Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Ieper Centrum 3 stars

Sint Jacobsstraat 15, 8900 Ypres, Belgium

#6 of 14 hotels in Ypres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    From start to end fabulous rooms and the breakfast was beautiful and lots of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all fantastic

    The rooms that we had been booked into had been upgraded to a superb standard The decor in the bedrooms was stunning with the poppy wall paper. Dream room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very quiet and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was pricey but being in the centre of town probably to be expected.

    Excellent location, very quiet and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was very good if a little expensive. Staff very friendly and helpful. 5 minutes walk from menin gate if that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    A lovely time, ..... unfortunately annoyed over the parking charge !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On vacating the hotel having to pay 20 euros for parking my car in the underground carpark !!!!! When we arrived at the hotel on the Tuesday afternoon I confirmed with the receptionist that the information displayed opposite the lift on the underground carpark level read, "you needed a coin from front reception to exit the carpark." Her response, you do not pay for parking as it was free for Novotel residents. Unfortunately, on leaving the hotel Wednesday morning I had to challenge a different receptionist about having to now pay for parking. Her reply was, "the car park is owned by a private organisation not Novotel, you will have to pay for parking."

    A very good selection of food choices for breakfast which was a bonus for our young fussy eaters.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    It was a good location for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was not one of our best hotels. The hotel was under renovation, therefore there was actually NO chef and the barman (who was very helpful) cooked our meals, the menu was very limited, I was not informed about this even though I had booked in February. The hotel had already invoiced for a breakfast when we didn’t have it.

    It was a good location for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, only just round the corner from the Menin gate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was very disappointed with the air con. Saying it was so hot in the room and temp would never come down. Had the engineer in the room to try to fix but didn't work properly for the whole week we were there.

    The new renovated rooms were lovely and the beds were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff were rude.

    Excellent location for Menin Gate and local restaurants. Good sized room with a comfortable bed. Decent WiFi signal and housekeeping staff very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great location, great value, very nice staff - Couldn't fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They seem to be in the process of refurbishing the rooms. We were fortunate to get an updated room but the older rooms look a bit dated

    Location is superb. Literally yards from the main town square and no more than a couple of minutes walk to the Menin Gate memorial On site parking was a real bonus. I think they should advertise this more as parking can be a challenge near by. They were just in the process of handing over the management of the parking to a private company so I don't know what future pricing might be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location for centre of Ypres, welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find instructions for the air conditioning. However, was able to sort it out through trial and error.

    Modern, spacious, well appointed rooms with friendly staf. Very busy on Sunday morning but the staff remained patient, polite and good humoured.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service at the bar in the evening can be a bit hit and miss The hotel has a VERY limited range of evening meals, however with a range of great restaurants in easy walking distance that isn't a problem. Just don't expect a full restaurant menu/service if you eat in.

    Good hotel in great location. We've stayed here several times and will return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for a family room. Sofa bed couldn’t be fully extended because there wasn’t enough room. Sofa bed wasn’t made up for us when we arrived.

    Location was great. Room was clean and recently redecorated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay Ieper such a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning we struggled to get to a comfortable room temp made it very hard to sleep. Also bed sheets very uncomfortable we had to take covers off.

    We loved the style of the room, and the location was perfect. It was a very quiet hotel and very little noise could be heared. Reception staff extremely helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent modern hotel in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast was too expensive so used excellent bakery across street.

    Modern hotel with air conditioned rooms close to the market square and parking underneath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Ypres with 2 children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were not ready for our children and hadn’t made the beds, despite them appearing on our booking.

    Amazing location for the market place and Menin Gate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    The stay was spoilt by the attitude of the receptionist on that evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter found a previous occupant's boxer shorts and vest on the back of the bathroom door when i reported it, the receptionist wasn't that interested and blamed housekeeping.

    The location was great and the room was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Handy underground parking for an extra charge, but also some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy underground parking for an extra charge, but also some free parking in the square behind the hotel. Excellently placed for Menin Gate and Ypres Centrum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful city and a lovely hotel which is perfectly placed. Expensive breakfast though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of the breakfast was extremely high: 20 euros per person. I have recently stayed in Switzerland and Italy in 4 star hotels and none of the hotels I used charged as much for breakfast. The usual average cost seems to be between 12 and 15 euros. I was staying at your Novotel Ieper for 2 nights in a group of 10 people and most of them decided to walk around the corner to a coffee bar for their breakfast at much less cost. So Novotel lost out on quite a lot of money on these 2 days. We also saw quite a few other guests doing the same thing. I am coming back to stay in October with a group of 15 people and unless the price alters, we will probably visit the coffe bar again.

    The new style bedroom was lovely and the bar and restaurant areas were very smart. The food quality and variety of the breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and good sized room, with all the facilities you would expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast so expensive, so we didn't have it. Incredibly noisy fan in toilet duct, a notice there said it would be off between 10pm and 6 am, but it was on 24 hours.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Good size room. Excellent location for the Menin Gate and main square. Free parking a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Rooms were comfortable, showers were great and liked the tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar was a little slow and drinks were very expensive

    Rooms were comfortable, showers were great and liked the tea making facilities. It was good to have a fridge as it was really hot during our stay. The air conditioning was a bonus as the weather was so hot!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very efficient with a good breakfast- nothing to fault; because we paid for late cancellation the total including breakfast for 2 reached almost 200 euros for the night.....

    it is a very modern spacious hotel very well situated for the main square; the bedroom was spacious and had all amenities- the member of staff we dealt with was very helpful even under pressure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, close to all the main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. 2 minutes after we checked out we decided to have stay and have breakfast at the hotel but were informed that we would have to pay 20 euros per person instead of the 15 euros it would have cost if we hadn't checked out. Needless to say we didn't bother.

    The location was great and the rooms were a decent size and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The room was lovely and well equipped (room 236).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If was all great

    The room was lovely and well equipped (room 236). The shower was fantastic, and the staff super helpful (storing our luggage for us at NC, calling a Paris office for me). Lovely decor too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    New room design gets thumbs down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New rooms are very strange. The washbasin is in the room, but there are seperate compartments for toilet and shower. The shower has one way glass walls and door, but as soon as you put the light on the walls are transparent, so everyone in the room can see you shower. The toilet at least has only a mirror glass door, which can't be seen in, but you can hear every noise, which can be embarrassing. Whoever designed the new room got it completely wrong and I certainly won't be staying in another Novotel again.

    Good communial area and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable, pleasant hotel. I have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and strangers alike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to say with just one night stay, we were busy enjoying the facilities and the beautiful town of Ypres.

    Due to the heat it was great to have Aircon. The huge TV was nice watching the football, comfortable bed and a quiet room location also very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    If you want to visit the Mennin Gate and enjoy the very picturesque centre of Ypres the hotel locati
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dozens of noisy BRITISH school kids, the air con was rubbish and non of the BBC tv programmes were available.

    Location and underground parking accessible from the lift. The fridge in the room that was fully available to us helped to offset the cost of the breakfast, bar prices and the poor air-con.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Good as always
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is always on my list when staying here. Breakfast is just too expensive at €20. And now the car parking (even for residents) has gone up to €15 a day!

    Great location. As always, very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Always stay here when visiting Ypres.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location for Menin Gate, Cloth Hall etc. We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive and poor selection in the hot section. expected some complimentary water etc. in the fridge because of room cost. Poor food offered in the evening

    extremely comfortable bed, very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Good quality and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had obviously been used for family before me and extra beds left in room was not really very good.

    Good quality hotel in excellent location. Good sized room .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel in a good position
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not sure they could improve anything

    This was our third visit to Ypres and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. It is well placed for walking into the town centre. Car parking is no problemas they have a large underground car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location but could deliver so much better!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No glasses in the room except plastic ones in the bathroom. Staff refused a request for a corkscrew to open the bottle of wine we had. (Because they get stolen too often!) We had the choice of drinking our wine in our room from a plastic cup or a china mug. We chose the mugs. NOT at all romantic! Our room looked out on a pebbled roof on the floor below. VERY UNAPPEALING!! On departure I wanted to fill my water bottle but it didn't fit under the bathroom tap. (NOR had the kettle they provided). So asked at reception knowing there was a bar 10 metres away which although closed for service could have been accessed by the receptionist. Was told I should have filled it in my room. I pointed out that I'd tried but failed to fit it under the tap. She then said I could buy a bottle for E2.50. No sense of going anything like a tiny way to make a customer feel looked after!

    Bed was large and comfortable. Seating space was ok. Separate toilet was great. Small fridge was provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.5
    A great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel description says no car park and that you have to park on the street. Not true. Would have travelled in my classic car had I known there was secure parking ..... Car park Is expensive though. Should be free for guests .

    Underground secure car park. Large modem room Great shower Huge TV Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but not the best value for money in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only eat a light breakfast so €20 was a lot of money for two croissants and a cup of coffee. The hotel parking is expensive too at €15 per night.

    Excellent position for Menin Gate and Flanders Fields Museum. Clean and tidy room with everything needed for a stay long or short. Beds very comfortable, plenty of space in the room. Shower and en-suite facilities very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Always exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults

    The staff are always very helpful and this makes your stay here a lot easier.The location of the hotel is ideal for our visit.Will probably be back next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay, nice hotel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail, little things that needed a little more polish to make the room truly great (Curtains looked worn, sink plugs in the bathroom not working properly).

    The bed was comfy and the room was clean and in a great location close to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Love Ypres ...little love for the new style of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is way to expensive and the bar prices have become just to ridiculous .. shame because I like the bar .. we now use the pub across the road I have to comment on the layout on the upgrade to some of the rooms , having the sink in the actually room just does not work for me , my wife can now see my bad grooming habits in all their glory... the privacy of the bathroom is a must so please do not convert any more rooms!!

    I love this Hotel it is in a perfect spot for touring the Battlefields ... Staff are great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location but service could do with improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff were a bit sloppy not replacing items that should have been replaced. Why do hotels not supply flannels in bathrooms anymore? Complimentary water bottles would have been nice. Plastic drinking cups are poor service.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Really great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Incredibly expensive, even coffee. Breakfast 20 Euros? What can you eat for 20 Euros? That's price of a good steak meal in Ypres.

    Great staff, lovely environment, big cool room, tea and coffee, great shower, and of course a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.0
    Bedrooms are good, but bar area needs updating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For 20€ a head I would expect mushrooms and tomatoes with the cooked breakfast, and a choice of fried eggs, the sausages were very pale and unappetising, this hotel gets a lot of British guests so they should cater for their majority

    smoked salmon and orange juice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    An excellent hotel, as was the Novotel Bruges the two nights previously, where we had stayed. We will certainly return and recommend it. the only complaint we (four of us) had was the price of breakfast. This is high and its much better value at half the cost at the several cafes nearby. Also we liked the free car parking. A superb location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant service and care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking whether lights work in the rooms.

    The friendly service from all of the staff, especially when we were left desperately stranded by Moon Taxi Services. Thankfully your staff were able to get hold of Kurt Taxis who were absolutely brilliant in coming to our aid, Kurt was our KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR. Thank you once again for your wonderful service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be expensive.

    Close to Menin Gate and Flanders Fields museum. Clean and comfortable hotel. Helpful staff and great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel for families, we accommodated two teenagers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel for families, we accommodated two teenagers in our room, reasonably comfortably, and their breakfast was free. Spacious public areas and very well placed in the centre of Ypres.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed Ypres
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had had a lamp taped up with brown tape it felt dangerous so we didn't use it and the bed wasn't the best but it was clean and as we spent little time in our room we were fine.

    The breakfast options were great and the location was easy to find and to go to Meningate and the square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    A surprisingly lovely hotel room and communal facilities. Fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities were quite different. All that mirror looked great, but probably would prefer a more normal bathroom.

    Recently renovated room was very comfortable and a bit edgy in design. Loved the decor that was very appropriate for the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel, staff and position great but the new design room terrible. Will consider the Arianne hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lay out did not like sink in room would prefer proper bathroom. Design of room was without any privacy. The sink was in the middle of the room without any cover, therefore open to the other occupant (it is a double room). The shower was a little opaque but you could sit up in bed watching your partner shower, similarly, you are in the shower and can watch whatever is happening in the bed!! The modern glass shower door had a 1 cm gap causing the water to escape and needed a towel on the floor. The toilet had a similar gap, 1-2 cm creating a lack of privacy and the inside wall of the toilet was a complete mirror thereby watching yourself using the toilet. Apart from lack of privacy one had to dry one's self after shower or teeth cleaning etc. I have stayed here many times but the new design room was appalling...not for me!

    Cleanliness and position Cleanliness was good as this was a completely redesigned room. The view was overlooking the front road but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Take your own fresh milk or risk being berated in front of other guest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being berated and shouted at by a member of staff in front of other guest for getting a small cup of milk for my tea (they only had small pots of cream in the room and the shops only sold pasteurised - we had spent a very long while looking to buy fresh milk)

    Was very clean and functional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    great hotel very central less than 5 minute walk to Menin Gate and In Flanders Fields museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hated the toilet, the door did not lock and you could hear everything being done by fellow roommate. yuk. the floor light did not work minor but annoying

    bed was large and comfortable. there were extra pillows in cupboard. TV was biggest i have ever seen in hotel room and had BBC1 2 and CBBC and some foreign channels had english/american shows in english .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was good a and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unnecessary incorrect invoice. And having to pay for parking.

    It was very nice place to stay all in easy walking distance. Not sure about having to pay for parking when staying in the hotel. Couldn’t understand why the hotel emailed me an invoice before we had check out which included breakfast which we hadn’t had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, affordable luxury in central Ypres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It'd be lovely to have the sauna re-open.

    The breakfast was lavish and delicious; lots of choice for two fussy teenagers and two adults, to vegetarians. I loved the smoked salmon, the croissants, the lovely break rolls and the fact you even have baked beans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking very convenient if a bit expensive but if you look carefully there is loads of free parking nearby.

    Central location great for Ypres Town Centre and Salient. Hotel clean and generally efficient, bit of a plumbing problem meaning changed rooms for two of our party but very well dealt with by desk staff who put us to shame with their superb English. Room was large and airy with great facilities and efficient shower etc. Tea making and tv and hair dryer all worked really well. Linen etc very clean. Would absolutely return. Unlimited breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. A little dear but as kids eat free and eat loads it balanced out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    I loved my stay and Ypres is a beautiful place. I plan to return sometime .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great , Location was great Room was comfy.Just the food was too expensive. Funny light switches in room.

    Didnt eat at this hotel .We enquired about breakfast but it was 20 euro each . As we were staying for 5 nights the breakfast alone would have cost us 200 euro. So we eat out instead . Lovely restuarant nearby called Captain Cooks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent central location to the Menin Gate and with underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations taking place - huge skip positioned right in front of the main entrance and in competition with the construction workers over the use of the 2 lifts during check out

    Excellent central location close to the Menin Square and Menin Gate. Underground carpark was a good find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    As always great place to stay and I never tire of rocking up on my bike with my groups and enjoying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of the breakfast is very high particularly when I'm with cyclists who find it both expensive and not practical to ride on a 'full breakfast'. There should be an option to have perhaps a toast eggs , cereals or something more appropriate for them to purchase before a long days riding. You have many groups of cyclists but you do not appear to facilitate this vital meal of the day. Please sort it out for us 😩😩🚵🏽🚵🏽🚵🏽

    Security and access for cycles has I use it regular for my cycle trips and the stop are always obliging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.0
    Dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled for our honeymoon with our young daughter. On arrival the room next to us was being renovated and drilled, and advised this could be for a few more hours. At no point t time of booking nor before travel were we Advised that the hotel was being renovated- we would not have booked her if this was advised. We feel this is dreadful customer service and management to not disclose this information to people booking. Unfortunately our young daughter was trying to nap after travelling since 4am and caused quite a lot of upset. The receptionist did her best to move us. The room really wasn’t as clean, comfortable or even half of what it was worth in price. Nothing about it was worth the money.

    The receptionist was as helpful as she could be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Fab location but quite expensive for what was a basic room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from refurb from 8am onwards - really loud and intrusive. Rooms a bit tired - hence the refurbishment ongoing.

    Fabulous location, ok breakfast but pricey......

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Great for a weekend - we will be returning in November
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of building work going on, and floor #2 was very dusty. Also the hearing was set at a constant 25 C which was a little uncomfortable t night.

    Comfortable room, and very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Building work going on in hotel container out side main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on in hotel container out side main entrance so school groups and elderly had to go in the road to exit hotel waiting 15-25 mins to get bar staff to arrive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location for exploring Ypres and a pleasant stay in a well known hotel chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue would be the breakfast cost automatically added on to your final invoice, however, is easily removed but only if you let the staff now you didn't have breakfast. Found this a little strange and no need for this to be added on especially if you initially didn't request it at the point of booking or during check-in.

    The location is brilliant. Underground secure parking was great and 15 euro price was explained at the reception desk at check-in. No issues with room or facilities all met our standards of this hotel chain. Nice looking restaurant and bar area, however, we never used these.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Weekend break to visit WW1 remembrance sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firm for my liking. Plus although the room was clean & tidy the decor is looking a little tired.

    Perfect location & very friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointer, we couldn't wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt so bad of smoking, we booked this hotel because it had a restaurant and gym and neither of them were open (we only got told this after arriving). There was the breakfast option in the morning but it's very expensive per person.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some renovation at present but did not affect our stay in any way, so close to the Menin Gate and city centre l would not stay anyway else when in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely birthday trip for my husband
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very warm during the night and the price of breakfast wasn't very good value

    Dog friendly is a lovely touch, we have animals at home. Staff were always very helpful, explaining car parking and maintenance retrieved an earring from the sink plughole for me!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.0
    Fine for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower/Bath Tub Hybrid was awful; Shower head was stripped/wonky and annoyingly facing outward of the bathtub. Young Ladies at the front desk seemed clueless as to the tourist attractions in town and neighbouring environs. Otherwise, breakfast was wonderful although $20 euro per person. Overall slightly overpriced

    Great Location. Breakfast was of a high quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Would stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refurbishment work being done which was not a big problem though we did get some plaster on our coats as we walked along the corridor from the lift. I do appreciate that work has to be done and that our visit was in the quiet season.

    Our room was spacious and quiet. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    FAIRLY PRICED DECENT HOTEL IM THE CENTRE OF YPRES, HAVE...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BREAKFAST 20 EURO PER PERSON, WHICH WE DID NOT HAVE BUT WERE CHARGED AUTOMATICALLY FOR AFTER DEPARTURE- WAS SORTED WITH A PHONE CALL

    FAIRLY PRICED DECENT HOTEL IM THE CENTRE OF YPRES, HAVE STAYED BEFORE AND WILL DO AGIAIN

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location to visit the battlefields & Menin gate ceremony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sofa bed OK, would have a been better with a duvet for sofa rather than blanket but otherwise fine.

    Excellent Beakfasts including waffle machine. Excellent comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location but check bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bill included breakfast which was advertised as an extra on booking.com . This was €20 per person per night (€80 in total for our stay). I had to contest this with reception as we did not available of breakfast. Reception staff tried to blame the booking company. Not sure if this was a genuine error or an attempt to scam tourists.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoiable and will be returning at some point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking within the town is very expensive and their own parking which is close, being under the hotel is also expensive and so i parked outside the walls were it is free. Breakfast was a little steep at 20 euro, as you can walk 50 yards to a cafe on the square

    Lovely location in middle of town but not on the front rat run. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms of good size and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Central hotel perfect for Menin Gate and museums shops etc
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told when booking that there was NO parking on site. This gave us a problem as we tried to find parking before arriving at hotel. Charge different prices for drinks from the refrigerator in reception. Not good PR as we pointed out what we had been charged previously.

    Buffet breakfast excellent. Staff very accommodating and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, centrally located and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it clean, central located but was on the pricey side. But could be the gong rate in Ypres. There was an event on and all hotels were booked so probably paid extra because of the demand.

    The hotel when we booked had a dispute with the car park but now sorted. The staff were very helpful in organising where we can park our cars, safely. The hotel is right in the centre of Ypres so very good, every is walkable. Clean hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent - says it all !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The auto-checkout system automatically adds 20 Euros / night / person for breakfast. This should be added only if there is evidence of taking it - we didn't, but luckily checked the final invoice and had it removed.

    Excellent location for Ypres town centre and the Menin Gate. Easy off-street basement parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Good but you pay for central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it is. Excellent location but accommodation no better than Premier Inn. Underground parking secure but expensive.

    Hard to find a better location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    A good location to stay - but look for offers on the price.
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom light switch coming away from wall, which could have been dangerous for wet hands to touch. Only one softness of pillow provided (and it wasn't a soft one!) Breakfast and room both not very competitive on price.

    Overall it was fine, room decent size, bed comfortable. Bathroom ok, and separate toilet a good idea. Location central but quiet. Breakfast comprehensive. Late checkout was helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    HAD A GREAT STAY,PEOPLE VERY HELPFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ONSITE CAR PARK CLOSED HAD TO LEAVE CAR OUT OF TOWN 10 MIN WALK. BREAKFAST NOT INCLUDED IN THE ROOM CHARGED EXTRA AT 20 EURO EACH (RIP OFF)

    THE HOTEL IS IN A GREAT TOWN CENTRE LOCATION.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location close to the centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the time of booking it was advertised with hotel parking, this was not available, but the hotel helped with on-street parking making it free and easy.

    Excellent location close to the centre of the town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel spoiled by lack of letting guests know about hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked this hotel because it offered underground car parking but on arrival was told hotel parking was no longer available! Tried to have a meal in the Bistro but was told that had to book a table as a large group was in hotel - and that only buffet available! Staff ,although most helpful, really did not seem to know what was going-on. Standard answer was: we are under new management.

    Friendly staff, good central location, cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Ieper Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: