Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marivaux Hotel 4 stars

Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#90 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5323 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, and especially coffee (which is very important to me) are not really 4-star hotel.

    Superb location, great, very helpful staff at the reception. Easy check in and out. Will come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good, clean hotel, equipped with everything an average traveller may need, including coffee and tea facilities in the room. A very competent, professional staff, a nice buffet breakfast with a good choice of food and a very convenient location make the hotel an excellent place to stay in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hall carpets are a little stained and dated. A good clean would do wonders. A pretty minor detail and overall definitely a great place to stay.

    Bed was comfortable, room was neat and the staff were helpful at all times. The location is fantastic....truly minutes from Gran Place and from shopping centre. Airconditioning was excellent and it was great to have english tv stations and a kettle. For coffee afficionados there's also a coffee machine in your room :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super spacious room, we had a really comfortable time staying at Marivaux. Breakfast is maybe just OK, but the room, gym and location outweigh the rest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is not the best if you are wanting to be in downtown brussels. It ended up working out okay because we went with the hop on hop off bus tour, which ended up working out great! The pick up for the tour is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, which is also next to the nearest metro, if you are planning on using public transportation.

    The rooms were nice and had all the necessary amenities. Everything was clean in the room and lobby. We also had dinner at the hotels restaurant which was nice as well. A bit pricey, but the food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy room (some air conditional unit in front of the window); located on the 5th floor (lift 3); no view at all. no way to open the window because of the noise. very small towels and not enough for 2 people. the coffee maker was out of order

    very good location, good breakfast, excellent wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slightly outdated

    Staff were great our room was upgraded for us which was lovely although the room was a little dated it was huge and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money, clean and comfortable room with excellent extras such as coffee and tea facilities. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice place with a great location in Brussels. Unfortunately our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor and out the door to the carpet every time we used it. When we reported it, the staff seemed pretty apathetic about it and it was not fixed before we left. I am thankful that neither my wife and I slipped. The drain in the bathroom sink was broken as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no view to enjoy and the hotel interior is ANCIENT. Using the shower meant it rained in the whole bathroom, as the shower was broken and sprayed everywhere but underneath it. The room smelled stale and had dusty corners. The staff were kind and friendly...meaning they smiled. The did not help with luggage nor offer to, nor with anything else.

    The location is good, though not the best in the city. One staff member was kind enough to help us with the parkings, the rest not so kind with anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    House keeping was rather disappointing this time. Linen was supposed to be changed every 2nd day ( and it needed to ) but this only started to happen in the 5th day, the day after I asked the reception desk for assitance. The room was not vacuumed during our stay ( I could tell because of the little marks I left on the carpet ); during the first few days bath amenities were not replenished when needed ( 3rd evening after returning to the hotel we had to ask the lady from the reception desk for more shower gel and shampoo ); one day half of the towels were taken but not replaced ( leaving both of us with just 3 towels, including here a ( literally ) palm size one; the next day the same thing happened with a bathrobe... Even the complimentary tea bags were not replaced after use for 4 days. At the first use the hair dryer blew out a lot ( and I mean A LOT ) of dust thus my gf needed to wash her hair again. And last but not least, in the bathroom there was a scale .. which displayed 17 Kg less than the real weight ! All in all most of the issues were not big deals and easily solvable but still, annoying and leaving a bitter taste in the mouth, as they say.

    It is well situated, within walking vicinity to the city center, extremely close to the Rogier metro/tram/bus stations and relatively close to Brussels North train station. Several restaurants and fast foods of various kinds and for all tastes are just minutes away and the City2 and INNO malls are across the street. The room was large and equipped with amenities not seen in other places like ironing board, suit stand, espresso machine and kettle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    House keeping was rather disappointing this time. Linen was supposed to be changed every 2nd day ( and it needed to ) but this only started to happen in the 5th day, the day after I asked the reception desk for assitance. The room was not vacuumed during our stay ( I could tell because of the little marks I left on the carpet ); during the first few days bath amenities were not replenished when needed ( 3rd evening after returning to the hotel we had to ask the lady from the reception desk for more shower gel and shampoo ); one day half of the towels were taken but not replaced ( leaving both of us with just 3 towels, including here a ( literally ) palm size one; the next day the same thing happened with a bathrobe... Even the complimentary tea bags were not replaced after use for 4 days. At the first use the hair dryer blew out a lot ( and I mean A LOT ) of dust thus my gf needed to wash her hair again. And last but not least, in the bathroom there was a scale .. which displayed 17 Kg less than the real weight ! All in all most of the issues were not big deals and easily solvable but still, annoying and leaving a bitter taste in the mouth, as they say.

    It is well situated, within walking vicinity to the city center, extremely close to the Rogier metro/tram/bus stations and relatively close to Brussels North train station. Several restaurants and fast foods of various kinds and for all tastes are just minutes away and the City2 and INNO malls are across the street. The room was large and equipped with amenities not seen in other places like ironing board, suit stand, espresso machine and kettle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a separate restaurant called near me, which didn’t open sundays and very rarely had anyone in, had a beer in there one evening, but was very dull.

    Good location for the metro and the city in general. Hotel was a nice old building, which was large and impressive. Room was huge and had everything you needed. Collosal bed which was great. Staff very helpful, breakfast average only.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very far away from the reception/main area, an unexpectedly long walk down a couple of long corridors. This hotel is a renovated old movie theater, so it doesn't have a typical hotel layout you would expect. Nothing wrong with that, but just - since I was travelling alone, and I am a woman, it felt just a little uncomfortable. If I had been with a partner or a friend, it would not have felt creepy at all. So if you're a woman travelling alone, maybe ask in advance to have a room in an area closer to the main part of the hotel.

    My room was huge, clean, neat. Big bathroom, well stocked up. Very comfortable. Good breakfast, plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. The staff was nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you get a room in the older part of the Hotel then it is definitely not a 4 star hotel, 3 stars at most or maybe even less. So be aware of the last floor and the older part of the building.

    The newer part of the Hotel is really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent, very clean hotel, with friendly and very professional staff. A coffee and tea facillities in the room are very welcomed (a real Nespresso in the morning before you go to have breakfast makes your day start very well). A buffet breakfast is very good, with a sufficient selection of food (warm and cold). I stay there regularly and every time I enjoy it very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was accomodating. He took time to explain directions and what to do in Belgium. CHeck in and check out was a breeze. I would reccommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for the Car. No Hotel Parking. but parking is close buy. would recommend for a week end or business trip. Staff are great and friendly. checked in early . so Kind and accommodating. ..........

    Great Location, Great staff. Very close to Centre. Bars, food. brilliant location . Parking is at the local shopping mall. and a slight downer for carrying bags but only 7 min walk to and from. Small price to pay for location. we drove from UK and had a Car. If no Car then 98%.. all round

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More flexibility in check-in although it was clearly indicated that it was not possible to enter before 15:00

    The location of the hotel is extremely close to the most important attractions. Room very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old but the room is spacious and nice

    Great location and only takes you 5min from metro Roiger to the hotel and shopping centre and the attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged for the breakfast I did not take; front door was closed after 12 a.m. and it took ages to call the reception to open the door. Room key did not work at the front door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy and a bit further from Grand Place than I'd have liked. The bathroom towels were pretty small!

    Great price, clean, big rooms. The shower was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole hotel and our room smelled like mildew pathetic water pressure both in the bathtub and shower, no hot water on one day a double bed was actually two beds put together with a mattress on top no window view- just a wall

    nice location tea making facilities bathtub and a separate shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very hard to understand why this hotel is quite well rated in booking.com. The whole hotel is a mix of very dramatic differences. There are parts that look ok and renovated and other areas you like to run away. The carpet on the fifths floor is the dirtiest I ever saw. My bathroom was only partly cleaned. Second day no towels anymore.... When checking out NO INVOICE provided. The whole place is full of tourists that they will never see again. For business travelers, please forget it.

    Nothing, even being used to the very low quality standards in Brussels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the Hitchcock floor which looks like a deposit rather then a hotel floor. Very disappointed with the location of the room. It was the first time in this hotel and although we come often to Bruxelles we will not go back here. They should not sell the rooms at the Hitchcock floor,first time I see something like that from a 4 star hotel.

    Close to the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit old and overall expression worn-out. Minus points from (untidy) wall-to-wall carpet.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us smelled of sewage and was in the un-renovated section of the hotel. They moved us to the newer section which was quite nice except for very dim lighting.

    The location was very good, the facilities were nice, good wifi and the room had an iron which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dark and dingy corridors to room, couldn't hang towels near to shower, some fittings needed replacing, not really 4 star worthy

    Clean, big room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more pillows. Restaurant within the hotel was terrible. Overpriced food - fish was like something you would oven bake after buying frozen from the supermarket.

    Located a short walk from the main train station. Metro stop near by. Room was big and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor details like water missing in the coffee machine, expecting more quality for breakfast

    Spacious,comfortable and clean room, fairly near the city center, helpful staff at reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not like the looks of the carpeting on the 5th floor and in room. Bed was saggy, and cover was stained and unappealing. Pad on window seat had cigarette hole. Immediate neighborhood unattractive.

    Decent breakfast offered with good variety. Front desk staff were helpful. Quiet location (because of some street construction, less traffic than normal?). Close to Brussels north train for easy trip to airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room is old. And the light in the room is not too bright.

    Bedroom is big. There is a nespresso machine, boiler and small fridge. Convenient location. Walking distance to the main attractions and gare noord.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in the bathroom is not throughly done. The toilet bowl had traces of mould. The room window faced a wall. The window handles need repair.

    Good breakfast with enough choices. Coffee making machine available in the room. Helpful personnel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was under some renovations at the front and from the outside and we didn't know this...Entrance area looked old and dark and not appealing . Hotel location is questionable too....it is close to all attractions by foot and this was a good part but it is not the great location , to many people asking for the money, sleeping on the street, lots of night life and clubs as well... it is very close to Brussels North train station and Roger Metro stop (10 min walking)

    After being disappointed with entrance we were surprised with the nice big room , separate seating area ,cool roof windows, bathroom and all this was renovated recently...Still had that nice fresh smell of paint. Decor was nice end modern, bright and inviting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We didn't expect that there will be a construction in front of the hotel

    - Room is quite big and reasonable price - Not in the city center but 10 mins walking distance which is fine - Valet Parking is available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - 15 min walk to Grand Place. Shopping street 2 min. Superior room on 5 floor was great and nice with large bathroom. Breakfast ok, wifi good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front personnel could be more engaged and one step ahead of the customers, that would be appreciated and is only a minor adjustment.

    The location is very good and the newly renovated rooms are very nicely done and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breckfast over the weekend was shocking. I had to ask for cuttlery, napkins, bread, eggs, butter. They didnt keep the breckfast bar stocked up or the tables set. But monday it was perfect. Set tables friendly staff and ample food.. The staff were unfriendly too. They did there job (barely) but that was it. (Except for the restraunt staff. They were brilliant.)They didn't smile or say have a nice day or thanks for staying with us. You got checked in in silence and the same with checkout... a smile is free and makes the biggest difference.

    The room was imaculate the bathroom qas fab. Mini bar in the room and snacks. Tea and coffee facilities and fill aircon. Very stylish and very cumfy!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - hotel is in renovation, not very clean steet - staff is not the best, the guy in the reception tried to charge me additionally for city tax despite the fact it was already paid, finally they returned the money

    - excellent breakfast, good coffee, - big and comfortable bed, - waking alarm clock in TV, - not sure as did not have enough time to watch, but probabely they have Netfilx in the room, - spacious room, - speaking lift ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, I do not know why this hotel has such review score. It is too exaggerated. Carpet is very dirty in the rooms, halls. Walls are also dirty. Walls are too thin, there are no soundproof. It is too expensive for such facilities. I needed to check out about 6 a.m. and there was no one at reception. I had to find staff at the kitchen just to check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no room service on Sunday (for lunch and dinner) because its brasserie is closed.

    Good breakfast. Central location. Good sized rooms. Good quality shampoo, soap and body oil from Nuxe. First I was given a noisy room overlooking an unpleasant roof and air conditioner pipes. When I called the reception about my dissatisfaction they immediately moved me to another room. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was particularly small; from the pictures on the website we had expectations for a slightly bigger room. There was not enough space to have 2 small suitcases open without sacrificing all the remaining space

    The hotel is nice, modern and clean. It is close to the city center and easily reachable. Several parking places in the area and a metro station is less then 5 minutes walk away. Overall a nice place to stay to visit Brussels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging deposit for the minibar (for a few soft drink and peanuts:) is unnecessary.

    The fruits, eggs, cheese, coffee in the breakfast were excellent. The location was perfect. The staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for two single beds when I booked, reminded them when I got to property and they said no problem but still got a double bed. Room was super dark, neither daylight nor artificial light were decent. Shower faucets were damaged and water was barely warm. Asked for an extra pillow (double bed featured 3 in total) again they said yes and I’m still waiting. Breakfast was just in the limit for an ok. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Fairly close to Grand Place, Train Station and some shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hanger for the coat when entering room (no place to hang the coat except for the wardrobe).

    I liked the very nice and polite staff, nice interior design and great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was smart TV, but couldn’t connect to the internet. There was no entertainment on TV as everything was in local language. We had to find our own entertainment. We had high expectations for the breakfast for the price we paid. Breakfast had no much choices.

    Excellent location. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just ok: not a lot of offer; all different kinds of bread were dry; space was badly organized; a coffee machine with different options would be better over asking all the time the staff for a coffee pot, while they were super busy cleaning tables.

    The location is very good. The staff was super nice. We stayed in a renovated area of the hotel, the room was looking like new. However, some minor maintenance issues could be noticed in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is scruffy and old dirty and just terrible for the price I have stayed at much better always in Brussels

    That the area was ok and coffe in morning 😆

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were cold/luke warm Hitchcock floor was very tired looking, felt “dumped” on this non-floor (its the business centre floor!)

    There was a gym with; one treadmill, one cross trainer, one bike, and one multiweight machine. Plus an exercise ball. A fair bit of choice at breakfast. Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the ladies working on reception was a little subdued (while the rest of the staff were lovely), nothing rude, I just felt that after an 11 hour drive from the UK, a friendly face would have been a most welcome sight, but what we got was someone who just wanted to get us checked in and sent us on our way.

    Extra comfy beds and spotlessly clean room! Location is perfect, about a 5min walk into the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in an undesirable area in Brussels. I found the staff quite rude, we arrived at around 2, room wasn’t ready, lady on the desk acted like I was being a pain by actually even asking to check in before 3. Then we got to our room, it’s a Sunday so absolutely no room service. The cot for our toddler was made up but without blankets, called to request some, took over an hour and a half by which time toddler was asleep and wrapped up in hotel towels (cue loud knock followed by baby waking up). All in all, just felt like staff don’t care at all, not a great place to stay and we certainly won’t be back!

    The room was fairly spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst thing was the carpet - it was filthy, covered in all sorts of stains all over the room. Shower curtain was mouldy. Double bed consisted of two single beds pushed together with two single duvets, if you lie down in the middle the beds get pushed apart. Only three small and flat pillows provided. Room supposed to have central heating, but it didn't seem to work. It was freezing and we wore layers in the room. Realised the heating was probably broken on the last night and called reception, they couldn't access the central heating system and offered to come check the room but we declined as it was late and we just wanted to sleep. Room was very dim on one side, not enough ceiling lights and the table lamp didn't work. Area around hotel did not seem safe with lots of sketchy people around e.g. beggars on the streets nearby, the walk from the Brussels Nord Station felt unsafe at night (station itself is very quiet at night with lots of homeless people, strange people, and youths loitering about).

    Room was surprisingly spacious with pleasing decor. Beds were firm and comfortable. Staff were courteous enough and we stored our luggage there after checking out. Location was convenient - metro station 2 minutes away (line 6 direct to Midi station and Atomium (Heysel)), Brussels Nord station 10-15 min walk away (convenient for trains to other cities e.g. Bruge and for transfer from Eurostar), Grand Place 10-15 min walk away as well. We only had to take the metro to go to the Atomium, managed to walk to the different attractions within the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was just a wall about 4 feet away, and when the room was cleaned our dirty towels were taken and not replaced (which was taken care of once the reception was notified)

    The pillows we're fantastic, and the temperature controls in the room acted quickly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, maximum temperature on climat control was blocked on 23 degrees. We could clearly hear all the conversations in the corridor - bad door sound isolation. Please also fix your metro map from the hotel flyer :) We lost a bit of time trying to figure out that Brouckère and Gare Centrale aren't in the same spot but have 1 metro stop distance in between.

    Coffee in room, hot shower water, cleanliness, gentle personal, great placement. And the shoe cleaner on the 5th floor, my boy !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn down hotel - old dark worn-out hallways. Nice room - fairly modernized bathroom but loose tiles and lots of water on floor. Outside the window workmen started at 0730.

    Nice room. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not as great as you expect but close to center, i know this is not the hotel responsibilty but still if im travelling with the kids i might choose diffrent location, just walking in the street around the disnt feel safe

    Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long wait to get drinks at breakfast. Coffee and hot water was brought to each guest at their table. It would be better to have a hot flask of coffee and water at the buffet table so that guests can help themselves.

    Liked the little bar at the attached restaurant next door. Reasonably priced drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is fitted with double-glazed windows but the outside noise at night can be very unpleasant. I woke up several times because of people shouting and speaking very loud on the street. A bedroom not facing the road should have solved this issue but I only stayed for one night.

    The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. The room was comfortable enough. The breakfast was not the best I had in a 4* hotel but good enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room. Excellent bed. Nespresso machine. Excellent shower and bath. Separate toilet. Batrobe. Scales. Make up mirror. Big wardrobe. In the centre. Everything spotless .only 80 euro....it does not get better than this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning starts too early... 8:30-9 am! Even during the weekend, so if you want to sleep little bit more it is impossible because of the noice.

    Comfortable rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one thing we did not like was that there was no music in the lobby, it made out check in experience a little eerie. The location is also a little bit undesirable, it is close to many public transport routes, but late at night myself and my partner did not feel safe on the streets.

    The room was gorgeous, very large with a splendid partition, the rooms were very well equipped with a separate lavatory, minibar fridge, safe, kettle, ironing board, 2 televisions and coffee maker. The bathroom was excellent with a large shower and separate bath. The beds were very comfortable and the TV had a range of channels and was netflix capable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, the wifi was slow. I guess my biggest problem was that the room was so small that I was barely able to move around, and the cupboard was naturally small too, and not practical. Maybe the bed was too big for the room size, I do not know, but was strange.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of milk to make tea and coffee but that's all I can think to say :-)

    Great hotel, just 10 minute walk to Grand Place and very easy to find. Our room was enormous and had everything we wanted. The rate we got was great too. also an interesting history to the building. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was that there was a bad smell in hallways leading to the rooms, everything else was perfect.

    Stayed at the hotel with my son for a wkend, the location of the hotel is excellent, the breakfast was lovely and fresh each morning, our room was spotless.staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decoration is not well organized that makes the room smaller than real size. I can feel awful smell from towels.

    Excellent location. Just walk straight from train to hotel in few min. It is also close to shopping center and famous places. The front desks do have greatservice mind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had some issues with extra bed and cot in the room, although this was arranged from before we realised they were not in the room staff went out of their way to please as even though we arrived pretty late

    excellent location staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was in a different room than the basin. Hot water was brown one day of three.

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds, breakfast buffé was good, near city and recommended restaurants! The staff gave us discount when the water in bathtub and basin was brown and they fixed the water quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The only thing I didn't like are limited working hours of the Meet Me hotel restaurant. Restaurant doesn't work on Sundays and have siesta from 14:00 to 16:30. Excellent food and room service for only 4 Euros per order.

    Excellent comfy room in central Brussels. Espresso machine for the perfect start of the day, Netflix, comfy bed, robes and slippers. Receptionists very helpful, cleaning amazingly efficient. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not come across any issues.

    Good sized rooms with large bathroom and lots of wardrobe space. Coffee machine and tv in room. Good location, short walk to the centre square. Fun furniture in the lobby. Guests get discount at the bar/restaurant next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room would need some refit: traces of leakage on the wall, broken tile in the bathroom. problems with cleanliness: floor and bedside table not cleaned before my arrival.

    excellent location, spacious and comfortable room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that building works we’re going on . It was not the nicest to be woken up to a load of banging

    The beds were comfy pillows great . Rooms nice and warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in room wasn't in the best condition, only had a small window in the room so quite dark, we had to ask for tea and coffee, none provided only 2 capsules for the nespresso, and if you wanted more you had to pay for them.

    When we arrived we were allowed to check in early, room had large comfy bed, was in a good location not too far from the main attractions. The room was clean on arrival, loved the extra touch of bathrobe and slippers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Adequate for a night or two, but my old-fashioned room had definitely seen better days. The carpet was worn and stained. I was cold during my first night and was unable to increase the room temperature myself. When I asked about it in reception the following evening, the staff member on duty just said "it is warm enough in your room". The location is not the nicest to walk on your own at night.

    The lobby area is pretty nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is close to the city center but in a not so good neighborhood.

    Great and helful staff and fast check in. Clean room and satisfactory supplies in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly more old fashioned than the rest of the hotel, but this didnt impact the stay at all. Extra pillows would be a nice touch as the one provided was quite small. Nothing major to complain about.

    Ideal location, good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marivaux Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: