Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels 3 stars

Rue de la Montagne 22, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#172 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2166 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just wished the WC was inside the room

    Didn’t have to walk too long from The train to the hotel. It’s perfect if you are carrying a big suitcase. Nice staff and pretty clean too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to ring by night to get in

    Customer service the best thing, also is a great value for money as rooms are very big and comfortable, The best location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is archaic. The room was small but nice, however, difficult to find and only one tiny window. Felt closed in. The staff was nice but didn’t really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Guests are definitely just a number.

    The location is why you stay here. Period. Great spot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and extremely dated, the carpet was dingy and old to the point where I felt uncomfortable being barefoot. The room we had definitely did not live up to the pictures of the "example" room when booking. The window was very tiny and considering the three days we were there it was 29 degrees Celsius it made for some very uncomfortable nights. The lift is also very old - two walls are missing so it is quite terrifying staring at the side wall moving up.

    Great location, just around the corner from Grand Place meaning very central, but not noisy at all. Staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location , location and location. Right in the middle ! Very near to St Hubert Galleries with a lot of shops and restaurants. Grand Place is also in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor carpet is very dirty, the smell is awful in some rooms. Rooms are difficult to air and is not properly done by the hotel staff. Rooms that have a view to the central market (in front of the building) are noisy, the rooms that have a back view are less noisy, or tha noise come from the rooms that are window there. The walls are pretty thin, so you have the feeling that the neighbor is taking a shower in your room.

    The bedclothes were clean, the towels too. They have improved the utilities in the bathroom (we stayed there 2 years ago).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is being renovated and so the reception looks run down currently. I suspect this will change once it is completed.

    The location is excellent between Central Station and Grand Place. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not clean. The bed was not made or had been used by sb else (empty bottle and black hair on the sheets...). However, when I protested, I got a new room which was much more comfortable. The bath was so narrow and slippery that when I fell I could have been killed. There was no breakfast. I did not know this before. For this price one would have expected some breakfast.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No smoking in hotel (as seen from signs everywhere in hotel) but there is cigarette smell from bathroom everyday.

    Very close to Brussels centraal station and Grand Place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is tiny however the whole hotel is undergoing full renovation

    Central location friendly helpful staff. Great value for money We were there May 2018 and it was being renovated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficult to navigate around the room with luggage in the way as it was very small, but it was clean and had a good bathroom. Street noise over the weekend, and the linen delivery at 0530 meant we had trouble sleeping. Would request a room at the rear of the property next time.

    Great location for the Grand Place and the restaurant and bar district to the NE was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small and lacked a kettle for some tea and coffee.

    The bed was very comfy. I could not ask for a better location. Everything you want to see is a few minutes walk away and lovely cafes are right outside the entrance. The staff were very friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were doing reforms and they didn't say anything nor anything was written on the web. From the room you can hear everyone of the same floor.

    The staff were very helpful and kind. The location is the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy with street noise due to location. old furniture/fittings-- shabby looking.

    location was great-- easy walking around. personnel were nice. room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room is very small. There's a queen bed in the middle of the room without any space to put down a luggage.

    Staffs are very nice and pleasant. The location is wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was closed for renovation. On the many times we stayed in this hotel in the past a nice light breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room, which made it quick and easy to have breakfast before heading out into the town.

    Our room had been renovated recently and was very comfortable. The shower over the large bathtub was nice, and the room's location on an inner courtyard made it very quiet. And the hotel is extremely close to the beautiful Grand'Place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave our luggage "stored" in a flight of stairs in a hallway. There was no breakfast, as the breakfast hall was closed and there was no alternative arrangement. When I booked it at Booking.com, breakfast was included, and it was one of my reasons for selecting this hotel. When we questioned the receptionist, he said he just worked there and did not know what was written on the website. The rooms and overall cleanliness were underwhelming. We'll never go back.

    The only bright point is the location, close to the Grand Place and other touristic attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no safety door on the internal stare case of the family room . It’s very dangerous for the children

    Location and helpful behaviour of the staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff who was there when we arrived, i think doesn’t know how to smile. When i asked for an adaptor and iron, that staff just said that he cannot find it. Not really helpful at all.

    I like the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very weak in our room, we barely had any signal :/

    We had a nice, big room for 4 persons. It was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is at a perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom ceiling was covered in thick black mold. Large furniture in room ment it was difficult to get to both sides of the bed.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, bathroom was small, desk in the room was small.

    The breakfast surprised by its good quality even though the hotel and breakfast room is small. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had just been painted and still smelled of wet paint

    Superb location. Good value for money. The hotel has 2 stars but are better than many 3 Star hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathtub was exceptionally narrow and hard to stand in.

    Outstanding location! Really great value for money. Close to train station and old town sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed sheets and towels were clean but the overall room was completely dirty. There was toothpaste on the walls of the bathroom, makeup stains, what looked like human waste on the ceiling of the shower, the tiles were covered in water marks and the bedroom was so dusty it actually made us cough. The walls of the bedroom were covered in shoe marks as if they had been kicked, the wardrobe door handle had fallen off, the light switch was hanging off the wall and the bathroom door handle was completely loose. The room was an attic room on the 5th floor and it looked as though no-one had stayed there for some time. For a 3 night stay worth £250 - the general maintenance should have been done and the cleaning should have been to a higher standard.

    Great location, right off the Grand Place Square in Brussels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small improvements (not expensive) would make the rooms more comfortable and appearance better. For example, hooks to hang up towels. Or one more plug for phone and other electronics. Change the rug in the halls and stairs.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and life a bit scruffy, but it is much cheaper than the more modern and grande hotels.

    Very close to the Grande Place. Friendly staff. The rooms at the back are quiet and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small, the elevator and hallways were outdated, the bathroom floors were cracked and uneven, the staff were not friendly, and the nightshirt worker did not know where they keep the cribs for babies.

    The location was fantastic. It was close to the Grand Place and other sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very dated and in some places dirty. The mattress is too soft and the reception staff could be a bit more helpful. For example not taking phone calls when talking to us or would be a good start.

    The location is very good, also the breakfast was great, good selection of continental food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a re-fit as carpets, furniture and paint were very tired.

    Staff were friendly and the room a good size with comfy beds. Location is excellent. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was dirty and there was mold in bathrooms.

    Room was in an excellent location with public parking for 14.50 a day. Plenty of food and drinks next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very run-down and in serious need of renovation. Lamp was falling from the wall. Noisy. Lots of dust in the room. You have to use stairs to get to the elevator and then to get to the rooms.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property in the heart of Brussels old town. Old building with old rooms, but given the price we payed and superb location this was an overall good deal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the tiles in our bathroom were all cracked, very ugly and most of the time hurt/stub our feet/toes. the room and bed and everything is outdated.

    Location was great. 3-5 minutes from the Grand Palace, shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that place was very close to the old city in Brussels and also to train station. The hotel was comfortable and clean. I am sure I would come back again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and the bathroom installations were partially worn off and the room quite small and crowded, with little space to move around.

    It's a very good location, 5 min walk to the Central Station, various museums and cultural attractions, in a dense pub&restaurant area. Rooms were clean and carefully cleaned daily, heating was working properly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in a 'perfect' location; it couldn't be better! The Grand Place is basically just round the corner. Grand Central Station is 5 minutes away and you can get anywhere in the country from there. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean so nothing to complain about there and like title of review says; great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have done with a keetle but plenty of places close by to have a coffe etc.

    Fantastic room, great value with perfect position to attractions of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a weird smell, not bad just a bit annoying but you get rapidly used to it.

    The staff was great and the room comfortable for a short stay. The location was EXCELLENT. We didn’t realize how good the location was when we booked, but damn it was a good sorprise

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs fixing

    Close to Grand Place and bars and restaurants. Just what you need to get your head down with no frills. Close to the Railway station also very handy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, super comfortable and we never felt crammed with all of our gear. We got more than we bargained for here, and the location is 11/10!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location minutes from both the Grand Place and Central Station. Nice staff. Our fourth stay there over the years. We had an updated room with a loft for our daughter. Very comfortable. Good WiFi. Great value for a short stay before accessing the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the hotel is under renovation. The workers were loud. The water in the bath was barely going, not enough to take a shower (probably because of the renovation work). There is obviously a night club near the hotel because there was a thumbing drum noise till about midnight.

    The hotel is near public transport and city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels in Brussels are overpriced on busy days.

    It's not the newest hotel but actually quite ok. The breakfast is not a huge buffet, but what you need is there and the bread, croissants and pain au chocolat are really good! Central location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Very noisy (no protection against outside or inside noise). Badly in need of renovation. The price for breakfast is too high.

    Location is simply perfect: 3 min walk from Central Station and 3 min walk from Grande Place. Room was fairly clean. Bed very comfy. Breakfast good Although very expensive. Price is fair.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture, especially the bed , floor carpets and bathroom was very old, due to this its seems like dirty, not too much clean, but its ok.

    Location is really great, central train station is just 5 min to walk, grand place and the other touristic places are very close to the hotel. 24 hour hot water, wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels had strong smell of chlorine. Windows were not so resistent to cold, the wind blew in. Thanks to thick curtains it wasn't so bad.

    The location is superb! Just around the corner from Grand Place and Central train station. Check-in was quick and swift thanks to prepayment. The bed was super comfy! The radiator was good and heated the room up very quickly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have some basic facilities like a fridge.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for a tourist.The staff was very friendly and the room very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly cold when we went it, which was sorted when we turned on the heating. Also, you can kind of hear noise from the outside even if the windows are closed. However, these didn't really bother us, as you get more than what you pay for. And the staff are great!

    The place is more than enough for the value! The location was perfect only 2 minute walk to Grand Place which was amazing! We arrived there frustrated after missing our flight, having to book another accommodation for an extra night. The staff that was there was very helpful! He made us feel better after such a long day. He also upgraded our room as there was a little problem with the closet in the original room. The hotel is perfect, and very good for budget deal. Would totally recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm in the room, despite that it's winter and the heating was apparently not on. I wanted to open the window but it didn't want to stay open (I had never seen such a window system before), I used a pair of shoes to block it a bit, then a towel at night (I didnt want my shoes to fall down or disappear while I slept!). The shower hose was broken so that most of the water was leaking through that place instead of the shower head, which isn't very useful for showering. I was rather disappointed given the price of the room. I would suggest investing a bit more money for a room in a better hotel if such option is available!

    The location is perfect and it is easy to reach from and to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old and need urgent restoration. Even for low-budget hotel, you expect more value.

    The only good thing about this hotel is it's location: close to Brussels-central train station and the inner city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive and food options very poor. Other than this can’t really complain

    Walking distance from train station, right in the middle of the town square and close to lots of if attractions. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on the desk was extremely unfriendly and rude. When we asked for information on the opening hours of ocenade it seemed like it was a big inconvenience to him and his reply was that it was very busy! Replying that he was too busy to give information to paying customers. travel to Brussels weekly for business and I will not be staying here again, nor will I recommend anyone else to stay here.

    The location was ideal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a little smelly, and space is not enough for opening a big size suitcase. The radiator is noisy.

    The location is fantastic. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a renovation, some pieces of furniture are quite old or repaired not really accurately, floor mats are threadbare too. Hopefully they will be replaced during the renovation. The window of my room looked at a narrow inner courtyard, where smoking is allowed. At late autumn I didn't want to open the window anyway, but in warmer weather it might be uncomfortable.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, the staff is friendly, the hotel and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator machine was in the roof on top of my room. Walls are very thin, so I could listen to every conversation of my neighbours. This means the room was very noisy. I couldn't lock the door from inside and windows are out of wood and very old. Not sure if in real winter the room remains warm. You should take care when you book the hotel and want a bathroom. At the end the room just had a shower. Read carefully.

    Very central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little "used". Could use some fresh carpet. Walls were super thin and we could everything going on above us.

    Location, Location, Location. Pet Friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had seen better days. Broken tiles on the floor and mould growing on the ceiling above the bath. Obviously inadequate ventilation as the extractor fan was broken.

    Beds very comfortable and good size. Our room was for 3 people and was good. Free WIFI and TV. Shower had adequate hot water. On the third floor so the lift was handy especially after a night out. Location was great, right at the center of the main area by Grand Place, but very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in need of renovation. The bathroom has a humidity problem with black stains on the walls and the floor tiling is broken. The floor is also unstable and moving (?). The lock to the room is stiff and difficult to close. Cleaning of the bathroom was not fully completed... When I checked out, the staff had added a breakfast in my bill although I never had any breakfast. The receptionist was kind enough to change this. Hopefully it will not be charged from my credit card.

    The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the old town. The room is spacious and sheets and towels are of good quality. The staff is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast, but the place across the street opens at 7.30am

    Nice, simple well located hotel in centre of Brussels. One of two places i stay in regularly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room, poor cleanness (hairs in bathroom), destroyed window (gaps in window frame were filled with newspaper!), offensive odour in the room; too high price for offered conditions.

    localisation, very close to Grand Place and very easy access from trains and from airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms didn't resemble pictures, paint peeling off the wall and pipes, could see directly into neighbours room. No shampoo/body wash in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's location is unbeatable 2 min from The Grand Place, 5 min from Central Station & next to best Italian restaurant -check that out. Great value for money if u wanna stay central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared toilet is a big no no. This business is classified as hotel not hostel, so i would expect a private en-suite small bathroom/toilet. I would suggest to the hotel owner to think to re-do the rooms to include the toilet.

    The hotel is very central, located less than 5 minutes walk from Brussels central train station. The premises are tidy and clean. The room is spacious enough and clean. The bed is too soft. The en-suite bathroom is spacious, clean, functional, but there is no toilet bowl. There is free wi-fi that is very strong and reliable. The staff is polite, well mannered, very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only setback was the smell in the bathroom that was very musky. Like old damp shower curtain or mold, but really intense so that the door had to stay closed all the time. I think this could be fixed easily. the rest of the bathroom was new and modern too so it seems a small problem.

    The place turned out better than I thought. It looked kinda "2-star" from the outside and reception but the room was nice and modern. The personnel seemed a bit stressed all the time, but nice. I'd go back again if all the rooms have the same standard. Location was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction was occurring in the room above us, but the staff wouldn’t move us. The bathrooms were not ventilated and thus they smelled bad and had mold. The walls were thin so you could hear people coming and going. The room had an overall dirty feeling.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked kettle for making own tea and coffee in bedroom

    Helpful advice from reception. Location near Grand Place and train station. Nice Italian restaurant two doors away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    This hotel is very well located 2 minutes from the grand Place and 4 from the central railway station. The hotel is basic but clean good value for you money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel required guests to use a shared toilet. The toilet can be situated at a considerable distance from the bedroom, which is a cause for concern regarding personal safety. There was no sink in the tiny room with a toilet, which is unhygienic. There are hotels available at an equally low cost that do not involve a lengthy trek to an unhygienic, shared toilet. My advice is to avoid this hotel.

    Absolutely nothing to like about this hotel!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean and furniture is outdated.. there were hairs from previous guests in my pillow and in the shower bath.. since we were going to sleep only few ours before continue our trip we didn't complain. And for the price in the city center we were not expecting a perfect environment. Besides cleaning we have nothing to complain about.

    Very close to the main square so location is perfect for a city trip. Personnel at the reception was very friendly and allowed to leave our bags with them until our checkin time while we were for a walk in the city. We arrived on a Sunday (free parking in the street until Monday 8am)and were leaving Monday morning so we parked in the street for free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very tired, basic hotel that really needs a facelift. I emailed the hotel following my departure regarding a pair of glasses that I had left in my room. I never received a response.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, smoker smelling and cold. Bathroom without full towel equipment and soap. Cold with broken toilet seat, flashing bulbs. Missing bulbs in the room lamps. Broken window lock. Bed not as per reservation done. Wardrobe smelling and with some very cheap tin hangers.

    The only good for this hotel is it's location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Environmental friendliness could definitely be better - my towels were changed the very next day after checking in despite I did not indicate I'd like them to be.

    The price/quality ratio, in conjunction with the location, is simply astonishing. But don't expect much - because you cannot expect much from a hotel located in old city centre that sells rooms for 60 euros.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The square is very popular even at night, which makes it loud in the room

    This hotel is right in the middle of everything. 5 minutes from the central station, which makes it very easy to go to or from the airport. At the same time it's located on one of the central squares, close to the tourist attractions, restaurant and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel was in a hub of activity, it was noisy outside.

    We needed to be by the train station, so the location was great. The room and bathroom were clean and staff accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: