Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montanus 4 stars

Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#50 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 735 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not 4 star standard . The rooms are dated, small and we had 2 single beds even though we requested a double . The beds did not stay together & had separate bed linen so not suitable for a couple

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The toiletries could have been replenished a little more.

    The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quite central to most attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The gardens and the breakfast, the room was also nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress in the adjoining restaurant which is part of the hotel was extremely rude and unwelcoming when all we wanted to do as guests was to have a drink on the terrace. We raised this to the manager so hopefully it’s better next time.

    The gardens and the breakfast, the room was also nice really relaxed and good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom slightly worn down. No airconditioning, which would be a problem, but we were lucky with the weather. Everything is fine, but nothing is really special, breakfast expensive with 18 euro per head. A very confusing point about parking: booking.com suggest this is a hotel with somehow connecting parking facilities, but in reality you can just race to find s very pricey place on the street or in one of the parking lots. Parking cost us over 18 -20 euro per day, you better try to buy snd reserve online before the trip.

    Very convenient location for sightseeing, comfortable, fairly clean. Very nice lounges inside and in the garden. Good breakfast, nice restaurant facilities, overall friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Why is this a four star?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were super unfriendly. The rooms were quite basic, I have not figured iut why this is a four star. Whenever we asked questions it was like they were annoyed to help us.

    The breakfast and the bedding were really lovely. The breakfast is what made this stay tolerable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was great, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room which in the Summer, is not ideal. Also no extractor fan in the bathroom which means the room gets very warm very quickly and is borderline uncomfortable. A fan was provided in the room, but not fit for purpose blowing hot air around the room.

    Location was great, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location and beautiful garden units.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, with the extremely hot summer, the ventilation in the room was poor and there was a limited effort made to compensate for this. Meaning the rooms were extremely hot and no A/C was available. I understand that this is an exceptionally hot summer and that it could have caught the hotel off guard. I just feel for the level of hotel that they could have done more.

    The bed was extremely comfortable with amazing linen. The room is well sized and in keeping with the town culture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Last night in beautiful Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, opening windows but too noisy to leave open at night.

    Space - large room and bathroom, manicured gardens. Nice environment. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, quiet and romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would have changed would that the staff might have been more responsive over email prior to my stay. We came during the heatwave (end of June/early July) and there was no air con in the rooms - but the shutters did an ok job! Summer bedding could have been useful though.

    The service was great, with polite staff and very helpful guests too! The ground were fantastic with the opportunity to relax on sun loungers, coffee tables or rattan sofa areas. The main hotel was grand, whilst the chalet rooms were very cute and quite spacious despite only being small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was well situated for seeing and enjoying Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my bed sagged in the middle and with double screens one couldn't really enjoy the view of the garden. With open windows there was a lot of noise from the restaurant in the night.

    croissants were flaky, my husband's bed was o.k., the service was friendly and it was great to have a garden for meals. We liked the size of the room and the bathroom; also the places to sit and to eat in the hotel were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly on arrival and the room was modern and very clean. The bonus of a Bruges discount card was also great. The free coffee facilities during the day was also another welcome bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure on the photo of the hotel but we couldn't find the river...

    The room was great,staff are nice... Location was a little way away from centre,but quiet... All in all we had a pleasure and enjoyable time 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Welcoming,comfortable,peaceful. The extra dimension was the garden and the many private and public s
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfort,privacy,,lovely bathroom and sitting area both inside and outside in the garden. Beautiful,peaceful gardens. Multitude of common sitting areas both inside and in the gardens. I wish I could return next week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    LOCATION, close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After booking the hotel blocked 30% more on my bank account then the room price without any explanation of the reason why thus happened like that.

    LOCATION, close to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel near the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed linen was a little scratchy and the ground floor garden room a bit damp.

    Just stayed for 2 nights and this is my second time here. The location is great and room is decent. We chose to eat breakfast at a place nearby (Books and Brunch), so my interaction with staff was limited to check in and out. I came back because this is a nice place, well priced and just far enough from the busy center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    A very nice period building with period furniture,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    A very nice period building with period furniture, transports you into the past without compromising the comfort & facilities of today’s life. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, a delightful experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with some lovely touches. Very comfy and exceptionally clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chef not so friendly but then we only saw him in passing. We didn't eat in restaurant but heard it has great reviews.

    Beautiful setting - room overlooked gardens. Very very comfy beds. Walking distance to historical centre. Free tea and coffee available in coffee corner. Staff happy to help. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    The best hotel of our Belgium stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a small boutique hotel that is really charming. Really closed to the historical centre and all the small streets with stores. The premises are very clean and the inner backyard a real oasis

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Take a front room at your peril, if you are a light sleeper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cobble stoned road with wonky manhole cover that went off like a bomb every time a car drove over it made sleeping in this room not for the faint-hearted.

    Best breakfast ever. And lots of it. Got upgrade from broom closet to large room by nice evening receptionist -- would never have been given it by morning receptionist. Good queen-sized bed. Great bathroom with double sink facility and very good shower. Easy walking distance to everything, including the public car park. Pleasant free coffee corner in hotel, useful if you miss breakfast, like we did one morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Very clean & nice room with good bathtab and bathrobe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of cold weather during our stay, it had better to have pot to make hot drinks.and the heater was slow to get warm.

    Very clean & nice room with good bathtab and bathrobe. Staff was very kind.Very satisfied with this hotel considering the price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is vey good, ambience, high quality of items and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high cost with no breakfast

    Location is vey good, ambience, high quality of items and furniture, hair dryer, pillows and bed sheet quality, hotel ambience an decoration

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of Brugges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle in the room would be nice... but not a negative.

    Location Excellent. Nice room, clean with lots of light. No parking on site but a public car park very close at reasonable price for 24 hrs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent spot for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Mansion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet fabric is a little rough for my preference. Very high bath tube. Getting in and out the shower could be challenging for some.

    Location location location! 2 to 5 mins walking distance to everywhere you visit. Easy to drive in and park at a nearby location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Good place tot stay in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water cooker (kettle) in room. Can't make tea with Nespresso machine. Towels were old (rough and frayed)

    Great location Friendly employees Beautiful garden Parking nearby Cool hotel room in the garden (see pic)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in a great location, short walk to the shops and city square but far enough away to be quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The location, room size the staff were friendly, tea & coffee available free between 11:00 - 18:00, very comfortable room, good size bath with a very good rain shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room - Mansion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for queen or king size bed, got two singles together. Extremely noisy, upstairs noise all night and outside blinds banging. Not what photos make it look like. More a three star

    Staff were nice room ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    I wasn’t aware that I wouldn’t be staying in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t aware that I wouldn’t be staying in the hotel. The room we stayed in was off the hotel and very poor lighting on the walk from the hotel to the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.4
    Cleaning was poor, tea not replenished, not given clean cups...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning was poor, tea not replenished, not given clean cups and hair not removed in bathroom. Staff didnt explain the facilities, how to connect to wifi/find the code. Not terribly friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Great staff but rooms could do with updated bedding and windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were lumpy and bedding was not ironed. Looked scruffy. Windows were covered with plastic and made it hard to get air into the room.

    Lovely hotel. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Mansion
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There was not a parking place available; have to drive 15 minutes to find a place. This information should have been provided inside the hotel information

    - Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable city center stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super comfy and soft. Staff were attentive and welcoming, even though we did a very late check in. Parking is SUPER close by and is a very cheap garage rate (8.70EUR). The location is excellent. Very central, but a few hundred meters out enough to not have the hassle and bustle of too many people. The gardens of this property are also very lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Customer service at its best, warmth, character, class, relaxed atmosphere, clean, happy guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no issues at all - everything exceeded our expectations

    On such a cold frosty February day the warmth from the second we stepped through the reception door was delightful, nothing we asked for was any trouble. The room was spacious, clean, relaxing and private. Just what we wanted. Thank you so much, we will be back :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    A lovely hotel, with welcoming staff. With a few changes this would be a wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have been able to make hot drinks in the room. The pillows were very lumpy and uncomfortable. The paths and outside stairs were quite slippery and dangerous in the snow, with ice on the bottom 2 stairs. Also the outside stairs are very narrow, so difficult to negotiate if your feet are bigger than a size 39! Food was a bit 'fancy' in the restaurant, which meant that we had to go out to eat in the evening, but that was personal choice really.

    We received a warm welcome on arrival and all of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and good value. The facilities in the room were very good and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and a very nice and big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Mansion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel and a very nice and big room. They either accept cash of creditcard but no pin payments. Had to go out and get cash from a machine in the Center of the City in order to pay the bill. It woud make sense to start accepting pin payments as well. Commission on those payments are much lower than creditcard commision fees so that’s a win for the hotel and cash payments costs cash :). Great stay and we will come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Mansion
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little soft for my requirements. Room was a bit dark, lighting wasn't really ideal. No tea/coffee making facilities.

    It was fairly close to a secure car park. The room was large, with a nice bathroom and good quality toiletries. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Small rooms; with two small suitcases on the floor it becomes difficult to move around. Uncomfortable shower and pillows. Gelly-soft mattress.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    The room was a good size, location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There didn't seem to be much ventilation in the bathroom so after showering the walls/ mirror were really steamed up and didn't clear for hours. Shame to not have any tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

    The room was a good size, location of the hotel was great. We opted to have dinner at the hotel one night and were really impressed, it was surprisingly good for the price! And saved going outside in a blizzard to get to anywhere else..! Great food and friendly service, and some nice little extra amuse bouches on the fixed price menu which was lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - this hotel was just perfect for our needs.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. The location was perfect for us - a short walk from the train station and a lovely stroll to all the main attractions in Bruges. We had a garden room and absolutely loved it. The bed was extremely comfy, we had a great selection of TV channels and the bathroom was fantastic. Most importantly in Bruges in December, it was really warm and cosy. We loved getting back to it at the end of a busy day. The staff at this hotel were fantastic - everyone was so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The main building was really beautiful with a lovely area to chill out, free tea and coffee throughout the day and a lovely warm bar. The restaurant looked super but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to eat there during our short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and grounds, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt we were put in not the nicest room: it was the disabled room and it just felt like we were plonked in there away from the better rooms - I could be wrong?

    Really pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Great break but would not stay in this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was not worth the money, slow service and little choice. drinks were very expensive mini bar was very expensive drains need looking at in room 7!!!

    location, easy walk to all the attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful relaxing hotel - wish I had stayed longer and would definately go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A person at the door to help with luggage coming from the street into the hotel.

    I liked that it was not on the main tourist path. It has a beautiful outdoor garden, as well as multiple sitting areas in the hotel, delicious restaurant, well priced breakfast, tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Loved this property !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets were a little rough.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and had good amenities. the staff was great. Very helpful with getting a cab and suggestions in the area. the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    We ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unexperimented staff at reception and waiter. Food of breakfast limited when you come at 9.30, I think of croissants.

    Quiet and comfortable location. Trendy atmosphere, great cuisine. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel but the staff could work on being a bit more jolly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit stony. They said my card was declined and asked for another. Eventually it turned out it was their error and the card worked. They didn't apologise at all for the inconvenience/embarrassment. But I think perhaps that's the Belgian way! We were asked when we arrived if we wanted breakfast. We didn't know yet (who knows what time they're going to wake up!?) and so I asked if we could decide later or just turn up in the morning if we were up in time. "No" was the answer. So "no" was instantly my answer about whether or not we wanted breakfast. It didn't seem like they wanted the business!

    The hotel is beautiful. We had a garden room which was great. Facilities in the room were all good - shower, minibar, comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location to visit the City
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not too much

    The location is excellent, not in the middle of the centre but on walking distance- breakfast was good, everything there - room was fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay throughout in Brugge together with the Montanus Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff good at receiving guests on arrival. Service throughout the visit was excellent. Hotel was a very relaxing place to be on a short weekend break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Location, location, location! Great for nearby car park, town centre, restaurants and quietness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a room upgrade to a suite, hence the room size rating. The convenience of being close to a public car park with an affordable 24 hour rate. Close to the Beguinage and therefore close to many good and affordable restaurants. Quiet garden within the hotel was very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice, but Not 4 star in m view, and not amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know that parking was offsite in a multi story, and therefore cost extra. Also didn't know that breakfast was charged extra, even though we didn't eat it every day.

    Breakfast - if you get there early enough! - was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Really lovely hotel in a great setting!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between our rooms were not well insulated and we could hear other guests clearly. Their loudness was irritating - but some guests are just not considerate to others. It was not the hotel's fault.

    Lovely location. We had a garden room away from the main building. It was quiet and tranquil - exactly what we needed after the busy streets of Bruges!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only point for the improvement that I can suggest is a wider selection of TV channels, and probably a later check out deadline, but this did not caused any inconvenience for us at all.

    We loved the building - back garden, breakfast on the terrace, atmospheric view on the red roofs form the window... a fairy tale of the medieval Brugge started right at the moment we entered the hotel. The staff is very helpful, room is spacious, clean, beds are comfy, chocolate fountain at the breakfast is a delight.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay, a little distance from the Main Square. Considered a Romantic Hotel for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast slightly overated. Was $25 American now $20 Worth about $10-$15. The front rooms are better, more convenient for the additional cost if available. They often are not such as this latest off season stay for me. The hotel is a little costlier on average, about 25-30% more than the average for the area, Other hotel owners consider it a 4 star property. It probably is slightly below that. The landscaped gardens may be attractive to guests during good weather. One can see how those grounds and the rooms in the back resemble the former English Boys Boarding school the property was. The hotel is very close to the Benjahoff Heritage site and Catholic Church which today is lived and worshiped in by an order of nuns. I would think that if the Church had a Christmas Mass it would be convenient to tourists staying in the Hotel in December.

    Staff advice, Clean comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Cute Brugge hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tea/coffee maker in the room would be nice

    They gave us a shallay, from the outside it didn't look like much but the inside was so lovely, very cute, private and so romantic for valentines they also put out rose petals on the bed and around the room on Valentine's Day, nice little touch ☺️

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Best Brugge Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water for morning shower was not hot barely warm enough to be comfortable.

    The distance to the city center was ideal; not a long walk at all. Also that was one of the best European breakfasts I've had since being in Europe. The room was clean and comfortable; layout was easy to navigate. Check-in was pleasant and professional--we were walked to our room and shown the amenities AND asked if the room was acceptable. I really appreciated that gesture. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Linen sheets No kettle in the room until I asked, but over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen sheets No kettle in the room until I asked, but over all great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful room in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room in excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Proximity to centre very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to centre very good. Staff very helpful. Great coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioner when the weather is hot

    I like this place because; 1. good smiliest and helpful receptionist. 2. Provide the peaceful environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Stunning gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk on cobbled streets from the station.

    A gorgeous boutique hotel with stunning gardens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great boutiquey hotel with fabulous service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, location and standard of accommodations were all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice ambience, top location, friendly staff, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice ambience, top location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning and the temperature in the room was unbearable

    Nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Cozy and staff were welcoming and felt is like we are in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy and staff were welcoming and felt is like we are in our own house!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Awesome location, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is beautiful, the bar is really nice and the garden is also a lovely place to relax. The location is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break in the beautiful mediaeval town of Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle etc in the room

    Very central, lovely garden, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Close to centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to centre of town. Parking close. Clean and spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Prima restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prima restaurant! Mooi boutique hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice, clean, and well- located hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of coffee maker not wetter water warmer for the room

    the design, bedding, ambiance, and GREAT location, makes it a very good option for Bruges

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    What an amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Refrigerator not working. Bed linens was not ironed.

    Very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Fanstastic restaurant, and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fanstastic restaurant, and very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Pretty hotel just a few minutes walk from Bruges centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instructions to open the fly screens would have been useful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unconfortable, Decoration old and used furnitures. And the price the highest of all.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The ambience of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ambience of the hotel. Did not want to leave

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    reception staff were exceptionally helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    reception staff were exceptionally helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Montanus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: