Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Progress Hotel

Du Progress 9, Sint-Joost-ten-Node, 1210 Brussels, Belgium

#90 of 212 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1366 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, good accommodation but with little ambition could be perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not at the high quality (undercooked food, modest selection) and the bathroom was not cleaned well (funnels are yellow).

    Reception staff has the perfect balance in kindness and professionalism. The hotel is in an excellent position to the city centre and west train station. Rooms are cosy and comfortable. Be aware that the main doors are usually locked (even during the day) and you will need to ring the bell or use your room key.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.9
    I knew this hotel from before, so I mostly knew what to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air-conditioning control panel did not work, so it was quite fresh in the room which I could change. When I complained about it, receptionist told me I should have requested to activate the temperature control - quite strange as I cannot imagine why one would not like to have control over room temperature. In the bathroom, there was a warning label that guests are not allowed to take bathrobes with them home or they will be charged 95 EUR. But there was no bathrobe in the room at all. Receptionist told me bathrobes are available on request - so why warn guests before they even get the bathrobe? I also didn't like the small shower cabin and the cheap shower head in otherwise sufficiently comfortable bathroom. A stand-by table in the room was wobbling. Elevator door in the corridor was squeaking when opening which could be heard in the room each time somebody arrived or left the floor. Elevators can only be operated with a room card which is probably another level of security control (you also need the card to enter the hotel and of course to enter the room), but the way it operates in the elevator is weird and was not explained at check-in. There is not enough space in the breakfast hall in peak periods: tables are cramped together, there are bottlenecks at the food counter and cutlery is not placed on time on emptied tables. Guests need breakfast vouchers (I did not get one upon check-in) - not clear why guest card is not sufficient as staff could have information about who paid breakfasts based on room numbers (it works this way in the majority of hotels).

    I knew this hotel from before, so I mostly knew what to expect. The location is very good for meetings close to Place Rogier and there is space to work in the room (a long table along the window) with a reasonable good location and number of electricity power sockets.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Location offers easy access to the Brussels centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Regardless in what hotel I stay I always regret if there are no slippers; and this time staying in Progress I was not also enthusiastic about crowd at the breakfast (probably caused by only one restaurant for three hotels i.e. Hotel Siru, Progress and Des Colonies.

    Generaly I like the hotel and in particular: - location (in case you need to be close to the Centre and Rogier business area), - small, cosy hotel, - coffee maker.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, really
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds too soft for my liking and no complimentary bottle of water.

    Everything else was as desired. The staff were nice and attentive - very much appreciated!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could be a little bigger (wider) in single room Could be a better reading light next to the bed

    Great (tasty) breakfast - hot and cold options Room clean, comfortable and up-to-date Location great for town centre General decor tasteful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.9
    Quiet, clean, comfortable room. Breakfast facilities not up to the standards of a business hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is far too busy. Around 8am there is a rush to the buffet and this makes it unpleasant to have breakfast there. wifi signal fairly weak.

    Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    5.0
    Subpar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I tried to add a breakfast to my reservation, but the hotel referred me to the booking.com website, and when I said I couldn't add it there, that I had to contact the booking.com customer service (which I did, but which was utterly unhelpful in not having replied to my request for 48h).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.9
    Positive experience at the Progress Hotel Brussels Belgium.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The airconditioner control box did not function so the temperature in the room could not be adjusted.

    The location is fantastic and the room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was way too soft, same as pillows. The staff, except for two, did not speak English.

    The location was excellent, very close to the city center and superclose to the Gare du Noord. Rogier is the closest tube and tram station and its a main hub. The Nespresso coffe maker in the room was a great facility.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    It was a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a great stay. I had a overnight 10hr flight and just need a place to easily get to and rest. This hotel is everything I needed. 15 mints train from BRU and from the train station 5 mints walk, you can see the station from the hotel, very easy for luggage. The stuffs were professional, let me do a early check in and change my room to a quieter one when I asked. The room is compact but has everything, hairdryer and safe, coffee machine and kettle, I enjoyed drinking hot drinks when I planned my sight seeing and it’s a easy 15 mints walk to the main attraction and shopping center. The water pressure is great and curtain is thick, I know this because I had to sleep at 6pm for jet lag and after a hot shower and total darkness in the room I had a 11 hours sleep! And it’s exactly what I needed. I always sleep with ear plugs so the noise is no issue. Overall it’s a great hotel to stay in if you had a long journey and need to recharge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.5
    1. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Once we got towels with small holes

    1. Great location. Next to subway, trams and city center (15-20 min walking in the shopping street). Direct connection by buses to the airport 2. Friendly staff 3. Great breakfast options 4. We booked a room with city card included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation in Brussels handy to the train and tram with a comfortable nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only room service available rather than a full restaurant for dinner.

    The bed was very comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful and the location was brilliant for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was polite and nice, but they could be more friendly.

    The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good, they have a variety of sweet and salty. The room was AC which is very nice to have in summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was polite and nice, but they could be more friendly.

    nice hotel. the room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good, they have a variety of sweet and salty. The room has a nice AC which is very nice to have in summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Overall it’s a good facility, pleasant efficient staff and very clean. However
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning wasn’t great. I set it at 19 degrees at full flow, but by morning it had only come down to 22.5 degrees. That coupled with the fact that you provide only a duvet and I didn’t have the option of a blanket meant I spent a hot sweaty night and I slept poorly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My 40+ body could not handle the beds. They were too soft. I woke up with aches and pains. I need more support.

    Wonderful location! I was within walking distance of Central Brussels. The staff was very helpful when I asked about taking the train to Amsterdam. The train station is also within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff fantastic, exceptionally clean and modern hotel. Spacious rooms with espresso machine and kettle and large tv The staff are at your disposal for everything. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.9
    Nice and big room, near Rogier metro station, north railway...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was staying on the first floor, so street lighting was a bit disturbing on the night.

    Nice and big room, near Rogier metro station, north railway station and Brussels shopping street. In the room coffee and tea making possibilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, well equipped room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy - due to location.

    Very clean, well equipped room! Breakfast - good choice of food. Convenient connections - train, bus, metro. Short walk to Grand Platz

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean room - great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a small armchair in the room. Bathrobe was only available on demand.

    Nice, clean room - great location Great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and professional service, perfect for transiting guests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property was a perfect place to rest following a long period of travel. The room was very comfortable and the amenities were thoughtful. It is close to the north train station which made onward travel easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Beds were comfy; showers were great - what more d'you want!?!?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to be more transparent in regard to the hotel taxes that were paid by my sister that arrived to the hotel first, even though it was in my name! Maybe I did not read the small-print, but they need to be more explicit about extra charges. Also, tinned fruit at breakfast- sorry, that's a no-no!

    I stayed at the hotel as I was attending the Couleur Cafe 3 day Festival over the weekend (which was absolutely brilliant). I think the best part about the hotel was the location - it was not far from a Metro station (Rogier) and had a nice shopping centre with quite familiar shops. The staff were friendly (indeed the Belgians were great)! Definitely will be going again ;-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.8
    best value for money if you are for business in town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second day the breakfast lounge was to crowded and some of stuff was out and it was difficult even to find a table to sit. If you are in hurry that is not very much appreciated, because obviously you can not spend much time to wait for a table

    A very nice and convenient hotel, quite close to the center but also to some EU buildings. Given the location it was not expensive and therefore it is a very good choice. It is a business hotel, without fancy stuff but probably that is what you need if you travel for business.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and clean place with nice lobby and quite...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel - near railway station Brussel Nord is not the safest one. Couple pickpocket robbers seen around the hotel neighbourhood. So in case of going out in the evening from the hotel, be very cautious.

    Comfortable and clean place with nice lobby and quite spacious rooms and big king bed. Room was made up everyday by the cleaning personnel. Although indifferentiated, the breakfast is good, especially with french style croissants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    4.6
    Noise for works. Good staff but unfair head of the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of noise. I had to unexpectedly leave one day in advance (I knew it at 4pm) and they did not even returned to me the money of the breakfast for the day after. I will definitively go somewhere else when I will be back to Bruxelles - Rogier area- for work.

    Business environment, clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was originally at the back of the hotel, so was incredibly hot and stuffy from having the sun shine into it all day, and there was no fresh air to come in by opening the window. The air conditioning can only be set between certain temperatures, so felt like it was blowing warm air out.

    The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. I was able to move to a different room after telling the staff about the original room being too hot and uncomfortable. The hotel is in a really good location too. A straight walk down brings you past Rogier station, through the city centre, ending at Grand-Place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.5
    well matched to price point given local alternatives
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    air conditioning unit that blows and gurgles even when 'off', so constant noise when trying to sleep. breakfast standard for brussels hotels, so not worth it.

    proximity to work place. adequate desk for working on in room. felt secure also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Surprisingly smart city hotel - but need to fix the air con!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was VERY hot, even with air con on full blast the temp never managed to fall below 24 degrees. It was too noisy outside to have the window open.

    Behind an uninspiring exterior is a surprisingly smart city hotel. Very clean rooms and high quality, modern fixtures and fitting. My room looked out at a very nice wall mural which added character. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel with reasonable quality/cost ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I had an issue. While I was on the bed (at 22h more or less), another guest get into my room. He first tried to open the door, of my room with the wrong key-card (because that was not his room). Afer a couple of minutes, he came back with a another key-card that was given at the reception desk, and he get into my room. With me inside, on the bed. This is unacceptable. At the reception they should check the names and the assigned rooms, and they should not provide a key-card to the first one that claims his card does not work without any verification. This guys have no clear procedures. The day before I tried to make a formal claim, but they paid not much attention.

    Average hotel with reasonable quality/cost ratio.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet (but have no view).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not enough space at breakfast to really enjoy it. Some extra tables would help. Also, selection of food could be better for a hotel that advertises itself as 4-star boutique hotel. It took almost two days for some repairs in the room. TV set is a small LCD type, but old and I assume not HD.

    Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet (but have no view). I liked the long table along the window so I could work in the evening. The hotel was very close to the offices where the meeting I attended took place. Also the old town is within walking distance and the railway station is nearby, so arrival from the airport is very easy and fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.0
    Ok if you need to stay near Rogier place but I would seek rather some other alternatives.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was extremely bad constantly dropping out. Breakfast is shared among three hotels: Progress, Siru and Colonies so expect heavy crowd around tea and coffee making facilities. It is a bit hectic.

    Cleanliness was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.3
    The room was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The variety of the food at breakfast is maximally for 3 stars hotel and is usually overcrowded as other two ( lower class) hotels sharing the same breakfast room.

    The room was very good. Wifi strength was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in Brussels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really!

    Speedy check in, perfect location near Brussels Nord, helpfull staff and secure location (need card to enter building and access elevators). Nespresso in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I belive this hotel requires a little renovation. Price is high but it is located 100 m from EU Commission premises so the hotel will have load of clients anyway.

    Location is absolutely fantastic. Personel is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    7.9
    Good positioned hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was awful for a couple of days. The room was clean but the carpet should be replaced, it looks not nice.

    If you have to work for the European Commission then the position of the hotel is great. Staff super friendly. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    Great place if you only have a short time in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, very close to the center, but no noise from outside or from the rest of the hotel! We didn't have long in the city so used the hotel as a base for sleeping and breakfast but it was great and just across the road from the metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the hotel was in walking distance from both the railway station, the metro station, the shopping area and the city centre, the location wasn't particularly nice, maybe also due to construction works ongoing. This was also bad because it has been noisy the whole day until around 7pm. Maybe I had higher expectations for a 4* hotel in that area.

    The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. I also appreciated the Nespresso machine in my room, and the service the reception offers to print your boarding pass.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel, 2 tram stations from Grand Place (center)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is very simple, just few of things. i was in a lot of 4 stars hotels and this is for sure just a 3 star breakfast absolutly.

    Hotel is just perfect (except breakfast). Excellent location, near Rogier, where you can take a lot of public transp. Room is larg (larger than other 4 stars hotels), Bathroom very clean with all your needs, Beds are comfortable. Nothing else to complain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    It was an average stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not up to the standard. A lower graded hotel also provides a better better breakfast. The bathroom amenities were too poor. There was no dental kit and no shaving kit that is very much needed for a traveler. Normally the travelers from other countries do not know the type of power outlet type in Belgium. Ultimately most people can't use their power outlet due to different type of input device. Hence hotel should provide an adapter to adjust but they don't. Instead, they sell the devices at a higher price which is not necessary for the guest. Fortunately, I could manage one from them after several requests.

    I like the location of the hotel. Cleanliness and staffs were okay and very cooperative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The progress is a four stars hotel which is barely a the level of a three stars hotel. The brekafast was included but it was a very negative experience: the room was so full of people that it was barely possible to move and to access the "buffet". The buffet itself was poor and the products were of low quality. Orange juice and coffee came from a machine which did not always runed properly.

    The room was OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    6.3
    Good business hotel, but overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was outrageous. The bedroom had an old carpet and would need renovation. Despite of the very high price of the room, breakfast was not included.

    THe hotel is very well located. It is much nicer inside than what it looks like from the outside. The bathroom was recently renovated. There is a Nespresso coffee maker in the room. Very good internet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was big but too soft, Nespresso machine but only one coffee capsule for a couple, the other capsule was decaf. Overall the quality of the facilities were not what you would expect for a 4 stars hotel. The shower head wasn't in good condition, regardless of the stars, there should be a minimum.

    Location is good, 20 minutes walking from the Grand Place, the hotel is in a main street but good soundproofing windows. Staff was willing to help when we mentioned the AC wasn't working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.2
    Another excellent stay in this friendly and comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is rather expensive.

    Another excellent stay in this friendly and comfortable small hotel in an excellent location near Gare du Nord and the main shopping area of Brussels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Quite a decent, multi-purpose hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is a bit small and the door is opening in wrong way for making room. One light switch inside and one outside the bathroom confused me. The shower is in the bath tub which is not all too accessible (slippery even). I had some troubles with the remote control of the television but unplugging the tv-set helped. For the rest they have a Nespresso machine in the room, a well-filled (though pricy) mini bar and room service during the evening.

    This hotel is convenient for public transport (train and subway) and access to the city centre and shopping streets but neither directly in the centre nor at the more expensive parts of Brussels. It is a convenient hotel with good general service. Not all too fancy and not the large events, receptions or business men, but handy both for work and leisure trips. The rooms are large enough with sufficient seating and room to store your stuff. Noise in the rooms from outside or the corridor is no issue though it is a busy area. Breakfast gives you sufficient variance in food choice though there can be queues for the coffee machine or even for a table at some periods during the morning. Oh: and there seems to be a gym which I didn't visit. If you look for something opposite the Hilton and Crowne Plaza but still not too diverting from the standards of those hotels, I would take this one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly but not very knowledgeable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be much nicer if breakfast had fresh fruit salad instead of tinned fruit salad.

    Staff were very friendly but not very knowledgeable regarding good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    4.6
    Needed a place to stay in order to make it to the airport for early flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were “upgraded” to a bigger room...a suite, which would have been good if we’d been with a party, but there were only two of us. We are older. The stairs were a nuisance-not a plus. Absolutely nothing interesting in the room. It was dull, plain, in a word....boring.

    A couple of people were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Safetybox was sort of joke cause of pinned to one tiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Safetybox was sort of joke cause of pinned to one tiny woods Also at the checking in the staff ask me for extra money if i take anything from minibar they could diminise from the money which i refused and asked to ckeck the room in checkout time It was too rude to ask like this

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.5
    Location next to a lot of bus and train stops, comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have more variety and better quality for the money, parking only in the park house 3 mins away

    Location next to a lot of bus and train stops, comfy bed, nice looking rooms, good location for exploring Brüssels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Ok, cheaper than others in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms smell like cigarette smoke. Bathroom garbage was still full when we checked in.

    Location was central. Price was lower than others on the same street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    This hotel is very convenient for an escape from a busy city center and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at a few minutes walk from the Metro station and at a walking distance from the pedestrian shopping area and the center of the city. My room was small but functional. It had big windows with plenty of light, a comfortable bed and a nespresso coffee machine. All employees were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Romantic Weekend in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Late checkout shouldn’t be more than 25% of the room price. 50% would equal to half of a full day. Hence a late check out from 12-16 or 13-16h, should at most be 25%.

    Very spatious rooms, friendly staff, and an amazing location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Very good location of clean, comfortable and spacious place to stay in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps nothing

    Very friendly staff, clean room, location close to Metro, just 5 minutes walking from grand central, spacious bathroom, comfortable bed. Coffee machine and water boiler with tea are plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and sheets had a really unpleasant smell. The air conditioned was not working on the 1st night and it is a bit noisy.

    Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. Location is very convenient, as it is right at the centre and located just less than 5 min walking distance of the North train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible Wifi, at least in my room (5th floor) and in the "Boardroom" meeting room: it would work fine for, say, 5 minutes, then it would TOTALLY stop (absolute ZERO) for about 2-3 minutes, then again. Only two (2) hangers in my room for my coat, jacket, shirts, trousers. Parts of the room --and the shower-- were quite narrow.

    Convenient location; clean; not excessively expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.1
    ok but over rated for 4 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First impression : you step in the main hall and get right in your nose this very cheap parfume, something between chemical roses and white spirit. i couldnt breathe neither my colleague. Please change that for something more natural coz that's terrible

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    4.6
    Poor value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was really poor, almost no fresh vegetable or fruit. Bad coffee. The staff tried to charge me twice for one breakfast and didn't even apologize when they realized they were wrong. The carpet in my room looked dirty with stains. Toiletries didn't include conditioner.

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is too soft for my taste. No complimentary bottle of water.

    The location is very convenient. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is rather big and comfortable. The wifi works fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Delightful Boutique Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent stay in this delightful boutique hotel. Super friendly and very helpful staff, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. Excellent location and very clean and comfortable - what more do you want!?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    6.3
    1. Proximity to the city center and to the Brussels Nord...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Internet was a nightmare. It was not possible to check email or use Skype. 2. They do not accept all credit cards. I was lucky to have 3 credit cards. only 1 of 3 worked

    1. Proximity to the city center and to the Brussels Nord railway station 2. Good breakfast included into the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.1
    disappointing and would not willingly return
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was too small to even keep a mouse clean. Breakfast was below average; coffee cups not washed at the end of the day

    position was just about acceptable near to gare du nord but at the top of the central district. I could walk to Grand place in 20 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel near Gare de Nord and Rogier metro with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI strength was low in my room (hence I could not connect to my VPN). TV quality could be better. One coffee capsule was already used. Breakfast had sufficient choices, but selection of meat, cheese and bread looks a bit cheap. No fresh yoghurt. The scrambled eggs need to be better prepared. More/better can be offered for 15 Euro.

    Friendly, efficient staff (quick check-in and out). Comfortable room with all facilities (even a coffee machine). Perfect location, if you travel by train (near Gare du Nord) and and near Rogier metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean hotel just north of downtown Brussels. Excellent value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst reading the reviews of the hotel, I noticed a lot of remarks about the isolation of the rooms and the noise from the streets coming in. I would have to agree with these comments. Although it did not really disturb me, you could here the traffic in the street and other sounds within the hotel. Perhaps something can be done about the windows in the future (double glazing). The Breakfast buffet was okay, but it wasn't overwhelming. As for the hot options, there were scrambled eggs and bacon and apart from that there were some cold options, fruit (not very fresh though) and yoghurt. The bread was hard and I'm not sure if it was daily fresh (didn't taste like it). Also the presentation was not very appealing, so I feel that some improvements can be made here.

    The Progress Hotel really exceeded my expectations. Located very close to Rogier Metro/Tram station, it is situated in a nice part of Brussels (just north of the downtown city center) and you van reach downtown easily by local tram. I was impressed my the cleanliness of the hotel in both the public areas and in my room. The room was very well equipped and featured a nice Nespresso coffee machine, safe, hairdryer and complimentary amenities. I loved the fact that there were lots of mirrors in the room and there were plenty electrical sockets for my electrical appliances. The lighting in the room was very pleasant too. Bedding was good, nice and comfortable mattresses and linens. When looking at the quality of the hotel versus the price that I paid for the room and breakfast, the hotel was true value for money and I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    Nice little place and very convenient transport access around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As wifi is shared among 3 hotels (Colonies,Siru and Progress) it is not stable and speedy during peak hours (after 10 pm)

    Helpful and efficient staff. Very full American breakfast buffet (scrambled egg, ham, turkey slice, crispy beacon, variety choice od bread and spread, cereals bowl, fruit, juices and coffee machine)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The last night we couldn't turn off the tv (even when we tried the power button on the device) or change the channels. The coffee maker didn't work properly.

    Very clean. It is in a safe area, close to gare du nord and 15 minutes away (on foot) from the grande place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    9.2
    Was a nice hotel but seemed to cater more for business travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much character. No views. More of a business hotel.

    The room was a good size and very clean. The location is excellent, close to public transport. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.3
    alltogether ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk was not so good. I have waited when I have arrived (though there was nobody else arriving before me), and when I was leaving I had to wait even more. The funny thing was when the guy did show up he was very quick and efficient, but it took him 15 mins to arrive although he did know we were there at the desk waiting.

    wifi was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    5.8
    מיטה גרועה .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    מיטה גרועה . מזרן ישן עקום בלוי A bad bed. An old mattress is crooked and worn

    מיטה גרועה . מזרן ישן עקום בלוי A bad bed. An old mattress is crooked and worn

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    5.8
    okay but not worth at all for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doesn't worth for the money. 10-15 min walk to the center but I had stayed much better/ central hotels half of this money. Plus, you can not increase your room temperature more than 22,5 C (means cold for me if it is already freezing outside). You can not charge all your electrical devices at the same time if you switch off your lamps (doesnt make sense but true). But the staff was helpful to give an extra blanket or a heater for the room. For charging I had learned from the 1st day and kept the lamps if had to charge. Due to my limited time, there were not any central hotels left but that one is the last one in my list now in Brussels especially after paying double price.

    Staff at the reception very helpful and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    8.8
    nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the wifi was spotty in my room. the AC was inadequate...it was either too cold or too hot in my room. if i managed to reach the desired temperature and turned it off, the room got cold in 15 mins. i was forced to have it turned on even at night which was uncomfortable as it was loud and i could clearly feel the draught when in bed even thoug the heating setting was switched on

    nice staff. comfy bed. spacious bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good and clean business hotel with a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was just ok but I expected more from a 4-star hotel. And the shower didnt have a door, there was a shower curtain. They should have fixed the door before.

    Convenient location, just at the end of the shopping street Rue Neuve and big/comfortable rooms. The coffee machines in the rooms are really good for coffee lovers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel close to city center and the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is too expensive, I didn't take it.

    Very nice hotel close to Rogier metro station, and the city center. Extremely accessible from the Zavantem airport (take the train, in 15' you will be there) Comfortable room and bed. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to change to the room as refrigerator wasn't working well .. We spent 30 mins waiting for room service to come and take an action ..

    The bed was comfort and big enough .. The room and bathroom were very clean .. Easy check in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable beds, nice clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some of staff do not speak English - problems with communication when checking in. Really poor breakfast - not worth that money, better to eat outside. And the last thing, maybe not directly related with the hotel itself. Strange situation with taxi ordered by the hotel - another taxi driver attacked us saying the hotel orders no official taxi...

    Very comfortable beds, nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room is small and badly organised. It is shared with an adjacent hotel and it extremely crowded. Personnel does not replenish the buffet or clean tables fast enough.

    Excellent location. Very nice room with everything needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    8.3
    Great location and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no bath in our room so we asked to move, they moved us to another room with a bath which was great but then there was an issue with the toilet and we had to move in the middle of the night to another room without a bath! The staff were usually very nice but the person who moved us was not apologetic at all.

    Comfy bed, very clean, good location- a short walk to the centre

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: