Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropole 5 stars

Place de Brouckere 31, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#115 of 212 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3269 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    3.3
    old hotel, need to be renoveted.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old hotel, need to be renoveted. Dirty walls, missing buttons in the lift. even an invoice is not well printed, as the cartridge is not exchanged. All that inacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is old View isn't good I needed to wait for 20 minutes to check-in because there was only one concierge at 18:00.

    Clean Very good location in city center Luxurious lobby

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant one night stay en route back from Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion over the taxi we booked in advance to get to the Eurostar terminal but we just made it in time.

    We were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely palatial and made our one-night stop in Brussels absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing stay in grand surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had loads of variety, but they didn’t offer English breakfast tea unless you asked for it. It will be better when the construction is finished outside since the taxi wasn’t able to drop you right outside.

    Our stay at Metropole was relaxing and the bedroom was big and welcoming with a lovely bathrzoom. Great shower. Room service staff were very nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is, by all means, a 4 star hotel. Well preserved and maintained for its age, but the overall offering is short of a 5 star hotel.

    Value for money. With few exceptions, the staff was very competent and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The surrounding area is under construction which makes it somewhat hard to walk around. The restaurant could be more welcoming to single diners.

    Beautiful hotel with great elegance. Comfortable, well-equipped room. Helpful staff. Convenient location near subway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    good choice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The drainage of the bathtub was partially blocked and the ceiling in the bathroom had mould.

    The location is great, close to the main attractions and safe, but a bit noisy during the daytime due to the extensive street resurfacing project. The front desk staff was very helpful and gave a us a room in a quiet area, considering our 6 nights stay. The place is very clean, the breakfast is good and Cafe Metropole is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Stunning hotel, lovely weekend away in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive for just a continental.

    The hotel was stunning 😍 the location was perfect and the staff were very efficient. We felt like royalty staying in such a grand place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.9
    A pile of crap in a good location is still a pile of crap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You couldn't pay me to go back to this hotel! Room 435 is NOT like the pictures! Stains on the chair and floor, bathroom door was warped, could smell smoke coming from the people below us, worst of all is the bed. Staff is not helpful. This hotel no doubt fixed up some rooms and only used those to lure in customers. I have no doubt people who stay in the good rooms have a good experience with them. The head of housekeeping told me that all the beds were like ours, and was very comfortable... she lied to my face. Hotel Metropole is a SHAM and a FRAUD. AVOID IT!

    People say, the location is great, but a pile of crap in a great location is still a pile of crap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Worth to be seen but some improvements needed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are renovated but still not at the level we could expect for such an hotel. Staff is not well organised leading to some unacceptable situation for such an hotel (ie 20 min queue for check in)

    A classic in Bruxelles. Beautifull hall, bar, patio ... Worth to be seen Staff looking to do their best to give quality service to clients.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Generally the positives outweigh the negatives and we had a good time in beautiful Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 4 superior double rooms for 4 couples at exactly the same price and specifications. Two of the rooms were smaller, no dressing table, no sofas and smaller TV and bathroom compared to the other two rooms, we were politely told that what currently available despite booking 3 months beforehand!!! Large Windows, unfortunately overlooking ‘nothing’ just concrete walls of next door buildings. Extensive Road Construction right in front of the hotel main entrance, restricting views and blocking Taxi access , we had to walk 5-10 min with our luggage to use a taxi.

    Location is excellent, within walking distance from the centre of the old town attractions. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English in addition to French and Dutch. Clean and tidy. Very good breakfast and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Sadly, the room wasn’t as pictured which was disappointing but it was a good base for Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as pictured; it was modern with a Spanish theme instead of old world elegance. The toilet ran the entire time we were there and the hallways and room seemed to need some minor repairs and freshening. The lobby of the breakfast room had a strong mold smell.

    The old world charm of the lobby is unbeatable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    One of the grand hotels, worth experiencing, but with a costly breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was priced at about the same amount as a (fairly modest) evening meal. Effectively this is a surcharge on the room, and maybe acceptable if staying one night, but reduces the value for money score.

    Worth staying here for the grand marbled reception areas alone. In addition, even the standard room we were in was spacious with a good-sized bathroom. The location is good with a metro station entrance a few metres from the front door and the Grand Place less than a 10-minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was lumpy and the pillows flat with feathers protruding. No bedside table on one side of double bed so had to use a chair instead. Upholstery of chair totally worn through at edge of seat. The entrance rooms of the hotel are beautiful but the hotel looks tired. The breakfast is expensive at 20 Euros per person.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Lovely old world hotel badly run with no attention to detail, Cost saving becomes "penny pinching"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The housekeeping let down the entire hotel. Room old world and super. However the curtains were not properly hung and look scruffy as a result. In addition the provision of one free water and one free beer in a King Double room is ridiculous. The will alway be two people there! Finally one lamp next to the bed had no globe in it and also the service provided by concierge etc for suit cases was non existent. The breakfast room though large with a large range of food has no atmosphere. Having used this hotel for 30 years it is sad to see the drop in standards.

    The position and style of the Hotel. Room old world and super.The hotel itself is still superb in a perfect position. Having used this hotel for 30 years it is sad to see the drop in standards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    We liked the old building and the art deco style of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot of work outside the hotel for the time being. so the ambiance in the hotel was a bit calm

    We liked the old building and the art deco style of this imposing hotel. Our room was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, old classic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction in the street is a nuisance but it should be completed soon.

    Great location, old classic hotel. Good (but not great) breakfast. We were upgraded to a spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors and windows were old and not well maintained. The road in front of hotel was reconstructed and the access was not limited.

    The location is very convenient. Near metro station (De Brouckere) and Central Plaza. The old fashion style of the hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was spacious & the bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction outside the front door made cab drop offs difficult.

    The room was spacious & the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive & of very good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    A classic boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to be warned that it can take time for ordered taxis to arrive and then navigate the dense traffic. Advise clients to allow plenty of time to get taxi and to meetings or the airport.

    Beautiful classic historical hotel - unique. Excellent front desk and service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Mis-informed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact, booking.com & the hotel did not inform of us the city being closed to cars, therefor dragging baggage around car parks, buses etc for 2 hours to arrive at the hotel. And when I called, nobody picked up. Would not use this hotel again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable friendly base to explore - and it was Brussels Beerfest weekend !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one thing - we had one breakfast each - at E28 ? Mine was my regular two slices of toast, croissant , jam, and coffee - I should have been charged E9 The menue showed an "English Breakfast as E44 !!! better and cheaper breakfasts, morning coffee etc across the square !

    The twin room 509 size was huge with a modern bathroom and bath. The view was to the front of the Hotel across the Place Anspach with renovations almost complete The outside seating area was excellent and live music one evening - Gregory was an excellent host there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Loved the atmosphere, the opulent decor, the very help staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall for the whole hotel experience was the very snobby waitress in the hotel restaurant bar. Not a very attentive member of staff, tried and failed on a number of occasions to get her attention but she didn't to come to our table. She looked across but didn't come to us. We would have stayed longer in the bar if she had and perhaps she would have earned a bigger tip for her trouble.

    Loved the atmosphere, the opulent decor, the very help staff. Very clean, spacious room and of course an ideal location for us to explore Brussels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Historic hotel with modern luxury
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with the bathroom whii h I hope isolated. The Hot and Cold water mixer was not very efficient. Otherwise it was large and well appointed.

    The staff at the reception was very friendly and welcoming specially Remi. The Hotel is very classical ln style and even though it is very old property it has been well maintained. It has been made modern without losing its tradition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Really great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a view out of our window on a wall of the internal 'well' just a couple meters away from our window, which made the room dark and a bit calustrophobic.

    Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, very good service but needs renovation and improvement for the 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little bit worn down. With the amount of amenities and room facilities provided, I would definitely say it is a 4 star hotel, rather than a 5 star one. I would love to see some body lotion as a part of the toiletry kit or a kettle in the room for tea/coffee, for instance. There can be very long queues during check in and check out times, so it would be good to keep in mind in case you need to rush out to catch a plane.

    Rooms are larger than what you would expect from European standards and come with an ironing facility. Very kind and attentive staff. Location is perfect; it’s close by to the grand place, has a lot of stores around - for some little shopping - and the metro entrance is literally in front of the hotel! You can’t beat that. There is also a bus you can take that goes to the museum area and the train station. The 6 drinks provided in the minibar during check in are free (which are water, cola and beer), which is a very good perk! (But mind you, it is not refilled)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff at the Metropole are excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the Metropole are excellent. They are polite, highly efficient and quick to help with any issue. They are also friendly and responsive to queries. The Metropole is a perfect destination for me because it is so close to the De Broucker Metro station, so I can travel from there to either the Eurostar terminal or to my client's offices without changing. It's also handy for late-night food and drink!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stunningly beautiful property I've always wanted to stay in. The staff were fantastic and the trip was one I will always remember. Located in the heart of Brussels, everything is close by. Excellent restaurants and tourist sites on your doorstep, although you must check out the hotel cafe!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    It’s only 10-15 minutes walk from the central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was renovations being done infront of the hotel. The view was a bit disappointing.

    It’s only 10-15 minutes walk from the central station. The decor, was very different. Unlike, most modern hotels. One of the best breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.0
    The bed was very comfy and I was pleased to find that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service on check-in and check-out was a little slow. The staff were very friendly and pleasant, but some people were waiting quite some time for the concierge while we were checking in.

    The bed was very comfy and I was pleased to find that we couldn’t hear much noise from the street outside. It was only when some very loud machinery was being used that we could hear anything. We also loved the detailing on the taps, doorknobs, bin and light switches. Those little details make it extra special!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with our door, it should have been fixed before they booked the room out. They didn’t have another room for us to stay in. I would rate this hotel as a 5 star at all, I get that it’s a very historic building but the room we had was grubby, lots of marks on the walls. If you’re going to keep the room dated on purpose at least freshen up the paint work.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    The check in process was horrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was horrible. The room was not ready so we have to wait. The staff just kept saying that it was not her fault but housekeeping 's, she seemed not to realize that what customer hope to see is the problem to be solved rather then knowing who is to be blamed. What's worse, the manage never response my comment letter I had handed in when checking out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    A good value hotel with character
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room maybe required a little bit of updating but that might be expected of a property this old. The gym was small and had limited equipment; it seems like an afterthought. My room had no natural light (there was a window but if faced a wall).

    The communal areas were stunning, and the lift is unique. The bed was comfortable and the air con was perfect; not too strong or loud. Bathroom was large and the room was clean. Desk was a decent size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel I’ve ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What hotel doesn’t provide a kettle in the room? What hotel floor creaks LOUDLY every time you take a step? What hotel puts their safety deposit box on the bottom of the closet so you have to lay down on the floor to use it? What hotel puts their shower rod on the width of the bathtub so whenever you shower you are constantly on the verge of falling over and water always spills everywhere? What hotel has dusty and dirty chandeliers over your bed? What hotel doesn’t come and empty the mini bar even though you told them 3 times? What hotel doesn’t answer the phone 2 days in a row calling at different times? I swear the list goes on and on. Worst hotel I’ve ever been to and I don’t recommend it to anyone.

    Location. That is all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Heritage property, very close to major landmarks like grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work inside and outside the hotel going on.

    Heritage property, very close to major landmarks like grand palace, the interiors and furnishings are high class, spacious rooms/bathroom, decent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    The view from the big window of the room was a surprise, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and facilities were somehow old, not quite as the photos have shown.

    The view from the big window of the room was a surprise, the shower had great pressure and nice hot water. The A/C was strong and easily regulable. Enough plugs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is a historical renovated building very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the other hand, it was evident that the rooms need maintenance. The bath door had a hole coved by a tape and needed paint. They ask to hang the towels, but there was no hook. Some chairs were not comfortable when you sit on.

    The hotel is a historical renovated building very close to the historical center. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. The personel is very kind and always there to help us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue I had was the wifi, it was too weak.

    Beds were comfortable, room large enough to move around and 2 chairs to sit on. Large wardrobe. Safe was easy to use. This hotel is the essence of Brussels. Cafe Metropole is a must. Reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was ok not too far from the town hall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summer, the AC was insufficient to cool the room and refrigerator as well was not cooling at all. The theme of the hotel is classic which is I usually like and look for, however, it was to old and renovated in a good manner you can see wood flaked and broken all over.

    Location was ok not too far from the town hall. Also it is too close to restaurants, groceries and shopping area. The loopy and the cafe shop for the hotel was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Reception staff was most un friendly and rude . Surprised that air conditioning in so called 5* property was not working , when I complained , they said they can do nothing till morning !! Had to spend night with very disturbed sleep ! There is a construction work going on road and hotel should inform guests first about this Can not be rated more than 2.5* as 5* rating is too misleading .

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Not bad but is expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a very old hotel, smell bad and the decoration of the room is disgusting.

    The hotel is near of the centric and you can walk and find church’s, cinema, casino, and a lot of stores. The location is really good and the breakfasts good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Long weekend in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor is now getting very tired and could really do with sprucing up. It's a large hotel so it's a big job but with so many other hotels being built in Brussels, they need to do something to compete. That being said, it didn't dampen or spoil our stay at all, it's just now a little shabby chic!

    Cafe Metropole was great. Food was excellent as was the ambience and the service. Hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful at all levels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great place shame about the dog charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a building site in front so hard to get to. A dog charge of €50 Is unreasonable especially when the room is not much more than €80. Given we have just done a road trip using all booking.com hotels I would expect most rates to be around €10

    The staff were lovely and the hotel was gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay as always!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the road works outside don’t make for a pleasant view but that’s not in their control!

    Very nice staff especially the lady I met in the lift who turned out to be an expert on the lift it’s self and gave me some history that it was the first lift in Brussels! (Marian?). Anyway she was delightful! Lovely room and cafe for drinks. Always stay here when I’m Brussels forget all the others this is the original and best hotel there! In fact I’m going back this weekend!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Very old room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very old and so diffrent from the picture that showing in website. also the zircon is not working at all that make I can't even breath or sleep inside the room and the window can't open. seem like I'm staying in the microwave. Defiantly not going back to sty in this hotel.

    Just the location is in the middle of city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Good value, good location and beautiful lobby/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are in need of redecoration and do not match the photos on the booking site adequately. Somewhat shabby now.

    Good value, good location and beautiful lobby/bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    we had v.good stay time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.rooms not soundproof 2. rooms hot a/c nt working maybe 3. breakfast expensive 28 euro pp

    location is super in mid of the centre. room size big according to europe standred staff are amazing and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Superb old-style hotel in a central yet quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows not great, but there were extra. A little tired around the edges generally. Aircon could have been better.

    Superb building. Old-fashioned staff (in a good way!). Full and varied breakfast. Central location but not noisy and right by metro. Lent us an umbrella for the evening. Good shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The Hotel Metropole is beautiful, welcoming, and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel Metropole is beautiful, welcoming, and surprisingly economical. The staff was excellent -- both in the hotel and the restaurant. There is no better place in Brussels to relax at night than the bar at the Metropole.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A luxurious hotel, with excellent staff, for special occasions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that some of the smaller details in the hotel were neglected. We booked the hotel for our honeymoon and as such paid a considerable sum for the luxury and treat. In the room, the curtains had come away from the rail a little and the shower door didn't close properly meaning the bathroom floor got wet. The staff also were inclined to pop in without waiting for response but this was remedied by a do not disturb sign! Overall, it didn't ruin our stay, but I expected more attention to detail.

    Hotel Metropole is the height of opulence and luxury. The hotel is beautiful, and our junior suite was stunning. The bathroom and facilities were lovely and were easy to use and functional. The breakfast was amazing. There was nothing you could want for and the staff in the room were very helpful and friendly. The staff at reception were also helpful, reserving a table for us at dinner and organising taxis etc. The hotel was well situated, with a metro station literally outside the hotel. One stop took us right to the Grand Place. We were also given six complimentary drinks in our room. If you're after luxury and a sense of history in Belgium then this is the perfect hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    It's a beautiful classic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a beautiful classic hotel. So many famous people have stayed there. Like Einstein, Marie Curie, Toscanini. It's history. Lovely staff. Just amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Brussels quicky
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the check in could have been better , we were kept waiting a fair while. We were not aware of the building work right outside. A massive project that looks as if it is going to take a while. We heard then at 6 am in the morning but not to a great extent....tolerable but inconvenient.

    Everything about the hotel was great. Lovely large room and excellent breakfast. Central to the shops and Facilities . Metro opposite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    - Very good location (close to the center)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room is a little bit dated (but was very clean)

    - Very good location (close to the center) - Belle Epoque hotel with magnificent interior - Large room and very large bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded to a privileged room, big room but needs a good refurb, not a fixed shower so moved around a lot. Bit over priced.

    It was very grand, bed comfy, choice of pillows

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    The personal attention of the staff from check in to check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a kettle in the room to make coffee (something that is now standard in most hotels).

    The personal attention of the staff from check in to check out. There were issues with the water supply on two floors and we were put in another hotel for one night. The staff were apoplectic and the transitions went smoothly. The metro (1 and 5) is also outside the door of the hotel making transport super easy. Metropole is also close to all the tourist attractions. The free minibar was a nice surprise. It had cola, beer and water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel whose best years have already passed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No guests accessories such as water, slippers. Terrible breakfast.

    There was one person from the personel that was very helpful and charming, this person was Mr. Miguel. He was very considerate, natural and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ten minutes walk from North Station, and ten minutes walk to the Grand Palace. Staff are friendly and the lobby and cafe make u feel like living in a movie

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    upon our arrival homeless people were laying at mattresses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    upon our arrival homeless people were laying at mattresses right in front of hotel, when we were trying to check in in hotel they were knocking in the door of our car, we arrived at 1 am, it was pretty scary and unpleasant experience . Hope hotel management would care more about safeness and would ask police to take care about such situation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Great place but not in a heatwave!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We stay here a lot, but in the hot weather, the airco simply isn't up to scratch, so if it's hot suggest you find another hotel.

    Lovely old world hotel, slightly faded glory!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Old classic hotel but no recommendation for those who want quite and comfortable time in Brussel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel looks classic but too much worn out, requiring significant improvement. Too many group tourists, particularly those noisy customers making others uncomfortable. A large road work in front of the hotel, which was not informed in advance.

    Good price and experience in a classic hotel in Brussel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use small bits of renovation, updated bath/shower, adjoining rooms with better insulation (we could hear our neighbors talking softly).

    Perfect location, beautiful historic hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money but very dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated, the gym was very small with only a few machines and was surrounded by massive construction site.

    This property was spacious and great value for money although very dated. We had interconnecting large spacious room which was fantastic as I was there with my two adult children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor was very outdated, TV small and hard to operate, and the smallest toilet room I've ever been in (no need for a telephone in it!)

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is beautiful but very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful but very old. It would need to be renovated. The staff is friendly and helpful but the hotel does not meet the expectations you have when booking. I would not recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Room was comfortable, location is great, the hotel is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely rude. We go to complain and get scolded back instead. You get charged for everything from ice cubes to tea sachets.

    Room was comfortable, location is great, the hotel is really cute and has a very old world charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in Brussels! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of construction in front of the hotel, which made it impossible to walk with big suitcases. The hotel called a taxi for us and said the fare would not be more than 10 euro. We got ripped off by the taxi driver as he wanted 17 euros. When I could only find 15 euros, he got nervous and took them and drove off.

    The room was huge- even big for US standards! There was also a nice big terrace! The hotel is an old gem- with gorgeous old world details. The room was a little dated, but neat and clean. The staff was very helpful. Location was good for walking to all of the attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located next to shopping and sightseeing areas;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room to make coffee, but could have ordered room service. Breakfast very expensive if not included in room. Not a deal breaker though in my opinion, plenty of options within walking distance.

    Perfectly located next to shopping and sightseeing areas; huge comfortable room; room was very quiet with no outside noise heard at all; friendly staff; Wi-Fi accessible in all areas of hotel; beautiful hotel with a lot of charm. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Sic transit gloria mundi !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extra paid, expensive and inapropriate (no vegetables at all...). T. V. in the room did not function (no signal) - these were the days of football world cup! .

    Location is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Poor facilities, badly quialified staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a luxury-level hotel, but the facilities are very poor: the air conditioner was in bad condition, no bathrobes, the mini bar was empty when we checked in. The staff was rather unfriendly and unqualified, as they could not even print out a document at the reception or find a charger for an iPhone (I think all hotels these days should have at least 1 phone charger in the building).

    The location is quite convenient, as it's just 10 min walking distance from the city center and 15 min walking distance from the Northern Bus and Train Station of Brussels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    very beautiful old interior.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the construction around building is not very convenient, but this is what is not possible to change. The breakfast menu could be more interesting as for 5star hotel.

    very beautiful old interior.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Trashy hotelroom, under the sheets was hair and on the floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trashy hotelroom, under the sheets was hair and on the floor were tiny bugs. The loby it self was really vintage cause it is an old Hotel. Still, the staff made us feel unwelcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Best location, beautiful hotel. Worth to try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe because the hotel is classic, most of the facilities are looked a little bit old. The shower water is weird, sometimes hot and sometimes cold. They didn't change the towels on the second day.

    The hotel is beautiful and classic. The location of the hotel is excellent, and you can walk anywhere. The metro is in front of the hotel. And the bathroom is as big as the living room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work going on in the area near the hotel.

    Nice interior design, efficient & polite service. Location is good, close to shopping areas and Central Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel from the outset, but rooms are in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated. The paint on the skirting boards was peeling. The room smelt slightly damp. Creaky floorboards all over our room.

    The lobby and ground floor of the hotel is absolutely beautiful. Decorated so elegantly. Felt very relaxed and looked after.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge reconstruction going on right outside hotel. Room neeeded basic maintenance like fixing door handles. Concierge unable to book taxi for us to train station !!!! Eventually had to work out how to get there via Metro.

    Grand old hotel. Fabulous lobby, mainly helpful staff. Nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Metropole traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: