Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vayamundo Houffalize

Ol Fosse d'Outh, 1, 6660 Houffalize, Belgium

#13 of 18 hotels in Houffalize

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 758 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Our room did not have any facility (kettle boiler, shampoo, fridge, safe box, ...) - Some of staff were not really friendly. - Breakfast was a bit simple.

    The location Nature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was mouldy (shower head and the shower door) also the balcony wasn’t really clean but I could understand that as the place is kind of in the middle of the forest. rest of the room/ bathroom was perfectly clean.

    Breakfast buffets are great just like the dinner wich had extra cost 26 euros but as a cyclist we could eat as much as we were need for the races during our stay. The rooms are confortable sizes as well as the wifi had great speed even the hotel was fully booked. They arranged safe storage for our bikes as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was a bit cold and the room needs refurbishment as my room was located in the old part of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was rather disappointing.

    Really friendly staff and excellent evening buffet. Fantastic facilities: swimming pool included in the room price. Furthermore, the wellness and massage was fantastic but of course not included in the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like : my room and my section of the hotel were COLD. I turned on the radiators fully in my room (they were off) but the central heating was no longer operational during the night, but came on only the following morning I did not like : my usual credit card (Amex) was not accepted. I did not like : I was obliged to pay for my room upon arrival and not in the morning with all extra items ( restaurant, bar etc) put on the one bill as I experience normally at hotels. I did not like : hotel will not put restaurant food and bar drinks on the bill. One has to pay for these separately at the bar/restaurant.

    Bigger than average room, good breakfast, good evening meal. It is a very large hotel and would be ideal for recreation & holiday use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small thing is a large group checked in and out right before me and there was only one person working the front desk, so it took a very long time to get checked in and out. Small thing and probably doesn't happen very often.

    The hotel staff was very good. I do not speak French but they were able to communicate with me with their English skills. The bartender suggested the Belgium beers and they were very good. I will definitely stay here if I am in the area again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very moderate bathroom, no fridge nor roomservice. No wifi-coverage on balcony. Rather small TV-set.

    Seperate free bicycle-lockers in -1 garage. Superb breakfast !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud and poorly attended karaoke and disco. A straightforward DJ in the bar would work better.

    Simply excellent: good food, simple but nice good value-for-money food, excellent WIFI throughout

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact that it was to warm in the room, bathroom shower was to small, the 80's style -, you could hear the rooms next door.

    Sitting in the room, value for money, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible, horrible restaurant and staff. Extremely rude and brought the wrong orders several times. Picked fights with the guests by sighing and complaining for example when we ordered too many soft drinks and water too many times (it was 27 degrees outside). We told them their behaviour made us (and the other guests) feel very uncomfortable, yet they didn't care. They did not want to speak English and one of the waiters even raised his voice in French and complained when we said that he brought the wrong meal.

    Beautiful surrounding. Good check in and reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were traveling to a bike race and it was perfect for us. Comfy beds and plenty of food at the breakfast for everyone taste. I think, this is one of the larges hotel I have ever seen at an amazing location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tiny bathroom. insufficient flush toilet. cold drafts throughout the building's common areas (even breakfast area) (revolving and sliding doors open automatically on either side of the building getting the cold in). children's play area on -1 is relatively dark and dusty, no outside light. lounge/bar staff friendly but not always aware of customers waiting. outside entrance of pool area is right next to changing area, bringing cold in when people enter the building, not so nice when wet from pool. classic swim shorts and swim hat compulsory. booking.com genius status was disregarded (completely). Vayamundo prefers direct booking with them.

    reception staff is excellent bilingual and more (NL/FR/EN). we had a nice big room after having to change since our initial room was not ready at 5.30 pm. lovely terrace with views on the small river and playground. comfortable bed and sofa bed and spacious enough for four. lovely breakfast. nice swimming pool with slide. very quiet location in the green.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is a family get-away, with lots of children and large groups. Designed as an all inclusive with large buffet area. Ordering off the menu was good, but quite slow (even on European standards). Not a good option for passing through the area.

    Great location in the forest, surrounded by a ridge with a quaint mountain stream passing through the grounds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no fridge in the room!!! For what is charged, the quality of the food should be better. Recently the parking spots at the hotel are not free anymore and you have to park your car at about 100m from the hotel. At the hotel there are only 6 spots (2 of them reserved for handicapped people) to temporarily park your car. Regarding luggage this is very inconvenient.

    Good location, comfortable rooms, lots of organised activities, ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say negative about this facility, only bad thing really was parking. If there is a function on there is very limited parking.

    The staff were excelent to deal with, they can speak english very well so translation is no problem. The facilities are excellent, it has a bar resturaunt gym and pool to play in

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Booked a double room but they gave us a twin! (2) Faint smell of cigaret smoke in the room (3) Lots of kids!

    (1) Easy walk into Houffalize (2) Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't vacuum cleaned in the rooms during our stay (3 days).

    There was a rich breakfast. There are plenty of facilities for families with young children (swimming pool, playgrounds - indoor, outdoor - outside walks).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check in with early check out

    Perfect location for event

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool was closed on the day I stayed

    Excellent bicycle lockers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just a silly little thing: but a waste bin in the room would have been nice.

    Nice large room, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provided parking lot could have been closer. Breakfast options were ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds a little small but that might have been the only rooms/bed they had available during my booking. Nice assortment for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stood at the bar for approx 10 minutes and nobody managed to serve us, That's the only issue I had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be at least till 11 ;)

    Location, peacefulness, cleanliness? Politeness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK, but not really my taste.

    The receptionists and service provided was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the minimalist instructions of personnel when you ask a question.

    breakfast is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't hot

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of facilities in room (kettle, etc. )

    The area is wonderful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not very hot - no shampoo in the bad room, ....

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so much choices for breakfast that I got lost :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Athmospher very nice, friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    plafondhoogte garage

    alles was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrace bar was too busy to get good service. Rooms were very loud and the shower was very old.

    Staff spoke English and were friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Place was in renovation. This was not mentioned at the info. Half ready but room was still old and the rest of the place was a building site. Misleading to charge full room price and offer no compensation for the incovenience. Outdated small bathroom At 9 several items at breakfast already empty and nor refilled.

    Location Parking

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Like a cruise ship on land. Huge and impersonal . No identity to area; could've been in South America!!! No pictures or decorations relative to location. Generous food on sat and sun but skimpy and empty stations on Monday. Paying the same so should always look generous !

    Food was nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service was bad

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish the WiFi directions were in English.

    Oh my! talk about a great resort! wonderful breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Size of hotel

    Facilties

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very Clean and Excellent Hotel 100% to stay at Highly Recommended 5***** STARS, enjoyed my trip there to the Ardennes

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The children in the next room were very audible

    Big rooms, beautiful area, kind staff

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cold water in shower.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42