Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Chalet 3 stars

Rue Du Chalet 61, 6980 La-Roche-en-Ardenne, Belgium

#12 of 30 hotels in La-Roche-en-Ardenne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is located at the best spot in La Roche: free parking, short walk to the town centre, and the best view of La Roche, the castle and the forest. It's an old hunting hotel, that has seen better days, but this is part of the charm. It breaths athmosphere, with hunting trophies a a gazillion old paintings on display. The staff is brilliant and always one step ahead of things and very helpful. Breakfast has all you can wish for. The rooms themselves have character and are clean and spacious. All in all, THE go-to place when visiting La Roche!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As is always the case with hotels in this region, breakfast can be a bit minimalistic. There is the hard boiled egg option but I don't think they provide a fully cooked breakfast.

    I was initially concerned that the hotel was some distance from the town but this was not the case at all. In fact it was nice to be placed up on the hill overlooking the town and river. A short amble along the river no more than 6 or 7 minutes gets you to the centre. The proprietors could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Having motorcycling as a hobby means that secure storage is essential. Space was immediately made for my bike in the hotel's garage - no problem at all. The rooms are clean and the hotel has an interesting quirkiness. Thoroughly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is next to a busy road, if your room faces the town, might be a bit noisy, though in this case you have a nice view.

    Breakfast, kind owners, nice rooms and interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been fun to have a drink in the wonderful sitting room area but, whilst open for sitting in, there was no drinks service at the time. I don't think there's a lift.

    A lovely location, a short stroll down to the town with a great view towards the castle. A quirky hotel with paintings in abundance. Small, oddly-shaped but fun bedroom with a large, funky bathroom. Good breakfast. Owner gave an excellent recommendation for a dinner restaurant. Smelt wonderfully of 'old house'. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi doesn't get to the rooms, for us Europeans no problem, as we have uniform data roaming charges, but people from outside the EU should use wifi downstairs.

    Breakfast was very nice, quite a choice and boil your egg as you like it... The rooms are a bit dated, but generally adequate and pleasant. The view is fabulous and the location fine. The hotel is some 30 meters above the centre, with a small path going down. No difficulty unless you really have a problem in the legs. The ground floor is almost a museum, both the owner and his father were art collectors, and there are some lovely paintings. This is not a modernized hotel, it kept the charm of times gone by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ctair carpet a bit worn

    This is a old hotel with a stunning few over the lovely town of la Roche the room was nice clean,the bathroom was old but nice and clean'this hotel has so much caricature. The owner is a very pleasant helpful interesting gentleman,breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi could be better.

    The atmosphere was relaxing. The breakfast was good and everything was clean. The decoration is interesting for a Chalet. Close to the center of the village.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said my paypall payment was just a guaranty, so they let me pay again with check-out. Took me some time to get my first payment back trough the booking.com helpdesk because at first hotel chalet didnt respond my email.

    We could use the garage for our motobikes. Good breakfast. Helpfull staff. Good value for money. Next time ill stey here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room in which we stayed didn't have a view (it was on the 'backside' of the hotel), so we felt it was a bit expensive for the value, otherwise nice little hotel.

    Good breakfast (especially the croissants and pain au chocolate), very clean room, nice and interesting (old-fashioned) decor with lots of paintings, nice location, friendly staff. La Roche-en-Ardenne is beautiful, and the hikes around the area (maps available from the tourist office) are lovely. The hotel is not in the centre of the village so it's a little (but pretty) walk to get down to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi wasnt very good in the rooms (in fairness to the owners they only state it works in the public areas, which it does).

    The Husband and Wife that are the owner and staff were extremely polite and helpful. They spoke good English (as well as French and Dutch/Flemish). The views of the river and of the castle are probably the best you can get in La-Roche-en-Ardenne.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, so much character, airy room with beautiful view and a really good breakfast. Free parking really useful opposite hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the best view over La Roche from our room. Friendly stuff, warm rooms. We had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bar

    Decor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful

    Nothing good to say

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tappiplain in de kamer (stof)

    Ligging

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a old but clean Hotel on a perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short distance to the city and possibility for parking our motorcycles inside

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy road

    very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole establishment requires a renovation.There was no fridge in the room.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a little tired (chipped paint) Electricity sockets halfway up the wall with nothing underneath to put the gadget on being charged

    Location is perfect, free parking opposite, 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town. Clean, comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi not always available in the rooms, but very good in the bar and lounge

    Incredibly helpful and friendly staff, amazing views of the town, river, castle and countryside from the front of the hotel,lovely breakfasts and charming decor.and very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi.

    The breakfast, especially the fresh croissants were the best ever. Very friendly host and he even baked fresh eggs for me. Fantasic view over the river, wauw!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard, the carpet in the entry way and on the stairs needs replacing. The walls were so thin that I blushed when I saw the couple next to us at breakfast.

    Easy to find, free parking, best view of the valley. Most delicious bread at breakfast, clearly freshly baked, even on a Sunday morning.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no veggies for breakfast and lightings in the room was too little. No mirror (vanity) table. No Wi-fi in the hotel room and connection at the lounge was very weak. The bath linens could be improved.

    Atmosphere and character of the hotel was lovely, with personality, intimate and warm. Big bath was great. The view from the window was fabulous, so picturesque, as if it was out of a Fairy Tale.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly and helpfull. Warm cozy room...Nice breakfast

    F

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a bit of car noise in the street

    We enjoyed the beautiful view, the charm of the hotel and the comfort in the bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No additional comment

    no comment

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi in the rooms

    Clean, good location

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No sitting area in either bedroom.

    Booked a family room for three adults. Got two bedrooms that shared a large bathroom

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29