Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Chateau Des Thermes 4 stars

Rue Hauster 9, 4050 Chaudfontaine, Belgium

#2 of 5 hotels in Chaudfontaine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous if their schedule fits with your plans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certain members of the staff gave a snobbish, distant feeling but I believe not willingly. They were obviously overworked and my impression was that they were trying too hard to create a higher class atmosphere. It felt forced. Especially in combination to the majority of guests being quite casual in behavior and attire. The hotel is understaffed and this shows in the details. At some point a door handle in one of the saunas came completely off; it needed only seconds with a screwdriver to be fixed; after 3 hours I noticed it still broken. Also, the bar closes really early, before dinner service starts I believe. So after dinner there is nothing to do other than sleep or go out; there is no music, no drinks.

    For the price the hotel was adequately luxurious, comfortable and aesthetically appealing. The food was excellent. The spa was great and the amount and size of the facilities were sufficient. During our stay the hotel was fully booked but not once did we fill it's crowded. We really enjoyed our stay in spite of the few negative blimps and might be going back again at some point.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Quando si cambia è sempre difficile migliorarsi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am a customer since 2017. The restaurant has gotten worse as quality and service over the past years and the price is now over. Every evening the same menu. It seems the focus is more towards passing customers, bring more money and are less demanding.

    I am a customer since 2017. I am very fond of this hotel and its environment, the staff and their hospitality at the spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Fabulous SPA but sad expirience with staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During two days we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel itself. What seriously disappointed is staff of the hotel. For place of this high class I would expect waiters at restaurant to speak at least a bit of English. I asked to explain what was in menu and which options restaurant has -> no one was able to do it in English so we had to discover menu on our own and guess what exactly on the plate that we received. Fine, can happen, this is French part of Belgium. Next not nice surprise was during check out. I made a general remark to receptionist that hotel is fabulous but what can be improved (small thing) is to give 2 sizes of slippers (most of visitors were couples and was so visible that all men struggle with small size of slippers --> half feet on ground)... very small general comment for improvement... I would expect to hear something like "thank you, we will think about it"... but not at all an angry speech for 10 min in response... And the "cherry on the cake" was the following. I forgot in wardrobe my sweatshirt and asked staff to check if they found something. Three times I was calling, answer was "we will check and call back"... Noone ever called me back. When I called third time a guy on the phone in 15 second (how is it possible?) checked something with colleague and said that nothing found and that they are busy big times to call back.... Not even 3 star hotel service in my view...

    The building is located in a very nice area and looks like fabulous - a castle with nice modern interior and exterior. Spa has different areas with pools inside and outside, hammam, Jacuzzi, relaxing bath and very-very nice relaxation rooms. You can see that everything in very well planned and I must say from all SPA hotels I visited, this one is one of the best so far in term of exterior, taste of cuisine, location and style of rooms and SPA area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    The decoration of the hotel and of the room is exquisite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit pricey. The service at the restaurant is a bit slow (2h for 3 courses dinner).

    The decoration of the hotel and of the room is exquisite. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    The helpfulness of all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the bed was of two mattresses which made comfortable sleep a bit difficult, not couple-friendly.

    The helpfulness of all the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful facilities but disappointing re eating options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu consisted of a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 desserts. It was exactly the same menu the next day. The lunch time buffet was plentiful but very expensive and the hotel offers nothing else.

    Delicious food - beautifully presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower isn't that great, there is no space between the show and the rest of the bathroom. Not very big ,the shower...

    Great bed. Nice breakfast. Great dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food options are limited to the hours of the buffet, there is no possibility to order a snack outside of those hours. Also, the bar closes early in the evening and it is not possible to have a night cap. More flexibility around that would make the place absolutely perfect.

    The place is magnificent. The room was spacious, clean, with all the comforts. The spa facilities are amazing and great value for money: there are plenty of options to cater to all spa tastes. Beautiful park in front of the hotel, free and roomy parking. Plenty of options to go out for dinner or a drink in the area (Liege is a 10 min drive away). We will certainly be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Will be going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things which did not ruin the overall experience at all so not worth to mention here ;)

    A lot of space, big rooms, the spa never appeared too crowded even the hotel was full.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Luxury place close to Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too high for what the complex offers. One of the spa areas, which seems to be older is not at all good. The saunas and the steam baths are not warm enough. In the room, the toilet and the bathroom are separate but there is no sink in the toilet, so to wash your hands you had to pass through the bathroom. I would have appreciated to have more towels in the room for when you need to dry your hair for example.

    I liked the warm outside pool, the huge garden with the old trees, the big parking, the excellent wifi. The spa facilities were ok but nothing exceptional. The relaxation areas were very good. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was good. The room was very clean , quiet and comfortable. The complex was not crowded.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Relaxing, convivial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room key access system that reinitiate each time the TV and change the settings temporarily of the channels. (little detail)

    Everything: Room, facilities, food, staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent stay with my wife to unwind and just "let go"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility could be open a bit later. Even if just once or twice a week.

    The spa & relaxation zones were excellent. Given the recent works to increase the zones for spa - hammam/sauna/relaxation pool with music/relaxation zones we always felt that we had the choice of facilities. So many ways to relax. Breakfast was outstanding as well as lunch. We haven't had dinner there but look forward to next time. The showers and dressroom facilities were also convenient on our leaving day. Staff was also very helpful with the right level of respect for intimacy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wellness is very beautiful and nice but it would be better to have warmer water in jacuzzi.

    The hotel is very modern and clean. Beautiful design of rooms and wellness area. Breakfast is tasty, there is much choice. The staff is friendly. Very good service during the dinner! We had a wonderful relaxing weekend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    I was looking for an escape from my internship in Brussels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit tricky to get to if you don't have a car.

    I was looking for an escape from my internship in Brussels and this hotel certainly delivered. I'd never been to a spa before but the staff were very helpful and informative.The facilities are just what I expected from a spa - the swimming pools were particularly important for me being a keen swimmer. As well as the spa facilities the restaurant was lovely. I felt a bit strange being a solo traveller considering it seemed everyone else was either in a couple or with friends. Despite this the restaurant staff were very accommodating! Plus the food was delicious and not a bad price either. The buffet breakfast was also plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Great relaxed and romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one pool of thermal water which was a bit cold.

    The dinner was really delicious, we had a 3 course meal and it was more than enough. The staff is very friendly and every thing was just perfect for us. We really liked also the warmed outdoor sweaming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The relaxation facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, complete spa facilities, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Spacious rooms, complete spa facilities, good food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Resto open access too limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resto open access too limited

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Confort du lit ++
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort du lit ++

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    The food is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is great. The personnel are very friendly .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    not a very warm welcome off the ladies who took care the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a very warm welcome off the ladies who took care the massages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    A great escape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    A real treat for the night - fab food and the spa was not over crowded! I will be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    You are in your own bubble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff - the decoration in the property - the food - breaksfast outside - spa & massage

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Lovely Spa in Beautiful Surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality does not match the quality of the establishment, especially coffee and fruit.

    Great modern facility and surrounding verdant park.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    7.1
    Calm and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes the staff was not very kind (Belgian 'service culture' can be a bit rough). For my taste some of the saunas were a bit too cold - but I am Finnish, so it is a question of habit, I suppose!

    Calm and beautiful. Great room, good bed. Wifi worked smoothly. Excellent breakfast buffet. Feel of luxury. Will return, definitely.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    Spa facility, the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite cold welcome No much detail offered especially for the spa areas (or at least some leaflet with description/map of it)

    Spa facility, the room

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.1
    Wonderful food in the evening, served attentively in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly spoiled by its own success but the spa was too busy for me and therefore not tranquil on the mid-November weekend I was there. The indoor pool was too cold to swim in (and therefore mostly empty) whilst the outdoor pool which IS heated (because a thermal spa) is the wrong shape to swim in. Spa treatments need to be booked much in advance. Rather expensive.

    Wonderful food in the evening, served attentively in attractive surroundings. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Liked the massage, the refreshing indoor pool (the hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worthwile knowing: the menu changes once a month, so plan a two-night stay at the turn of the month or plan in other options.

    Liked the massage, the refreshing indoor pool (the hot outdoor pool is great in winter), the fabulous running up and down the surrounding hills.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.7
    The park around it , space in bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were 3 choices for starters, mains and desserts and these did not change at all during our 4 night stay and I understand are the same for each day in a month. Food was average

    The park around it , space in bedroom

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Good food and excellent spa facilities and treatments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No water available to drink in Spa and no other option for lunch except an expensive buffet

    Good food and excellent spa facilities and treatments. Nice relaxing environment

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    I liked everything there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the only minus for me was too soft bed-mattress:)

    I liked everything there!!! I was there two days but thanks to the atmosphere felt like a few day break. the hotel was full, but there is enough space for everyone so you don't feel that! excellent food and beautiful surrounding.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    We spent four days at this lovely getaway in Chaudfontaine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi connection was somewhat unreliable, but as we were there to relax and unplug, this wasn't such a huge concern.

    We spent four days at this lovely getaway in Chaudfontaine enjoying the spa and the delicious food served at the property's restaurant. We had an incredibly relaxing weekend and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone looking to unwind in a comfortably luxurious environment.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    10
    Perfectly clean & luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is nothing I didn't like but as an improvement drinking water stations in addition to their wonderful tissane would be welcomed.

    Perfectly clean & luxurious Staff that are committed to make your stay special Many options included in the price - Sauna, salt cabin, relaxation rooms, indoor & outdoor pools & spa & much more!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice room, the thermes are wonderful, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit too much noise in the thermes, not all people are polite enough to think of others being there; the caldararium was not functional

    Friendly staff, nice room, the thermes are wonderful, good buffets

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.8
    Warm welcome, clean facilities, although hotel was fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No attendants in the facilities - no one to turn to with questions or remarks. Comfort rooms' doors are really not conform to 4 stars standards. Coffee machine for breakfast - one for all, resulting in queues, again not what you'd expect in a 4* hotel

    Warm welcome, clean facilities, although hotel was fully booked no real crowds in the spa

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.1
    Relax area and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The comfort room is small and basic and certainly not worth 218 Euro per night

    Relax area and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.9
    Very nice setting for a total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lunch buffet was very similar from one day to the other. More variety would be appreciated.

    Very nice setting for a total relaxation.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Spa facilities excellent, nice & helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spa facilities excellent, nice & helpful staff, good breakfast, comfortable & clean room.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    The wellness area & the confort of the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was not so cosy.

    The wellness area & the confort of the bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Best place in Belguum
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Best place in Belguum

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.6
    So much todo and so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    So much todo and so relaxing. Beautiful spa.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    Spa facilities were beyond excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was non-existent.

    Spa facilities were beyond excellent. So many ways to relax. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Great location, spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi available only in lobby

    Great location, spacious and comfortable room. Great spa facility.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    10
    Eyerything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Eyerything

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: