Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Martin's Relais 4 stars

Genthof 4, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#44 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2260 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    i enjoyed it immensly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was good

    this old building was just so amazing it took you back in time in a lovely way, location to city was great pleny of good restaurants within easy walking distance as was everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    a very cozy hotel with antique furniture, a patio and a view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a very cozy hotel with antique furniture, a patio and a view of the canal where one of the Triennial objects in Bruges is located - a whale from Pacific debris. very friendly staff, a fine breakfast with champagne, a convenient location in a quiet location just a short distance from the main attractions. I liked everything, except the state of the curtains in the room - there is a trace (hole) from cigarettes and they are not very fresh. There were no slippers and dressing gowns, although the price per night is not small. And the bathroom - the ceiling in the bathroom did looks tied..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The charm of the hotel and the room we stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except the shower, had to sit down which is difficult for the elderly

    We liked the easy access to everything in the area. Restaurants were close also the laundry facillities. Perfect. Our room was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had a lovely old world feel. It was in a great location close to the centre of Brugge. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very warm and someone put an extra air conditioner in the room to make it cooler when they noticed we were leaving the windows wide open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with historic atmosphere with kind and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old/worn-out equipment of interiors - carpenters, windows, heatings - not matching expectation towards high room price - only driven by canal view

    Very nice old style lobby, hall, restaurant. Bed and bathroom also nice and comfortable. Close distance to the center of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    You have to stay here if you are in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was exceeds expectations.

    I LOVED everything about this property. Decor, staff, bedding, location, bedding, prices ...you name it, it was gorgeous!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very elegant, chic and beautiful hotel, with amazing rooms and perfect location, with awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being very picky, I would say that the windows in our suite could have opened a little more, rather than be stopped by little rails. But like I said, that is being very picky!

    Very classy, beautiful hotel, with staff that are very friendly and willing to help. Cedric on the desk was an absolute star, and he assisted me in making my wifes 40th birthday very special by going the extra mile by sorting out some champagne at very short notice! Thank you very much my friend! Everybody that we dealt with though we're very good and professional, and their array and depth of knowledge was very good. Thank you everybody! We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Bruges and in a lcoationreally close to the Square. Great staff and great com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfy and the rooms a good size. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on that but the whole ambience of the place was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location was terrific.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and in a great location easy walking distance to the main square. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke so many languages. The room was clean and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous weekend in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark and old fashioned.

    Hotel was in a good location, very clean and staff friendly. Room was a bit dated and tv did not work but all in all a lovely place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    I booked this hotel because it had a view of the canal, had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fridge and tray with tea and coffee were in the cupboard which restricted our hanging space. I would suggest another arrangement for the future. The room was also a little warm but we left the window open so that did help. Otherwise all good.

    I booked this hotel because it had a view of the canal, had very good reviews and was also reasonable close to the centre. The area where it is situated is close to a lovely square with lots of eating options (Jan van Eck and @ Tatties we loved). The hotel itself has a lift, was very clean and had a lovely olde world atmosphere. The staff were courteous and well spoken. The bed was very large and comfortable and the room had a great view of the canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The room we had was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only thing was hinge on the gigantic wardrobe was loose. This has been since reported to the staff.

    The room we had was huge. The ceilings were about 20 feet high, the bed was over 6 feet wide and very comfortable. the beams were impressive and the bathroom was massive. We didn't eat in the hotel opting to do our own breakfast. The staff were very helpful and provided us with very useful information re transport for our trips to Knokke and also to Damm. Highly recommend the situation of the hotel right at the heart of the old town. Great holiday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we had no sleep because of mosquitos in the room. When I mentioned it to reception the next morning, they said there was an outbreak due to the good weather, and there had been a few complaints. We should have been warned before hand not to open the windows. The team did help resolve it the next day and were helpful.

    Great location, nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Roomy accommodation. Excellent breakfast in an old world setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many, many stairs to some rooms. Some traffic noise just outside canal view room on first floor.

    Size of room. Location. Excellent breakfast. Very very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a central location, next to the canal. We had a garden view. Beds were huge and had an excellent nights sleep all 3 nights we were there. Period styling suited the hotel location and building style. We didn't book breakfast thinking we would find something local cheaper, but found its expensive so booked breakfast for the last 2 morning's, well worth it very good and set us up for the days walking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    a great hotel in an excellent location with good clean facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all the hotels stairs are very steep and access to rooms in the hotels annex wing have no lift access

    the location is only a short walk from the towns central square and historic buildings. the hotel has large rooms that overlook the canals and are decorated in the style that suits this period hotel and the town of brugge. the lounge and bar areas are a pleasant spot to recall the days activities over a quiet drink and chat to fellow travellers, while the breakfast room is most pleasant and serves an excellent buffet brekkie

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Beatiful period hotel in central Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior was just beautiful, being decorated and furnished in keeping with the building's age. That said, our room was very large, airy, sumptuous and spotlessly clean with all modern conveniences. The view out across the canal was lovely - but the price for this was a little traffic noise on the cobbled road below. Thankfully it's a one-way street and traffic was light, so disturbance was minimal, if a little early. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a most wonderful few days in Bruge the accomodation at Martins Relais was extremely comfortable, we stayed in a canal room which was extremely specious and gorgeous look out over the canals. Yes the decor is a little tired but for us this kept in character and charm with th place. Thoroughly recommend. ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Convenient and clean with an excellent breakfast to start the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room hot and stuffy with noisy a/c unit. Goodness knows what it will be like later in the summer!

    Breakfast was excellent - at Euro 22 per head. The welcome was underwhelming - it would have been nice to have been told that the hotel provided discounts to sites in advance of us paying for some!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The hotel room s located within walking distance of all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room s located within walking distance of all sightseeings. Restaurant, and bars are within walking distance. There is a drink and snack store next door. The mattress was very comfortable. The bathroom very clean. The staff was friendly. Two large welcome bottles of mineral water and a small box of chocolates. The train station is on one side of the city, walking takes about 15 to 20 minutes, it is since walk through the city. Taxi costs about 8.50 to the hotel. Bus 4 and 14 can be taken from the station to the hotel for 3 euros a person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary and we will definitely be staying again! A Pretty hotel and excellent location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Hairs on bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on bedding. Shower cubicle over bath leaking onto floor. The booking didn’t reflect when we got there. They blamed the website. For the price it was over priced. Will use Airbnb next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant staff and a good breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant staff and a good breakfast buffet. Location is excellent with most every must see location within easy walking distance. Underground parking is a short walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    To quote the trailer in Martin McDonaugh's movie, "Shoot first, then see the sites"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old town involves many twisty, narrow backstreets. While its small and should be easy to navigate, its a little deceptive. Hence on our last day after we thought we had a good sense of location we got totally lost returning from the town square.

    Although some might find this facility to be a little dilapidated, we enjoyed the charm and unpretentious comfort of the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, clean and comfortable accommodation and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have some live music early evening to enjoy pre dinner drinks in the bar as it was lacking in atmosphere with so few people using the bar area - having said that, it didn't spoil our holiday.

    Excellent service from the staff with smiles at breakfast, couldn't be more helpful, even cooked bacon and eggs to order and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    The location of this hotel is very good - its near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room on -1 floor. It was very dark and hasn’t any view. There were some utility room next door so it was quit noisy place

    The location of this hotel is very good - its near the centre of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Dreadful subterranean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in bedrooms number 99 and 100 and they are subterranean. Look out of you half windows and look at peoples ankles going by!! Would also be concerned at getting out of those rooms if there was a fire. The hotel prices seemed reasonable but not when you stay in these rooms. There are better 4 start hotels in Bruges.

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Quaint Hotel in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic from street could be loud at night and stairs are super squeaky— hope we didn’t wake anyone up leaving early in the morning. Otherwise, we loved our stay.

    Loved our room with view over the canal. The room was large with toiletries provided. Loved the location— close to all major sites but not close to all the tourist traffic. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a coffee make but that’s a small detail.

    Space (big room); hotel with great character. Location was perfect. Stay in Bruge was really good made better by the Martin Relais Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A lovely spot to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just outside reception (room 6) guests had to pass our door to get to their rooms via the stairs. Unfortunately some people have no consideration for other guest and thought it appropriate to laugh and chat loudly for 5-10 mins at 2:30 in the morning- try this 3/4 times during the night and it does come a bit infuriating.

    Lovely hotel in a good location, roughly 5 min walk from main square. Staff were very friendly & helpful especially the young lady and intern who checked us in (apologies for not catching your names - girl had blonde hair and glasses).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The weather was cold and cloudy however looking out of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are stairs on both the from and back entrance and it is a bit of a struggle getting your suitcases up those stairs especially if you are a teensy bit older. There is a lift in the hotel thought which is good.

    The weather was cold and cloudy however looking out of our windows onto the canal watching the tourist boats go by added to the flavour. The room transported you to the days of Flanders. There is a much history as you want to discover. The carriage ride is a delight with lots of information about the buildings as you travel along. We also took a boat ride as you just have to. Luckily the rain held off and we had a lovely boat ride taking in the views and local history. The Canal is not long so the boats are uncovered. Bring a rain jacket, just in case. The beer alley is fun as is the beer; you also have to try a hot chocolate and a waffle. The breakfast in the hotel was great. Lovely scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, crispy, crumbly croissants, lovely ham. They had bacon, baked beans and sausages too however I did not try them - they looked good though. Lovely to have a teapot for a cup of tea (I would put in two tea bags though). If you want to take a jug of milk up to your room then it's not a problem. You can also ask Reception at any time for milk too. Us British love our cup of tea. My husband loves coffee so I did a double expresso with added water. The staff were very helpful and only too glad to help if you need information on local trips, restaurants or just ordering a cab. Also the cab prices are fixed so you do not have to worry about bargaining with cab driver as you do in some countries. We were there on Labour Day so were worried that it would be quiet, however the total opposite , there were parades, locals meeting for beers in squares and the shops also opened later on in the day. Wednesday is market day, full of flowers, local cheeses, hams, breads and other local produce. We had a lovely time in Brugge and I would recommend it anyone for a break away as I would the Martin Relais Hotel. (If you want to a room overlooking the canal you need to check this before booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    A room with a view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit beat up but bed and pillows very comfortable so no big deal.

    We had a nice view of canal from windows that fully opened which was great as we had wonderful weather. Perfect location, lovely city for a two night stay. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet could do with a deep clean! Quite dated decor. I appreciate it's in a Flemish style, but the colours, fabrics and furniture could be brought up to date whilst maintaining a traditional feel.

    Great location. Large rooms and comfy, very large bed. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay Bruges lives up to reputation. Rail links good and you do not need a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available at hotel

    Room very comfortable, breakfast excellent. Location just right with many restaurants close by. Our wardrobe was so big it was like Narnia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, nice old building, bus stop to the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we got was facing the canal (which we wanted), but there is a quite busy street between the canal and the hotel and the windows were so old that you felt standing on the street with cars passing by (which we obviously did not like). Luckily we could switch the room next day to one facing the garden which was very quite. In general, we had the impression that the hotel is not very soundproof (yes, it is a heritage building, but visible door cracks are a different story for this money). Also be prepared to walk some small steps to get to your room (which was fine for us but not manageable for people who have troubles with walking). The overall value for money was rather poor (which might to some extent also be due to our stay over Easter when the prices go up everywhere). Altogether, from walking around the city, we habe the impression that there are better options.

    Friendly staff, nice old building, bus stop to the railway station around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    we would definitelty stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had trouble sleeping because the room was stuffy and warm. We realize that it was probably between seasons, but it would have been nice to be able to circulate the air. Our room was street level so could not open the window.

    The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was large and shower was big. We had room 100, next to the street, but the traffic did not bother us at all. The bedding was very luxurious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting really picky, more outlets.

    Great location. It’s a beautiful, charming building that’s a tiny bit dated in the rooms, but in a way it’s kind of nice that way. It’s actually not a complaint. I don’t like to feel like I’m in a hotel, and that little detail does it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Great position for exploring the beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Would stay here again

    Great position for exploring the beautiful city. Very comfortable room. We stayed in the former kitchen which had a huge bathroom and walk in shower. Breakfasts were nicely prepared and served with a view of the canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of steps to negotiate with suitcases even though there is a lift.

    The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished if not a little on the quirky side,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Historic Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite booking for two and being told on arrival that all their rooms are for two, we were charged for the second person for breakfast .

    Superb location. Excellent breakfast and lovely waiters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    A prefect taste of Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could use a good decorator to lift it to a higher level.

    Very profesional and friendly front office staff at the time of check in. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    I can recommend for everyone who likes this kind of hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street on canal side a bit loud, cushions too thick for me

    Very nice, authentic old location, ideally placed in Bruges. Very kind and really helpful staff, excellent restaurant recommendations from them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    The belgian chocolates in reception were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very expensive breakfast therefore we chose not to eat here.

    The belgian chocolates in reception were great! We were also given a map of the city and were recommended on restaurants and places to see. The room was lovely with a very big and comfortable bed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended high-old-style hotel with sparklings at the breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they should add ghosts.

    A chic old house with old beams piercing your room. More precisely, several houses together, connected by an incredible maze of corridors and ladders with its own garden. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, with ancient furniture. Not the most comfortable and the whole, but invariably charming. The bed was excellent. Breakfast may seem expensive, but believe it is worth your money, especially if you have already tried to buy food in the city. And do not forget - it includes champagne, salmon, 6 kinds of tasty cheese and so on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old hotel, in a perfect location to see all the sights of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit more help to the room. We were pushing a pram and carrying two suitcases, and whislt we were directed to the lift. Some assistance or even a offer would have been appreciated. It needs to be made clear that the the hotel is quite old and it is not fully accessible, you cannot gain access without coming up or going down steps. And the family room is also up a set of steps so we were forced to regularly carry buggy up and down stairs.

    Room was nice and spacious, with the bathroom being excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Simply spectacular! Definitely one of the best trips we’ve ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the lower staircase leans you towards the centre is a bit unnerving!

    The welcome from the hotel staff was warm and genuine. They were always happy to help. The quality of the room, bathroom and the entire hotel was superb, plus the location was simply wonderful. The little touches in the room (champagne and rose petals) just added to a truly memorable stay. Dank u vel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful interior including reception bar and restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the ground floor across from reception so could hear talking and noise until late, though the noise wasn’t too loud.

    Beautiful interior including reception bar and restaurant area. Great location, beautifully clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was huge for the price it was great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair in the bath tub on arrival and part of the bath was broken.

    The room was huge for the price it was great value. Beautiful view of the canals. Staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking, but we were expecting that anyway.

    Great location. Quiet. Helpful staff. Good size room (comfort room) with huge comfortable bed and big bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic break in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If pushed, the only slight negative was the shower, which had erratic temperature control and very low pressure - but was manageable.

    The property is beautiful, full of original features and character. The place is very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Fab breakfast with plenty of choice. The location couldn't be better. Room overlooking canal has amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel with fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the feel of the hotel - the huge bed and all the old antique furniture - the huge old wardrobe, the trunks and the old staircases. The breakfast room was great with views over the canal, and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful too. Liked the situation, 5-10 minutes walk from the main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel. Charming rooms and very helpful staff. The reception team couldn’t do enough for us. Great breakfast, comfortable beds and superb location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    A character hotel with lovely staff and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities in room. Four star hotel, yet instant coffee and UHT milk. Shower not great.

    A character hotel with lovely staff and perfect location. Large room and bathroom, with view of canal. Bed excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel by the canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, close to all touristic attractions. Our room was very spacious, nicely decorated with a lovely canal view. We were very satisfied with breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had great stay. All in all Martin's Relais is a beautiful hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.6
    Location was good but hotel is tired and worn. It needs a decent refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and needs decoration. Also there is no real bar or comfey public areas. It’s all a bit ramshackle

    Thw location and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place, helpful staffs but not the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, we changed room once. In side the rooms looks old and need updating. Need new Bed mattress, bathtub and sink mark and old. Cobweb up on high wall, wallpaper mark and old. It a lovely place, just the rooms.

    Hotel lovely location and lovely helpful staffs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in great location with delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was down a lovely quiet street with a beautiful canal and a church at the end. It was ideal for walking into town and close to some great bars too. The breakfast was delicious- I particularly liked the smoked salmon and scrambled egg which tasted divine accompanied by a glass of bubbles!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect

    The location was perfect.. the atmosphere is so nice and romantic.. also all the people that they work there are so polite and they are ready to help you all the time..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Martins Relais Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing and this was not really the hotels fault - we priced a taxi to the airport on departure and the hotel told us it would be 125 euros when in fact it was 175 euros - this was a big difference and knowing that now we would have travelled by train

    The property was very central and close all the tourist attractions and lots of restaurants and bars close by. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very pretty and I would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic city, great culture overdose and the restaurants, bars and sights are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive although it seemed to be the same all over Brugge.

    The staff in reception, the bar and dining room were excellent, nothing was to much trouble - they tried exceptionally hard to meet all requests. The location was spot on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    The location, how clean it was, staff were perfect in terms of being friendly, helpful and the overall service that they provided!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Charming stay in beautiful Bruce!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Fantastic position overlooking the canal, quiet but central location, 5 minutes walk from the centre but quiet at night. Our room was comfortable and charming, as was the hotel. It was very cold during our stay but The hotel was always cosy and warm to return to, with a large open fire in The reception/lounge area. The furnishings were original antique style that fitted perfectly with The city itself. The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely, with hot, cold and healthy options. We were sad to leave, having had a fantastic trip and would love to return to beautiful Bruge!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Brrrrrrrrugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Except the location of the city. If Brugge was closer to the equator the weather in February may have been a little less parky. But that's being picky.

    Staff were great. Smiley and helpful. Breakfast food was good. Location was spot on. The decor was in keeping with the building. All very good. No complaints.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect bar one very stressful issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was perfect bar one issue, the hotel effectively charged me double and left me £400 out of pocket - as I'm only 23 living in London, this put a massive strain on my finances and I only had it resolved after my bank spotted it. It really put a dampener on an otherwise lovely holiday.

    The hotel were fantastic in preparing a bottle of champagne for our arrival, and even letting us book book in early. The room was furnished beautifully, with a lovely bathroom and a very soft bed. Outside our window, we looked out onto the picturesque canal. The staff were very helpful in letting us know all the best local eateries and where to find bikes etc. My only wish is if we had enough time to have a drink from there very cool study room like bar in front of the roaring fireplace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Spacious Room in Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet ha!

    The bathroom was a real highlight. Big. The room was also nice, albeit the carpet made it look a bit dated. Everything was clean and the common spaces are really beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Made us feel so welcome, staff amazing, bed super comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just returned from a fabulous stay here. Staff really friendly and helpful, room an excellent size and very clean. Will definitely return when we next visit!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    A brilliant hotel - can't wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was PERFECT!!

    The room was large and had everything we could possibly require and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were in room 6, close to reception but beautifully quiet overlooking a tiny garden. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay, brilliant location and would love to return some day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to do get laundry service on a Friday afternoon but that's a minor point and did not affect my trip at all!

    Fantastic bed, good sized bathroom and friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Sad degeneration if one of our favorite boutique hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly having used the hotel several time years ago it has deteriorated. The furniture has not be kept up to expectation. The bathrooms are a mix of: very low toilet, very high step up to bath and shower in bath. Generally tired all round. No flair in bedroom arrangements and had thin worn towels.

    Position. Old world style. Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Warm, cosy hotel in a perfect location to explore Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything. No complaints!

    Our room was amazing. Lovely views of the Canal from our window as well as the Belfry peeking over the houses. Our bed was the comfiest bed we have ever slept in on any holiday so far. The decor of the room was very classy and I feel like it was the perfect place to stay in Bruges. Very close to the main square too, maybe a five minute walk. We also had a drink downstairs one night by the fire. It was very cosy and relaxing, and the service was great too. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly. The hotel exceeded our expectation in every way, I have recommended my parents to go here as well as friends if they ever visit Bruges.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.8
    Sold fakes!!!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Martin's Relais is capitalising on its reputation, being in fact a timeworn hotel with a misleading marketing policy. Our room did not have anything in common with the one we agreed to pay for. We felt sold fakes as the room we got worthed, at most, half of the money we paid. Apart from the extremelly poor quality for money we got, our stay at the hotel was far from being a romantic one, which was the most disapointing part. Hopefully Bruges itself helped us overcome our frustrations, and transform our stay in a nice experince. For the future, we really hope the hotel will revise their marketing policy, and become more transparent about its offers. Meanwhile, we recommend you to look around as Bruges is offering better quality for more competitive prices.

    Professional and client-oriented staff at the reception Relativelly good breakfast served in the renovated part of the building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    A stay to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very good. They serve champaigne for breakfast :) Amazing building, old and impressive. Amazing staff. Always have an answe for any question you could have about the city and its attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Calming, clean, exciting and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast at the hotel is quite high. There’s also the case of me not really being a breakfast person, but €22,- for a breakfast per person per night was a little too much to my opinion. We had breakfast outside of the hotel.

    The calming atmosphere at the hotel was very nice. The people at the reception desk were all very friendly and explained us a lot of useful things about Brugge. The hotel was very clean and room we stayed at was very peaceful and comfortable. I definitely recommend Martin’s Relais!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the room could have been better.

    The location of this hotel was brilliant, only a 5/10 min walk to the main square. Staff were very very helpful. Although the hotel is quite old it was very well maintained and looked lovely with the Christmas decorations. Room was a little dark but had everything you needed, bathrooms were lovely. Breakfast was lovely and well staffed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely rooms, fantastic staff, would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a bit of an update (the shower was slightly temperamental) but the room was still great and it didn’t affect our stay.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful and incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was also huge, with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was a great size.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Martin's Relais traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: