Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Logis l'Ermitage, Bistrot des Saveurs 3 stars

Rue de la Roche, 32, 6660 Houffalize, Belgium

#12 of 18 hotels in Houffalize

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff and owner very friendly meals high quality but sorry to say the hotel rooms are not adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable but the size or the double room was very small hard to move around the bed

    Set evening meal food quality excellent high recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was not really enthusiastic, even a little bit awkward. The room was way too hot and there was no airconditioning in the room. The hotel is very noisy, we could hear every shower, every conversation, every toiletflush, even pushed aside chairs from the restaurant downstairs. Switching on the bathroom light turnes also a very loud ventilationsystem on, very anoying (especially in the night). The pillows are very bad, we slept terribely. The breakfast was poor and the acoustics in the breakfastroom were bad, we had the tendency to whisper, which felt uncomfortable. Check-out felt the same weird as the check-in, not very customer friendly.

    We liked the nice surroundings of this hotel. Nature, birds and we even saw a squirrel during breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Great weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel tucked in the countryside just outside of Bastogne. The Staff was very helpful with a late check-in and bar service. Breakfast was ready when we came downstairs with a variety of meats cheeses and fresh French breads. The hotel was quiet and the room was comfortable and the right size to move around and not feel crowded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Good and haunted
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pre-historic 📺. Those with real tube TV. Lying on the wall suddenly haunted dropped during my night sleep and some responsible guy in the morning said I was responsible??? Kidding me!?!?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Nice place, not far from the motorway, clean room and bathroom, fantastic food and all that for very reasonable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We were very happy with everything

    Location. Beautifully situated. Nice refurbished room Comfortable bed. Staff was very friendly. 🐕 friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value - expect to wait for dinner order as all cooked to order
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family-run hotel, keeping the 1950s style of the owner's father - friendly staff and comfortable room - ample parking and full of atmosphere - a mile from town and very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    good location, homely feel - very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good restaurant, very good chef, friendly staff; well located as starting point for excursions. Quiet and green surroundings with easy parking space. Homely family feel. We enjoyed our extended weekend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Great if you're on a motorcycle trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit small and dark and no place to put a shampoo bottle. The shower also was not thermostatic, on our second night the temperature was not even.

    We were on a motorcycle trip, they offer locked motorcycle storage for €2.5 / night, which is great. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    It is an esxcellent place to stay, you're in the middle of all the other places to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough choice with the breakfast Only from 3 pm in the room, far too late, the day is more than half gone Few choices to eat at dinner, but the fish was great

    All kinds of bread, was yummie The room was cleaned every day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    nice tratitional hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and typical Belgium hotel. Great breakfast and with nouvelle cousine in restaurant. Very well located near highway and in heart of Ardennes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.0
    not suitable for travellers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a place for the passing traveller, but walkers etc on a longer stay. Menu was not suitable for one of the party and little flexibility offered. English not spoken. Breakfast only started at 8.30, too late for travellers, so not taken but still charged plus 10 euro on top for the dog. All too much for too little. TV useless.

    Very pretty area and quite quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Awful bed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the worst I've ever slept in. No bottom sheet in either room. Scratchy mattress cover only. Lumpy pillow. They need to spend some money on new bedding. Awful !

    Lovely food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on site, but only one choice - expensive, set menu available. Too far from town along unlit road to walk to find alternative.

    Quiet location. Pleasant outside dining/drinking area. Quality free toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.0
    We ate in the restaurant and the food is delicious although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been cleaner. My husband put my motorcycle clothing under the chair in the bedroom and when I got it out to put it on it was covered in dog hairs. The room was nice but very cramped. The bar area could also have been cleaner.

    We ate in the restaurant and the food is delicious although a little pricey. Breakfast was good but you do have to like bread!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    reasonably priced , excellent restaurant, adequate breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reasonably priced , excellent restaurant, adequate breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hospitality at a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run hotel. Owner role model in hospitality. Breakfast buffet shows a great variety of options. Nice location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    x
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    x

    x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay, the restaurant was highly touted
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and bed not super comfortable.

    Beautiful location away from downtown Houfalize.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    The location was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t working.

    The location was beautiful! The room and bed were cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Near the center of Houffalize
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good for day trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    More staff to accommodate number of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff to accommodate number of people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.0
    Go there for diner, not for the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not friendly. Hotel is outdated.

    Very good diner and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location for an overnight stop and a pretty town. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    In the heart of the Ardennes. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were uncomfortable.

    Nice, quiet atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NEEDS A FLY SCREEN IN BATHROOM FULL OF FLIES WITH LIGHT ON WINDOW OPEN BIGGER SIGN IN MORE LANGUAGES ABOUT LIGHT ON TO WORK TIOLET

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful setting, great character
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, great character

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    A great find, thanks very much booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A great find, thanks very much booking.com! Pascal and his team were brilliant nothing was too much trouble it felt like a home from home although we didn't dine in this time, all I can tell you is that the breakfast is fantastic, and what I saw of the menu and dishes being served looked very mouthwatering, it's good enough that Christmas needs to be booked two years in advance! Tucked away in the Ardennes near to the town of Hofalize, lots to see and do locally you obviously will need a car in this area. A short drive to the famous Achouffe brewery, opposite there is a restaurant with a lake which sells rips to die for! The brewery tour is good it's just nine euros and you get a nice gift glass and four glasses of beer to try before you leave.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.9
    Although by the road it is quiet as little traffic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frosted glass door to the bathroom which whilst making the room quite light was a nuisance early in the morning when the sun comes up. However in spite of this good place to stay

    Although by the road it is quiet as little traffic and the restaurants is really excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    4.2
    I arrived at 20.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived at 20.30 and the restaurant was closed, there was nothing to eat and the staff was not helpfull at all. The next morning I had to leave at 07.30 and I was told that there was no breakfast for me. Breakfast was only served starting at 08.30. The staff is not friendly!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.7
    Nice area, and quaint setting for the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No common area for us to all get together after dinner except their overpriced bar. We had our own wine/liquor and they would not allow us to sit in their lounge. Dinner was overpriced and very slow to bring the food.

    Nice area, and quaint setting for the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    Nice, quaint hotel, across the road from a pretty creek.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, breakfast was "ok", dinner was overpriced, with small portions and took WAY too long for food to arrive.

    Nice, quaint hotel, across the road from a pretty creek.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.1
    Clean place, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was very (and I mean VERY) small and barely provided enough space for the two of us, let alone our motorcycle gear. Doors of bathroom and wardrobe interfere with each other. In rainy weather, the room is rather dark. I found the bed too soft.

    Clean place, friendly staff. Very good restaurant, good breakfast (try the ham!). Rather quiet place, in spite of its location alongside a road. Motorcycles can be parked in a garage (+2.50 EUR per day).

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    Grand bistrot menu was very good.
    • Solo traveller

    Waited 40 mins for entree to be served. Wines only by bottle or half. The grand bistrot menu would have been more special with glasses chosen to accompany each course.

    Grand bistrot menu was very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Although out of the village it was only 1 mile into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although out of the village it was only 1 mile into the village, so you can easily go into the village in a night. Paths all of the way. Lovely village with plenty of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a pitty that we had to pay 5 euro's for storing the bikes in the garage overnight. There was a little unpleasant smell when entering the hotel. But not in the rooms.

    Very friendly staff. Very familiar. We felt at home. We had a great dinner in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.1
    Lovely old b&w timbered house, nice stream-side garden;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Crossing the road to/from the carpark & garden.

    Lovely old b&w timbered house, nice stream-side garden; but the road splits them ! Good service ( in garden also ) and comfortable. Lovely gorge-set community.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As the beds are 2 king singles together I kept falling in the centre , and there was only one pillow between 2 people and they had no more

    Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    The restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little late breakfast for early risers. The bedlinnen could use a make-over.

    The restaurant! Super, exquisite meals from the chef who is also the son of the house. Coffee brought to the room late at night as we are early risers. Good storage of bicycles at a small price. Nice modern bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.9
    Location is nice and neir the City centre of Houffalize.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Unwillingness of kitchen staff to help some sportsman out with their requirement for carbohydrate rich diner.

    Location is nice and neir the City centre of Houffalize.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    5.8
    Good kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good kitchen

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    8.8
    Nice location, coosy restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Nice location, coosy restaurant. Authentic old fashion. Silver forks, good experience. Excellent breakfast!!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay. Very peaceful location. Dinner excellent and good choice at breakfast. Would recommend 100%

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food. Good location to visit WW2 sites. Lovely surroundings. Secure accomodation for our Motorcycle

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast in the weekend starts too late. Steak from the restaurant very tough.

    Good value for money

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: