Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Izan Avenue Louise 4 stars

Rue Blanche, 4, Elsene / Ixelles, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#153 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Very spaceous room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out furniture Bed too soft Wallpaper teared at some places Bathroom door open to inside and the access to toilet is very narrow Only english breakfast tea and decaf coffee with outdated milk pods

    Very spaceous room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    The cost of breakfast was too high for what is offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast was too high for what is offered. €22 for break was higher than many 5 star facilities. Room service was not available even though it is supposed to offer a limited menu. When we wanted to order, we were told that the cook was not available for one reason or the other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Adequate but not special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get the 'Executive' room we booked initially. Only after complaint were we moved to a larger and more comfortable room. Everything seemed a little 'tired' and old fashioned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location + friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows, they had a lot of them as decoration, but at the time to sleep they were not enough and very soft.

    The decoration was quite unique, i liked it a lot! Also, the staff was really friendly and the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Old, unkempt furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture is very old and damaged, like the floor. I asked for some slippers several times but they didn't brought.

    The location is great, nice bathroom, good wifi, good beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money if you are not too demanding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a good overall. You can see that it is all a little worn. That is however reflected in the price. At 21:00 hours there was no bar or restaurant open in the hotel. However few steps outside you find all you need. You have to shower in the bath tub which might be a problem for some.

    The hotel was what I expected form the revies I had read. My room was spacious and well equipped. Check in was quick. Bed is comfortable. Location is very quiet but close to shops and restaurants. Breakfast OK for most but a bit mediocre if you are a vegan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else, there are much better hotels in Brussels at the same price range. - The smoke detector was covered in plastic and the room smelled of tobacco. - Several light switches do not seem to be connected to anything, and there are very few lamps in the room. - There was a lot of accumulated dirt in the ventilation system in the bathroom. - There was *no* light close to the shower, one is partially in the dark when showering. The obvious consequence is that nobody cleans the bathtub and the shower up to reasonable standards, and there was visible mold around. - The bedroom walls were not very thick, and we could hear people laughing and shouting next door at 6-7am.

    The location is good -- we were close to bars and restaurants. The staff at the reception was welcoming, and WiFi worked fine in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    I woukd not stay here or recommend someone to stay here. No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets wer old. Bathroom too small. Had to ask for kettle. One particular lady was at front desk was extra rude. No consierge desk. No help with bags. I had many. Tv too small.

    Location only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.4
    Spacious room that requires immediate renovation
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture, wall and floor. Floor and walls are partially damaged and not clean. For the price I paid and the pictures I saw, I definitely expected more!

    Spacious room and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.7
    staff were pleasant and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea and coffee making facilities in room would be nice.

    staff were pleasant and efficient. Comfortable, spacious room. But it was too hot and dry overnight even with radiator off; we could not open the window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses were very uncomfortable and the heating was poor.

    It was a charming hotel, nothing mind blowing. But it had everything you needed, the staff was available to help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    The room was very spacious - I believe bigger that the one I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow stairs, but it is an old building so they can't do much about it.

    The room was very spacious - I believe bigger that the one I booked - and the bed was very comfortable. Room design in my style, so I liked it very much. Everything what you need for a one night stay was there - hairdryer, cosmetics, kettle and tea/coffee bags. The only thing I would expect in 4 stars hotel and I missed would be a free of charge bottle of water, Personel smiled and helpful. Breakfas was fair enough, but the breakfast room was very crowded at 8:00 a.m.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    It was okay for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit shabby- wallpaper coming off the wall. There was some dust from the ceiling

    The bed were comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Short stay, nice hotel on a good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast: The baked beans were cold.

    Very nice room and it was very calm. Equipped with kettle, proper mugs, hairdryer - everything you need, really. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    Could be a nice hotel with some investment. Somewhere between a palace and a very humble place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance and replacement of old items. Breakfeast was rather tasteless, products not of very good quality. Waitresses jumping at you for you to pay for breakfeast (25 euros for that...). Lobby noisy at night with young guys drinking and speaking very loud.

    The place is generally good looking. I received a VERY large room with good valuable furnitures. But problem lies with maintenance and replacement of old items: bed was MUCH too soft, matress should have been chenged long ago. Writting table was covered with uggly spots. Electricity, lamps were not fonctionning correctly. Convenient location. Bathroom very clean., but toilet paper half used when you get in...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Does not correspond to 4star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does not correspond to 4star hotel (everything is worn down, incl. teared towels, broken lamp shades, elevator from 1977). Parking place available only if cars height is below 1,8 m, outside parking is available on public parking places (paid option during day time). Not convinient to reach downtown by walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice little get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel that the carpets could do with a deep shampoo and around the bath needs some attention and a good scrub. I was a little disappointed as breakfast wasn't included, which for the price, it should. Also the rooms didn't look as regal as it did in the photos.

    Overall I enjoyed my stay, the location was great, with easy access to transport. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was enough to fill me up for the morning. There was a variety of things to choose from. I didn't spend too much time in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel wih furniture in bad conditions, I expected more for the price. The wifi did not work well neither. I will not choose this one for my next business trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Good value for a short stay but needs updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very very small. Maybe only fit 2/3 people at one time.

    The hotel was good for what we paid. It was a bit outdated but we didn't really spend much time there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Value for money. I would book again but the definitely need to renovate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in Brussels on pouring rain. The lobby ceiling was dripping rainwater and there have been bucks out to gather it. The hotel is right by the Louise Avenue but yet it's not a walk on the park to get there from the airport,especially for someone who has never been to Brussels before.

    Very friendly staff. Quick check in just in 2 minutes. No-one trying to force me any extra services. Room was clean and comfy. Really liked it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money over all but with some flaws.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed to find that they do not have room service although it was still being marketed (they explained that it is temporary but still a disappointment when you were planning on it). the carpets are stained - need to be cleaned. the lift was temporarily out of service.

    The rooms were very spacious and the bed very comfy. Wifi is very good and every kind of toiletry is provided. there is also a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Lots of pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained, but clean. There were no coffee and tea making facilities in the room which would of been nice. Someone was clearly smoking on one of the other floors because we could smell it quite strongly and found a cigarette butt on the stairs.

    Lots of pillows. Amazing shower. Breakfast was lovely and had a easy to use Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.5
    Good place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature couldn't be properly adjusted no ventilation and there was a undesirable smell coming from the bathroom's wc

    The proximity to local places shops and center. the staff was helpful . The view from the bedroom was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean and very well located but in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our rooms (153 & 253) were standard double rooms and faced a strip-club and a night club on the rear of the hotel but there were no issues with loud people or music (we didn’t even know they were there until we looked on google maps to see what was around us). Our room was clean and tidy but in desperate need of decorating. Nothing too bad that should put other travellers looking for a cheap and well placed hotel. (For example: A broken light/bulb, a cracked mirror, peeling wallpaper and they keycard slot to power the room was loose). These are only VERY minor issues but worth noting. Considering we paid less than £45 per room per night on booking.com it was an absolute bargain. Our rooms were NOTHING like the rooms in the photos but the hotel did look like it was made up of two halves, perhaps the “nicer” rooms in the photos were on the front of the building. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which is a shame. (But there was a well stocked mini-bar. I didnt see the prices so can't comment if they were high or not!)

    The hotel is located in a decent area of the city close to tram and underground connections with lots of shops near-by. My wife and I travelled with our Brother & Sister-in-law for a short city break. There were no issues at all, the staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat breakfast here, we opted to nip across the road to a lovely organic deli and eat there for less than the cost of the buffet breakfast. The beds were EXTRA comfy, not too hard, not too soft. Goldilocks would have been impressed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Cheap for Brussels but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't stay here in the summer.

    This was once a lovely old hotel. Now it is just worn out. Rugs to old to be cleaned no air conditioning or fans. Sliding door for fresh air could barely open. Sheets were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The min bar in the room was too small and the employees don't help us with our bagage. I thought the breakfast a little expensive, although very good and delicious. There are just a few tv chanels in English, the most of them were in French.

    It was everything well cleaned, confortable and with a beautiful decoration. Close to the center of the City. The breakfast was very good and delicius.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.5
    generally good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Temperatures were 32 and no air conditioning....hotel gave me a fan without which it would have been unbearable

    didnt have breakfast in hotel ...too expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Feels like in old days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was clean, but the rest of the room could have been more polished. Some of the inventory was a bit worn out.

    The room was rather spacious and had all the usual necessities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.2
    Great location, need to sharpen up presentation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors are really narrow. The room smelled musty on arrival and the wallpaper was torn in places. I finally discovered that the musty smell was coming from the scatter cushions on the bed - obviously people had rested their heads on them and they hadn't been cleaned for a long time. I had to shut them in the wardrobe to get rid of the smell. Breakfast was OK, but for some reason only brown breadrolls - weird.

    Property was right near where my meeting was held.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel, Lovely Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far from Metro if you are carrying anything. Breakfast was for 22 Euro, so i didn't take it. But i think this is too expensive. Receptionist gave me a wrong information about Uber when i asked if Uber can drive me to airport and he told me Uber is not allowed inside airport and that he can fetch a taxi. Turned our uber can go inside airport and this saved me 20 Euro

    Bed was very comfortable as well as the bathroom. Gave me a room with bath tub based on my requirement. Clean, excellent room service, excellent coffee I loved the room decoration and architecture.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ideally located a few feet from the Avenue Louise in a quiet street. Everything is close by: caffes, restaurants, stores, ... One does however need to walk for some time to reach tourist spots or to use a public transportation. Since Brussels is pretty compact nothing is to far away. The hotel is a bit on the dated side and could use some remodeling. Staff was helpfull and nice. The breakfast provided was fresh and there was a lot to chose from. All in all you get what you paid for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    Grand (but tired) Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff aloof; cleaning in bath (mold in tub area). Lobby furniture needs cleaning; furniture needs updating; could use more staff (especially a bellman).

    Location good, large room; good weekend price; king bed; coffee pot in room, small elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Distinctly Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    be warned parking is extra and don't bother if you have any type of sports car as the ramp is very steep and will likely catch your front splitter. Small en-suite in my room with very weak shower.

    comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable but quite worn out and in need of a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The decor is nice but quite old and worn out. There were several marks on the carpets and walls, and black mould in the shower, making the general appearance seem run down. The hotel is also a 30 minute walk away from the centre and main attractions. Plus the rooms got quite hot and stuffy; we were on the 6th floor and had no opening windows whatsoever.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.1
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception.. Drama, seriously. In hotel like this the whole crew should be very helpful and qualified- but not this time. I understand that everybody could be tired or sad, but If you are working in place which gonna be rate by the hotel stuff, room etc. for me it means that you have to be organised and a little bit polite. The brunette woman in the reception - every time when I was asking for taxi or anything else in very kind way, She was like offended. Next thing - room: When we just came we saw clean bathroom, room with comfy bed and windows and here is the bad point: Windows dont have handle, they are locked only by moving by your hand. So there is big possibility to open those windows by the strangers from the outside, especially that you have a big balcony which is available for every guest. There was also lack of coffee or tea for guests. We though that maybe hotel crew just add those product next days, but nothing changed.

    The hotel placement.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was lovely, nice scrambled eggs and cheeses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I called the hotel after checking out to tell them I had forgotten a memory card with many of my photos in it, in a drawer. The receptionist asked the cleaning lady and told me to call back the next day when the room would be empty as another guest had already checked in. I asked if they could let the other guest know there was something in the drawer and they refused. The receptionist told me "Madam, it is your fault". This is not helpful at all and is bad customer service. Of course it was my fault I forgot it in the room, that is why I asked for help. Another instance: I was leaving very early in the morning for the airport. The staff was preparing breakfast at the time. I did not have time to have breakfast, but just before the taxi arrived, I approached the breakfast table to get a glass of water. As I was pouring water to my glass, 2 different waiters approached me to tell me breakfast was not on for a few minutes. It does not matter how great a breakfast you have or how good the location is, if staff is more sensitive to strict rules than to guests. Slipping a note under the door to alert the guest that something with sentimental value that belongs to another guest is still in the room, or leaving people in peace, to have some water before the clock strikes 6:30 exactly, would have made a great difference to my stay.

    Breakfast was lovely, nice scrambled eggs and cheeses. The location is indeed great and my room was very comfortable. Many, many English TV channels too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    The entrance area is impressive, and the lobby cosy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee making in the room; the carpet and wallpaper are worn off - though kept clean as far as possible. The view to the rear is nothing special. The lift is small - not really a criticism as nothing can probably be done about it - but the lack of an internal door may be dangerous.

    The entrance area is impressive, and the lobby cosy. So was my bedroom, I liked the baroque motifs on the walls, and the sumptuous bathroom. Though my room was right next to the lift, it was very quiet. I liked the fact I could air the room by opening the window rather than relaying on air conditioning. Also, there is a good choice of TV channels, and the fact that Izan is a Spanish chain means you get lots of stuff to help you in case you forgot something - in my case, I was grateful for the toothbrush!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    WE in Brussels ? stay at IZAN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Especially like the size of the room ( not too big nor too small) nice decoration, floorboards instead of carpets. The location near Place Stéphanie is a bonus as is the quiet of the Rue Blanche. The staff is courteous & efficient. Big Bonus is the proximity of the best Lebanese Restauirant in town : Le Mont Liban !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.9
    Very good value for money - good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one food choice available on the room service menu. It's a little dated in decor but fine for 1-2 nights on business.

    Very good value for money - good location. Strong free WIFI.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    2.9
    One staff was friendly n helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property looks nothing like they show in pictures. Even staff said it is all photoshop. Dirty carpets , room wallpaper coming off. Heating was not working in our room and was only cold water.

    One staff was friendly n helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Perfect for weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was could when we stayed and radiator was covered bye curtains so didn't help heat the room but other than that everything was very good

    Size of the room was very good for the price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Quiet and very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on the breakfast unfriendly (didn't repsond to bonjour) and too eager to take away the coffee and food on the dot of 11.00.

    Staff on reception good. They always are very helpful when I stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.4
    Ok for one night but wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was relatively clean, the room itself had a terrible smell of bad body odour which I could not get rid of because the balcony doors did not open. The lights on either side of the bed were broken and did not work. I was staying only one night for a work conference, but would not consider returning to this place. The lift call button was broken on the 6th floor where I was staying.

    The buffet breakfast included a wide range of pastries, fruit, yoghurts and a small hot food selection of sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs, perfect. Great location, nice shops and close to a wide range of restaurants and bars, metro Louise about a 10 minute walk away. Trams and buses close by. place du Chatelain was a 10-15 minute walk away with great bars and restaurants. Strong wifi signal in the room on the 6th floor. Lounge area was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.5
    Average hotel in need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a makeover, and is very dated. The bath screen was quite disgusting - full of mould, soap scum and goodness knows what else.

    We stayed as a couple for one night on a stopover. The bedroom itself was pleasant with a comfortable bed. It is well located, close to Louise metro and the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.0
    Not clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was covered in black mold and the toilet brush was soaking in filthy water. Mold obviously grows easily in Belgium, which means the caulk must be replaced 4 times a year, or more when black mold grows. This is a basic health concern and it was disgusting and disappointing. Why is this very essential health standard being ignored?

    The room was large.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    4.2
    Shabby and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water my first morning - ice cold shower. Staff were unfriendly and unapologetic about it - had to bargain a free breakfast. Lucky it was free because at €22, it's not worth it. The hotel room was very shabby, especially the carpets and lighting. Room smelled damp - a big stain on the carpet suggests a bad leak not too long ago. Too expensive for what you get.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was quite big.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    Cheaper rooms are just that-cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on ground floor near toilets. Old carpet and furniture, sockets coming out of the wasll, dirty walls. The final price was excluded of the city tax so it wasn't really that affordable in the end.

    Location, nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.1
    Lovely city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. Did not top tea/coffee but left loads of sugar

    Room was good size, clean room service daily. Easy for public transport or 20 minute walk to grand place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    5.4
    Good but could have been better . Compare to asian hospitality service , its very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no complimentary water bottles in the room , if buy from hotel triple the price. -no appropriate adaptor available in the hotel to charge laptops / phones - no water boiler + tea/ coffee packets in the room with this price per night & specially in cold weather - housekeeper does not review properly which toiletries need to be refill rather provide same items more not the missing ones

    Location & housekeeping

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking fees are very expensive. We stayed 2 nights and had to pay three full days of parking fees.

    Location is really good, staff was very nice, atmosphere is warm and welcoming, breakfast is small but you can find everything you need

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Good but it need a good up to date and renovation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does need a good update, rooms are old and not so inviting as in the pictures, really pitty . Broken things in the bathroom and a little smell like in old houses.

    Nice friendly staff, breakfast super good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Best value for the money and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpeting in my room needs a redecoration soon as it was worn out here and there and it had stains.

    Spacious rooms decorated in old style, no noise, excellent location and value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Luxury as it ones was
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the top floor and no A/C. It was to warm, despite the colder weather outside. The window could not be opened more than 10-15 cm I guess. Rooms with different orientation and lower floors might be better.

    Very helpful staff. Very nice breakfast. Clean rooms. Walking distance to the Metro (Louise), bus and tram stop even closer. The place has kind of romantic old charme, in a good way. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.7
    Next month, I will look for another hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the four stars hotel should function normally. Maybe it is from the last century. I was with a friend. Ours rooms differ significantly, but the price the same. I was upset.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    Ok stay close to Midi station
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No street parking and you need to pay 15 Euro a night to park the car. The room does not have an AC and they provide you with a portable fan which is not sufficient for 2 people. The rooms themselves are old and not very clean. On our last morning at the hotel their AC at the lobby was leaking water all over the front desk.

    The breakfast is good. Good internet connectivity. The location of the hotel is just 2.5 km from Midi station and near an upscale shopping street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.3
    Vintage look and feel, but a little shabby rather than chic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The missing lightbulbs in the room was a pain. The bathroom was a little scruffy.

    The hotel has a classic vintage feel. The WiFi is good. The breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location to centre of Brussels and public transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been a bonus, but didn't spoil our stay, breakfast was expensive for what was available

    Great location to centre of Brussels and public transport also, lovely clean hotel, will definitely return to this hotel 😊

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    2.9
    Totally overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean, things broken in the room (one outlet was hanging out the wall .. i was even scared to approach it, being scared of an electroshock or something). The housekeeper entered in my room 2 times in the same day, without even knocking on the door ... just like that, she opened the door and entered. Very unprofessional and untrained. The shower was horrible: very cheap and was full of chalk, so not much water was coming out of it. Not nice for the price.

    The breakfast was OK-ish

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bathroom really needs renovation - curtains and carpet were dirty

    - beds were extra-soft and comfortable - we were allowed to check-in earlier - rooms are big and really look like on picture

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but needs air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed air conditioning

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite and provided us with a fan when we asked as the room was so warm. The location is very convenient for tourists to reach all of the sites they could ever want to see.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    2.9
    The worst booking ever!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT be mislead by the good pictures. The actual room are not like the pictures. The hotel is not renovated from at least 20 years! All, I mean all the room is dirty torn and I was afraid to touch anything because of the dirt or because it was falling apart. I asked the staff to change the room but the next one was the same - old smell, stains EVEN a pillow with old blood stains!!!! The bathroom shower was also falling apart along with the ceramic tiles. The wallpapers was torn and it was ugly mess. I will certainly report this to booking.com and the hotel chain, this is a joke for a 4 star hotel I will not hive it even 1. Enjoy the pictures I'm attaching.

    None

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    6.7
    not like on the photos at all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really regret I did not take a photo, because the room is NOT as nice as on the photo. The carpet was torn, the wallpaper has a bubble inside, but not small 1-2 cm, but like 40x20. I was the wall with bathroom, so maybe the water was put on the wall and that’s the reason. So if you wish you will stay in a nice, magic room like in the photo you will be much disappointed. And if wanted an invoice be careful, and asks for preview before printing. While printed it cannot be changed.

    Comfortable bed, windows, which open and very nice equipment of the bathroom eg toothbrush, razor etc! Good price for night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice if there was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Staff friendly and helpful.There was a good range of toiletries in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Internet was fast, breakfast was great, staff was kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture and the style fo the room was a bit old fashioned, looked like it was renovated about 20 years ago.

    Internet was fast, breakfast was great, staff was kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    - the room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the shower didn't work that well; then cold then very hot and I had to hold it in my hand - we were at the 6th floor and we couldn't take the elevator from that level - the cleaning lady came into our room, but we didn't check out or something - the breakfast should be until 11.00, but there wasn't enough bread anymore

    - the room was clean - you could park your car in a parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Shockingly Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is more of a detail.We wished to have a double bed better than twin beds. sometime the smell at the reception was a killer when you first step in. No staff is to blame

    We would return as a couple or solo. Liked how close to everywhere we wanted to go the Hotel was. The most important thing was when we'd get back to our how comfortable and clean the room were.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.1
    Basic but good value all n all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very hospitable..maybe coming from Ireland maybe we set ourselves very high standards in hospitality.also we stayed on 6th floor and the lift didn't come to there when you called it you had to take very narrow steep stairs down to 5th floor..not very good with suitcases!

    Bed was comfortable and changed each day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Relaxing and educational
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one small thing.there was no plug in our bath.but it's very minor.

    The beds were so comfortable. The staff were very helpful regarding city tours and taxis and the overall experience was brillant. I would definitely recommend the Ghent and bruge bus tour .the places were stunning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff are helpful and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit far from centre and it isnt clean enough.

    The staff are helpful and lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Super large and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator

    Super large and clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    There is no AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff tried to double charge me for living due to bad...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff tried to double charge me for living due to bad knowledge of usage of credit card terminals...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay with friendly hotel staff for a good proce
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wardrobe was difficult to open/close, one morning the water in the shower was not warm enough

    Calm and cosy room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, size of room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is offered but not always available due to absence of staff etc. you

    Location, size of room and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    High CP value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed is a little too soft

    spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: