Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Stokerij 3 stars

Hoge Dijken 2, 8460 Oudenburg, Belgium

#2 of 5 hotels in Oudenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom furnishings had a rather tired seventies feel. Aircon had Woking fan but no cool air which in high summer could be a problem.

    Excellent home produce giving meals high quality homely feel. Lovely breakfast with proper bacon and eggs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a perfect location. It’s out in the country with easy access to Bruge and the coast. The location gives you the chance to unwind after a tiring day of sightseeing. Ingrid, the owner, makes such a wonderful breakfast, and her fresh squeezed orange juice is amazing. Ingrid will direct you on the best places in the area to see. And, for us Americans, she was happy to give me all the ice that I wanted. 👍 The bed is large and comfortable, the food fantastic, what else can I say, just stay there and you won’t be disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overnight stop a few miles from the motorway, very comfy room with a modern bathroom. All the food was home cooked and very good, Lovely place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel is wonderful

    this a hidden gem of a hotel not to far from the autobahn,nice quiet location good quality own produced food all cooked or baked on site really enjoyed are stay; we forgot to pay our minibar bill this hotel was so good after driving up the road for ten minutes i rembered and returned to pay the bill. stay there you will really enjoy it John Coan widnes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was terrible, mattress and pillows needed replacing. When asked for breakfast only half of order was delivered and not cooked as requested.

    The only thing I can say is that the only good thing about this area was the restruarant Commanderie where we had dinner. It was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful location in the Belgian countryside and still convenient to the Chunnel (about 1.25 hours). The staff was exceptional; friendly and helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This guest house offers the best home cooked breakfasts and the most comprehensive selection of beers and spirits. The dining area affords views across open fields and countryside. The rooms are unusual in that they are individually named rather than numbered and our room was themed on 17th/18th Century ships.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoughtful owner who provided vegetarian dinner as well as breakfast for us. Beautiful location in the Belgian countryside- felt like we were in the middle of a work of art. Quirky character of the hotel with various art pieces in the entrance area and garden in particular. Gorgeous homemade bread, real butter and meal. No supermarket food here! Comfortable bed with ability to control bedroom temperature. Handy location in relation to travel on E40 (Calais to Germany).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and VIP package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nicecly decorated. We got a warm welcome by our host and the breakfast was good. We borrowed bikes and explored the surrounding area. All in all our stay was very satisfactonary

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a small, countryside farmhouse-style hotel just 10 minutes from the E40 motorway, close to Ostend and Bruges, and 60 minutes driving time from Calais. Although I hadn't pre-booked dinner, they served me an exceptionally nice half-chicken + vegetables + bread (all home grown/made) within 30 minutes of arriving. Very nice grounds and surroundings; lots of farm animals on view. Lots of hot & cold choice at breakfast. My room ('Antique') was characterful but with very modern bathroom equipment. Ingrid and husband were very friendly and helpful. Very recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost too much for what you get. Basically a b&b with cheap fixtures. Room was cluttered. Wood floor had lose boards. There was no convenient place to charge a cell phone. Stains on some of the towels. No chocolates as promised or mention of hot tub as advertised. No idea what other reviewers loved so much to give it such high ratings.

    Nice staff. Location near both Brugge and Oostende. Quiet location outside of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine was offered but no price indicated and we were therefore presented with an expensive bill on check out.

    Lovely quiet location and pet friendly. Able to eat an evening meal on site cooked by Jan the owner and served by his wife. Room was small and quirky but clean and adequate for an overnight stay on the way to the channel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle for making coffee/tea not in the room but must be requested. However, owner happy to supply. (Lack of) soundproofing in our room may be a problem for some- at times we could hear noise from other rooms. Must stress that this was not at all a problem very late at night.

    Lovely farmhouse in a good location- only 20 minutes drive to Bruges. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner including helpful maps and advice on sightseeing. Breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful- as a bonus the owner's husband bakes the bread and cures the delicious salmon for breakfast. Big and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not complaining when I mention this, but I'm a vegan, my partner is a vegetarian, and while the homemade bread was ridiculously good, I would like to see a bit more non-meat and dairy options. I honestly did not have a problem with this specific hotel, because like I said we had a grand time. I just mention this because it would be great to see a bit more being done to accommodate veggieheads like myself :) But again, I know we're in the minority (especially in a place that is as in love with seafood as they are in that region of Belgium!), so this is more of just an idea/suggestion. Besides, I think everybody should eat more veggies :D

    The hotel had the personality of a B&B, with the amenities and professionalism of a good hotel. The owners/operators were absolute dolls. The breakfast - which I had seen a lot of people mention when making my booking - totally lived up to the hype. The area is close to lots of places we wanted to see.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no good for people who cant climb stairs

    the home made bread and beautiful cheeses were a lovely start to the day, served by a cheerful owner and a very accommodating partner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, breakfast was superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not make the Jacuzzi to work. Perhaps user error ...

    Excellent breakfast, great staff with great hospitality and highest service level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, booked in dinner, comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The isolation and the kindenss of the staff you fell home ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, clean, lovely rooms, excellent service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very comfortable and romantic with hot tub and homemade oil and soap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place, very good breakfast with express scrambled eggs and very good local cheeses! It is very good to have a big bathtub in the

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and helpful staff .. good spread of breakfast and yummy dinner by the chef.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique character of the rooms. Great hospitality offered by hosts and staff. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome. Comfortable bed. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom with jacuzzi.lots of extra special touches. Bathrobes provided.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    drink prices were an absolute rip-off and no price list in evidence until the shock of the final bill

    lovely building and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel! The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We should have stayed for longer period!

    From our first welcome with a cold beer for me and coffee for my wife nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The home baked bread at breakfast and the cheeses were fantastic. They arranged a splendid restaurant for us and gave advice on visiting Bruges. Spa double bath an extra bonus. It could not have been better. Absolutely brilliant place.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only downside no complimentary tea coffee or kettle in room ,expected by English ,but to be fair they mainly cater for Europeans

    warm welcome great attention to detail ,real candles lite in our fabulous bedroom

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We thought the hotel would be closer to Brugge. You need a car to get to Brugge. We did not know how to get free bus from station to city, so we spent €24 unnecessarily.

    The couple - Ingrid and Jan - who run the hotel are very helpful. Jan does all the cooking using local ingredients. Breakfasts are fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Returning to Belgium to celebrate our Golden Wedding and visit our honeymoon haints later then expected due to ferry delay we were greated with a glass of wine and although the restaurant was closed an excellent evening meal was prpepared. Our room was excelelnt with added Godlen Wedding extras on the bed. The Homemade breakfasts were wonderfuland we enjoyed the Jacuzzi bath

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location. A warm, friendly welcome. Great, home-cooked breakfast. Friteur (Belgian chippy) within walking distance for a late, easy dinner.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly, the hotel does not serve evening meals, but there are several good restaurants within a 20 minute drive.

    A very quirky hotel, in beautiful surroundings. The staff are utterly astonishingly helpful, and the rooms are so imaginative.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfy bed, gd supply of free toiletries, clean with excellent breakfast with homemade breads etc. Also catered for gluten free guest. Quiet location but close to Brugges.Definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly in the extreme , caring thoughtful owners who welcome you to their hotel as a favourite friend would welcome you to their home. This really was a very special experience for us from start to finish.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Limited space in hotel restaurant reduced flexibility for evening meals (required reservations in advance), but there were several good options in nearby towns.

    Nice quiet location, large clean rooms with bathroom and close proximity (less than 10 miles) to Brugges and other locations.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want to eat late, Brugges is the only place to get a bite after 8 or so. So fill up on a wonderful dinner at the hotel, or eat while out. Not a complaint, as we rate them the best B&B in Europe, just an FYI

    We stayed with our dog for 2 nights. The staff was great. We arrived late, but they were ready for us. The rooms were large, and we were greeted by light candles. The breakfast is baked on site, and we could eat the fresh bread all day. Great location, as Brugges is only a 15 minute drive. Very pet friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ingrid and Vanessa were wonderful hostesses. I lost my purse and they went to extraordinary lengths to help find it. From the first moment we arrived they were very gracious. The food was excellent, also. Would return if we could in a heart beat.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked this hotel on the basis of such good reviews so was expecting something special, how wrong I was. On arrival, despite the e mails telling us to let them know if we would be arriving outside a 2 hour slot of 4 till 6, the reception door was still locked when we landed at 10 past 4. The lady on reception couldn't get rid of us quick enough, mentioned something about other rooms with a shower being booked up and showed us to what could only be described from the outside as a shed in the garden. On entering the room, it did look well appointed, although the 4 poster bed did seem excessively large in comparison to the rest of the room. The separate bathroom was large and well appointed with a very large shower and a whirlpool bath. I thought things were looking up but no, we were told in no uncertain terms, we hadn't paid for a room with a bath so we couldn't use it and just for good measure I noticed the bath plug had been removed just in case. Unbelievable attitude. I didn't want a bath, didn't book or pay for one but having been put in a room with one, to be told I couldn't use it as I would have to pay more money was laughable, my wife couldn't believe what she heard either and asked the lady to clarify that we couldn't use the bath. Well, we had paid for air conditioning in the room and the old unit by the door was controlled by a remote which wasn't working and the casing at the front of the control was smashed. The tiny TV looked like it was over 10 years old, the picture quality was poor and the WiFi was extremely poor, although it did work intermittently with the strength of signal fluctuating. There was no DVD player in the room, again, something described as being present in the room description we paid for. The aircon and DVD points didn't really bother me but it did put into context the penny pinching attitude of this place regarding the bath.

    Peaceful location. Proximity to a lovely and friendly restaurant called t' Oosthof at Snellegem ashort drive away.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Friendly and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room,fantastic ambience, food to die for!

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was charming and the owners were very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Couple

    Food

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The friendliness of the countryside

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    every thing

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet rural location

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner at the hotel with the other guests cooked and served by the owner couple.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very welcoming & friendly owner. The disabled accommodation was well thought out but still very stylish & different.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere, the antics the different locations to eat.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    smaller room,higher prices

    cosy atmosphere, beautiful surrounding, excelent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is excellent, personnel is very kind, and the room was extraordinary...easy to find..

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    The room was large enough to accommodate our entire family. The beds were comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The surroundings The hotel itself - decor and the beautiful room The family who were so helpful Tommy the dog!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi Only worked in limited area.

    Very good breakfast. Great friendly evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everythinh

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is amazing. Have dinner here,you will not be disappointed

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel De Stokerij traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: