Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Gent Centrum 3 stars

Hoogpoort 52, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#14 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1771 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Bathroom and toilet are separated. - Mini-fridge was not working.

    - Location is just perfect with two entrances on two different parts of the area for shortcut options and also close to may interesting parts of the city. - Several stations and a main taxi stop are just 3-4mins away (walking distance). - Rooms are spacious, modern and very comfortable.. beds are big and also a sofa was included. - Rooms are quite and well isolated (sound proof). - The hotel overall was very clean and the room cleaning service is perfect. - Very supportive and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, based on the cost, was not worth it. The hot food was generally served cold and on second day whilst not busy, they ran out of food and after 25 mins did not refill

    Clean, comfortable and polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's very noisy during evening. you can clearly hear shouting, laughing out of window. I cannot sleep well. Also, we booked a taxi through reception the night before departure, but it seems no booking has been made and the new booking was made in the morning. We were nearly late for our train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect! Okay, if I am going to be petty would say proper cups for tea and coffee in the room would be nicer than disposable cups- but you don’t go on a city break to drink in your room!

    Very relaxed. Friendly staff. Very nice with small children. Has a childrens’ corner in the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We bought one day their open buffet breakfast but it was not so various they did not even do the sunny sideup egg seperatly upon request. We recommend you to go eat your breakfast somewhereelse. While we going out we informed the front desk staff about our minibar's light is broken and its so annoying. But when we came back it was not done therefore we had to take its plug out by ourselves.

    Great location..you are in the middle of the old city, you can go almost everywhere by walking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was expensive so we ate at a cafe in the city instead. Also the directions to drive to the hotel aren't great the Postcode is for the front of the hotel in the pedestrianised zone. We found the correct (rear) entrance to the car park by chance and persistance.

    A really comfortable hotel located in the centre of Gent. The bedroom was clean and very comfortable. The staff were kind and attentive and the secure underground car park was perfect as we had bikes on the car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had informed about Gluten free breakfast, as I have Gluten Allergy, but after 15 min of waiting at the Breakfast Hall, I was informed the breads are finished. It was really upset with the service. I stayed for 2 nights, even the next day on one bothered to inform me that yes they have arranged for Gluten free and if I would like to have it. I guess they don't really case for their Guests. I requested for a bottle of water, and very rudely I was told I have to pay for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 30€ per day

    The staffs were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Centrally located. They have fruit infused water and free coffee at the lobby. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated rooms. Pretty expansive so called superior rooms. Minibar not filled and nothing done to have a warm welcome at your room.

    The location is superbe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a good hotel close in the middle of the city and close to all tourist sites. They had friendly staff that were willing to help in many ways. The rooms were nice and comfortable. They had a nice lounge inside where you could hang out with water and snacks. The shower and toilet are in separate little rooms which could or could not be a good thing depending on your preference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think if anything beside the door card frequently deactivated.

    The breakfast was exellent and the staff was helpful.the location was absolutt fantastic. We were 9 adults in a family group from norway and really enjoyed our stay 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road access was a little confusing. Not the hotel's fault, but it's probably worth looking up in advance, as some of the one-way system and access is non-obvious.

    A comfortable, modern hotel with some great bits of design and finish. The facilities are what you'd expect from a Novotel - it's decent. The great part is the location. It's incredibly central, just by the Belfort and the Stadshal, so you're just a short walk from pretty much everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise on the last night from a local bar. The following morning the staff apologised & explained it was an opening event and the bar had broken the rules, the police asked that the music be turned down at 1am & I don’t think it will be a problem for future customers, as it sounded like it was a one off event. The previous 3 nights had been peaceful.

    Breakfast was tasty and there was a good selection. The location was amazing, right in the heart of the old town. The rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our two kids ( 12 and 15 ) had the sofa bed which had a very definite tilt from top to bottom. Normally we love the Novotels for family trips but we were glad that this was just one night because of the kid's bed. The double bed was very comfy and the small size of the room is never a problem for us. Also, I picked up 2 soft drinks from the snack kiosk at reception and paid 3.50 euros each, way too expensive!

    The position of the hotel was fantastic, right in the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access to the bath tub is too high for + 65 people! Breakfast is expensive. Not enough choice at the hotel restaurant.

    The location is excellent, the size of the room, parking facility in the hotel is a plus (but too expensive 30 euros!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very hard to go there by car and my friend called to ask for the location and the reception couldn’t give a corrected one until the 5th time calling and picked up by another senior stuff. It’s took 1.5hours to go there from 2km.

    In the city center and a lots of shops nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great. Only problem is lack of parking spaces if you came by car. ....but it's because of a location in the city center.

    Pleasant hotel, playing area for children at the reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive and limited. If you are traveling by car, it’s a bit confusing to find as it’s in a pedestrian zone

    Prime location in the heart of the city, nice comfortable rooms, good service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit to small but dont mind at all

    Execellent location.. very friendly staff.. unlike other european country, staff are very helpful, friendly, super nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed two nights & the room was not properly cleaned after the first night - coffee cups left , towels untidy/bathroom products untidy etc.

    Location is superb, reception staff very good, wifi very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel locates in the heart of the city. The area is full of cafes and bars. Two major museums are just a stone's throw away. Our room was cozy and had the best view on Sablon Square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large, comfortable room for a family of 4 in a perfect location. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was extremly expensive 30 euro per night and it was very difficult to find the hotel due to trams are driving in all nearby streets and the signs for the hotel is difficult to see/find

    OK breakfast buffet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms could do with a little refurbishment. While instant coffee is to be expected, having to drink out of paper cups is not. Neither are the plastic cups in the room acceptable. What’s wrong with providing glasses these days? Throw away paper and plastic cups do nothing for the environment. The hotel’s green credentials remain at the level of reusing your towels.The espresso machine in the lobby was not working.

    Very central location. Breakfast was included and was adequate. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive to park but few other options

    Central location. Under ground parking. Family friendly. Knowledgeable friendly staff. Quiet, comfortable family room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location to explore the beautiful city of Ghent. Hotel had all necessary facilities for a great family time. Loved it completely. Late check out was the icing on the cake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Reservation was already paid, but someone from the hotel called me and said that I need to come asap otherwise my room will be given to someone else. So I had to drive like crazy and run to hotel to keep the reservation. I repeat - it was already paid. 2. There is a hotel parking, but in the email hotel recommended public one in city centre. If I knew there is a hotel parking I would use it.

    Staff! Very nice and helpful people. Breakfast was great. I enjoyed big bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was not clearly advertised as available at hotel. General cleanliness could be bit higher.

    Selection of breakfast choice, location and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not heated, although it did not put off our daughters!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Any questions were promptly addressed. Little pity that there were not fuller restaurant facilities although the gourmet bar was good. Are many places to eat nearby though but the nearest cafe is expensive - better walk down to the Corn Straat. Breakfasts at the hotel were excellent, particularly the waffles!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a great value. Food in Ghent is pretty expensive so $17/per adult, children eat free. Food was good and had a nice variety. Location was excellent as you can walk to all of Ghent's major attractions within 5-10 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking difficult.

    Great location and facilities. Great for children - free toy on arrival and toys in lobby to keep them entertained, as well as (unheated) swimming pool. Staff very friendly, particularly to the children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel can perhaps provide more pamphlets regarding the city and metro area to see and to do.

    It felt like my own residence in South Africa, and I never had the feeling of a visitor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet floor was not clean. There were some nasty hairs and some smell of urin. We did not like that the shower and sink was in one separate area and the toilet in another. Would have been okey if the toilet and sink was in the same.

    Great location. Very nice colours, modern luxurios look. The pool looked great but the weather was to cold to try it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was tight and too expensive (30 euros a day, or until check-out time, whichever occurs first). The sofa bed was weird: when extended, it would keep feet way higher than the head. My son then opened the other half of the sofa and it was a bit better.

    Location was perfect. Breakfast was very good, and free for children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the city center of Ghent. Parking is under the hotel (make a reservation!!) and otherwise other parking garages are nearby. Hotelbar is nice, rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very narrow and hard to find (no cars allowed in center, so navigation is not correct). TV was not working.

    Staff was very helpful. Our (upgraded) room was nicely 'decorated' for our wedding anniversary. Location is perfect. Breakfast was OK, but for this price I expected more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication...asked for 2 single beds and arrived to find a king size bed and a fold out couch. Expensive, no little extras in the way of small conditioner or shampoo No view nothing to make us smile at all

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great at the very centre, easy to walk around. Breakfast very good, good amount of goodies. Staff very helpful was a great week end for me and my family, thanks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to get to using GPS. Ghent recently moved to a completely pedestrian square, which is where the hotel is located. My GPS didn't realize, so it took us an extra 45 minutes to figure that out, find a place to park, and lug our stuff to the hotel.

    GREAT location. We really like Novotels in Europe, and they are now our first choice. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price pays off mainly for the location. The hotel itself it is nothing exceptional, and the bathroom is quite old. Breakfast is not included and it is quite expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Oh well, the gym could use some investment. GYM IS IMPORTANT for business and solo travellers, actually for everyone....I guess

    Awesome location!!, nice decoration and space design. The room is practical and comfortable. The breakfast choice is more than decent including a good number of healthy food items. Indeed, wise move for best money value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beds, strong wifi signal, yummy breakfast, what more could you ask for? They had a few toys for kids right next to the lobby computers with free internet access which was a convenient way to check last minute details. A short walk to the bridge and lots of restaurants. We only stayed one night and wished we were there longer!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention of the absence of parking on booking.com but there was a parking upgrade that was not mentioned until we parked at the Friday's market.

    The location was outstanding! The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had trouble connecting to the WiFi, but that very much could have been an operator error. Fortunately I have an international phone plan so it was unnecessary for me anyways.

    The location couldn't have been better! You can walk to anything you might want to see. The hotel itself was very accommodating and comfortable, and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower drain kept coming out when stood on / bumped with your foot; the shower head itself wasn't great (very little water pressure); we couldn't figure out how the television worked (perhaps it wasn't working?).

    The sofa bed for our two children was fantastic - opened up into two single beds which was just perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were charged for the two bottles of water in our room - we didn't realize that these were not complementary! The pillows are a bit thick so I slept without any.

    This was my third time staying in novotel gent and the room was much quieter this time; the sounds of the bells was not as noticeable during the night. The showers are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was wonderful. Loved the child-friendly lobby. The breakfast was amazing- I have a lot of allergies to deal with and the kitchen helped to make food that accommodated my needs. The location couldn't be better. Parking isn't too far away. We are traveling with a baby, and with it being so centrally located, it was helpful for taking many stops throughout the day to feed and change the little ones.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park expensive at 30 euros and being charged 5 euros for 2 small bottles of water which should have been complimentary. Breakfast tables were not cleared so had to do it ourselves to find a clean table but you cannot beat the location!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too warm during the night. Expensive parking.

    Great location for a day/night in gent. Also good facilities/ attention for families with kids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was ways too hard, me and my wife had terrible backaches during the 2 nights. Also, the cleaning lady did not pass and we had our babies full pampers in the room which was not very nice. The bathroom was medium clean

    The breakfast was great, it took just too long to refill the eggs p.ex. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive small parking Bed linen was uncomfortable, scratchy

    Location is perfect - right in the center of the city, very good for walking. Staff was very nice and friendly. We were checked-in one hour in advance as we arrived in the city. We also were lucky to park a car in the hotel's parking. Room was clean, pretty big for Europe. There was already a baby crib as we asked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Over the entire period, wi-fi didn't work. The staff kept on informing that it would work the next day, but it never did.

    Hotel extremely well-located. Confort was quite good. Breakfast well served.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Hotel in the city center on Ghent. Breakfast and Restaurant are good. Gym small, but with brand new Technogym machines. Staff is friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot at night. Airo has no real cool-down effect.

    Staff was very helpful in accomodating connected rooms (combination of family room and room next door) for our family of 2 adults and 3 young children.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel parking was full. very difficult to find a place where to leave the car overnight. the main road to access the hotel was closed to traffic we have to walk with the heavy bags for 10 min to be able to arrive to the hotel entrance

    good bfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advice I received from the hotel was that I should park my car in a nearby underground car park. Unfortunately, it is a lot further away from the hotel than the three minutes they said. It was also more expensive than the hotel's own car park! Also, I decided that 20euros for breakfast was beyond reasonable, especially as there appeared to be a long queue for seating!

    A good, comfortable hotel, situated conveniently central in the main pedestrian area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV remote would not switch on the TV so we switched it on on the TV.

    The superior room was large and well soundproofed. It was overlooking the busy Christmas market which could not be heard at all with the window closed. The location is exquisite - right in the centre and a couple of minutes walk to numerous activities including canal boats, cathedrals and superb restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dirty in the room, sink did not work good. Breakfast was not as expected by reviews. Not much selection and quantity of food. E.g. There were only one bottle of water at all

    Good location. Directly in city center. 10 min to the railway station Sint Piters by tram.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Best location. Lovely hotel. Comfy bed. Very nice lady allowed us to check in early. Nice idea to have the toilet and bathroom separate. Adjustable heating. European hotels are always too hot so this is definitely a big plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked Superior double room (I booked in August) but I didn't feel like staying in "Superior room". The room has only shower and street side which can hear noises from street. There is Club/Bar nearby and was noisy till 2,3AM. The room was clean but nothing like picture on website. If I get a room with bath and garden side I'll definitely book again because I loved location.

    Location is excellent, room was clean and good customer service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card for room kept failing to open door so trips to reception required several times.

    Fantastic location. Room lovely. Staff knowledgeable and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not cozy. The rooms are bit tired and the toilet in a different room than the shower. Receptionist was rude when checking-in. No house slippers available. Housekeeping wouldn't send an iron to your room.

    Location is great. That's it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very little tea/coffee supplies in the room.

    The location is great, right in the centre of everything, near all of the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited facilities, limited choice at breakfast. The hotel bar is a good excuse to go and visit many of the excellent bars in Ghent.

    Good location near the Kornmarket. Comfortable rooms, reasonable size.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly curtains, look like showercurtains with seventies print. Interior design is very plain.

    Location is super central. Room was quiet and comfortable. Good bed also.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking was a bit expensive (30 €) per night and, more important, very difficult. If you have a big car (SUV, family or similar) it will be a job to move inside. The breakfast is not worthy for 20 €.

    The hotel is placed right in the old town area, very convenient for tourism. The bedroom for 4 persons was good: a lot of space and the beds were fine. The breakfast was also ok, but we missed more frresh fruits (we didn't pay it as it was included in the price).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not included, and was kind expensive, but it was not a problem, once there were many options to have it just around the corner.

    The location is very good, the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room is a bit old fashion, except the bathroom which is modern and up to date.

    Hotel is very well located. Very nice to have parking at the hotel. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Breakfast is NOT INCLUDED like the website says. It's €20 per person extra which is way too expensive and they don't tell you until you check out. Bathrooms we nice, staff is nice, rooms are very small but beds comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightmare to find and they didn't have any parking left so had to lug all our baggage across from another parking lot, was a boiling hot day and was tired and fraught with two kids, when finally arrived at the hotel, the mini fridge had mineral water in which I downed in one, only to read the small print that it was 3.5 euros!, there is a carefour next door selling water for 20 cents!

    The awesome staff who rescued me from being completely lost in the centre of Ghent and personally escorted me to the hotel. The entire staff I dealt with were polite, courteous and professional

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircon doesn't cool the room sufficiently, for a Brit! Like most hotels, Beds could be softer and pillows are, well…. typically continental! IE: They are synthetic & uncomfortable. Therefore, not much sleep. A choice of soft feather pillows, even if payable as an extra, would make a welcome option. Website needs up to date directions by car, because road changes meant even being within 80metres of the hotel, twice, (!); SATNAV took 40minutes and a phone call to talk me in.

    Great choice of Tea's and breakfast. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the inhouse parking is likely to be booked out and the next recommended public parking (Vridaj market) is approx. 400 m on foot away.

    Everything about this hotel is good to excellent with one exception:

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The taxi service is appalling and reception staff were not very helpful with this problem. We pre-booked one taxi which was late, and on another three occasions we ordered a taxi from reception and each time it took over half an hour to arrive. The latter time meant we almost missed our train to Brussels. The reception staff willingly made the calls to book the taxis but took little or no interest in whether or not they arrived within the promised 5-10 minutes, and were very reluctant to chase up late taxis for us. As we were here on business and our meetings were on the edge of the city we were on a tight timetable most of the time and this lack of availability of taxis was quite a problem. This definitely needs improvement all round, but particularly from the reception staff who should be in a) advising that it can take a long time for a taxi to actually arrive, and b) chasing up late taxis. A second disappointment was the breakfast. The food provided was nice but the actual breakfast was not very well organised - the buffet needed re-filling much more frequently than it was and plates/bowls were not restocked often enough when the place was busy. In addition, some staff in the breakfast room were off-hand and at times rude when we asked for basic things like cheese or fruit to be replenished on the buffet.

    Central location is great and the soundproofing was good so the market/restaurant/bar noise outside was not a problem in the night. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was good - clean and stylish. The cleaning staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, the attendant did not have our reservation. Even though we had a printout of our booking.com reservation, she said she had nothing related to our name/reservation number. She fit us into a room, but it was quite confusing, since we had a confirmation number from the website.

    Great location. Right in the heart of the city. Right across from an awesome waffle restaurant. Nice accommodations. Great pool and bar too!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work and, even after complaining about it, the staff left it for me to figure out after admitting having explored all possibilities. I would like to have a quick glance at news before going to bed and Novotel should ensure their customers are not deprived of this.

    I always find it difficult to sleep comfortably in hotel beds because of terrible pillows. The pillows in Novotel are uncharacteristicaly comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Gent Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: