Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sandeshoved 2 stars

Zeedijk 26, 8620 Nieuwpoort, Belgium

#7 of 8 hotels in Nieuwpoort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2486 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers many rooms and possibly different quality standards for different prices. This was not clear when booking. The paid amount in euros for a night in a double room with breakfast included has in my view a reasonable price quality ratio, but not a great deal. I think I had the bad chance of being one of the latest guests booking on that day and I suppose the hotel was full . The hotel has a nice location possibly with nice sea views, but it has a dark side as well with rooms facing a dirty backyard. I got a small room in this side of the hotel. The shower was not working properly. I was asked at 3:00 pm to wait until 4:00 pm to get the room cleaned and there were no towels in the bathroom when we checked in at 4:00pm. Customers are asked to check out before 10:00 am the next day subject to the payment of an extra night. I suppose the hotel has enough time to clean the rooms and leave them impeccable which was disappointingly not the case when we arrived.

    The location and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff seemed unsure about where we could put our bags as we were a couple of hours early for check-in at 4pm. When we arrived, the lobby was PACKED with seniors who had no problem pushing you out of their way. It was very chaotic. We had to stand inside the restaurant and guard our bags. I watched as the seniors went up to the bread basket and touched every roll before picking one to take. Mamma Mia.

    The bed was very firm and comfortable. I loved the pillows. The view of the beach is spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had only just back to room after breakfast and the cleaning staff was trying to kick us 2 hours before check out time.

    The location was very good for the beach and the shops and restaurants for the coast end of town, and only a short tram ride for the main town. Which was walking distance if u didn’t want to take the tram.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was worn down. A little too expensive for what it was worth. We were lucky to have sea view though.

    Well situated on a beautiful and clean beach. Perfect in that sense.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative we have is that the mattresses were poor, lumpy, and uncomfortable to sleep on. Other than that, a great place to stay.

    The hotel is right on the beach and our room had a fantastic view of the North Sea. The underground parking was fabulous and totally worth the few extra Euros. The breakfast was good even though it was quite crowded when we went.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt like I was a bit bait-n-switched here. When I was viewing the place on Booking.com I see pictures of a large high-rise right on the beach. I even requested a beach view but upon arrival I was told that I am staying in the hotel next door in a large apartment which I really didn't need that looked at the street behind the beach. The apartment could sleep at least six and I only needed two beds for my two kids and myself. The apartment facilities were good but it was a bit dirty. The first thing I noticed was a toilet brush next to the toilet with poop all in it. Come on man! There were several things broken too to include a hook to hang your coat on and the hanger for the shower nozzle. The apartment looked right down on the shops and into the other apartments across the street. I later realized that if you had your blinds open and lights on your neighbors could see everything you were doing. The parking was a bit weird too. They charged extra for parking and there was no real good place to park temporarily to check in. I had to put my hazard lights on and leave it in a iffy place then get a key which I had to open the garage doors manually and park under the beach.

    The breakfast was pretty decent as long as you can deal with the typical European crowd chaos. Many Americans might construe the people as being rude but as an expat I have learned this is the norm. I really enjoyed the fresh crepes. The location was good too as you have the beach and the shops nearby. I asked my five year old daughter and she really liked the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very large room with view to the sea Thanks to our reservation code 75691 we got a room with 2 separte beds and a large kingsize bed breakfast very good and plenty of fruit very kind staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite often our room was not cleaned until after 4pm. Because it was so late they were always rushed and the room was not cleaned properly.

    Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time I will book a sea view.

    Excellent and varied breakfast served early as I like it. Room was large and comfortable. Good wide seafront area and harbour cruise available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise; the rooms were not very soundproof. I could literally hear my neighbour snore. The room front doors scraped over the floor (probably to counter the noise a bit), but this caused a lot of friction noise. You might want to bring earplugs. The interior was simple and clean but felt a bit tattered in some places, like cracks in the sink and bathroom tiles and a pretty loose door handle. The towels were quite rough. The view from my room was pretty disappointing for a hotel at the sea-side. This is probably because I booked the cheapest option (and it is perfectly acceptable for a one-day business stay) but I would have relocated If I spend my holiday here. Not really a complaint but a heads up for fellow late travelers, make sure you bring €20,00 for a deposit of the the room key card.

    The place was clean, the breakfast excellent. Also a very friendly staff. Amazing to wake up with the sound of seagulls and a walk on the beautiful beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was not so friendly. They did not Tell us that there is a Parking possibility for 6 € per day nett to the Hotel

    Near the Beach and nice and clean family room .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chaotic situation in the breakfast and dinner room as well as the fact that nobody cleans the buffet and the floor during eating time.

    The location and the space in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room (me and my son) and we received an appartement. Breakfast was superb with fresh made pancakes! You can park your car until 2 'o clock the day after. Very friendly staff. The beach is just behind the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served buffet style and is plentiful and varied. However it is very busy and I felt the young staff members were not very proactive in assisting customers to make the most of the experience.

    The hotel is right on the promenade and we were lucky enough to have a sea view room. The room was clean and comfortable. It is a busy hotel and popular with older clientele (during our one night stay at least). The parking, which we booked directly with the hotel at a cost of €15, is underground and very clean and safe. The hotel is very conveniently situated for local restaurants and bars and of course for the beach and promenade activities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible small room dirty carpet no air condition Window on 4th floor hazard for children and pets We reserved parking but found directions like a maze Difficult to find underground hazard spiral staircase Would not recommend hotel Health and safety needs to be improved

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was dark, not very big and overlooked the highly unattractive rear of the hotel; pipes, other bedroom windows, a flat roof and some sort of large heating unit. The two lifts were constantly busy. We were on the second floor and found it easier to take the stairs but this could be an issue for anyone staying on a higher floor. The room itself looked 'tired'. The rack of clothes hooks was falling out of the wall. The parking/ paying for keys system was for the benefit of the hotel although I do understand that keys go missing. On arrival, you have to pay a cash deposit for the key. You cannot pay for everything at the same time on check-in. This means you have to queue at the reception desk several times: once to check-in, pay for the parking and get the key to the parking area, once more join the queue to pay for the room in the morning and then again join the queue to return the key and get the deposit back. The bathroom was a wet room with a great shower but put your foot towel, just outside the bathroom door. Leave nothing on the bathroom floor - even in the sink area, or it will become sodden very quickly.

    The hotel was right by the beach so location was excellent. There was parking in a secure underground parking garage under the hotel. Great shower and wifi. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy hotel with - maybe our bad luck - a huge amount of children that did not go to bed before 2 at night and were extremely loud.

    Location at the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sensitive to the sound of bathroom extractor fans in adjacent rooms. Don't know occupants can stand the sound. Turning the lights off stops the fan and prevents the sound being transported along the ducting. Common hotel fault, many much worse than this hotel.

    Comfortable bed, sea view balcony, Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Official breakfast starts at 08:00

    It is in no way a 2**. It should be at least 3***. If not higher. It is right on the boulevard, 50 meters from the sea. Breakfast buffet is sufficiant but the seaview while eating makes breakfast great! Inside and outside seating😀

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In June the hotel caters to older seniors : not exactly a young crowd French is no longer spoken willingly

    The Location right on the sea front is excellent I booked a room and they upgraded us to a studio apartment with a kitchen and even a separate area for the beds Very clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 50 minutes to check in Booked two adjoining rooms and were allocated rooms in to separate hotels Staff unhelpful

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room is too small

    Good location, good breakfast and very reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They heating on to high

    The friendly of the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, cramped showe room

    Well situation and all the amenities were there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to contact the reception to get the room cleaned, absolute no go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not drain properly.

    The room was clean and featured a lovely balcony with ocean view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kamerhygiene en accommodatie

    Ligging hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was full.

    So close to the beach, nice walks, rich breakfast and family atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moquette needs to be replaced

    Courtesy of personnel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noiseness at night, thin walls

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night clerk sent us to the wrong building which at 2am was irritating.

    Comfortable beds, breakfast, situation. Friendliness of stAff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ligging

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed. Cleaning. Shower&toilet to small

    The pan cakes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds. Right on the beach. Fitted my family of 5 (three children 10,12,16).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No great, the reception staff were incredibly rude. I had to ask several times for towels. Not a pleasant stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no parking spots available without reservation

    nice breakfast with a lot of choice !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small, musky rooms.

    Great location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seperate garages in an underground parking. Next to the promonade which is right next to the white sand beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    la situation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room in relation to cost very poor, reception staff rude!

    Amazing location! Great view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing but the pillows were not comfortable at all

    Excellent evening meals and lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not working wifi, no clean towels

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room wasnt well maintained. Old and depleted furniture. toilet accessories were very old too

    The location is very good. right on the beach and right next to the markets. Thumbs up for that. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to request a move to a different bedroom as we found evidence of bugs on the sheets the following morning of our 2 day stay. There was no carpet in first bedroom, the room was very dingy and not worth the money.

    The location was good and underground parking facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom too far too small with very little space to put anything. Although the wet room door had a rubber seal on the base water came in through the hinge causing thefloor to be wet The bed had a foam mattress and sythetic duvet which meant that I hardly slept at all

    Location and car parking

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Second day there was no hot water in the shower, and since there was no phone we had to tell it directly to the reception. The only reply was "we are going to notify it"....

    Situation, breakfast, room

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The accommodation was horrible: I ended up in a studio with cooking facilities (no cutlery or plates provided) and the bed was a fold up! I thought I stepped back in a 70's movie when it comes to the decoration. A whole bunch of minor defects I am not even going to mention.

    The location is and breakfast are the only two things I liked.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Geen microgolf op kamer of waterkoker. Enkel een oven en kookplaat. Ik ga echt niet koken op vakantie ')

    De kamer was echt heel mooi en met Zeezicht. Prachtige locatie. Ik ga volgend jaar zeker weer boeken.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cleaning staff only spoke french. The bed was too soft for me and the room was rather small.

    The location is perfect. Breakfast is delicious. Great shower!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Fast check in. Stuff very helpful and happy to di so. Room and bathroom and kitchen very tidy and clean. Stunning view, BEAUTIFUL! Simply one of the best places to stay on Belgium coast for that price. We wish to stay longer, will come again!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How ever low your expectation can be, you got it wrong... It's even worst! Don't go even near from that place!

    Nothing to like about this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -there was smell of cigarettes in the room

    -room with a view on the sea and beach -clean room -we arrived before check in time, but we immediately received a studio

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    terrible beds, and a lot of stuff gets "forgotten". Like a babybed and repairs. Had a nice time because of the area

    Staff, restaurant, location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We asked (and obtained) a see view room a had a back view We had very noisy neighbours all night long

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bedroom - and twin beds - were small. Bathroom was tiny and shower was dark so hard to see temperature

    great location right on the seafront

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too many people, mass hotel, slow wifi, costly for what you get

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unorganized! Too many guests running around for breakfast, but not enough personnel. Very busy hotel. Personnel not so helpful.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    windy

    great breccy lovely location pity about the weather

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi did not work in room away from lobby

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terasse bord de mer

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good value

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ligging

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No free table for breakfast No fresh fruit

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel urgently needs a face lift

    location

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Couple

    ontbijt,kamer

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We received an appartment instead of a room.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: