Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monsieur Ernest

Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges Historic Center, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#36 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2776 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    The hotel is in great location, just next to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is in great location, just next to all the attractions in Bruges. Rooms are overlooking on one of the canals, which is very romantic and calm. Everything was clean and well-organized, just enough to stay comfortable and relaxed. Great breakfast as well. And one of the best parts was the receptionist that greeted us the day we arrived (unfortunately, don't know his name). He provided so much useful information on how to see the city in one day that we had, recommended the places to eat and in general made us feel like home right after we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.6
    An ecxellent place to stay in Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the prices rather expensive, which is typical for most hotels in Bruges.

    A traditional building situated next to a canal in a quiet neighborhood at walking distance from all historical sightseeings. Welcoming staff with useful tips for the places to visit (and to avoid). Small but nice and very functional rooms. Good enough breakfast served in a cozy hall. Overall, an ideal choice of accommodation in one of the most beautiful towns we have ever visited!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.5
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not applicable!

    I have never stayed at a hotel where all the staff were so helpful and kind, they were fantastic and made our trip that more enjoyable, Bruges is a wonderful place to visit and the hotel was ideally situated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quaint. Right on the canal. Characterful lounge area. Very central. Most helpful receptionist (male) we have ever come across. He gave us a map and highlighted restaurants we would not have found ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Monsieur Ernest Hotel is in a fabulous location, one block off of a major shopping street. The rooms are comfortable and very clean with large windows that open if u like. The staff was cheerful and helpful with information about the city. We liked it so much, we stayed and extra night!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    Good around hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was painted in a dark grey, some might find it felt a little dark. Breakfast was limited on choice, but most people could find more than enough to choose from.

    Great location, in a quite area ten minutes walk from main sites. Good helpful staff. Good shower and large comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    7.9
    Very good staff, easy location to town, affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower facility as the water came out onto the floor. Would have liked a wider selection of fruit for breakfast. Elevator did not work properly on two occasions.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    7.5
    One night in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom- area between loo and opposite wall is very small, if your over 6’ft then It will be a struggle ! Shower good. Car parking at 20euro/ night is steep!

    Clean, good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Good location for Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room and we were asked to pay for a coffee in the afternoon which we would have had to make ourselves! We decided to go out... Also the shower screen wasn't big enough and flooded the bathroom

    Great location for Bruges and all it's attractions. Most staff really knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect hotel for a city trip to Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no ventilation in the room and the ventilation in the bathroom was defect. It is not a big deal if you just open the windows, but that allows mosquitoes to come in.

    The staff was really friendly and gave us a warm welcome. They told us all about Brugge, where to go and which places to avoid. The room was clean, the beds where really comfortable and breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Wonderful peaceful location next to the canal and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful peaceful location next to the canal and everything was nearby within walking distance; Museums, Churches, shops, supermarket etc The large room was lovely, hotel staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast every morning was amazing! The reserved car parking space we got was a huge bonus. We will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    I love you just the way you are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave

    Felt like at home, from the first to the last day. Extremely professional staff, still very friendly and sincerely interested in any need we might have. Cool interior design. Lovely position, just few steps from the heart of one of the loveliest town we ever visited. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is situated close to the hot spots of Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the breakfast had no variety, in the evening most of the lobby was out of lighting and this gave me the perception of an abandoned hotel

    The hotel is situated close to the hot spots of Brugge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique hotel, much better than the big brands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have had a kettle in the room and a more comfy armchair.

    Loved the location of the hotel. The architecture of the building was beautiful and fitted in with the rest of Bruges. It was a lovely boutique hotel. The breakfast was very tasty, and the croissants were to die for. Bed was extremely comfortable. Liked the free water they give you in case you were thirsty. Hotel staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    The neighbourhood was quiet and the view over the canal was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was over the bath which took a little bit of negotiation for shaky knees but the bath mat helped to give secure footing.

    The neighbourhood was quiet and the view over the canal was lovely! We loved sitting on the casement windows, which opened or tilted, and watch the people passing by on the other side of the canal. The staff were excellent and extremely friendly and obliging; carrying our luggage upstairs (we were at the end with no lift) and bringing us up a drink from the bar. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety and the coffee was good. Loved the little terrace beside the canal and that you could have a drink from the bar until 10:30pm each evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small. However we had everything we needed including a fan during the hot weather.

    The staff were delightful. The secure parking was excellent. Our room overlooked a small canal and the hotel garden so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman at reception was so very helpful and friendly guiding us on the tourist traps to avoid and tips of what to se and do - such as doing the boat ride which is only 8 euros instead of the horse and carriage ride which is nearly 50 euros. Would definitely recommend going to this hotel. Accommodation and breakfast were also great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Wonderful place to start the day and have breakfast too- just along the river. Staff we’re superb! So helpful and polite. Will definitely stay here again and recommend. Fantastic hotel - thank you :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.8
    lovely hotel with cool interiors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite hot and the rooms only had a plug in fan and no air conditioning. The pillows were a little uncomfortable.

    I absolutely loved the interiors, the staff were exceptionally nice, it was clean, good quite location and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.8
    Situation in relation to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived Saturday and access was inpossible via a main shopping/pedestrian street. Get there early or after 6pm or possibly any other day than Sat.

    Situation in relation to centre. Location beside river and sitting out relaxing at night. Room spacious and clean. Secure parking, not a lot of room to turn though when in we left the car as everywhere was within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and modern room and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small, yet really comfortable room. The hotel is just off one of the busy shopping streets but is very peaceful and quiet. Lovely continental breakfast included with the room price and nice, accommodating staff. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay, even changing our room when we informed them our t.v. and a few electrical sockets didn't appear to be working.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff who where nore than happy to let you know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice staff who where nore than happy to let you know where to go and what to do in Bruges. Very helpfull. And very good location, beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good location. Small room-hot/stuffy room, decent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot in the room. No air conditioning, one tiny fan. The staff at the font desk gave us their fan that they used themselves. Staff here is excellent!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    I loved staying here - quiet and unassuming but with everything for a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great bohemian hotel, wonderful reading room with books to browse, breakfast was amazing overlooking the canal. Rooms clean and comfortable and 5 mins walk from centre of town on a quiet street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stop-over in scenic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy room with excellent bed and bathroom. Possibly to sit outside by a small canal which was excellent due to the nice weather. Only short walkingdistance from towncenter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    breakfast, beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in working days - children and school bell from the nearby school in the morning a bit noisy (depens on the view of the room)

    breakfast, beds comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    From our room, watching the canal as the moon rose over olden Bruges, the stay we dreamed came true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is lovely. Our room was large with big windows which overlooked the charming canal below. Also along the canal were a terrace and a garden, off the breakfast room, from where drinks could be enjoyed. Best of all was the evening manager who made us so welcome on arrival and throughout our stay. He was a wealth of useful information and recommendations and a most charming host.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Would not recommend for single travelers since you might be getting the room I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very tiny which was expected for a single room in this part of Europe, but it had very small windows covered in curtains that were attached to the window with velcro and I had to climb up to get them off in order to have any natural light. The room was super hot and the window cannot be opened unless the curtain is off and even when its off the window wouldnt stay opened unless you manage do underpin it somehow. All in all had a very bad night when it comes to sleeping, as it was too hot (outside temperature was comfy though) and my room felt like a prison cell.

    Good breakfast, lovely enteriors (except for my room), great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Quick trip to Brugge for the weekend but the hotel location made it so easy and really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was absolutely fantastic, just off the main streets. Close to beautiful restaurants and shopping. Receptionist recommended a few places for food which was great, NOMAD is amazing. Fantastic shower and very comfortable bed, all you need after a day of strolling around Brugge!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Great position, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great position, close to everything. Staff, in particular Eva, were extremely helpful, giving us tips on where to go, sites to see and places to eat. Nice breakfast, great coffee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room with canal view but did not really get one. Also getting to their parking lot is complicated especially on a Saturday. The Hotel should warn the guests about this. We wasted time trying to get to the hotel.

    Very nice, cozy hotel. Decor pleasant and to our taste. Breakfast quality is quite good, especially freshly squeezed orange juice in morning. Location very quiet but can reach all major attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Amazing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -there was no single thing to dislike

    -staff was super friendly and helpful -hotel is in perfect place next to canal (romantic) -breakfast was excellent! Fresh juice, crunchy croissants and nespresso coffee -we'll be definitely back and already recommended this place to our friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice, simple hotel in Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Very nice, simple hotel in Bruges! Breakfast was good but would be better if they have vegetarian options(soy milk etc). Staff was very welcoming and hotel was quiet, bed was comfortable! Loved everything :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and helpful staff, great location, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice and helpful staff, great location, comfortable rooms. Cosy feeling in the common spaces. Good breakfast with excellent orange juice. Beautiful view from our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    Great desk help made for pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lighting Bathroom

    Low key ,basic breakfast with a good choice of breads,coffee juices.As is typical of many smaller Hotels in Europe no air. Night were cool but I would not have been happy on a really hot night. Easy walk to town sq and high price places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Extremely close to all museums, monuments and great cafes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely close to all museums, monuments and great cafes and restaurants! Really helpful staff with food recommendations that did not fail us, and really enjoyed having a room facing the quiet canal view. Very lovely interior - mixed with old and new features and has a sophisticated yet relaxed hipster feel to the whole place. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful accomodation. Contemporary design into an hystorical building that runs along the canal. Great staff. Thanks to Nicolas that give us very good advices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.0
    Ok for a short stay but don’t expect to much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee/tea making facilities in the room. No way to obtain a hot drink before breakfast. Boiled eggs at breakfast were either too runny or to hard. Only one person on at breakfast, so clearing was slow. Cleanliness was 50/50, dusty towel rial in bathroom and toilet could have been cleaner. A bit expensive for what was on offer but then again I haven’t had the chance to compare like for like.

    Location was ideal. Coffee was plentiful at breakfast though. Good choice of the continental breakfast and cereals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    4.2
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced and poor value for money. The staff were not unpleasant although that’s as far as it went. The breakfast was included in the price however the selection was minimal. The room was very noisy due to other guests - very thin walls. The photographs provided of the property are misleading.

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was really nice, great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to point out that the hotel does not have A/C, at least our room did not. We were provided with a fan, but for someone who likes to live in a freezer, it was a bit of a let down. However, it seems to us that nowhere in Brugge you can find A/C, at least we didn't see any while wandering around. Other than that, I really have no more negatives.

    The breakfast was really nice, great setting. The coffee is also good. It is a cute little hotel with really really good staff. I can't remember more helpful staff recently. They have helped us with what we should see, where to go, and most importantly, where to eat. Since we had no time to prepare for this trip before hand, it was of great use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, clean and fab location - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were incredibly hot and stuffy (external temperatures of only approx 20degC). Fans were provided but with very little effect. To make this the absolute perfect stay, investment in air conditioning is needed.

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and daily housekeeping ensured all was kept tip top throughout the stay. Great walk-in shower in my room, whilst my mum had a shower over bath, both fabulous! Bed and pillows very comfortable so a good night sleep should be had! Breakfast was lovely, fresh and plentiful. Location was spot on for the centre of Bruges and all it offers. Just a short walk to the Grand Market place and the museums. Check out Lizzie’s Wafels while you are here for the best waffles around. Lunch at the recommended Republiek was also fantastic. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.8
    On returning to Bruges, we wouldn’t stay at hotel Monsieur Ernest again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel could be mindful meeting people’s dietary needs. Emailed the hotel prior to trip, asking whether they supplied lactose free milk (no reply). On arrival asked about the milk. I was told they don’t suppy lactose free milk but for me to go and buy some and they would keep it in the fridge! For the price the hotel charges surely this should have been supplied.

    Location was good, 20 minute walk from train station and 10 minute walk from main square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Trendy and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was comfortable and we liked the wooden floors as it is cleaner than carpet, however, we paid for the superior room canal view and it doesn't match the photo on this site. There was only one large window and the room felt basic and quite small for the price.

    The staff Nicholas and Eva were super friendly and helpful hosts. The hotel has a trendy design and has two areas to relax in. The bar is small but has nice views of the canal and was a good place to start our night out. The breakfast was all help yourself but the ingredients tasted very fresh. The location is perfect and there is a car park nearby for 8.90/24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Monsieur Ernest is a warm, friendly boutique hotel in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Monsieur Ernest is a warm, friendly boutique hotel in a quiet location in easy walking distance to all the attractions, shops and restaurants of Brugge. The room and large beds were comfortable and clean. Fresh towels and toiletries replaced daily. The continental breakfast was good with excellent choice and personal tastes considered. Nothing was to much trouble to the staff and the friendly bar and open air terrace was available all day. The staff were welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic with advice where to go, how to get to places and excellent advise about where to eat.. We could not fault our stay at Monsieur Ernest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.8
    not up to expectations, will not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bedside table, nowhere to put anything, no shelf or ledge in shower, room very bare - a hotel that wants to be trendy and design but is very poorly designed, with no thought for the comfort of guests. The single room was like a cupboard, overpriced at 100 euros. At night guests shouted in the corridors and there is no staff in the hotel at night to do anything about this. The doors are designed to bang. I got no sleep. Noisy wooden floors, thin walls. Towels not changed, toiletries not replenished. Poorly stocked bar. Breakfast was decent but no more than that.

    Lots of sockets, lights by bed, main light switch by bed, electric fan (no AC so it was much appreciated). Charming, helpful and very kind staff. Nice little garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, lovely staff, lovely hotel - just couldn't cool down properly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Remember there is no air conditioning in the room, so it does get hot. Funny that one always expects airconditioning these days - though it obv states it doesn't have. Pillows are sadly not the most comfortable.

    The breakfast is very good and lovely to have it outside on the terrace. The complimentary refill of water is a nice little detail. The staff was super friendly and helpful at any time. Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Well run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I guess the smell in the bathroom/shower was a little offensive! But.... its an old building situated beside a canal! Dont let it put you off staying!

    Great location... walking distance to old town. Quiet rooms in old part of building up the beautiful staircase.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again - stylish lounge and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great little hotel - quiet location with bar and outside terrace alongside canal. Very comfortable beds. Lovely staff who gave us detailed information about local attractions and places to eat. Very convenient for Market Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    A centrally located hotel, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee at breakfast was soso and not easy to make yourself with the machine. The view from the window was the back wall of the house next door, and a flat roof.

    Helpful staff , easy secure parking, great breakfast..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    The room was reasonable, the bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been good to have had tea and coffee in the room.

    The room was reasonable, the bed very comfortable. Shower excellent. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a beautiful hotel! Loved the style and the fact the building was so old. The bed was comfy for me but my husband didn’t feel the same. I loved the breakfast room and thought the breakfast was lovely. The hotel is in a great location and it was beautiful to be woken up by chirping birds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.9
    good location and breakfast , offering bottle water for free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows and curtains of the single room can’t be opened. Fresh air is needed during the day.

    good location and breakfast , offering bottle water for free, high speed Internet WiFi, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Loved this place, the staff were so friendly and offered us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved this place, the staff were so friendly and offered us so much great advice for amazing places to eat and drink and what to see and do in bruges. Would definitely stay here again as we could not fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.1
    Staff made my stay. Would not stay in room 21 again which I had seen in a previous review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room with 2 high up windows with blinds over them. Are they needed so that at least there is some view to the outside. Also, noisy and not soundproofed.

    Great staff. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows were super uncomfortable

    Very inviting hotel, lovely breakfast, great location, clean and simple rooms, amazing powerful shower. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent clean tidy lovely staff and atmosphere have been back twice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Fabulous hotel and perfect location for all the sights. Only a few minutes walk to the center and easy drive from Calais. Staff were very helpful and attentive, spoke excellent English. Able to give recommendations for places to eat and things to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff gave us a choice of available rooms - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff gave us a choice of available rooms - the kids with their grandmother took the family room, and we took the room with canal view on the opposite side of the hotel. Pretty interior with a beautiful staircase and wooden beams. Terrace next to the canal. Quiet location but very close to the center (walking distance even with 4/6 year olds). Staff allowed me to store my racing bike indoors for safety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was located at central Brugge and all city is in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little bit weak, maybe they can think about increasing the variety.

    Hotel was located at central Brugge and all city is in walking distance. The staff was so friendly, helpful and they are always smiling. We like the hotel and recommend to everyone who is searching accommodation in Brugge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Fabulous boutique hotel with personal feel. A style that’s matches the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location. Can walk from train station or would recommend to get taxi for 7 euro if you have bagage. In the old Brugge area. You use your room card to enter the hotel when coming in late at night so no ‘lock out’.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Pretty basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property looks washed-up, rooms are pretty small. Breakfast is basic at best. There is no air conditioning in the room, only a small fan, so if you go on a hot day, be prepared.

    Close to the city centre, just a couple of minutes from the Grote Markt. The staff was very kind and available to help or give suggestions about the surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Like waking up in the countryside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Where to start?! The boutique look and feel of this hotel is already amazing. Located in walking distance of everything you need. The room was spacious and because it was at the back of the hotel it was like we woke up in the countryside. Breakfast was excellent with fresh ingredients. Nicola, the hotel employee, provided us with great tips for drinks & dinner. We made use of his extensive knowledge on both nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful place in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eva at reception was incredibly informative. She gave us a wonderful itinerary for our day in Bruges and helped us figure out the best way to Paris. The bartender was very friendly and gave us some wonderful recommendations for food and drink helping us avoid the tourist traps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great service and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only missed some more fruit and vegetables at the breakfast, but that’s only me being very picky. Overall a good hotel.

    Excellent service from Nicolas in the reception! Nice little hotel, with good location in a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was in a good location but if visiting Bruges again I would choose somewhere else to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very dark, the bar wasn’t open at any time, there was nothing at hotel but your room, no coffee making facilities, breakfast is not brilliant, boiled eggs and croissants, cereal and cheese but it’s ok as plenty of places to eat nearby, hotel is ok just as somewhere to sleep and that’s it

    The location was very good, the lady on reception was very good and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable room, nice view of the Canal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room got a bit stuffy but was easily fixed by opening the window

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, nice view of the Canal from (slightly small) window. We arrived late but staff had arranged access for us after hours which was easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location. Small, clean hotel. Bruges is an excellent choice for a 2 or 3 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very small. Very little shelf space for storing toiletries, etc, No tea or coffee facilities in the room. There isn't a lift, so ask for a ground or first floor room if you find stairs difficult.

    Excellent location, with a short stroll to the main sights. Compact clean room with a very small bathroom. We had a canal side room No 20. Good supply of hot water for the shower. Beds comfortable. Hotel overall is quite dark inside. Breakfast of cereals, croissants, breads and ham & cheese was good and plenty of places nearby to get waffles, etc. Nice dining room. Outside space by the canal to sit with your drinks from the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, fantastic location, comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel room is a little dark due to lighting/ decor

    Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Great location and comfortable room. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect and the hotel itself was so pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little style over substance. The hotel was beautiful but the bed and pillows weren’t particularly comfy, the doors were very light and we could hear what was going on in the corridor all night and morning, and there is a school nearby with very loud bells! Not ideal for a relaxing Monday morning.

    The location was perfect and the hotel itself was so pretty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and friendly stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The canal view room was on the small side and though the canal could be seen from the room, the window's size was below expectations.

    Hotel was well located, staff was extremely friendly and you could tell that they enjoyed their job. Breakfast was served in a nice room by the canal. Overall a very enjoyable experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great service, comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service from the staff was exceptional, the room was simply, but comfortably furnished. We only had a standard double room, but imagine that the canal view rooms must be really lovely. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.7
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very average, it could have been better at least they should give eggs in the breakfast.

    The bed was quite comfy and the the bathroom was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    Staff, esp Nicolas very knowledgeable and good advice to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    May be some salads, vegetables, olives etc for vegetarian/vegans for breakfast. And Tea and coffee in the room.

    Staff, esp Nicolas very knowledgeable and good advice to the customers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.8
    great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit too small

    The staff were very nice, the design of the hotel and the room was really beautifull and the breakfast was so good. the location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed a short break in Bruges at this hotel, the location was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a limited choice of breakfast items but the items on offer (croissants, bread, cheeses, cold cuts, jam, boiled eggs, 2 types of cereal) were tasty. The only coffee available at breakfast was Nespresso, but there was also tea and 3 types of juice.

    The room was large (Family room) and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is very small and the first day flooded. So the next ways we are not so comfortable to do a shower. The lady who cleans the breakfast room was so noisy and nervous with the plates and the glasses.

    Perfect location. Beautiful lobby. Nice reception. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monsieur Ernest Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: