Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton 3 stars

Koningin Astridlaan 138, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#2 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1230 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only planned to stay one day!

    Oh wow! This was the best accommodation on our entire land-based trip. And the service was second to none. On arrival, Eve was so welcoming, even providing espresso coffee and croissants for our early morning arrival. We were much too early for check in, which we were absolutely aware of, so merely wanted to drop our luggage. Eve sat with us and pointed out the perfect day in Ghent, starting with a leisurely walk to the Old Town and finishing with tram tickets home. The other team members were equally helpful and friendly later In the evening helping us with an IT problem and recommendation to local restaurant. All this was topped off with a superb room that was comfortable and quiet and probably three times bigger than all our other rooms in this trip. We could not fault the Hotel Carlton and highly recommend both the Hotel and Ghent itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This has to be the friendliest place in Ghent. From the moment you arrive you can feel the relaxing atmosphere. We were given an excellent orientation of the places to see and how the transportation system worked. The hotel is very close (4 min walk) to the Gent St. Pieters station and also the tram line #1. The breakfast is amazing and well worth it's price. But in the end, its the people who made this a wonderful experience. Thanks Stephen, Jeremy, Ava, Jana and Babette!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, location requires 35 min walk or tram trip which is close by. No air conditioning in rooms.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good secure parking. Comfortable beds and good size room (we stayed in 3 bed room).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I highly recommend this small hotel! Great location, 2 blocks away from the tram and 5 stops to the city center. Friendly owners who provided good recommendations. Very clean room and super comfy beds! We parked right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everyone in my party was more than happy with this hotel.

    Spacious, modern, clean and comfortable room. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Very good breakfast available. Great links to the centre of Ghent by tram, which was just around the corner and only a 30 minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just perfect. Lovely family-run hotel run by enthusiastic and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and fantastic breakfast. Will be returning next time we go to Ghent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Things to improve? Hard to find!

    From the first moment to the last we felt home. Very helpful staff, very relaxed but nevertheless very professionell. Rooms better and bigger than expected. Breakfast worth the investment. Walking to the historical Center takes approx. 20 min, through a nice park and along the river mostly. Area was nevertheless very quiet (we were there on a sunny weekend end of April 2018). If we come back to Gent the Carlton would be our first choice for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is beyond my expectation. The room is neat and clean with complimentary still and sparking bottle water. The hotel staff are all friendly and eager to help. Breakfast buffet is small but food is nicely prepared and fresh. I've stayed at 6 different hotels during my trip this time and Carlton Hotel is absolutely the best one among them. I love this hotel! Highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious and coffee was available freshly made for you any time. Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little too small for a big eating Englishman.

    Jeffery welcomed us and was kind, helpful and funny throughout our stay. Secure parking for our motorbikes and helped with local areas of interest. Will definitely be returning, a very clean and modern hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was pretty good, the staff are great and make you what you want from the a la carte Breakfast menu, in fairly small portions.

    Great hosts, clean room and underground on site parking. Fantastic stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom old with low water pressure but the staff were helpful and apologized by email lately that they could not fix it last minute. Reception is not 24/7 starts at 8:00 AM and ends at 11:00PM

    Staff were friendly and room is huge and very beautiful and comfortable. Adore it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault.

    Superb!!! Very friendly welcome. The staff are clearly proud of their hotel and service and they should be. Excellent beer. Amazing breakfast. Great parking on site if booked. Helpful recommendations for getting around Ghent and where to eat. The staff did breakfast early for us (6am) as number of us were doing an event with an early start.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice host, super comfy bed with one big matress (big plus) and a nice bar in the hotel. Staff extremely helpful. will definitely come again and next time take the breakfast - it looked great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, just one minut walking from the train station. Big rooms, small but cool and cozy lobby area. And lovely staff on top of everything! The place I will come back definitely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Good location near station, easy tram ride into the city or 20min walk. Quiet location. Very helpful staff gave us good tips on attractions and were to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a wider, larger bath.

    Beds very comfy indeed. quiet location. easy access to town. Cosy bar area in lobby. Hosts very friendly and helpful and provided suggestions of where to go and where not to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underside of the toiletseat is a bit damaged. But the toilet and the bathroom are clean.

    The man at the reception was really helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great. And the location is perfect for visiting Ghent and Brugge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything, but just to remark that the location is not in the city center, anyway it is a great location, besides the train station.

    The staff (actually the hotel owners) are spectacular. They really do anything to make you feel like you were at home. The room is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was beautiful with a lovely view, location close to train station but very quiet. And the front end service was outstanding thanks to Jeffrey, the most personable and helpful young man.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    warm water from 0600 only. a night shower is not recommended.

    friendly staff, helpfull. nice big rooms. good and decent breakfast, small parking available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a nice quiet street which is walking distance to the train station. The room is spacious, nicely decorated and had some amenities we really enjoyed, like capsule coffee. The person at the front desk (can't remember the name) gave us a thoroughly explanation of the city, places to go, shopping and bar streets, etc, which was essential to properly enjoy the city. They even provide tram tickets to facilitate your life. Also, another front desk staff (the portuguese girl, sorry can't remember the name as well) gave us a restaurant/bar recomendation we really liked (Café René), so many thanks for that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travelled with a small baby and we were very happy with the size of the room. They added an extra bed for the little one. It was a very comfortable stay with a nice distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't think the breakfast was worth the 15 Euro per person, next time we would eat at a nearby restaurant.

    The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed! Our room was large and comfortable and the hotel was easy to get to the tram stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel is super helpful and polite. The location is close to the tram station (5 minutes from the centre), art museum (worthwhile to visit) and train station. Breakfast was also perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was quite uncomfortable for both my friend and I.

    Extremely nice and helpful staff! The in-room orchid makes us feel at home. And the selection of teabags is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, comfy beds, safe parking, friendly staff. The hotel located close to central station. Easy commute to city centre by tram. Tickets available in lobby. Nice and stylish city map provided as well as tips and recommendations for siteseengs and restourants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a small hotel with basic facilities and minimal public areas - but I didn't expect anything more for the price.

    Really comfortable, large room - warm and cosy despite the freezing weather outside. Very helpful staff. Good location, very easy to walk up to the International Conference Centre. Close to the tram stop (easy into the mediaeval city) and a few hundred metres from Ghent St Pieters Station (less than 30 mins from Brussels South and the Eurostar. Breakfasts really excellent (fresh fruit available, good coffee, hot food if you want it). This was good value and a great place to stay. Good free wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, 3 minutes walk from the railway station. Generous size rooms with comfy beds. Breakfast was delightful, well presented with lots of choice and freshly cooked selections served to order. All of the staff were very friendly and thoughtful, especially the welcome from Jeffrey. Extra touches were availability of tram tickets from reception, maps provided, dinner reservations at recommended restaurant and complimentary water in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gym would’ve been handy and the room didn’t have a safe.

    Location was great for the Kuipke and about half an hour walk into the city centre. Bed was comfy. Clean and staff were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the girls serving breakfast was grumpy, but so much so it made us laugh.

    Good breakfast selection, spacious room and comfy bed. Also didn’t hear noise from other guest rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift could do with an upgrade, but that’s just if I’m being fussy and looking to find fault! It’s a bit small, and slow and creaky, but it’s adequate.

    Very luxurious room for the price. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who did everything they could to make our short stay a good one. They let us check in early, provided a dog bed and gave us useful information about local places to eat and getting into the centre of town. Fabulous breakfast which meant we didn’t need any lunch!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large, comfy room close to Gent Sint Peters station. Quiet street, close proximity to tram to take you to city center. The big thumbs up for this place - management and ownership that give it a homely feel. Both brothers (owners) take a personal interest and seem to meet and greet most guests at some point during their stay, Super friendly and helpful, with good sense of humor. They do go the extra mile for their guests and it was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not ideal if you want to stay in bed late, since it get get quite noisy in the morning

    Very nice staff, very clean rooms and hotel. Beakfast was delicious as well although expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm hospitality and expert local advice. A charming, friendly place. The owners think of every little detail that makes the stay fun and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of sufficient lighting. no ceiling lights.

    spacious room, spacious room. elevator sufficient. helpful staff, able to let us use the tram card/ticket easily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small and not enough vanity space for the toiletries.

    Only 5 minutes walk from the rail station. Although the town center is about 15 minutes tram ride from the hotel, since the tram stop is only minutes away, it turns out more convenient for us. The staff is really friendly and helpful – we were given a city map and instructions on how to explore the city. The hotel also sells tram card and we only pay for how many rides we travel, which saves us money. Good breakfast buffet with ample selections (love the made-to-order omelette). Spacious size room and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door wouldn't stay shut unless you lock it. The room could have a little more light.

    The staff was very welcoming (we got an answer for our urgent questions at 23:30 via facebook), and approachable (we were offered guidance to touring the city and advice on special places to visit) The veggie breakfast was very satisfying and included veggie whinnies! The room itself was HUGE, extremely clean, warm and cozy. it was decorated in a business-like feel and matched the published pictures perfectly. The hotel is located less than 10 min from the main station- we walked there every morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath is out of this time, replacing all the baths with a walking in shower would be much better and safer.

    Staff was very fruendly and helpfull. Very good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this hotel. It was a short staying but unforgettable. The managers of the hotel are so sweet and kind. I would totally recommend Ghent and this great hotel! The breakfast is extra charged and really worth! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit small but everything was there. So is this negative?

    Very easy to park your car in the garage but also to arrive by train. Very friendly staff. The breakfast was wonderfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in at 3 pm is a bit late. I believe breakfast was good but we did not prefer to have it because it was 15€ per person.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. They offer you water, coffe and tea in the room for free. Room is very large. Convenient to arrive from train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was friendly and introduced the main spots & route for Gent tour. You can also buy the Tram ticket at here. The room is also big and the bed is comfortable. Location is also good, really close to Gent station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not included, and we need to pay extra 15 euros to have breakfast.

    The hotel owner was friendly, and he kindly explained all the area around the city. Me and friend also surprised by the cozy room and its cleanness. If you want to have a high quality of staying in Ghent, I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice, the made to order eggs were beautifully made. The room was large and had both sparkling and still water available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is owned by a family and there're involved in the customer satisfaction. The staff was helpful and available when we had a request. The breakfast is just amazingly qualitative !! So fresh, so good! The passion is there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Everything we could want in an hotel. Good location, large clean rooms (with coffee making facilities), friendly and efficient staff and owner and superb breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little bit of improvement in the bathroom, some old furniture there near the toilet. (Also, toilet seat is a bit high for the average people :))

    Very clean. Friendly people. Nice Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room but there were only rooms available facing the street, however reception advised the street is not busy and I closed the windows and it was quiet enough, there was no traffic later on through the night and I slept well.

    I parked in front of the hotel (didn't realize the private parking is behind the hotel) but it was quick and easy to use street parking- machines accept credit cards. My room was spacious and very comfortable with free water, tea and coffee in the room. The hotel is located near to bars and restaurants were people were sitting outside enjoying the good weather in the evening. I would recommend and will return on my next trip to Ghent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was particularly good with hot food cooked to order and a wide choice of cold and hot food. Great welcome from Reception and plenty of good advice for our visit. It was too short and we will go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The room was so spacious and comfortable. Way big enough for the three of us. The staff were so so friendly and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is one of the best I had in all the hotels I've visited. I liked the most the warm Belgian pancakes. The staff is super-nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative views.

    The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure we visited the site of Ghent and provide travel advice for the nearby tramline. Excellent customer service that made it a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was slow and very small.. We could not fit our stroller (pram) in it.

    We got a big room with a great view over the neighborhood. We didn't make it for breakfast, but I had a look, and I wish we had time for it.. We tried to book parking, but it was full, but there is street parking just outside the door. (we arrived on a Sunday, so plenty of spaces, and free until 9 am on Monday) There was no a/c in the room, but a big fan, so it was cool..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the city told us everything we need to know about the city all the best spots and how to save money if you are going to be doing lots of things. Breakfast is excellent. Also I know there's only one or two bad comments but ignore them remember this is a 3* hotel and I would put them at the higher end of the 3* would most defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman who works the front desk goes above and beyond to help guests. I don't recall his name, but he'll make your stay just that much nicer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing between the room and corridor could be a little bit better, we didn't hear our neighbors behind the wall, but when they were going out we could hear them quite well. However there were only a couple of rooms per floor and it was not an issue at all.

    Everything was really good, from the start we felt welcome and personnel of the hotel was really friendly. It's a big plus that the hotel has its own (paid) parking, because it's not easy to find a parking spot in Ghent sometimes and we avoided the hustle this way. Room was facing the inner yard, so it was quite and we had a good rest. It was also really spacious and light.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't ask for more ! The staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure we had a great stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were fab. Really comfy beds Couldn't rate it high enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good value for the service, quality and location - but a slightly lower price is always nice...

    - Absolutely lovely owners who treat their staff well and really are just nice people who run a lovely hotel. - Also really liked the free in house bottles of still and sparkling water, a nice little touch. - The location is absolutely perfect if travelling by train in the morning and a nice walk along the canals and through the surroundings on the way into the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Super nice hotel all through. Very welcoming personnel really caring for their visitors and making them feel welcome. Eva meeting us in the reception and explaining what to see and where to go while the room is prepared in advance as we arrive very early is just phenomenal! Big comfortable rooms with cosy beds. Very good breakfast with again super personal service. Helpful service with tram tickets to get you to all parts of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The guys gave us more than we could ask for and explained every single detail. The room was very comfortable and the enviroment was warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the main station and all the tram links to the centre of Gent. On a tree lined street with parking (should you need it) with a sunny aspect to our front-of-hotel room. Better value than staying in the centre of the city yet near enough to walk if you choose to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only fault was that the pillows were too soft

    super location just 5 mins from the train station, spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff, direct tram line to center of Ghent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that prevented our awarding the Carlton a perfect score was the fact that the bed linen was not changed in the course of our 7-night stay.

    Very friendly, welcoming staff gave us informative orientation on arrival. Location on quiet residential street is unsurpassed: 5-minute walk to Sint-Pieters Station for effortless connections/daytrips to Bruges, Antwerp, Brussels, & Ostend/Kusttram seaside resorts. Easy tram ride or 20-minute walk to town center. Reasonably priced room was clean, modern, unusually spacious. Large bottles of still & fizzy water replenished daily at no extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Super friendly English-speaking staff. Detailed advice about places of interests in Ghent. Clean and elegantly decorated room. Very close to station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to not like there, maybe the lift is a bit tight!

    Great service and very helpful staff. Rooms were good sized and clean. Close to the central train station and public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    The hotel is nicely situated just off the railway station in Ghent. On arrival I was greeting very friendly at reception and got lots of information. From what to do, where to eat and how to best use the public transport. The room was very spacious and comfortable. TV, Wi-Fi, free bottled water every day and a very reasonably priced mini bar. Breakfast was especially yummy. Fresh fruit, breads, cheese and ham. And included in the price you could order an omelette, eggs, pancakes, etc. that were made fresh on the spot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A distance from centrum Coffee good but tea in rooms was not great. Not sure if was the brand of tea or the milk.

    Friendly staff, pleasant small hotel, proximity to rail station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check whether breakfast is included in your rate. We got confused--but saying that, the breakfast was well worth it--it was amazing food and a great way to start our trip! :)

    Great location, nice room, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on all the positive reviews, we were very excited and our expectations were very high! They were fully fullfilled though! The employees of the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was totaly delicious!!!!!! The hotel is located little out of the center, even though I give the location 5*, because the walk to the town along the cannal is beautiful and gave us the change to experience the town little better! Also the park close to the hotel is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest not paying 12.00 euros for the breakfast. Room alone is a good value.

    The room was spacious with 2 easy chairs and a kettle and coffee. Very near the station and the tram for the historic area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was missed was an ait conditioning. All the rest was perfect

    Very helpfull and friendly staff. The hotel has the 10 trips card available for the guests and at the check out you pay only the trips you have used , very useful! Location is great for those usins the train station - 4min walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was next to the lift so there were some noises during the night. the walls I think are thin. apart from that no problems at all.

    the property served our purpose very well. we came in late at night and it was very close to the train station. the transport card provided by them was very handy to get into Ghent city centre. the tram stop is close,the staff was awesome. nothing was too much trouble even late at night( we reached at 11pm). there is a supermarket and bakery nearby which opened really early( before 8).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very happy for the stay, the staff here is super helpful, they help us to plan our one day trip, a lot of useful info. Room is big and clean with good street view. My wife and I really enjoy the stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located 1min walk from the station. A very spacious room, wonderful breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff making your trip more pleasant. There is a secure car/bike park in the property. One of the great hotels to have breakfast. Very impressed.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Carlton traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: