Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Neutralia

Kapucijnenstraat 36, Oostende Centre, 8400 Ostend, Belgium

#56 of 101 Holiday rentals in Ostend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 750 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking. Beware of parking fines, police is in a lookout for any chance to fine you for parking. Very expensive parking 10cents for 4 minutes, which is ridiculous.

    Good location, value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very clean and comfortable. Nice friendly staff. Only thing missing was a kettle and tea coffee facilities which would have been nice when waking up so early before Cafes open

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi did not work at the cafeteria zone. There were constant problems with the evelator - it would stuck in between the floors. 4 or 5 times:)

    Personnel, very helpful indeed. Good geographical location. I had very silent room, as it is good thing compare to the hotels closer to bigger streets or crowded places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem about bathroom. I guess because of the bathroom's architectural feature, even there was a shower curtain, after the shower the water came to the room's floor.

    The staff was helpful and location was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi only available in reception and bar, therefore I would not stay there again. When you advertise free wifi on your site, you should specify where it is available before the booking is made. I need to speak to people in China every day and it was a real nuisance and spoilt what was otherwise a nice stay.

    Everything fine except wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wafer thin wall - could hear everything the people in the next room said and watched, though thankfully they didn't stay up late. Slight iņitial hitch with TV - blacked out a couple of times, but was then fine.

    Friendly receptionist. Decent breakfast, breakfast tables reserved by room number, so no queuing. Just a few minutes' walk from the sea, but quiet. Good night's sleep despite the bed being softer than I'm used to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the curtains were thin so the street lights were shining through all night and then with early sunrise it was light in the room

    great location. friendly helpful staff. would stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked by Booking a double room for 2 nights for 2 adults a baby and a dog, for 162 euros. The hotel took from my account more than 190 as they counted the dog and the bed for baby as supplements, without informing me of the supplements or asking me for the authorization. These hotels are promoted for families, but I didn’t find it was so family friendly. We went there with a baby and a dog and we were accommodated in a very small room. The room was clean, but not tidied up the days after. When we asked to take the trash, the housekeeper gave us a new bag and we had to change it!! Moreover, at the of the hotel, there are two steps and it was difficult to get in with the stroller. There is an elevator but you must call the reception every time you need it to make it works. The lift is so small that we did not fit, there were just the place for the stroll and mom. One day the lift was broken for all the afternoon! In conclusion, the experience was disappointing, we'll never go back to that hotel. We want to alert other potential customers.

    The geographical situation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no parking at all, even for a short time, so you will probably need to carry your luggage hundreds meters. Nearby parkings are very expensive (5 Euro per night or 25 Euro/24h), P+R parkings are relatively far away (but it is OK if you do not plan to use your car every day). Personnel will not help you - I was advised to left my car at the harbour territory which was actually closed, so at the last day I had to walk about 50 minutes and speak with coastal guard to take my car back. So you should not rely on personel and should plan the parking yourself. Breakfast is very expensive - there are a lot of possibilities around to have a breakfast for much cheaper than 12 euro. Rooms are shabby, I have probably seen the same last time in Romania about 15 years ago. Only beds were OK, there even were not enough chairs. Internet is only accessible from lobby. Staff goes home very early - you will not be able to check-in if you are a bit late.

    The hotel is very good located and is reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public parking very expensive, you can't get a coffee at the hotel's bar as nobody appears to work there. Pictures of the rooms not even close to reality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee is bad. Pillows on the bed aren't good.

    Good breakfast. Freshly backed eggs. Plenty of choice. Good sized bed and good mattress. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I ran the water in the bathroom sink there was a horrible smell coming from the shower. Found that you have to put the plug in the sink and shower when you weren't using either. Then only take it out when using.

    The location was very good right near the centre and very reasonably priced. There is a car park, Mijnplein B, 8400 Oostende, Belgium about 100 meters from the hotel and only €22 for the day I didn't use the restaurant at all as didn't have breakfast there. The Wi-Fi was only in reception area so didn't use it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi doesn't reach our room (5th floor) or the breakfast room. No hair dryer. No shampoo, only body wash and bar soap.

    The hotel is located in a relatively quiet street but still very close to the shopping street, restaurants and the beach. Staff are helpful and friendly. Comfortable beds. Good variety of breakfast but a bit expensive. Restaurant across the street (Den Artiest) is a must try.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower curtain so couldn't shower properly without water going all over the floor, then walking around in the wet. No staff on duty after 8.00pm or before 8.00am to tell and No coridoor light that l could find either.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noice from young people afther 23u.. They laughed with us when when we talked to them. They where very drunk, hard music, screaming,...

    Nice room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wi-fi internet only in the bar and at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay for what you get so I booked a buget room. I was clean and comfortable. But you don't have to expect much luxury. I will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A stronger WiFi signal in the bedroom

    good location. easy for our needs. go to the Spanish Inn next door and the frituur on the corner!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedlamps where broken and smelly elevator.

    Nice room to return to,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the breakfast on checking out

    Location for start of motor cycle run on Sunday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was outside, on our account.

    As I said, conditions are simple, but clean. Location is excellent, 100 m from the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, no wifi in rooms, no parking unless half hour walk away, it felt like a boarding school

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Basic but clean and quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, no internal door on lift, not good for young children

    Accommodation was clean but basic and a bit dated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location near the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i did not like.

    Staff were great rooms great .location perfect .just a great place in a great location .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel near the seashore. Rooms are clean and spacious, very good breakfast. Friendly staff is always ready to help. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness

    We had a delay to check in the first night and the property owner offered us free breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like the location, the attitude of the staff, cleanness, value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Good communication.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    IN LATE EVENING WE COULD NOT INSTANTLY FIND ROOM 211 AS IT WAS IN ANOTHER WING OF THE BUILDING AND WE COULD NOT SEE ANY SIGNS IDENTIFYING THIS.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal for a one night stay - great location, clean spacious rooms. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in difficult without prior phone contact if arriving after 17h00

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very spacious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the sea gulls noisy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None!

    - Friendly and helpfull staff - Great location, 2 mins from the real city center and 2 mins from the seaside - Real good value for the money - Room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy pub below our window but quiet with windows closed.

    Very easily accessed location and great locality for seaside, restaurants and shops. Comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in the rooms, only available at the lobby. The walls and the doors are too thin that you can hear the other person snoring in the next room. All the noise in the corridors are available stereo in your room. Check in and check out time slots are very limited.

    Very good location, right in the middle of everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Couple

    no coffee making facilities or machiens

    good location. excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely basic, not cosy at all. Only one key for three adults.

    Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All were good

    They have a very nice suite with bathrop and jazuxzi and suna

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel mal isolé,bruillant

    La situation

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi was not working

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to beach and centre. Very clean hotel and friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too expensive for the service provided

    well located

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Neutralia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: