Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of pentahotel Leuven 4 stars

Alfons Smetsplein 7, 3000 Leuven, Belgium

#5 of 27 hotels in Leuven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2473 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent and will use the hotel again
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small things just to give constructive criticism. It's hard to pick out staff from guests due to informal attire. Perhaps a solution could be found whilst retaining the informality. The breakfast space feels too small for a busy hotel and please put some more cutlery out for guests at breakfast.

    Everything we needed for our stay. Comfy clean room. Relaxed atmosphere. Tasty breakfast food. Excellent location in Leuven.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Smart, quirky hotel in an excellent position to visit all of Leuven's attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is unfortunate and regrettable in equal measure that neither booking.com or the hotel did not inform me of the extensive refurbishment operations going on immediately outside the hotel. We were awakened each morning at 7.00 am by the sound of heavy demolition plant commencing operations in earnest

    Excellent location, friendly well informed staff and quirky interior

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    much nicer than i expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its hard to find something but I think the entrance sign is maybe a bit to modern and a bit bright in comparison to the interior.

    I liked the Reception Staff. They were friendly and helpful. Some hotels the reception can be a bit daunting. the Hotel decor is really lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    All good, except water in shower not hot enough and plugs by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good, except water in shower not hot enough and plugs by bedside tables not working well.Had to make sure to push hard otherwise phone did not charge. Perfect otherwise . Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and staff, Disappointed at wifi and car parking charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking very expensive at twenty euro's per day. Wifi is free for the first day and 7.50 euros after. Again very expensive. These two charges would put me off staying again.

    Bed was huge, very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.0
    Bed was Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first floor is right on top of a chimera/Tibetan restaurant which you could smell. After having gotten a room on the 3rd floor, all was good.

    Bed was Good. Bathroom clean, rooms big enough, all was very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice & comfortable but would expect it to be cleaner for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most days there was no bread & bacon available at breakfast. This was not kept topped up as often as it should have been. 18 euros for breakfast and you shouldn’t expect to see empty servers and have to ask for more food. Place could do with a good overall deep clean. Walls and window sills in restaurant dirty & our table was sticky. Pillows & mattress protector stained.

    Friendly staff. Room was a nice size, large comfortable bed, bathroom fine. We ordered room service the first evening. Service & food excellent. The breakfast pastries were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a later breakfast on Saturday. it closed at 10.00

    The hotel was fine. The driving instructions they sent me beforehand were extremely useful, otherwise I would never have found the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.5
    Wonderful family break right in the middle of Leuven which is a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find the lift door or the bell from the hotel car park and had to walk up several flights of concrete steps . Very difficult parking if you have a large car. Difficult to follow directions to the hotel if you are alone in the car had to seek help from passers by.

    Friendliness of the staff mostly the men, the lady on check out was not so friendly but the only one so overall very good. Loved my stay and breakfast superb, would happily visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    perfect... and we will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stay was far to short, should have stayed longer!

    The staff was great, perfect sense of humor (Maaskantje, he jonge!), the cocktails, perfect, all was excellent during our weekend away. Will be back soon....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely difficult to drive there. The place is right in the centre and many streets are closed. Also the parking is not free. You have to pay 20 euros. The place looks like a night club. I arrived at night and I thought I was not in the right place

    Nice rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good place to crash for few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for double bed 🛏 2 singles stuck together are not that comfortable as hers always gap remaining in the middle. If I was picky there was bit of mold in bathroom and big white stain on the carpet next to the bed but it didn’t bother me

    Good location short walk from cathedral

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very short walk to shops/restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Great location, very short walk to shops/restaurants etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very quirky hotel and nice! Parking was a bit expensive, as was the hotel bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Hapje tspje weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting switches in the room were over complicsted! I could not wirk out how to switch the lights off!

    We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 25 years! This was our first time seeing it as a Prnta hotel and it was pleasing. Otherwise, it was really fun; trendy decor snd great value. Location is top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    We loved The Penta and will make it our home base again next time we are Leuven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit pricey.

    Wide variety of foods at the breakfast buffet. My family also had a couple meals and thought the options for lunch and dinner were excellent and tasty. We had a child who needs gluten free options and it wasn't a problem. We had several people traveling in town with us for a wedding and the lounge was a great meet-up place offering late night pizza and drinks. The staff was helpful with advice about the city, directions and suggestions that made our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Rock Werchter + Pentahotel Leuven = best music festival ever !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paying for parking and high speed internet does not seem right.

    Perfect location to discover the city and go to rock Werchter (15 minutes walk to free bus shuttles). Special thanks to Gwendoline who contributed to make our stay even better!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated in the middle of Leuven and has underground parking for security. Rooms are really large and have a safe, fridge and tea and coffee facilities. The restaurant and bar area are really nice and a great place to unwind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent city center hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are a bit small.

    Friendliest staff acts in most professional manner. Great breakfast. Check in at the bar !! You can get your drink immediately. Very nice city center location with lift accessible underground car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Cozy rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance of the parking space is very small and is difficult to acces the parking. On the breakfast room is only one coffee machine and it was so busy, that you have to stay 5 to 10 minutes on the que to get a coffee. Breakfast is till 10.00h and someone from the crew coming to us to remembering that we have to finish because they close the breakfast room.

    Before our trip we received good information about address, how to get to the hotel and the acces code to reach the hotel. The room was very clean and cozy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location in downtown Leuven—very close to all of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location in downtown Leuven—very close to all of the restaurants and the best gelato in town. The beautiful town hall and cathedral are less than 5 min away and the bus stop is even closer. The hotel is unique with a contemporary artsy vibe and great personable staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice for sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Low quality tv screen (at least for soccer). Slow wifi which always requires to re-enter the password.

    Comfortable. Well located. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again if in Leuven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to book car park space before arrive. Instructions to the car park come 24 hours before arrive, but when on route this is a bit disconcerting after a long days travel. In the end they worked really well through Utube.

    Stylish hotel. good location. Nice rooms . very efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Lovely city, great accommodation with friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of breakfast - best to go out into the city and get breakfast at half the price!

    The Location of the hotel very friendly staff and good sized rooms with comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to locate with car, do make sure you contact hotel before you arrive for up to date, detailed info.

    Unusual hotel, reception areas always darkly lit, so would not know if day or night. Rooms comfortable. Location very handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback is access. Taxi drivers struggle a bit with getting to the front of the building, often times dropping off a short walk away behind the property. It's an easy walk, though.

    Great hotel. Spacious room with charm and a Smeg refrigerator. Great bar and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, great staff, just don't expect fast WIFI
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi is far below the standard of other hotels I have stayed in. Maybe this had to do with the fact that I was in the far corner of the building, but also in the lobby it wasn't to fast.

    Service and the Boutique atmosphere made it really cozy. Like a living room. Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Cook was out the day that I was looking for food;
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cook was out the day that I was looking for food; the man on the desk graciously heated me a pizza, which was very good.....I didn't do much walking around the hotel since I had suffered a serious injury four weeks previously.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The location and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell in the rooms above the Restaurant (first floor rooms) - but they changed our room immediately as soon as we asked for it

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting access to the hotel's parking with a medium-size car was a bit stressed.

    Dealing with the manager and staff was pleasant. Location is excellent for Leuven's visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Superb ! Best location and best hotel in Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Amazing staff, great place, comfortable (quiet - exactly what I was looking for) and clean room, with a free water bottle/per day as courtesy and coffee inside if you want ... a very good bar downstairs where you can chill and relax after...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very cool property, very close to the center of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pizza in the bar was only so-so, but I wasn't staying there for the pizza. There were limited options at the time I was there, so it was better than not eating, anyway!

    Very cool property, very close to the center of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we were waken up by a large amount of students that were partying and screaming in the street - nothing the hotel can prevent of course, just the down side of being in the heart of the city. We liked The room however I would suggest management to think about re doing the flooring - old and dirty carpet is not really what you would expect in a so modern and trendy hotel.

    Super central position, hotel is well organised and send the exact route to follow to reach the hotel parking (including pictures), which is well appreciated and needed as the hotel is in a pedestrian area. We had the suite and room size was very good. The hall with bar corner is cozy and we loved the style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed at the Penta Hotel in Leuven on a number of occasions and the one constant is the attitude of the staff. Excellent, helpful and polite. Thank You

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great place to visit Leuven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have a real coffee-machine, there was a cooker though!

    Good value for money. Friendly staff and located just around the corner of the old marketplace! Clean room, nice lobby and bar. Only downside, which is nothing they can do about is to get there by car since there are a lot of one-way roads and it is not always clear whether you are allowed to enter roads by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in a center - a couple minutes walk to Grote Markt, Sint-Pieterskerk, etc. The stuffs were very welcoming, attentive, professional and friendly. Their style makes distinct from usual hotel experience - its atmosphere when you enter the building, check-in at the bar, etc. It is somewhat hip, but without sacrificing the customer experience (thanks to their staffs).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great base to explore Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable hotel right in the heart of Leuven with its own parking - what more could you ask? Even though we were there on a Friday night, we heard no noise from the street. Also great choice of TV channels and movies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, nice interior decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horribly slow wi-fi. Also the cleaning staff was really very loud around 9 in the morning, communicating with each other from opposite ends of the hallway - the doors are too thin for that level of noise.

    Perfect location, nice interior decoration. Comfortable bed & pillows. I see some people are mentioning noise from the outside during the night because of the central location - I stayed there on a Friday night and didn't hear any noise whatsoever.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Modern, chic, location, deco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The breakfast area is a bit crowded (the hotel does inform you of this with a sign in the elevators) however maybe the layout could be changed to allow for a more efficient flow of people. The area where the food is could be moved to another area and then place some tables there...

    - The hotel environment was great, very modern, very cool, music, everything was thought out. - The information sent before on how to reach the hotel due to issues with most GPSs is very nice. It does make the arrival very easy, otherwise we would be completely lost in the small streets of Louvain. - It is extremely central very close to the best restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.0
    Very relaxed bar, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking ! We were given directions to the car park, signage wasn’t brilliant ! So didn’t actually stay in the Hotel section of the car park, didn’t know that, but was still charged 🤔 Not Happy 😟

    Very relaxed bar, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect, you can't be more central than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The comfort of the room and its amenities were not what I would expect from a 4-stars hotel. It was quite basic. You had all you need, but I would have expected a bit more "pampering".

    Location is perfect, you can't be more central than that. Walking distance from all main points of interest, and from many cafe's and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Route information to reach the hotel. Google maps and go! No worries. Parking fee for 2 nights 40 euro????! Why!!? Tooo much!

    Location near the centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.6
    Horrible!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some public hairs on the bed and asked to change room. They give me new room afterwards. But then the room is so noisy, i cant sleep the entire night. They are located really on the central where students make party, the hotel supposed to make good window isolation. I found there is a gap on the left window, so it is not only noisy the whole night but also cold. Try to put my hand near the window and i can feel breeze from outside (it was -6). Moreover u also hear noise frm the corridor, it means they also dont have good isolation of the door. So in the night noise from people in the street and morning noise from other guests. Bathroom is nice and spacious but i found some other hairs at the edge of the shower. Slow internet and you have to pay for faster one. What a joke? With the room rate that i paid, i think good internet connection is an obligation. As someone who spent 60% of my nights in the hotel for a business trip, i am wondering how can they have good rate here and even declare that they are 4 stars. One of the top 5 worst 4starts(?) hotel I ever stayed.

    Yes the location is in the central which became their strong point and also excuse of their noisy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    It's a nice place with a lot of potential but it's not likely we'd go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were less friendly. The hotel had too strong a smell of cologne/perfume, which was irritating to the throat. The space for breakfast was set up strangely with very little space to move around and the breakfast was too expensive for 18 Euro pp (though, to be fair, there were a lot of breakfast choices and the food was good). Though the location was good and it was good to have parking, getting to the parking / hotel was quite complex. Also, the parking was 20 euro per night, which wasn't mentioned at first - so with parking and breakfast, the costs really added up. Unfortunately, the weekend we stayed there, there was a noisy group of people returning to their rooms in the middle of the night so we were woken up each night by a lot of loud voices and knocking on doors. That wasn't the hotel's fault but it made our stay their less enjoyable.

    A couple of the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bed was big and comfortable. The location was good in terms of being in walking distance from everything. The hotel did its best to have an original design with some cool features. The breakfast choices were numerous and good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Location, atmosphere, cleanliness, comfortness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from the hallyway, so if you’re unlucky, your sleep might get disrupted by party people during night.

    Location, atmosphere, cleanliness, comfortness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    had a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was too big! Breakfast times were too early for weekends, and they were very strict about closing the buffet. Breakfast was a bit empty by the time we were there (45 min before closing)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    It is a great place!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is free wi-fi option, but it is extremely slow (256 kbps) and you should upgrade your connection (4 EUR/hour or 10 EUR/day) for a decent 10Mbps. In my opinion, it's not fair to sell Internet connection in the year 2018. Or at least the free option should be well enough to make Skype calls.

    Amazing decoration, friendly staff, unbeatable location, superb playlist in the lobby. Everything is indeed great and worth its value. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is very delicious, don't hesitate to eat in the lobby which is perfect for chilling out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Very noisy outside the room as it was overlooking a pathway.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy outside the room as it was overlooking a pathway. Noise is expected as it is a student town. Perhaps the hotel could explore methods of dampening the sound.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Very nice Hotel, need to work on the offered services!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival we had very bad experience with Hotel Parking - it's available with extra charge 20€ per day but the parking space was very tight and limited spaces. When we complain about it, at the young lady in reception (which reception is the Hotel Bar) she was rude and told us we can move it out of the Hotel if we wish. So we parked at 100m in a parking station with more parking space. Same person when we claim that booking was for double bed she replied in ironic attitude that all are singles and if we put them one next to other we can have double bed. A member of our team change rooms with us, and ohhhhhhh there was a bouble bed.... One of our team members using the room as individual and within 2 days they didn't replace the bathroom supplies. Breakfast not included in the price - extra cost 18€ per person per day is too expensive compare the variety they offer. At the plaza you may find several options to have decent breakfast with less money.

    Location is very good, it's in the center of the city, but it's not easy to reach the hotel by car since it is on a pedestrial area. Size of double bed as well the quality of it was very good and relaxing. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Overall, well designed hotel focused on details. Some of the personel were friendly and more than willing to help us (Thank you Antonio!).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location for a two day trip to this little (bit boring) town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed during holiday, not stipulated when booking. Window screens in room very dusty. Cleaning room very superficial with empty shower gel tube still on floor after cleaning. (One of the) Night barman/receptionist would better suit in a nightclub than in a hotel. (Could I see the bar menu please? - There’s one over there, just grab it’) Does not posses the tact and style to welcome guests). Every single table at the empty lounge area was filled with dirty glasses, should be taken away instantly.

    Location, size top Floor suite Reception lady very friendly and efficient. 24h bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Service was great and also food that I had I really enjoyed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was that on both days we wanted to have lunch but first day the chef was late so too late for us, next day we decided to wait until late and then found out they were not serving food that day.

    Service was great and also food that I had I really enjoyed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall a fantastic place to stay in a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One small thing. Broken window on the 4th floor landing, made the corridor a bit drafty. Other than that cannot find fault

    A great place. Friendly staff, clean tidy room. Lovely relaxed bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect staff, very nice bar, unfortunately restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a twin room, there is a wall in between plus a door in both rooms. This made it very noisy (drunken & sick neighbour).

    Perfect staff, very nice bar, unfortunately restaurant was closed, but there is enough in the neighbourhood. All great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Cooking Smell into My Room; I Can Not Open My Window; It Is a Prison.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible for me. I am still here, and I could open my window, because some strong cooking smell coming into my room from the duck of the kitchen of the hotel. I asked the people to change my room, but they said there is no room, or changed to another room with more smells. After one night, I asked to change the room again, what they did was to change the room to the previous room. I am still in the hotel, I really can not stand the smell. I have never seen this kind hotel during last ten years. The cost for one night is almost 200 Euros. I really don't understand why I am still here in this hotel. Don't come to this hotel, and do not waist your money for this kind of poor service with uncivilized quality.

    Normal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast, clean rooms, nice design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was really slow, TV sets should be coupled with main power switch so that it is switched off when leaving the room and removing the card, otherwise you'll hear the (probably too loud) TV set of neighbouring rooms playing back lounge music in a loop which is particularly annoying at late hours; shrill, high, repeating tones due to some electrical devices in the hotel lobby

    Good breakfast, clean rooms, nice design

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Didn't meet the standards of a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a 4 star hotel and the room didn't meet the standards. We had a double bed room and we just had a single duvet when we arrived, after some search we found another single duvet in the cupboard. Not convenient at all! The room was also cold and noisy at night like there's no tomorrow...

    The location of the hotel is perfect as it's right in the center of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Seeped in sterotypical manly decor and smelled too strongly of Axe (or some cheap male cologne).
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not care for this hotel at all. The menu itself has a sexist flair "Lady's Steak" and "Use this peephole to view a hot girl" written on the dinner menus. They were out of mussels and fries (what else would I suggest my husband eat his first time visiting Belgium?) and the restaurant reeked of cheap men's cologne (think Axe) which I feel really hurt the dining experience. The lobby check-in is actually at the bar and the lobby, restaurant, and public areas are quite dimly lit and reek with that cheap cologne smell. This hotel was seeped in toxic masculinity. As my husband said, the place screamed "date rape" and was not somewhere we would visit again. I would certainly not have taken my children here. The parking is quite difficult as the garage is located in a walk-only section, and we were given incorrect directions on which way to turn when we left (hint: not the way you came in). It was a clean facility and perfectly adequate for an evening, but we will not return due to atmosphere.

    The bed was comfortable and the movies were free. The food was decent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Always enjoy coming to Leuven and the PentaHotel is a part of that enjoyment!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dislikes - the rowdy college students at 3am Friday mornings. Oh well, what can one expect from a college town and obviously that is not the hotel's fault. And the SLOW "free" WiFi in the hotel.

    Love the hotel. Great location, center of town. Easy access to everything in Leuven.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    One of our favorite hotels--a key part of the awesome Leuven experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is really nothing not to like--it can get a bit noisy at night outside in the courtyard, mostly with the university students that are enjoying the party into the later hours of the night/morning, but usually in spurts and not constant throughout the whole night.

    Always love this hotel when we go there. It is family friendly, but also makes a romantic getaway spot. There is conveniently a restaurant on property--we haven't eaten dinner there, although it smells very good; however, we ate the breakfast and it was wonderful. There was plenty of variety, everything was delicious, and the coffee was delicious, as well. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The location is right by everything--lots of restaurants and shops. Everything is walk-able in Leuven, including the movie theater. The rooms are fairly roomy with good temperature, the bathrooms are modern and very clean. Things are set up very nicely and has a feel that extra care is taken to provide good customer service. Also, the in-room free movies are great. The parking is also very convenient, right below the hotel. The hotel lobby is very beautiful and cozy--a great place to hang out for drinks and a snack.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Trendy and comfortable boutique hotel with excellent location to explore the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very trendy boutique hotel,with friendly staff, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast and a great location to explore the city center. Close to restaurants and museum. Easy to reach by public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is newly-renovated and conveniently located in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the noise: the glazing of my room could not stop terrible noise coming from the street where students go out until the very morning. Having rest was impossible. -internet: the internet was so slow that it was difficult to reply to e-mails even. -front-desk service: I tried to call a taxi and was told the fastest waiting time was 40 minutes -- they basically will make you miss your flight but will not call a driver who is on their own payroll. -Given that I paid for than 200 euros for such "service", I consider this unexcusable robbery. Staying here was a radically bad experience all in all.

    The hotel is newly-renovated and conveniently located in the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good rooms, but..very strict breakfast timing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was really busy. And the deadline (10:00 AM) was very strict. The personel just closed the breakfast exactly at 10, which gave us a strange impression (the normal situation is: people that came in before 10:00 can have breakfast without stress until +/- 10:30)

    Very spacious and comfortable room, very good beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Very spacious, light-filled double room on top floor, easy walking distance to town centre.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious, light and airy double room on top floor, well-equipped for a long or short stay, with high ceilings, comfortable seating area and useful, generously designed desk space; nice views toward town centre. An easy walk to Grote Markt, and to local park to exercise dog. Parking adjacent but tricky to locate; detailed directions supplied by hotel are accurate and indispensable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic rooms, but do take breakfast somewhere else (plenty of options closeby)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the breakfast was a disaster. There's not enough space to seat everyone, the corner where breakfast is served is far too small for the swarm of people it typically attracts in rush hour. Really not enjoyable...

    The rooms were simply fantastic. Spacious, tall ceilings, a dream of a bed. Furniture I'm jealous of. The design of this hotel is something special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    On the whole happy but would not recommend hotel for stays longer than 3 or 4 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could do with a handle for safety as floor can become very slippery especially for senior citizens! The dark , night club like entrance is actually not very appealing.Having spoken to one member of staff we definitely got the impression Pentahotel will do nothing about that as that is their signature.. pity.. not attractive for young or old.. we therefore avoided the bar-lounge like poison!

    good beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Leuven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service in the bar- staff unfriendly bordering on rude- think he thought it an imposition to serve us!!

    Great location - nice bar, good food served. Rooms clean and good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our short stay in Leuven. Would consider staying in Pentahotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wiFi did not always work. No other problems.

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. Very friendly staff. I Would consider staying there again. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Looks like a brothel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, you could hear everything that went on in the hallway. Also the rooms are connected, which is nice for families, but when you're just there with 2 people you would rather not experience this. Also the place looks like a brothel and parking is expensive.

    Good shower, good room temperature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Truly central location (apparently with parking but which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly central location (apparently with parking but which we didn't use - we paid €20 overnight at nearby Parking Ladeuze), polite, efficient, professional staff (reception is at the bar), simple, modern, high quality room and bathroom, very cool reception/dining/lobby areas with a cosy seating area out front. This hotel is more boutique and luxury inside than its somewhat budget exterior appearance and web image suggest. A real surprise and our rate of €79 for a double room in expensive central Leuven was good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great funky hotel in a fab location with good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didnt like

    Lovelly funky hotel in the centre of the old town. If parking follow the instructions you are sent carefully. The instructions on how to drive to the hotel are very good .....just follow them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was excellent (once we had found it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the place was a nightmare! The hotel send out an e-mail which gives very specific instructions complete with photographs but only 48 hours before you are due to arrive. We had already left the UK at that time with no facilities to 'pick up' our e-mail until we arrived at the hotel!!

    Hotel was excellent (once we had found it!) Staff were very pleasant. Our room was good - no complaints at all. Reception, bar area and restaurant was not to our taste, we thought it a little dark but this is a purely personal view and it was certainly kept clean etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Good location middle in the city center, close to nice bars...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traveling by car is a bit challenging, but that's a small price to pay when you are in the city center.

    Good location middle in the city center, close to nice bars and restaurants. No noise of cars etc. Nicely decorated, spacious room with good climatization. Excellent breakfast, lots of choice, perhaps not too good when you are on a diet...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    Unfriendly, nearly not interested staff at reception, bar,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly, nearly not interested staff at reception, bar, restaurant. The attending staff was there for all three "departments". Not like the service I was used to at the other Penta hotels I stayed at.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Modern hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi was not really good and I could only use it on one device. as a business traveller, that's disappointing

    Very clean and modern hotel, great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Can't wait to get back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing--it was perfect.

    Everything: The Ambiance, the way we were greeted upon walking in the door; The pool table in the lounge, along with the comfy lounge chairs, the food service, the lovely, spacious rooms. Everything was so clean and you felt like the comfort of the guests was carefully thought out. The location of the hotel was unbelievable--close to SO many restaurants, bars, shops, churches, even the movie theater.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Center Ville
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As this hotels location in the pedestrian area of leuven it is an 'adventure driving' through streets with cafes and bars opening out on to street. Directions sent by hotel to get to parking were perfect,,, assuming you arrive in Leuven from the correct direction,, we didn't. But got there eventually.

    Great hotel Right In Center of Leuven Nice breakfast Good comfortable room with stylish decor

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: