Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Centenaire Brussels Expo 2 stars

Avenue Jean Sobieski 84/86, Laken, 1020 Brussels, Belgium

#200 of 212 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 300 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was quite good, and the coffee was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was relatively low cost for Brussels but still much more expensive than I would normally pay for a hotel night. The smells in my room left me thinking that dirt and worse had been polished in, rather than cleaned out. Not a great experience.

    The breakfast was quite good, and the coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for exhibition centre and the Atonium
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs (no lift) are not easy to climb or decend - narrow and small. I was woken each morning by next doors alarm and hair dryer

    To be fair the ultimate question is always would I stop here again and the answer is yes but only for the convenience of a 10-15 minute stroll to the exhibition centre. The hot fresh croissants at beakfast are splendid

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.8
    AVOID at all cost!! Pay the extra and go somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room stank of smoke which has made all my clothes stink (i am a non smoker), paint on the walls unfinished/old, breakfast very little choice, light in hallway was awful so struggled to see key hole to open the door, looked extremely outdated and run down.

    Not a lot., would never recommend and would never stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Great personnel rooms that needs improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the location is on a cross of trams it is noisy. The lights are too weak in the corridors but also in the room.

    very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, next to tram station, very close to expo and atomioum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Walking distance to Atomium, Mini Europe and Oceade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was okay. Quite different from what I've seen in the pictures. Lighting could be better.

    good value for money in terms of location. Walking distance from Atomium, Mini Europe and Oceade. Tram stop right outside the hotel. Friendly receptionist

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    Grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty grim. Worn and stained carpets. Loose light fittings. Grubby en suite, no toilet paper, no hairdryer, curtains hanging off.

    Let us check in early. Was near to the stadium we were going to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Great position - great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fans and coffee facilities in rooms would be nice (though I don't think Belgians approve of instant coffee)!

    Initial room on third floor with Velux window - not ideal in a heat wave. Lovely owner moved us to second floor room with balcony for final night at no extra cost. Breakfast bread absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.4
    Couldn't get in, then given someone else's room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First we could not find how to get into the building, which looked closed down - our taxi driver phoned for us and eventually someone unlocked the door. If I had been on my own I would have got back into the taxi at this point. Reception was very dark and gloomy. Stairs steep and narrow with filthy carpet and very low bannisters - did not feel safe climbing them with luggage, especially as motion sensor lights were reacting too slowly. We were initially checked into an occupied room, because the lady was trying to give us a bigger room! Doesn't really work if you have to share it with a random stranger. She then left the room unlocked! New room still having floor cleaned so had to leave our bags in open room with cleaning lady. Left us unsure about how safe our stuff would be. We were offered a cup of coffee to compensate for the trouble, but as the chair almost collapsed when I sat on it we were glad we had not booked breakfast. The replacement room was right at the top of the building with no window, just a skylight which did not open. The room was compact but very clean and the beds were exceptionally comfortable, although too soft to sit on the edge of without you sliding off. We avoided the shower as we didn't want to tempt fate at that point. We had to request a front door key. When we returned the receptionist was asleep under a blanket on the bench inside the front door. I did not recognise the interior from the pictures on your website when we walked in. It looks very shabby in all the public areas that I saw. Staff were mainly friendly and tried to be helpful - they need to look at their own booking in system. Did not feel confident about the security of my belongings. Good location for Brussels Expo, which was why I booked it, and the price was OK for a night but I did not feel safe and welcomed there and would not go there alone.

    Beds very comfy. Room was very clean. Excellent location for Brussels Expo.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    It was too humid , no fans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too humid , no fans

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty rooms, bad smell, shabby equipment

    The location, the breakfast (nice but nothing special), and the receptionist (nice)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    When we arrived - about 3 o'clock in the morning, we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived - about 3 o'clock in the morning, we had to wait half hour for someone to open us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    perfectly fine for a bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not within walking distance to city centre

    Friendly staff. Breakfast hall looked very nice. Right next door to Atomium

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and no shampoo offering which is ridiculous since you pay for the basics.

    Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    not as bad as i thought
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not so sure about security

    The hotel is very close to a tourist attraction and to public transport, walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    2.9
    Nothing, very bad
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, very bad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    okey for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the roof top room was too hot, no air

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.3
    No recommendation from me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not very clean and run down. The reception was not fully staffed at normal working hours.

    Wifi was fast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    2.9
    nasty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all of it

    not a lot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was simple but everything was extremely fresh.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was simple but everything was extremely fresh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.4
    Comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, shower not in good condition

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    4.6
    Dirty hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor wifi. No English speaking staff. Don't expect to locate this hotel easily and if u expect it to be like one of those flamboyant hotels at low rate , pls lower your expectations

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    Its location is perfect for Brussels Expo, Mini Europe and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Looks old and dirty although its not; simply needs renovation. Staff were not speaking english and with my little french we had a communication problem (not their fault though)

    Its location is perfect for Brussels Expo, Mini Europe and Atomium. Outside parking is free at weekends. Each room has a different theme decoration

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    6.7
    The proximity to the sports stadium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The family room has an ensuite bathroom, but no door, only a curtain. The hotel is also at one of the tram services main junctions, so noisy until very late.

    The proximity to the sports stadium

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    hot shower, and nice people in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed linen and the sheets were dirty- the room was very small, smaller than we expected but it was okay for just 1 night. Also the window in the bathroom was on the ceiling, so i guess nobody could open it- so there was an unpleasant smell there

    hot shower, and nice people in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.4
    Very thin doors/walls between rooms, could hear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very thin doors/walls between rooms, could hear EVERYTHING in the next door room. Skyping and just normal conversations between the guests in the next door room. No privacy

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.8
    Hotel very close to the Atomium and Expo Brussels.
    • Group

    Hotel very close to the Atomium and Expo Brussels. The staff was very veeeery helpful. Our room was clean and cosy. We'd definitely go back to the hotel once again!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Very good location next to the Atomium.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good location next to the Atomium.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not realise it was a non alcohol hotel. Was not particularly clean - carpets etc - and shower poor (calk).

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The hotel was very good value for money
    • Family with older children

    Hot pipes under the floor of the 2nd storey room made the bedroom very warm

    The hotel was very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    noise

    location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    I liked the area and staff that was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None experienced

    I liked the area and staff that was really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    2.5
    Cleaner was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleaner was bad

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: