Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mille Colonnes 1 stars

Martelarenplein 5, 3000 Leuven, Belgium

#10 of 27 hotels in Leuven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2441 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Above expectation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room is better than the 1 star suggest. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Great location near city center, bus station, and train station. Good restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    excellent location (connection to trains and festival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no airconditioning, rather hot in the room in summer

    excellent location (connection to trains and festival busses); friendly and helpful staff; good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    It's a nice old hotel, perfect for train travellers staying for 1 or 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift and our room was on the 3rd floor. Plenty of stairs to climb! No refrigerator and no airco. It can get very warm in the rooms upstairs in the summer.

    Room was ok and the location perfect. Just opposite the train station and a 15 minute walk to the center proper. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great cozy hotel in Leuven across from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little difficult to find. Was actually an easy spot, but the address was confusing and we had a difficult time locating it.

    Love the friendly staff. Made you feel right at home. Excellent breakfast. Clean accommodation perfect for our budget.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent Breakfast, the rooms are comfortable enough for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the stairs in this hotel are steep and you do not notice when you go up, but when you go down you notice.

    Excellent Breakfast, the rooms are comfortable enough for a leisure stay. I would not take this one for a business trip. The room is clean, the beds are good and I was on the back side: quiet garden view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Nice and smiley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice small hotel that contains only 15 rooms. Rooms are small, clean and comfortable especially for us who spend there only nights. On the ground floor there is a big restaurant of this hotel that has got prices a bit above average of the city, but it's also more "schick". The breakfast is served in the same restaurant and it's very tasty! The location is outstanding: it's in 3 minutes walking from the central station, so arriving by train and departing by bus for us was nice and easy! The personal is very nice and easy going.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.0
    Leuven is the place to visit!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location, friendly staff. Very good, though not very diverse breakfast, but altogether, fulfilled all my expectations especially in the category best value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location and Wonderful Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was okay but a the cleaning wasn't so accurate. The carpet/rug was really dirty, full of stains and definitely didn't give a proper looking, it actually ruined the rest of the room, which was overall satisfying.

    The position is excellent! Right in front of the train station: usually they write close to (insert station/city center/main attraction) but in the end it's always 10-15 mins walk. This is the literally in the best position you could find in the city: as said, close to the train station (you will see the hotel as soon as you walk out of it) and less than 5 mins walk to the center. The check-in was fast, the room is okay for a short stay. The breakfast served and included in the price exceeded my expectations: you could make a full sweet and salty breakfast, lot of options. I will definitively stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location near the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite hard to find even though very central. The hotel is located above the restaurant with the hotel name written in not a very obvious place. Upon my quite late arrival the restaurant was closed and even though a had mailed the property to inform the person that finally opened the restaurant door was not expecting me. With that said he was very friendly and helpful and everything went quite smoothly anyway.

    The hotel located near the central station and very near the beginning of the shopping street. The breakfast was not very rich but well made. There were some amenities like toothbrush and shower gel. There were different kind of pillows to choose from inside the closet. I could leave the luggage for storage after the check out even though their storage was not very organised and the luggage placed at the stairway without any proper security.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    much better than my expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I knew that the hotel was very close to the station I requested to have a quiet room; the hotel accepted to reserve a room looking at the back side; but when I arrived my room was looking at the station. However there was a very nice view of the square and old station building. Since I knew that there was no lift, I requested a room at the ground floor; and the hotel informed me that they reserved a room at the 1st floor; but my room was at the second floor. However, they helped me with carrying my suitcase; so there was no problem.

    Location was excellent in terms of transportation and distance to the center. The breakfast was very good with very good variety of food. The room was completely renovated and clean. It was basic but very comfortable. Overall it was better than I expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Bunk staff. 100 years old linoleum in the "modern" bathroom. 3 shower for 2 people for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They gave room more than an hour late, we went back twice and they did not apologize. Most of the staff can not say hello. We say goodbye, but they did not say anything, they talked, as if we were not there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A Nice hotel with easy access to the train station and good facilities. The restaurant down stairs was great with seasonal specialities and a good selection of Belgian Beer and wine. I would definitely stay again when next in Leuven!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Leuven.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal.

    Nice small hotel, well placed, 10 minutes to old center, near the railway station. Very good breakfast, good food at the restaurant. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean and modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ready 30 minutes late.

    Clean and modern facilities. Nice staff. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant downstairs serves great food. Good location. Quiet room (16 in my case)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Iloved the ambious in hotel surrounds.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... Perhaps a lift in hotel sometime in the future...

    Iloved the ambious in hotel surrounds...the hotel building has a wonderful facade. The staff were very helpful..and i loved the breakfast... Will definately stay dare again.... Suggestion only.. A little kettle in room would be a nice ... A cuppa is nice on arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location in beautiful Leuven!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was practically inexistent. The man of the reception was at the moment of check in there, I had to pay right away and never saw him again. This wasn’t a major problem for me those 2 nights thought. Breakfast of vast variety, but didn’t taste at all.

    Check out was flexible. I kept the key to the hotel (=hotel room) as long as I wanted to pick up my luggage before leaving the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was good, and a free toothbrush in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I saw the cleaning staff do their job on the first day and I wasn't impressed: in my view, just because something looks clean does not mean you should not check it/wipe it just in case especially when you have a new guest. I also didn't like that the booking page stated a cost of 97 and I had to pay 99 due to a tourism tax. Tell me beforehand!

    The breakfast was good, and a free toothbrush in the bathroom was unexpected, but handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    It was the third time i have stayed there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom rather crumped but adequate. The staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Overall very good value for money. Proximity to station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for what it is!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the pictures on the internet I had expected a bit more from this property. The rooms are pretty basic & located above a busy restaurant. The staircase is tiny & v steep. I was at the top which isn’t ideal when pregnant but I had failed to mention that when booking as that’s my own issue but might be something to consider if you are pregnant or elderly. The staff were ok, I didn’t speak to them much.

    The property was warm & breakfast was decent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good bargain in Leuven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hallways were showing their age.

    Location was excellent -- straight walk to Grote Market. Excellent restaurant in hotel. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    perfect hotel to go and explore Leuven
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the television did not work, this is perhaps minor, but I think staff should check the equipment in the rooms every day. I like to see the news/weather when I am away from home. That was now not possible.

    The location was certainly perfect (near the Railway station), the room was at the front, but I was not disturbed by any noise, so that was good. Breakfast was superb. Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Leuven the best hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The rooms shower was wonderfull and The breakfast the best ive ever had in belgium the choice of dishes superb would want room 9 when i go back later in the year as a railway enthusiast it is possible to get loco numbers from the comfort of the room and it lines up perfectly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Awesome breakfast and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work almost at all, which was bad for me as I was there for business and couldn't work in my room. The reception was empty sometimes and the luggage storage means the room even if not cleaned yet after the previous guest. Also, could hear sounds from the corridor and room next door.

    Great location, great breakfast, great food (dinner time at the restaurant, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Can be highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are rather small - pillow is not best quality

    Very good location You feel very welcome Dinner + breakfast in restaurant De Klimop are excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, delicious breakfast, hot water is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit soft for me but that's all subjective. It was certainly not indented from previous sleepers; I just like my mattresses hard.

    Excellent location, delicious breakfast, hot water is immediately available in the shower, very quiet despite the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, powerful wi-fi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast selection was very good but I was a bit disappointed because the selection was identical each day, and although there were various cooked meats there was nothing I could really eat with them e.g. potatoes, toast etc.

    Good location. WiFi was really strong.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    My choise again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is professional but not extremely helpful and friendly. Also there is a very nice restaurant but I did not had the opportunity to test it as it is closed on Sundays. Maybe it would be nice if it could use it as a bar or cafe for a quick snack for the clients all days

    A very nice and pleasant hotel next to the train station. The room is comfortable and clean. The view is OK, the internet is fine. Don't expect luxuries but an excellent value for money offer. I recommended it without hesitation. The breakfast is very very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice cheap location in Leuven!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the other rooms (like opening doors or speaking loud) and people passing in the hall.

    Perfectly located and excellent value for money. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    I've stayed at this hotel several times, and it's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee at the breakfast isn't always very warm...

    I've stayed at this hotel several times, and it's always nice. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is great, with lots of choice. Although the hotel is situated next to the train and bus station, there is hardly any noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good price and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love that place and stay there each time I travel to Leuven. However this time I got a room at the back side of the hotel although I had asked for a room with view on the train station (as I usually get). So I was a bit disappointed with that.

    Great location, good price and nice breakfast. Always clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    I can't say anything bad about this hotel: staff was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't say anything bad about this hotel: staff was friendly, room spacious and clean. The hotel is in an excellent location. Very nice breakfast with lots of choice. Even though the hotel is located near the train and bus station, there wasn't any noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice bussiness stay at central Leuven
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are fine if you travel alone but they are not very cozy. The toilet space is very small and it is impossible to get a constant temperature in the shower water.

    The location is very convenient, the breakfast is very good, and the price was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and decent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight arrived at Brussels in the late night and so I made a late check in after 23h in Leuven. The receptionist's attitude was really bad, unfriendly and unhelpful. I had heavy baggage and worried about walking upstairs. He lied to me and said that it's a short staircase and I should be able to manage. At last I found that there were long staircases. When I went back to the reception and wished to ask the receptionist to give me a hand, he had already disappeared and all lights were off as well. As a result I carried it myself and got my back hurt. Staff in the morning are far more friendly and helpful. One helped me to carry my baggage downstairs.

    Nice breakfast and decent restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, it was difficult to sleep which is especially inconvenient for people on business trips!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was great quality - very fresh and plenty variety.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom (seeming to be coming from the drain) which made the room unbearable to be in. I had to open all the windows to try and clear the smell but being December, it was very cold outside. This was mentioned to staff on my first night but nothing was done about it. Therefore, I did not sleep well that night. It was mentioned again to staff in the morning and upon returning to the hotel on my second day of travel but nothing was done before my departure which made my whole trip a lot less satisfactory.

    Breakfast was great quality - very fresh and plenty variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    I didn't know there was only check-inn until 10 o clock...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know there was only check-inn until 10 o clock in the evening. The staff did stay awake untill we were there, thanks a lot ! I didn't know the breakfast at sunday only started at 8 o'clock in the morning, we could have some fruit and yoghurt but it's a pity we had to miss to real breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    The Breakfast is quite good and the staff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in can be a bit busy as it is done just in the restaurant, but otherwise it's OK

    The Breakfast is quite good and the staff is very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.7
    Would recommend if you're looking for a cheap place to crash for the night, no more no less
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Checkin at 3, although document in room claims 1 - Very mixed reactions from staff (was treated unfriendly twice, very friendly once - at rush times they seem to be so busy with the restaurant downstairs that you do not feel very welcome) - Plumbing in bathroom needs to be fixed asap - both shower & wash basin are so clogged that showering more than 5-10 minutes or even brushing teeth becomes 'a race against time.' Although perhaps they do this so guests save more water? In that case, very ecological/economical ;)

    - Location - Decent breakfast (although on weekdays only until 9 AM, so don't sleep in) - Price - Private bathroom (although definitely not perfect, at least not shared) - Bottle of water provided in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    I have to go to Leuven again. I will not book the same hotel since it was really cold in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom sink blocked. Poor heating system. Hard to find the hotel because it has no proper sign. It is a restaurant that you have to go through.

    Room was cleaned daily. New, modern furniture. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    As the owners say , they are not a 5 star hotel but they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As the owners say , they are not a 5 star hotel but they provide a clean convenient place to stay and you get a god breakfast in the morning. It takes about 15 minutes by train from Brussels airport to Leuven and the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the station. The Milles Colonnes also uses the Industrie around the corner but breakfast is taken in the Milles Colonnes. We have used this hotel about 6 times the last two times we stopped in the Industrie.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, very nice breakfast, super location, very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold and noisy at night mostly because there was some problem with shutting the window in my room.

    Friendly staff, very nice breakfast, super location, very low price. Really lovely place which I plan to visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't say anything bad about this hotel! The location is fantastic, the staff is friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is very good and offers a lot of choice. I will definitely return to this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    It was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was slightly cold - heating was not adequate enough to warm up the entire room in winter.

    Excellent breakfast at a very convenient location. Room itself was comfortable and very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay that is light on the pocket.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom furnishings a bit old and shower not draining fast enough. No main light in the bedroom - only wall lamps with very directional light. Not a big issue, but not exactly an operating room...

    The room itself is modern and neat. Buffet breakfast is also good. Given the great location right next to the train station, I would say that it is good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    You need to pick the keys in a restaurant, and then go to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You need to pick the keys in a restaurant, and then go to "INDUSTRIE" hotel which is completely different of the name displayed in booking.com.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Overall, it was a nice experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is a bit small and the tiny sink in the bathroom made washing my face an adventure. It was a bit hard to find the hotel because it looks like a restarurant from the outside.

    The location is very central and I got good value for my money. The staff was friendly and I got a room with an amazing view, facing the central station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Good price-quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in procedure should be arranged in a better way. I arrived after 5pm and as the check-in can be done only in the restaurant side via bartender, then I had to walk into a packed and a lively restaurant with all my luggages. As the check-in point is next to the kitchen, waitresses were really impatient as I was clearly standing in their way with my luggages, but I had no other option as I had to stand there to get my key etc. This situation was funny as well as ridiculous.

    Super good location, nice breakfast and relatively cheap. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, opposite the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not ready at the time of arrival. Somewhat weak walls, so it was all heard.

    Perfect location, opposite the train station. The accommodation was nice and clean. Breakfast is fine, coffee is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    The room was clean, the breakfast, even though not a wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I very much missed a personal touch to this hotel, the staff looks so busy with just running the restaurant like they seem to have forgotten they also have guests staying with them upstairs. The shower was not constantly supplying hot water at a consistent temperature, in fact it took at least 2 minutes the first time for it to get even hot! Heater was not on in the evening so it would get rather chilling cold in the bedroom. I mean sure it is a cheap hotel I get that, that's why I also don't blame the small rooms, but I do blame if they are trying to cut down on costs by cutting down on basic necessities, these are not things you economize on in hotels

    The room was clean, the breakfast, even though not a wide variety of selections, did provide food & beverages of a decent quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.4
    Not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room desperately needs a refurbishment. Our room was not in main hotel but in separate building around the corner. Pillows an absolute nightmare. Asked for better options but sadly no luck. Had to ask at reception for a hairdryer. No tea or coffee facilities in room.

    Location and breakfast are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with value for money !!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minus point : breakfast : there was a plate that was not clean. Egg rests from another person were on the plate. But when we told they had immediately took another one with excuses. So, everyone could have this situation I suppose,..... but it should not be in a hotel ! And no stairs but I knew this before out of other reviews.

    Value for what was paid. Accomodation was perfect. Nice room. Clean bathroom. Good bed. When you pay not much, you can't expect the same like expensive hotels. Nevertheless, it was excellent for what we paid !! Better than expected !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.3
    Worst parking hotel we have stayed at
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room, had to pass through the restaurant to get to the stairway, very basic, breakfast minimal.

    Very little, room was above the restaurant and stairway was very grubby, the area next to the hotel was nice at night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice friendly open hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came to Leuven at ten and I needed to wait till 15:00 to enter the room. Thats little bit too long for my taste

    Its basicly next to the main train station so, easy to find,especially for travelers. Friendly ipen area. Nobody checks and service is nice. Breakfast was excelent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, location near towncenter, very clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, location near towncenter, very clean, big room, good bed. Lot's of choice at the breakfast. No noise from the square or from other rooms. Perfect. And cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for a short stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV did not work (room 16)...

    Great location, superb breakfast, clean and spacious room. Staff was very friendly. Although the weather was ice cold during my stay, the room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Really poor performance, need to refresh the rooms and the coridors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are very small. Smelt in hotel is disgusting, smell smth old No fen and iron in a room, only after request, the only one fen and iron for the whole hotel is not enough Heating only after request

    The address of hotel, close to the station. Food for dinner was ok, bur expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money, close to the railway station but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, there was nothing I didn't like! It was quiet, comfy bed, very clean.

    Excellent value for money, close to the railway station but the room was very quiet even though it faced the main square. You need to walk into a restaurant to get to the hotel, but this wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Pumpkin soup :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    as per description of the hotel an iron and hairdryer should be available on the request but 1) I wasn't provided a hairdryer and couldn't get any information about by when I can get it. Staff wasn't supportive on my needs. 2) I got an iron and it looked very dangerous to use. 3) it is literally impossible to wash your face or brush teeth over the sink because it is so tiny and has a shelf above.

    Pumpkin soup :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    I booked a single room but they gave me a double.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    I booked a single room but they gave me a double. Quite big and confortable room. It is a bit difficult to understand that the checkin is inside the restaurant, but it has been really a very good choice. Free WIFI and buffet breakfast with a wide choice for sweets, bread, cereals, ham, eggs, and cheese.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Really great value with an amazing breakfast thrown in
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only complaint I can think of is that orange juice did not seem freshly squeezed... but then again you can hardly expect that on this price level.

    Really great value with an amazing breakfast thrown in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a historical building right next to the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room on the fourth floor barely get any wifi, please put an additional router if possible :-)

    Great hotel in a historical building right next to the train station. Fantastic restaurant right at the hotel, although it is hard to find a table for some evenings so book in advance. The best value for money in Leuven.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    nice stay, great breakfast, right in front of train/bus. Will go again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room I stayed was good for the money and I can see that the owner is trying hard to bring an old run down one to its previous glory. Small AOI is still needed.

    nice owners, big and good breakfast buffet. Love all the dishes, especially the bacon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    there were no iron in the room and there were no elevator...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were no iron in the room and there were no elevator and no staff to help us with the bags so we had to go for the 3rd floor carrying the bags with us...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Large bedroom and bathroom, very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazed to find that the window in my attic room could not be closed, and had been permanently rigged with metal clamp so that it would not. Staff expressed surprise and allegedly unaware about this when I complained, but no other room available. Fortunately October temperature was not too bad and no noise in square outside after 23.30. I trust they will fix this before winter?

    Large bedroom and bathroom, very comfortable and clean. Excellent buffet breakfast with very wide choice. Convenient location on square opposite Leuven station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Clean and cozy room. Good breakfast. Kind staff. Total value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I struggled to have a shower because the water was not warm and there was not any space to leave my stuff. I have to mention that there should be an elevator for people who cannot access by stairs.

    Location was great. Opposite the train station and a 10 min walk from the main square of the city centre. I really enjoyed breakfast (included in the price). Room was spacious, cozy and clean. Staff was polite and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The rooms are noisy as all movements and talking in the passages can be heard in rooms (I stayed in the Hotel de Industrie - part of the hotel). The entrance to Hotel de Industrie needs renewal and freshening.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Being off loaded into an adjoining hotel, apparently a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being off loaded into an adjoining hotel, apparently a sister hotel, so had to head back to the hotel I had booked into every morning for my breakfast. Staff weren't very helpful in the evening when I arrived as they were all very busy with the restaurant business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    I also stayed in this hotel last week, but then I was sent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I also stayed in this hotel last week, but then I was sent to the dependance building (Hotel Industrie). Now I stayed in the actual Hotel Mille Colonnes. This was a much nicer room than the one in Hotel Industrie! Comfortable and spacious room, clean bathroom, lovely breakfast with lots of choice, friendly staff. I can't really say anything bad about the place! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel next to train station but still fairly quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real issues, no kettle in room, some noise through wall from next door room

    My room was in the similar neighbouring Industrie Hotel, an elegant c.1900 building, quality generally good for 1 star hotel, excellent breakfast (much better than those in hostels)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to a bus station, so there is quite a bit of noise. For me personally that wasn't such a problem as I'm a good sleeper, but I can imagine it may be annoying for other people. Bear in mind that there's a large chance that you are being sent to Hotel Industrie (I think it's the same owner or they work together) and that you won't actually stay in Hotel Mille Colonnes. I noticed after my stay that Hotel Industrie is a bit cheaper than Mille Colonnes, so in future I will be booking Hotel Industrie directly, instead of paying more for Hotel Mille Colonnes and being sent to Hotel Industrie anyway ;)

    The room was clean and had everthing it needed for a short stay. The bathroom was a bit dated compared to the rest of the room, but as I only stayed one night it didn't bother me too much. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice! Also the location of the hotel can't be better: right across the square is the train station, and the city centre and university are at less than 10 minutes away on foot. (Like many other reviewers also mentionned, I didn't actually stay in Hotel Mille Colonnes, but was sent to Hotel Industrie, a bit further down the road. Breakfast was in Hotel Mille Colonnes)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was a bit chaotic, but that wasn't much of a problem. My room was on the top floor, and it was a pity that there was no elevator...

    Great location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. Rooms are clean and basic. Restaurant "De Klimop" also serves great food for lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lift. I requested a room on the lower floor, but there is still a flight of stairs. Not a major problem, if you are not hauling heavy luggage.

    Excellent location right in front of the train station. All major sights are within easy walking distance. Room is clean and comfortable. Wifi is fast. Breakfast is great. The hotel also operates a restaurant which is very popular. I ate there once and the food and services are good. Very good value. Recommended. Leuven is charming, and well worth visiting. It is also a good base for visiting Brussels and nearby places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no reception, you check in at the restaurant. The invoice bears also the name of the restaurant which may be weird if the trip is paid by your company (not the case for me!)...Very steep steps to the first floor. All these are not real problems since the room and breakfast are excellent

    Big and very clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast, conditions similar or even better than in a three star hotel. Would definitely recommend to everybody. Exceptional value for money!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately the shower in my room didn't work properly. The mixer was broken and the water was too hot. But it was only my room problem. My colleague who also staid here in the next room did not experienced any problem.

    Hotel is located near the railway station just across the road. It is very convenient if you travel by train with luggage. Leven center is also not far. Hotel suggests good breakfast, free wifi and TV in the room. The stuff speaks English. It is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place to put the towels in the bathroom (in order to avoid having water on the floor of the room, I had to stay naked in the bathroom for some minutes, before I could use the towel which was located out of bathroom). A small hook on the door would be handy. I would prefer to have a shampoo container within the shower cabin than having to deal with these sample size shampoo sachets.

    Clean room. Good breakfast. Great location (two minutes away from train station).

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mille Colonnes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: