Peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was split into 2 (not great for romantic couples) Toiletries in shower was empty No slippers No minibar

    Peaceful location Large beautiful room/duplex Balcony Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.8
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a big issue but the conditions of access to the wellness center should be more clear on the booking.com website (i.e. not included in the price + closing at 19:00).

    The staff was great. The breakfast was very good and well furnished.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent dinner, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not working!

    Excellent dinner, very good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Really nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The weather during our stay...

    Really nice place to stay! Super room for 4, great food, especially breakfast! Merci

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.2
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View Garden & trees Staff Facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    10
    Amazing location,great facilities, excellent spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing location,great facilities, excellent spa

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: