Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lace Hotel 3 stars

't Zand 5, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#98 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3031 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    Great localized, breakfast included, but you can have the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible room, dark, old, noises. No windows (there's on but you see the other window room, its so close is possible a handshake with peoples for other room).

    Great localized, breakfast included, but you can have the same by €7.00 pp arround.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.2
    No airconditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning. Extra bed in already small twin-bedroom making space very scarce. Bathroom tiny. Missing simple amenities like a hairdryer or watercooker or small fridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were struggling for parking in brugges, rang the hotel for help and was told by the staff member he was to busy to help me as he has work to do and to sort it myself This want ideal as we contiuned to spend an extra 45 looking for a car park

    Good customer service. Got to the hotel to be told there was a problem with our room and they had put us in a different hotel. Just unfortunate we hadnt been told prior to getting to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.3
    The other hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I contacted the property beforehand about check-in and i'm still waiting for the answer. We got there and the receptionist told us there are no rooms for us due to water issues without any previous notifications or mails about it. So we've got another hotel nearby. They gave us the uppermost attic room where even the lift did not go and the staircase was spiral and way too narrow.

    The other hotel was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    I actually was sent to Parkhotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually was sent to Parkhotel. There was a water supply problem so they booked me somewhere else. I am happy my transfer had no problems at all. The bacon for breakfast at Parkhotel was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Location - great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strict check-in time, just 2 pm and not earlier. We booked Deluxe TWIN (here, booking.com), when arrived - found out that there are just and only Deluxe Double rooms and there is no other option of Deluxe rooms at all. So, instead of Twin we had Double with one blanket ... asked for second and it was changed. Still, your booking details could and will be missed, most obviously. Room was on 2nd floor - super noisy (I believe it would be so at any time of day-night, as hotel is on corner of two quite busy streets). During night we felt like party is happening in our room. And main "bonus" - bathroom literally built in corner of the room, with walls not reaching ceiling ...

    Location - great. I believe as for all hotels in center of Bruges, as it's so small, everything is accessible in maximum 10 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Only good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff (I think was the owner) was REALLY rude! The bathroom was really bad. I don’t recomend this hotel.

    The location was the only good think about this hotel, but you can find hotels in a better location or another hotel close to it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    lots of potential for this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mattress, felt all the springs. very cheap quality. still trash from previous guest in trash can. shower floor slippery to the point to be dangerous.

    location. looks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location budget accommodation with opportunities to upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic Bathroom snug with cabin sized shower cubicle No kettle as described in photo unless you upgraded Value for money

    Great location Just 15 min walk from station Good breakfast although not earliest is 8.30am however staff kind enough to offer us selection earlier in last day as needed to catch an early train

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, exceeded expectations, good value for money brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no complaints apart from a little noise outside during the night, only to be expected when in a city centre though.

    We paid a little extra for superior rooms and they were fine, on previous question 'did the price you paid match the expectations when I booked' I answered no because it exceeded what we expected! A lot of trip advisor comments were awful but we decided to go a head as the location was perfect for us. There was no need to worry about other aspects of the hotel as it was all great. The man on reception did a brilliant job, he was the only member of staff we saw but he had everything under control. Lovely stay would return again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel; location directly onto one of Brugge's main squares with parking below the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was initially a shortfall in towels but this was quickly remedied.

    Our room was clean and spacious, the bed double or twin and the bathroom equally user-friendly for able bodied or disabled residents. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was pleasantly big, it had two small terraces in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was not very comfortable, it was way too soft. Some lights of the room were blown out, therefore it was not very illuminated. Some lights on the corridors of the hotel were not fixed to the wall.

    The room was pleasantly big, it had two small terraces in front of the windows. The rest room was very big too. Excellent position, on one of the main streets of Bruges. The room included also the coffee and tea maker. Nice view of Bruges roofs from the windows. The room was clean. Very good quality/price ratio. I would recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Best Location with Worst Hotel Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room Furniture was like some wasted stuff. Broken table.Strains on chair. No coffee or tea facility in room. The toilet sink was broken with broken Soap dispenser and without any Exaust fan which makes room smelly.

    Only positive aspect of this hotel is its location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Bed comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sleep well. Was very noisy from bistros, cafes down below. Not enough pillows. I asked for more and they didn't deliver

    Bed comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    location was convenient, about 15-20 minutes from the city...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom light did not work during our stay and when staff was made aware they said they knew about the problem and failed to fix it. This made using the bathroom facilities very unpleasant and inconvenient.

    location was convenient, about 15-20 minutes from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.8
    The room was awful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damaged furniture, NOT clean, dark spots everywhere, bathroom really tiny and out of plastic, the water in the shower did not evacuate so that the whole bathroom was flooded, did not smell well, no hairdryer, cracked sink, mold on the walls, really noisy!! We told the receptionist that we were disappointed and that a lot of things were damaged etc... He didn't let me speak, just told me that he knew and that it was normal..We really felt cheated fot the price we paid!!

    Friendly service in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The safe in the room was unusable because a previous guest had left the door open, but with the bolt locked with a key code.

    Handy location for the town centre. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Good location for what is unfortunately a very basic hotel, not at a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremely noisy if your bedroom faces onto the street / square. The bathroom was like a wash cabin / wet room and was very poorly equipped (no shower gel etc). There was also no hairdryer in the room. When I asked to borrow one from reception I was told I had to give them a €20 cash deposit. As I had no cash I offered to leave a card but instead got a big huff and eye roll from the male receptionist who relcuantly gave me the hair dryer anyway. It seems like the sort of the thing that should be provided in a room if it is such a trouble for the staff to lend out. The price of the room was also not cheap (we paid about €100 for one night in a standard room). This may be cheap for Bruges standards but for the price paid the bathroom amenities (or lack of) were extremely disappointing.

    The location was fantastic and the bedroom itself nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Lace Hotel stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked breakfast, which was quite expensive, I hadn't realised service didn't start until 830am. We had to leave early... And as we'd paid via booking. Com the hotel said it couldn't refund us for the breakfasts we didn't eat. While I should have checked breakfast times I was surprised at how late they were. Not convenient for us.

    Lovely rooms. Good location. Also dog-friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful brugges. What more can you say.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was nice clean cosy and comfortable and reflected the price. The location was great close to bars and restaurants, train station and underground car park. Market Square about 5 mins walk away. If you want a big room with all the trimmings then pay the price for it. These rooms are basic with a lovely comfortable bed, it was only used to sleep in as we were out all day so perfect for us and left us with more of a budget to spend out and about in brugges instead of on the room. Dogs welcome but let them know as they will give you the bigger room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    this hotel was woth the money for one or two nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny bathroom and shower!

    good location - walking distance to everywhere. once you figured out where to park - that was ok! the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. It was probably added, and not too good. TINY shower!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The location, even though during the warm night you can’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom seemed like in a retro spaceship. Was way too weird and uncomfortable. Very old and not well kept

    The location, even though during the warm night you can’t sleep with an open window because the street outside is very noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Polite staff will increase guests coming back. It did not happen in this case with Lace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very rude staff who provided us the wrong business card for breakfast location. When I asked for a refund, they simply did not accept they had made a mistake, and told us bad luck. Only when I went and got the card that was completed incorrectly, I had no apology and the refund slammed down in front of me. I found this to be completely unacceptable.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    Not recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is very expensive. Some hostel are even better than this hotel. Our bathroom is exactly the same as the bathroom in ship’s cabin. When we opened our room windows, all we saw were the fire exit stairs and the mess on the ground.

    Gute Lage

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    Dont expect to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot and no air con so you had to open window which was so noisy you cant sleep. Room had a weird smell lift smelt of pee. Dont expect to sleep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff wasn't very friendly upon check in, the cleaning ladies banged on the door regardless of the do not disturb sign. Our room opened out onto the plaza and the Friday night noise basically never died down (4-5am). The bathroom looked like it belonged on a 1960's airplane - tiny shower, all plastic, even included a metal ashtray next to sink.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable and kept moving out of place. Hot room and very loud at night as there are bars right under the hotel. Bathroom is tiny and very outdated. Ok for a night

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 18 Bathroom drain was blocked No AC just a fan which wasnt enough on a warm night. The toilet is very small , glass shelf was broken and sharp on the edge. The toilet in general was very old. The soap pump broken. No fridge and no water available in the rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Sunday in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a odour to it, the extraction fan didn't work. Night club round the corner was audible in room until early hours

    Good location and cheep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and quite room with a good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath had a couple deficiencies that should get fixed.

    Clean and quite room with a good bed. The staff was friendly and the hotel is located good. Overall a good stay considering the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Corner room had nice view, Walking distance to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit Noisy when you leave open windows during the night... at least in this area there were a lot of very loud and drunk Brits (I like UK anyway). Well football season or some bachelor parties... To be expected.

    Nice location!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Really nice beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were SO comfy, very tall and big. Felt quite luxurious. A lot of cupboard space. Situated within the old town, walking distance to centre. Walking distance to the station (20mins) or you can catch the bus for 5mins then walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is very good as it is very close to the historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the location is good, there are some bars and discos very close, some of them open till morning. When we were there, there were party every night, till 5-6AM and it was really loud. If this does not disturb you or you prefer partying, then it is a good place to stay.

    Location is very good as it is very close to the historic centre. The room was simple but good for the price, and they cleaned it every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was close to the centre square and close to lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very annoying dripping sound coming from the toilet all night meant it was very difficult to sleep. With nobody on reception after a certain time I could not tell anybody about this. Also the windows did very little to block the noise from outside in the street and with all the bars close by this meant it was very loud until around 3am, then from around 6am there were lots of building work and digging which meant my nights sleep was close to impossible! The outside noise wasn’t the hotels fault but I think something could be done to upgrade the quality of the windows to drown out the outside noise a little more, and also to fix that annoying drip from the toilet!

    Location was close to the centre square and close to lots of bars. The restaurant looked nice but was pricey. The staff were friendly on arrival and helpful. The room was clean with lots of storage space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Multiple things were broken, such as the toilet paper holder and a few lamps

    Overall it was very nice, clean and comfortable. It was of great value, the location was great and the staff was nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot (we were there in July) There was air conditioning but it wasn’t as powerful as we would have liked.

    Great location!! Not far from train station and very close to city centre. Everything within walking distance!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing experience Definitely unhappy and wouldn't go back. Very dirty and tiny bathroom very old and rusty. No hair dryer available - only for a €20 deposit when the dryer itself is probably worth €5 and the guy at the reception did not communicate it so the lady in the morning when we checked out was not aware. Also no air con, so with 30° outside the only option is to roast and sleep with the window open (means no sleep at all as it is a very busy area with people partying until 5am) Also, tv not working and the bedsheets were not fresh nor clean. Finally not sure if there were issues with the drains but the hotel had a serious problem of veeeery bad smell throughout the lobby and ground floor. We were only there 1 night which was alright as the place is very central but would not recommend to anyone who has to stay longer than that. Also staff were quite rude (the man at the reception mostly) the blonde lady that works in the morning though was really sweet and very welcoming.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    It was ideal for exploring Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the windows were sound proof, there was no air conditioning therefore you had to choose between being hot or noise from outside (which was incredibly loud) Only one pillow per person

    The location is ideal, other than the noise

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water when I tried to take a shower but my husband did have hot water for his. The bath area was aged and peeling.

    The location was great & the parking was not too far away & it was not too pricey, less than 10 euros. There were some English channels on the television.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Good little hotel,just a shame about the checking out process seemed a bit of a con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in the room,can get loud at night. Couldn’t check in any earlier than 2.30pm. Also had to give a €20 deposit for the hairdryer and was told we can get it when we check out. On the day of checking out the normal reception person wasn’t there but another lady who didn’t seem to understand us that we left a deposit. Then said the normal guy wouldnt be back for another 3 plus hours as he was at the dentist. So we stood out ground and funnily which he turned back up around 10-15mins later and then didn’t even apologise.

    Easy to get to from the station,plenty of restaurants underneither,good location just a short walk to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.0
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable but showing it's age. Tiny bathroom. Pictures show kettle in the room but there is none. Staff unfriendly and abrubt.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to carry my luggage 3 floors up .. no elevators. That was quite an workout and not a pleasant one. It was my first time staying at a hostel and I did not really know what to expect. My experience will definitely make me think twice before staying in such facilities again.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    you get what you pay for (again)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the bath room is more like a camping container and very old. but functional, at least everything worked - the room was very basic and needs to be renovated. very old-fashioned, a lot of damages - and the biggest problem of it all: as I had a room located to the central place you could hear the noise from ALL surrounding bars, cafés etc. - and that did not stop until the morning, even if the window is closed. very annoying and that is the main reason why I would never come back to this hotel..

    - the location as the hotel can be reached by foot from the train station and at the same time it's quite central - size of the room for one person - friendly staff at the reception - more towles as I needed. bed/matress was also quite ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Good central location for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is a bit worn and dated. Wi Fi was rubbish we were on the 3 rd floor and could only log on in reception. Did tell reception but they did not do anything about it.

    Great location. Right in the centre of the town near bars and restaurants make this an ideal location for exploring Bruges.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Not the best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has nothing to do with pictures from booking. The room was with old and scratched furniture. The bed was also old and the mattress was the worst from my entire life. It is deformed and you have the impresion that you are falling out of bed. Also a very unpleasant thing was that at nine o'clock the vacuum cleaner from the other rooms was doing such a noise that first we thought that was coming from a drill from outside... we couldn't sleep more. The bathroom it was not so clean and the sink was also old and scratched.

    It is well placed,near to center and shops. Close to the hotel there are also bars and nice restaurants. We stayed one night. It is suitable for one night but not for an entire vacation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Centric, close to the railway station and most attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware that this property has no air conditioning, and our room was noisy from the street at night.

    Centric, close to the railway station and most attractions. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Within walking distance of all attractions, and only 15 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy street. Noise from the bar on the corner lasted until around 3 AM and loud construction trucks came at 6 AM, so we had very little sleep. No air conditioning in the room (30 degrees) which also made it difficult to sleep. Very small shower.

    Within walking distance of all attractions, and only 15 min walk to train station. The staff were very helpful in providing directions, an iron, etc. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Centrally located, clean sheets comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, outdated. The bedroom was dusty and had not been cleaned properly along the skirting.

    Centrally located, clean sheets comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    A place for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ThE furniture was old. The bathroom was very small. The sink was scratched. There is not a coffee maker or thee.

    The personal was very amable. The room is cleaning. Warm in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been to this hotel before and the front rooms are very nice. However, this time we had a sub standard room facing the fire escape ladder. Bathroom basin was broken, shower was extremely small. Room was tiny with no air conditioning, so we had to open the window fully and I was kept awake all night with the noise of something dripping. Apparently, you have to pay extra to be in the decent rooms. However, in my view, the room we had should not be offered to anyone as it is of a very poor quality.

    Well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Location was fine and it was cheap...but room was truly awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked this room feeling under some pressure on the website that accommodation was selling out fast I realised too late that I could not cancel and payment was taken from my card almost immediately Then I read comments on TripAdvisor..they do not exaggerate...our room was grim grim grim...luckily only for one night. They are repaving the square in front of the hotel

    Considering the awful room the breakfast was surprisingly good and cheaper than advertised.The man at reception was helpful with information on how to get back to the airport.We were allowed to leave our luggage after check in but it was not in a secured location It is within walking distance of the station or one stop on the bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is cozy and tide, the location is perfect - 15min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is cozy and tide, the location is perfect - 15min walk from the main station and next to Old Town, staff is helpful and friendly. Perfect place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    DO NOT GOT THERE - OVER-PRICED AND SPOILT OUR STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING. We were in room 10 - the old part (or so we were told afterwards!!). DESPARATELY needs much TLC. only 4 coat hangers between 2 people!! Bathroom is SMALL, like a travelling toilet at a fayre. Shower TINY and had to draw back the curtain to wash your feet. Sink had no plug, although we asked twice. Bed was 2 singles pushed together, great, but the quilt wasn't big enough, got cold at night. Reception smelt of the toilets within in. Shower was nice and warm, but soaked the whole bathroom. The bathroom sink was cracked and DISGUISTING. DO NOT GO THERE - YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

    Only the restaurant and the breakfast. All the rest were RUBBISH. Don't stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Inexpensive and great location, but room wasn’t clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Multiple foreign hairs on sheets and pillows. Soap scum all over shower. Toilet and sink not thoroughly cleaned. Pillows were like bags of cotton balls.

    Great location. About 5 mins walking to main square. Friendly staff. Not too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Location of the property was amazing, very close to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite old and worn down (number of repairs required from the look of it), and issues with the hot water in the shower not working.

    Location of the property was amazing, very close to all the main tourist sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Found it noisy at night from shops below but convenient because close to tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small, basin badly scratched and no plug for basin. Toilet door squeaky.No air conditioning, to open window for fresh air you heard noisy street and mornings you heard construction work. Only one pillow and no side tables for beds.No wi-Fi in room and did not work in reception area too. Smell of toilet next to ground floor lift.

    Parking close by, Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    We were only there one night so it was fine as location could not have been much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was in need of renovation as it was very old and worn out. One of the bedside lights didn't work but the whole room was very clean.

    Bed was comfortable. The parking garage was very close especially if you parked on one of the uneven numbered floors. Breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is located in a great place, city center, staff on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was more like plastic cabin in plain or on a boat, there is no lock in the door so we couldn’t close it and somebody opened our room at 10:00 (check out was till 11:00)

    Hotel is located in a great place, city center, staff on the reception was very nice and helpful, good canteen next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room, bed was very comfy+clean and the location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff members could be more happy, parking is very close but you have to pay for it.

    Very nice room, bed was very comfy+clean and the location perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The biggest value is location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit outdated, musty/smoke smell and with some broken amenities, but we had a great view and a pleasant sleep.

    Great location in a very walkable city. Never needed to use public transport and enjoyed getting around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Not excellent but good for a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low lighting so quite dark as soon as the sun goes down. No kettle. A bit noisy at night as there is construction work near by and close to pubs (which is great until you want to sleep and people are still having fun right outside!)

    Very central, so easy to walk everywhere. Clean and tidy. Very basic but all you need for a few days

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Locatiom was really good, 5 minutes walking to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and spacious, only problem was bathroom with toilet . It didn’t have ceiling so when you were in bed, you could here everything. It was really uncomfortable, because if you are there as a couple, the last thing you want is to listen your partner at the toilet. The bed was actually also very uncomfortable, the hotel is on the street with lots of bars and restaurants so it was really busy and noisy during the night, nothing for people who really want to have relaxed vacation. After the check out we left our luggages at the reception, we didn’t get any number and they even didn’t lock it anywhere. When we came for the luggages there was no one at the reception so we just took them and left. Anyone else could do it. For that price real NO.

    Locatiom was really good, 5 minutes walking to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    Dirty and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very old, lacks maintenance, the shower is not clean (that shower curtain is very dirty!!!), the bed was supposed to be a double but actually two single beds put next to one another, with the top part moving all the time, the walls are very thin so you get to hear everything in the other rooms. (Very Noisy)

    The location is rather central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, comfy beds, everything we needed as a base point for exploring Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi wasn't very reliable. It isn't available in the rooms, only in the lobby. There's no place in the lobby to sit down while you connect, so we basically had to check up on everything while loitering in the tiny lobby. The plumbing created a very unpleasant smell on the lobby floor.

    Room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the square below. If you're a light sleeper you may be bothered by the late night noises below, but it wasn't excessive and we didn't have trouble getting our rest. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very conveniently located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Love Brugge had a great stay, renovation needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The strange fibre glass pod style toilet/wet room is so out of date these days, so small, irritating shower curtain. The sink was cracked and showing its age. The taps didn't fit the sink unit properly. No soap in the soap dispenser ! Doors didn't instil confidence. The whole place was in serious need of renovation. Couldn't have breakfast in the hotel due to ongoing works.

    The guy on the desk was really friendly and helpful. The location was excellent for the station, the parking and the town. The price was about right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Pictures look better than reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean. Curtains and bed covers were heavily stained and looked disgusting. Furniture looked worn out, in some places bedside ‘shelves’ (in that case there were shelves) were missing paint. Also since it was so close to the centre, it was a little loud at night.

    Location was great! Walking distance to a lot of restaurants and landmarks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, very close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom wasn't too comfortable, it was a plastic bathroom/cabin. In front of the hotel, there is a constraction, what is noisy in the morning.

    Good location, very close to everything. The staff is good and helpfull. For a few days is okey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    Bugs!!! Don’t stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs!!! Upon arriving home to our separate houses in Ireland, myself & my friend noticed a number of marks on our skin, which are small, red, and extremely itchy. When researched further, we read, to our horror, that the bites were from bed bugs. These bed bug bite marks can take a few days to develop, therefore, it can only have happened while we were staying at the hotel. When we contacted the hotel to inform them of this, they told us they would look in to it - they had a company call to the hotel & when they found nothing (of course they didn’t), they then contacted us to let us know that they would be charging us for the expense, despite the fact that together myself & my friend had spent almost €70 on unnecessary laundry loads to make sure that we hadn’t brought anything back with us! The room itself was not great, the bathroom was tiny & looked like something from a cruise ship, there were no tea making facilities in the room, we had to pay a deposit to borrow a hairdryer, and the staff were friendly except for a middle aged man who was at the reception on the Sunday and who was quite unhelpful. The bottom line: we would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall the stay was satisfactory with regards to location and to rest at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the room needs a bit of a makeover. It was very small and I felt like I was in a portable bathroom or something. Also, the bar in the hotel closed very early.

    The location was great, just a 5 minute walk from the main square. The room was nice and cosy too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    bruges is so amazing,charming and fabulous,with good hotel location you will enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no Wifi in a room,bathroom is inside a room,little unusual and non appropriate.

    location was excellent,room was large and brightly,good value for a money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    No wifi in the rooms but all else to a very high standard in a nice part of town,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... this wasn't my problem, but some cyclists were really stuck 'not being allowed to bring their bikes in', I hope they decided to let them in in the end but they seemed a little rigid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Just about adequate for one night - no more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room in need of refurbishment (cracked washbasin). Towels stained and pillows lumpy foam. Little soundproofing so noisy

    Location central. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Pretty basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty basic, there weren't even any nightstands. In the bathroom the sink was broken and body towels were dirty. At first there weren't any handtowels and we had to ask for them for the receptionist. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Also, there is a small window for check- in (14,30-19,30). Expensive for what it offers.

    It was close to the city centre. The receptionist was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was good, a lot of choice and good fresh...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude, reception was closed after 20:30. We had let the hotel known we'd be arriving later. The receptionist was irritated after we asked for an iron, and came back five minutes later because the toilet wouldn't stpp running ; from a three star hotel you expect nicer service.

    The breakfast was good, a lot of choice and good fresh quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Except the location, the rooms are a bit of a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a disappointment. The twin rooms are small and the bathroom is even smaller. The WC had yellow stains on it, which looked like it wasn't flushed. The shower curtain was broken and all the water would spill out to the dry area. The drain for the shower would get clogged after one shower. No WiFi in the rooms, but just the lobby. There were no hand towels on the first day. They were provided on the second day though.

    The location is superb. Close to the Markt and lined with Restaurants near the hotel. Its a budget hotel, but do not go with high expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: