Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place 4 stars

Rue du Marché aux Herbes 120, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#38 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1389 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Location great for attractions. Hotel good in many areas but bathroom needed redesign.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was situated so close to the two bathroom doors that they wouldn't open fully and it was a struggle to access. A sliding door would have been better. The toilet was situated in a separate room which was a hygiene issue given the difficulty in accessing the sink and shower.

    Very close to the grand place and central station. Tastefully decorated and very good bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location for Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and basic given the price paid. There were cheaper chain hotels in the same location I could have booked instead

    The location is brilliant for Grand Place and lots of places to eat and shop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean, enjoyable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and toilet layout in our room was a bit weird an at times inconvenient.

    Great location and even with being in the centre the room kept out the noise. We was able to check-in early and the place was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Location! Location! Location!
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location can't be better. A few metres away from the central station and Grand Place. Staff very helpful, varied breakfast and the most comfortable beds. Toilet is separate from the bathroom. I like this idea since then there's space for both a shower and a bathtub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly located hotel in the heart of Brussels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small. The desk is so small, it is very difficult to work on. Tiny room for the price ons is paying

    Perfectly located hotel in the heart of Brussels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location just 5 mins walk from brussels central station. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and all the attractions are in a walking distance. The room is spacious and quiet. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely blah. Absolutely snooty & dint care for our comfort While the whole city is up till late the hotel service stops early

    Superb location. Ure virtually at the centre of everything happening at Brussels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice time in Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not up to expectation - with a lack of variety day to day and not much help from breakfast staff. At times slow to replenish hot breakfast items.

    The front desk staff and breakfast greet staff were very friendly. The position was very good - close to the station and major attractions. Room was clean and made up daily in an excellent way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was sufficient enough, but perhaps can be varied in daily basis (not always the same). don't like with the separation between toilet and the bathroom.

    the location is close to grand central station, and grand place. many restaurants and shops and restaurants surrounding this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Hard to imagine a more convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As to be expected from a big chain hotel: it's comfortable but lacks in character and personal touch.

    The location is excellent: just a few steps from the central station, the Grand Place and the Galeries Saint-Hubert.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Expected a bit more considering the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows hadn't been washed for a long time, which spoiled the nice view. The restaurant was a bit disorganized and the coffee from the machine not very good. When I was checking out before noon, I was denied a simple espresso on the breakfast machine, unless paying for it.. Not a very nice gesture to a regular costumer.

    About the breakfast, I loved the waffle machine, most of the food was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the manager who check the safety box after we left, should have informed us earlier through email, instead of waiting for us to call them.

    Breakfast was good..quite many variety. My friend left her passport and money inside the safety box. She realized it 2 days after when we're already in Amsterdam. Thanks for the night staff (23rd April), I forgot his name, who has helped us to check and made us having good sleep after a bit panic that nite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Recommend novotel grand place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, staff, cleanliness. We haf booked another property close by which we could not stay at after viewing. Staff could not have been more helpful finding us a room and getting us checked in quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like and I can’t even think of something to suggest improving.

    Everything from the staff, to the amenities and breakfast was top of the line. A super plus was how comfortable our bed was! Truly one of my most favorite hotel experiences in Europe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Top quality hotel at prime location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints. Everything was of a very high standard.

    Bedroom very comfortable. Dining area well laid out , quality of food was excellent. Staff at reception and dining area are very friendly and helpful. Location of hotel is great , close to Grand Place , central station and many fine restaurants. Having taxi rank at the side of the hotel is very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent position.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room has not been cleaned one morning. It has been a sporadic inconvenience, reported to the staff and handled.

    Excellent position. Lavish breakfast. Staff courtesy. Late check out on request.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Great position and great room on this visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast warm selection kept in too small an area so people juggling lids of casseroles. The scrambled egg overcooked every day and the alternative boiled eggs kept in a basket undercooked and falling apart as the hotplate too small for the basket to be kept on it.

    Walk in shower a great improvement on some Novotel shower bath combinations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby bar area was very noisy the night we were there. Disappointed they don't offer points for Araya booked via Booking.com

    Excellent central location. Easy access to central station and metros and grand place. Friendly helpful staff. Good quality generous buffet hot and cold breakfast. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    An excellent location just a short walk from Centraal Stn. and near to the City Hall. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and our rooms had the optional pullout sofa bed if you wanted separate beds or a little extra space for a child.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Substandard handling of privacy details.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overly intrusive check-in process that far exceeds the legal April 2007 & March 2017 Logies requirements of Belgium, is at odds with current legislation and is claimed/justified by staff as `mandatory by the authorities'. Needlessly careless handling of private data.

    Location absolutely perfect. Wifi just works (but limited bandwidth).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Our family thoroughly enjoyed it. We will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    It is very modern, clean, very close to Grand Place and other main attractions and restaurants. If you walk a little, you also can find a Carefour supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to soft, the fridge didn’t work properly and every time I came back to my room the air con was switched off and the room was to hot. I left the key card in the holder for this reason but they kept removing it and one time I had to go find the cleaner to find out where the card had gone to. It was in her pocket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Location super central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast a little bit expensive.

    Location super central. Bed extra comfy.. All shops and restaurant very near by. Train station and underground within 100mtrs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Brussels
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is right against the bathroom door. The shower door didn’t close nicely so the floor got very wet.

    I love the tea/coffee making facility. The fridge. The toilet being separate to bathroom. The added security of having to use your key card in the lift before it will work. Being so close to Central train station and Grand Place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked some moisture cream among the toiletries. Greater choice of hot foods and fruit.

    Staff were extremely helpful. Location is excellent. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast was adequate. Good choice of pastries and bread. Reasonable choice of hot food, fruit, and breads and pastries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Take permission before enter the guest room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that I did not like the most was that the house keeping opened me room door without knocking on the door or take permission to enter first for three times over the same night!!!!! I was alone and I did not feel safe and that made my sleep very bad that night.

    The location is the best in Brussels. The hotel is well known among Taxi drivers. The hotel staff (receptionists) are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toiletries provided can be improved, e.g lotion, toothbrush & paste, comb etc.

    I am very happy that my last minute request for room changed was accommodated. Staffs are friendly and always with smile. Needless to say, the location is superb! I think it is less than 5 minutes walk to the beautiful city hall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the rain overhead type, it was fixed slightly to low for myself but ok for my wife

    The hotel is in a great location. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Good stay, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small; not enough space for two people to hang their clothe. the doors of the bathroom didnt close fully. And we only got water bottles at the first day. Slippers were provided with an extra charge.

    The location was very good and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Will continue to use this as one of my preferred hotels in Brussels, won't waste my time in the bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the bar was terrible, cocktail not well made, no garnish, no napkin, high price. Price would have been OK if everything else had been perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was different from the Booking pictures. Room is kind of old and not welcoming. There was a bad smell in the bathroom... Toilet is separate from the bathroom and there is no sink to wash hands.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Layout of the room is rather odd. tight space between bed and entrance to bathroom

    Friendly and helpful staffs. Hotel's location is great. Centrally situated and very near Grand Place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    When in Brussels, stay at The Novotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having stayed before there was never any question about staying again. Superb location, generous room size, toilet separate to the bathroom and very comfortable couch and beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Nice weekend away at a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no negative things

    Close to Grand Place and station. All the hotel staff were very helpful with everything we needed. Cheaper to drink at the hotel than across the square!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast not included they block your credit card even if you pay your stay in advance your accor points is not applicable if you book through booking.com

    perfect location good room size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good, but expensive hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar, was very poor (only water), even the price for 4 star hotel was very high comparing with other hotels of the same level in other European capital towns, the breakfast was not included.

    Staff service, very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    I would not return because of this "guarantee"policy, though hotel and location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we arrived at the hotel and checking in, my wife and I were asked to deposit 400 euros, by card, as a guarantor , I have travelled extensively in Europe and this is a first for this procedure. We had no charge at all on our room bill, yet the bulk of this "guarantee" was not repaid into my a/c until almost a week later, following at least 3 emails from myself. What is that about !

    location to Grand Place, proximity to Gare Central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Quick one night stay in Brussels to check out the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some loud music overnight, probably from the nearby square. Not loud enough to really be a bother though.

    Clean, comfortable, modern and excellent wifi. What you would expect from a mid range hotel. Parking next door for a reasonable fee for 24h.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time in Brussels and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs upgraded hairdryers.

    The hotel is in a great location, with easy access to all the attractions. The hotel was pleasant and very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Efficient and Effective
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient to Gare Centrale and on the edge of Grand Place. Clean, efficient and effective. Limited restaurant menu for dinner, breakfast a ridiculous price when there are so many other options 'on the doorstep'

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    I'd book the same hotel if I were to go back to Brussels (assuming I could find a similar offer)
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    temperature in the room was a tiny bit too low during the day to feel perfectly comfortable, access to bathroom rather 'narrow'

    quiet room, excellent mattress, perfectly situated at the heart of Brussels, cheerful and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location and good standard of facilities and comfort.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had cramped headroom, up in the roof with sloping roof protruding into the room.

    Good location and good standard of facilities and comfort. Provided requested outlook over the square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food and drinks were over priced, but you have to remember you are in a prime central location.

    Fabulous location, staff were very friendly and extrememely helpful, there English was excellent too. Definately be staying again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Best staff I've encountered at a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent, we departed on August the 10th, the 2 ladies working, one on reception and one on bar were exceptional. They went out of their way to make our family comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pre-guidance to find the parking lot

    the best location in city center, just besides the gallery and opposite to the best Belgium French frites ( must try and favorite sauce is 'American' ). and 2 min walking distance to the grand square and 10 min to the upper town museum area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location for a first time experience of Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no negatives about this property, we were all very happy with it.

    Excellent location, 1 minute to the Grand Place, and so easily located to The Central station. All ammeneties and shops close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent and memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the management has changed our booking from 'Room only' to 'Breakfast included'. They refused to upgrade us even when we offered to rebook it with higher cost. Uncooperative management but reception staff was brilliant. Thank you.

    Friendly and courteous staff, comfortable beds, fridge and safe in the room, excellent location and walking distance from the Brussels Central station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Boring city. Just the square. City does not know how to do tourism product development
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too little staff at front desk. Always busy attending to someone else and have to wait in line. Need. More staffing

    Location and room Very nice modern and bright and large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Very good hotel with the best location in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators were slow and use only with keycards. Cleaning person was ugly, when we didn't leave the room at 9am. She wanted to clean up the room, we wanted to sleep...

    Very good location, central station, Grand Place, Manequin pis just a few steps from the hotel. Many restaurants, pubs, chocolate stores in the neighborhood. The hotel upgrated our room for free. Beds were ultracomfy. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, 21€/person/day is a bit expensive and just a few steps away are many good places with extremly large variations of food and coffees. We always had breakfast in Exki, that place offers bio and organic foods, smoothies, salads etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    The location was excellent near Central station n...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Break-fast arrangement was not good Plates n Pepper powder was always finished n ignored to re-fill n arrange back same was with Coffee machines there was problem with hot-chocolate button n non of was re-arranged or checked n arranged in our 3days period.

    The location was excellent near Central station n restaurants n shopping area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great stay - exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, just next to Brussels Central Station and 5 mins walk from the magnificent Grand Place - cannot be better! Very reasonably priced for a lovely hotel, great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a tad to expensive (20€+) so we used the Panos on the other side of the square where the hotel was located instead.

    Location very good close to everything. The hotel is situated just next to a big underground parking garage - so parking no problem. Really a bonmus considering the central location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good, comfortable, well located, not bad value if you get the right deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast despite being limitless was too expensive, and there were too many irritating things that kept running out. Lifts and even stairs were key pass only. (You might think that this is a good thing as it limits the upper floors to guests only.) I got the impression of there being not quite enough staff at times. The inner door on one of the rooms jammed, and my 81 year old mother, stuck inside, was reduced to hammering on the inside of it to try and attract attention. Hopefully they will have fixed that by the time you read this, though they hadn't while we were still there. Like most hotels, no bath. Couldn't see an extractor fan either, just an open vent in the ceiling. WC separate to shower room, which I hadn't seen before and which seemed a bit odd. Don't pay nominal room rates - you should be able to book ahead and get 30% off them without too much difficulty.

    Staff were generally helpful, if not exactly friendly. They spoke varying amounts of English, some better than others. Good location, close to Grand Place. Taxi rank right outside. Nothing in Brussels is going to be any further away than 20 minutes by taxi. This is where you want to be, though you might also consider the IBIS just across from here. Large, well equipped room, though more coffee and tea sachets would have been better and a couple of actual mugs would have been a nice touch. Very quiet indeed in the room. On the 5th (top) floor there was no road noise or anything really. Air conditioning was quiet and worked well (down to 19ºC). Plenty of hot water in the walk-in shower - as much as you like, as far as I could tell. Free WiFi, though it did stop and have to be renewed once a day. Large buffet breakfast - as large as you like, really. Keep eating until you're full up. Plenty of nearby restaurants, though some of them closed for periods of several days at a stretch. Late check-out - in theory up to 12 noon, though maids do like to get going on room cleaning very early, so doors get knocked on, opened with keys etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff request us to pay extra deposit €200 euro. We are up to now waiting money to clear back in my account Disappointed with booking.com not telling us the extra charge It change our plan for spending etc

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, but is it 4 star?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was good, but not well stocked and not really set up for the number of people that utilize it. For example, there is one waffle press with seating for more than 100. The coffee machines all seemed to have issues. Furthermore, the buffet was constantly running out of food items and was slow to refill. The quality of the food was very good though, you just have to be patient.

    Excellent location and generally well-maintained. No surprises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. So easy to get to from the train station. Close to monuments restaurants, bars and shops. Very central location. Good size room, clean andcomfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom a funny layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was rubbish could get online in my room which I was told I could. I've been to hotel that we're not as expensive as this and the internet was much better. Also the bathroom layout was wired. Shower was too small and I'm not a big person but I could hardly move in it.

    The location was great. I had a lovely view from the room which is a change.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Less than 50 steps to grand place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet being In a separate place as the bathroom can be a little inconvenient. Shower area was tiny too

    location of the hotel was superb. Just behind centraal train station, across the road from cafe's, restaurants, shops and about 50 steps away from grand place. The bed in the room was a dream! Very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    We had a splendid time @brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The insulation was very bad.you hear the taxidrivers downstairs on the street talking ,the homeless peple screaming ,the nextdoor neighbours talking and showering and the people above walking ! The room maids vers loud at early hours! The lunchmeals were supposed to be brussels/belgian specialities but their kitchen is very bad!

    Super yummie breakfast with brussels Waffles ! Big variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff need more training on how to talk to guests. At the arrival I was being charged for the payment I had already made prior to our journey. When I asked the staff to check as I was sure I had nothing to pay, she didn't look happy. Ultimately she found I was right and she had no courtesy to apologise.

    Room and location both were excellent :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    STUPID MANAGEMENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very bad hotel name. In same name two three hotels and as per board at airport Level 5 catch shuttle as Gold line to get hotel. And after reaching hotel they are telling this is not hotel you booked. Then they offered us blue line. We are suffered a lot with our luggage and family of 19 people. And after reaching hotel they have not ready rooms. And for other guests they have ready rooms. But, we booked directly through bookings.com so rooms are not ready with them. And after reaching by us around 3pm they started cleaning rooms for us and allotted rooms at around 6.30PM. we have to collect flight next day morning so, we checked out around 5.50AM so its waste of our money by selecting such kind of foolish management hotel. And they charged complete amount from us for only 11hours usage of hotel.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    near to city hall, resto, manekin piss, also a view minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    near to city hall, resto, manekin piss, also a view minute walk to cathedral st. Michael Just becareful if you have your lunch or dinner outside the restaurant, the beggar will ask your money and also your food. (thats what happen to me and my husband) Overall its nice and recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great customer service and less than a minute to the Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. I didn't try the breakfast because it was a little on the expensive side (€21 pp). But I am pretty sure it was delicious!

    Great customer service and less than a minute to the Grand Place. Soft beds, clean and soundproof rooms! Parking very close to the hotel and cheap! (€14,90 for 24 hours). Surrounded by plenty of restaurants. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Clean Comfortable Accomodation Near Brussels Central Train Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very near to the Brussels Central train station about 7 minutes walking distance. Please be careful when booking. There are two different main stations in Brussels (Brussels Central and Brussels Zuid/Midi). This one is closer to Central station. The place is about 7-10 or less walking distance from two of the city's attractions (Mannequin Pis) and Grand Palace. The other two attractions (Mini Europe and Atomimum) are about 40 minutes away. They are across each other and you need to take two different trains. Suggest you get a 24 hour pass for the city (7.50 EUR) per person which lets you travel on any public transportation without having to worry about buying tickets each time. The hotel also provides secure luggage storage in case if you check out and like to visit the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location. Good prices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not efficient checkout. Stay was prepaid but NOT local tax so waste time at checkout to do another payment of 4EUROS. Also requested invoice in company name in reservation. This was not prepared so more time wasted at checkout. One one person in reception in morning checkout rush. Missed by scheduled train because of this.

    central location. good value for money !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    very friendly staff and the hotel is directly in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - food at the restaurant was in itself okay, but breakfast buffet wasn't replenished when we came at 10.30 (breakfast was until 11) so we had to pay 20 EUR for not having the full buffet - outside restaurant is nice, but it took forever to be able to order as the waiters seemed to be doing other things

    very friendly staff and the hotel is directly in the city center & close to the central station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    - Perfect location - really enjoy the situation surrounding (old town, great place, souvenir shops, street mucisians, etc) - so lovely, friendly locals

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small , but I think all the hotel in the historic areas are the same.

    The location is great, it's close to the most important areas. The stuff is extremely nice. The breakfast is good and there is a small play area beside the restaurant for kids. The WIFI is great everywhere in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    A nice central located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a triple room. The third bed was actually a sofa bed. Cause the small place of the room, every morning when the staff was clean up our room, they usually "closed" the sofa bed and every afternoon I had to "open" it. By this situation, while I was opening the sofa bed, by accident the bed opened quickly and the iron leg of the bed, landed on my finger foot causes me big injure. The hotel and the staff offered me medicines and they called a doctor to give me the first aid, but to tell you the truth medication was the least, the worst that happened to me is that I suffered a great deal of pain at Brussels , and it made it difficult for me and my family. After Brussels I visited Paris as I had planned and due to the injury I lost several visit at cites, that were prescheduled like Disneyland for which I prepaid the entrance fees ahead.

    The hotel was central located, very conveniencefor all the transfers. The breakfast was very good, with big variety. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nit-picking here: Room was very warm even with the air conditioning and there wasn't enough coffee in the room, other than that it was a great hotel and, due to the location, it was an excellent choice.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    A good hotel, but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is separated from the toilette which did not contain any water tab. We found this very inconvenient!!! Also, the safe opens with the room card and they write that the hotel management is not responsible for any lost valuables!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.2
    Excellent location but expensive property
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was separate and there was no wash basin to wash hands at least; There was a sofa bed in the room, when opened to make a bed, the blanket was dirty and bed was full of bed bugs, there were no bars in windows, so families with small children should be very cautious about that.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable bed & excellent location
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After all day walking around the city center it was a really pleasure to come to a comfortable room. The only one minus, but I suppose it is a specific of the country, that the kitchen in all restaurants is closed at 11 p.m. and the only food that hotel can offer is snacks. The rest - breakfast, staff, location is really nice! I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is great and the location is wonderful. Just one minute away from the Grand Place. I booked a standard room and when I arrived the hotel they gave me a free upgrade "an executive room" :) can't be better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Location of hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem about my booking reservation but they fixed it to create new reservation.

    Location of hotel was very good. It is in city center. Central station and grand palace are very close

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: