Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Mechelen Centrum 4 stars

Van Beethovenstraat 1, 2800 Mechelen, Belgium

#13 of 29 hotels in Mechelen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 974 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one downpoint during my stay: the cardreader in the elevator is not working properly. At times a high number of passes was needed in order to be able to use the lift.

    Although this hotel is located in the heart of the city, inside it is very peacefull. It was only during breakfast we got an idea of the high amount of guests. And even than, there was no queuing. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was always unprepared to receive guests at lunch. The rooms were clean in general, but in my 5 days of stay, the water glasses were never taken out, cleaned or replaced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were red stains on the bed sheet (on the blanket to be specific). Since I was unsure about the nature of these red spots (blood?) - I decided to sleep without the blanket... :-( I know I should have informed receptionist about that, but I arrived very late at night and was super tired and wanted to sleep... :-(

    I normally stay at this hotel during my frequent business trips and I am normally very much satisfied, however not the last time when I stayed there :-(

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matras was quite hard.

    Very nice hotel, right in the center of Mechelen. The room was very spacious. The breakfast had a lot of options (including vegan options).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the hotel by car was a little difficult because of the directions given by my SATNAV and the small streets of Machelen. however thats not the fault of the hotel.

    Good hotel in a good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We occupied a supposedly triple room. The room has a queen bed and the third bed a sofa bed - the sofa bed was okay but a bit lumpy. Parking is not free even for hotel guests.

    Clean. Quiet. Glad of the 24-hour front desk because we arrived very very late. Breakfast was until 11 am - that was the first time I encountered a breakfast that can be given until that late - very good breakfast, too. Check out is at 12 noon so there was no particular need to hurry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we needed to change the room type as we were 4+baby, according to the info at booking.com we could stay at the cheaper room, but it wasn't so . no parking arrangement!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where great and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel just made everything easy. Felt like a real holiday we will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at the breakfast is not the best.

    Professional hotel in the city centre. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast has the usual warm and cold buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine but for 440€ for two nights I expected at least an included in the cost car park (not having to pay additional 18€ a day!!), and a but more spacious room. Also a better variety of tea/coffee and decent pottery cups not paper ones. Breakfast was very nice and open from early til wuiteclate so helping any needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front Staffs on 20/07/2017-22/07/2017 were not friendly and hopeless. 1)First day we arrived before 2pm so we left our luggages with front staff but front staff didnt give tags or somthing to prove that they have our luggages even we asked for it. They said they remembered its. When we came back one of the bag pack was disappear. We took about 30mins to find, it was with other client room. 2) Fedex dropped me tomorrowland tickets in hotel with the front lady but she said she didnt have it even i showed about who collected it. Untill i asked fedex to call her, Finally she passed our ticket. Two situtions prove that the fron staffs in the morning were not professinal and hopeless

    many cafe near hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was just above average.

    Rooms are modern, new, and comfortable. Location was great, very central. We stayed at the hotel for Tomorrowland Weekend 1 2017 and were easily commuting from Mechelen to the Festival Area by taxi and bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lady on duty when we arrived on Thursday (20th) afternoon and left on Monday (24th July) morning was very unfriendly and rude. We had to wait until 6pm to check in and she did not offer any apology for ti and when we asked if she could text us to let us know when the room is ready she said she cant do that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a four star this hotel doesn't have facilities being in a area where things are not that closed two days out of your stay there is no room service if u want order a coffee they don't ,then the staff are robots who works on the data been fed into them,we wanted to order breakfast in room we didn't know ur suppose to hang outside one nite before staff was so bad saying sorry can't help u and the cut the phone, ask for manager they say don't if he will be coming on Monday or not he doesn't work everyday .. it's was the worst stay of my life the way we were treated was rely bad for everything we were said ni

    There was nothing to like about this place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Executive room very beautiful, huge and comfortable, rich and nice breakfast, parking entrance in front of the hotel (Qpark), city center walking distance. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room felt a bit small with the fold out couch made into a bed, but it was still perfectly adequate for our needs. Other Novotel's rooms have been a little larger.

    I always love Novotel. The locations are always very central to restaurants, transport, shopping, etc. They have a lot of little touches- a free water bottle, kid areas, toys at check-in, etc- that make it feel much more luxurious than the price point suggests.It seems like they go out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay- especially for families. We were in town for a race my husband was competing in, and they gave us a complimentary late check out so he could relax after the race. Breakfast was a good spread- more than just pastries and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not impressed that only one bottle of complimentary water per stay as no discount for staying multiple nights. Another hotel within same group and in same location gives complimentary water daily.

    Room very spacious and clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was dreadfully expensive - around half the cost of the room so rather spoilt the excellent value of the hotel. The hotel doesn't offer parking of its own so might consider arranging a special rate with the car park under the hotel. Other hotels often do this.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and unhelpful, restaurant over priced and not helpful for children's menu wanted to purchase a bottle of wine to be told they only had one left and they wanted to keep it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard and the staff were not particularly friendly - but we found the same everywhere in Mechelen. No customer service. One of our group (with 2 small children) were put in a room with a leak and a saturated floor - that reception knew about!

    Clean and comfortble. Good breakfast, didn't eat dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite soundproof rooms + there is a speaker in the bathroom which is playing the sound coming from tv. Very nice rooms Big Tv Great staff In the central

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Everything was on top of the range.

    Comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpfully. Language wasn't a problem I was expecting them to speak English.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the city breakfast is not well organized. The 1st morning it was perfect. The 2nd we had to search for a person to serve us. Similar the 3rd and now the contents of the city breakfast was changed.

    We like the city breakfast as we do not want to eat too much in the morning. We also like the location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of the party was asked for a deposit of 1050 euro on arrival. The cost of the room was 420. On checking out €200 extra was added to her bill,all of which caused great distress

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent but could have been warmer but I brought this to the receptionists attention and the problem was located and solved.

    The location was perfect for exploring Mechelen. The staff were very helpful, efficient and charming and the rooms and beds excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air circulation (no windows to open), room too costly (even with discount), parking externally and costly, breakfast excellent but at 20 euro also too costly

    Perfect location, modern spacious rooms, clean, no noisiness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a little pricey, but that is probably due to the location.

    Great location, friendly staff, decent breakfast. The supermarket next door is super handy for snacks and a simple meal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean room. Fast Internet. And the staff too are very polite and always avialable to help when you need something. I will definitely come back!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small thing. We arrived after a long journey with our 10 month daughter and lots of suitacse/ bags. We were left waiting unacknowledged while a telephone call was made. The receptionist was a little morose and we had no help to our room with the bags.

    Nice, clean, central hotel with good design and cleverly thought out rooms. large executive bedrooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was first hotel stay in 20 years and we expected good things. We came to visit our daughter who works in Mechelen. We arrived early, at the hotel, and left our luggage in the storage room. The staff gave us a ticket so that we could be effective in reclaiming our bag, and so that no one could take it. We then returned to the hotel a little after check in, as it was a hot day and we needed to change clothing. However when we went to collect our bags we were told to just go in the luggage room to collect them, therefore the ticket system was pointless. Upon entering the room we find that our bags are not there. We then find out that the staff let a taxi man into the storage room and he took our bags with him to Ghent. With this being said we had no clothes to change into and were told that the taxi would bring them back later in the day. With this being said, we then went out for the remainder of the day and sweated. To add to this we could not get access to the wifi and therefore missed hearing the news of our granddaughter being born. We would not stay again and would not recommend! For our September visit we will stay in an alternative hotel.

    Good Location, Comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have single bed. That why when we asked for twin beds, they provided one double bed and one sofa bed. That is a bit disappointing.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. Location is great, closed to the Grand market.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in 4 (two children). The room was prepared to accomodate children (sofa bed) so there was no space in the room left almost for anything. The sauna they mention is a steam sauna. Description should be updated.

    Very good value for money. Breakfasts also rich, including fresh orange juice you can do yourself.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out was horrible .the lady Sara wAs really rude.god bless her though she apologised later but the whole Novotel experience went down..

    Our check in was great!very friendly boy.but the room v we checked I had a dogs smell and we were immediately upgraded.breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets allowed in the restaurant. We did not have the correct room at first. (Only for 2 and we are 4). No kids menu available on a Saturday night.

    Fast check in and check out. The breakfast offered a big variety and although there was a lot of people they didn't ran out of anything. Quiet room. Supermarket and affortable parking closeby.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed an extra mirror on the wall in the room

    The hotel was located right next to the building where we attended a wedding party. Comfortable beds. Quite room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente situation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bill wasn't sent by e-mail as promised. I had to call to chase it up.

    Comfortable room, quiet. Overall excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better.

    Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, easy walking to sights of Mechelen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expected roomservice not available during the weekend

    room - breakfast - staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alright property, nothing special...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Booking in process, Assistance from staff, Quietnesd

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cards didn’t work in the elevator half the time.

    Comfortable room, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast is very nice. And the location is very good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location OK, very good brakfest, clean, good proximity to the city center. Close proximity to bars, restaurants, shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and good location for my needs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good selection of food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs

    -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon caused a massive leak in the ceiling of the toilet.

    Comfy bed, clean, very modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and breakfast was good. Also, the location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in

    Breakfast was good, good location and nice lobby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the heart of Mechelen. Clean and modern room, quality bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attotude of the manager

    They ripped me off, made me pay for a room that i didnt use

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe offer a small discount on the public parking?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very dark. Poor lighting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel. Great location, great breakfast. Everything super comfy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready when we arrived, so we had to wait for 15 minutes...

    Great breakfast! Friendly Staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space feels a little crowded.

    Tidy and cozy. Well equiped rooms. They even gave us an anniversary gift. Cool barman!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite new hotel - or it feel like it :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rust

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The money was taken upfont at booking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not cheap but its worth it...

    Ultra comfy! Brilliant Location! Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, super clean,very good breakfast, friendly staff, we very much enjoyed our stay !!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location ,and I missed Lien .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfortable. Location excellent. Very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar/restaurant was poorly staffed. Could do with additional staff during busy periods. Bar man was very stressed

    Room was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a wonderful stay, thank you so much!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Top-notch hammam.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi ! It needs improvement. Everything else is great.

    The big room, the breakfast and the nice staff. Great hotel !

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Mechelen Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: