Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Bassin 3 stars

Visserskaai 1, Oostende Centre, 8400 Ostend, Belgium

#7 of 34 hotels in Ostend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is quite a lot of building work going on in the area at the moment, but that is probably true for the whole of Belgium and the hotel can hardly be blamed for that.

    We stayed Bed and Breakfast - our room was well-equipped and the continental breakfast was excellent. The hotel is just a couple of hundred metres from the railway station and the coastal tram, so it's absolutely perfect if you want to explore Belgium (which we did - extensively). The bar is reasonably well-stocked with Trappist and Abbey beers, and is reasonably priced. Just a kilometre from the hotel is Ostend's 'hidden gem' - Maria Hendrikapark, with its lake and forest walks. Be sure to check out the restaurant on the island in the middle of the lake. A couple of bars worth visiting - 't Zeezotje (a few hundred metres down the road) and Lafayette Music Bar (near the casino).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound isolation. You can hear adjacent room occupants.

    I had a room in the new part (looks like they have merged 2 buildings); it is brand new with new rooms, beds etc. I don`t know what rooms are like in the old part of the hotel. Mine was spacious, with nice deco and very nice bathroom. As it was brand new, it was very clean. Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, very cosy room. Very nice breakfast. Omelette from real eggs, no egg powder. Coffee making facilities in the room. Ideally situated. Close to the rail station, the sea, the ferry across the harbour, the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was exceptional. The service was friendly & efficient. Everything was just as described. We were delighted with the service Booking.com provided. We will definitely be recommending your service to our friends. As indeed we will with the Hotel. We have in fact already rebooked using your services and into the same hotel in 8 weeks time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Liked all aspects of the Hotel.,Slept well beds comfy, room nice and warm on first floor,clean ,not very big but big enough, breakfast was very good lots of choice.Staff very welcoming Dined in the Restaurant no complaints at all .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All ok have used before

    Excellently situated within walking distance of railway station and near several good restaurants food at hotel good Rooms rather small but comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from hotel in good location we had harbour view was nice but a bit of a pain when the bridge went up cause of the bell ringing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view when you don't have a harbour facing room is pretty rubbish

    Good location close to the station, harbour and ocean. Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from and a nice dining hall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to do with the hotel but (due to family) have been visiting Ostende for over 25 years and with the opening of the Channel Tunnel it has become a bit of a quiet place to visit. Not the place it used to be

    Stayed here before. Good location, good breakfast (continental type) Clean and tidy quite good value for the money. Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The whole thing was lovely! The room was clean, tidy,very comfortable, bathroom excellent,had tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was excellent, the fruit salad and granola were especially good. It was convenient for us with our travelling. The staff were very helpful and friendly - we had to bring a cello in to the hotel for safety overnight and they couldn't have been more helpful and stored it for a couple of hours the next morning. We stayed at the start of our trip, and liked it so much we booked another night, through the hotel themselves , for the last night. We decided to come a day earlier and they were very accommodating in changing our booking at the end.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The so called single room with harbour view is on the first floor - strictly speaking it's not a harbour view as I can only see the Amandine ship stationed in front of the hotel. There is no air ventilation inside the small single room, need to open windows for fresh air but the downside is the noise from the streets. Bed linen was not ironed and looks crinkled as if someone has used it. No staff at reception at times when luggages were left with the hotel. Limited choices of hot breakfast - mainly bread and pastries. Overall not good value for money for the price paid.

    Location very near the train station and the seafront promenade. Shower/toilet is very clean. Good wifi signal. Friendly hotel staff at check-in, provided useful information.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was very hot at the time of our stay and they do not have air conditioning,but then the weather is not usually that hot at that time of year. A fan would have been nice though.

    The staff were friendly, food was very good and the Hotel is in a good position to visit Ostend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    location staff very helpful arrived early and room was still ready breakfast available to ten thirty late checkout and let me leave my bags there as my train wasn't till the afternoon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, with a very convenient location just across the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the hotel was not ok.

    The hotel location was fine. The stuff is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hairs left on the bessheet as it was white and the others black...

    The dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, very close to the beach and to the train station, good choice if you want to know Brugge (14 min. by train)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to complain about

    The position is excellent. The breakfast was excellent. The room was more than adequate.The staff were perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some building work at the moment, but it is off season

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ligging, vlakbij station en centrum

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newly refurbished room and to the highest standards. Great location, friendly staff. Highly recommended if arriving by train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacius room well laid out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartements at the harbour are spacious. You are in the middle of the life in Ostende.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, excellent facilities. Will definitely return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, great breakfast, very comfortable room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service was excellent. The staff very friendly. They have everything to make a plesant dtay for the guest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food is excellent and the staff very helpful - we had the apartment and it was gorgeous also well located .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Value for my money. Location very good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small, I expected a little bit more place.

    Breakfast was excellent, close to the beach, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are always very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent choice of breakfast. Everything was spot on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking

    Very good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress very soft.

    Location excellent. Shower screen unprecedented for a hotel in that it did not leak! Staff welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff. Prepared a take away breakfast before the regular breakfast was open. Convenient location across the station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good junior suite tastefully decorated and warm. Good restaurant with excellent continental buffet breakfast and top notch evening meal. Good location for exploring Ostend and coastal tram

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was in room 12 oppersit the laundry room which was emitting an awful damp / wet smell that no air freshener could disguise and was basically bloody disgusting.

    Good convenient location and my room was clean and comfortable albeit a bit overpriced I thought.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast didn't start until 8am because the hotel only had a small number of guests. As I'm an early riser by nature, I had to wait a few hours before I could eat and enjoy a morning coffee.

    Great service, wonderful dinner in the restuarant.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Couple

    very small room which we knew about when booking the bath room was very tired the room was very hot and a light just outside our window prevented having a good night sleep, the room was also noisy being on the first floor we could hear the noise from downstairs

    nice restaurant good location comfortable bed and a really nice breakfast we had a evening meal at the hotel restaurant which was excelent

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room mix up. However we eventually were given a very tacky apartment next door for same price of the suite we booked. Only stayed one night so this mix up ate into our time in Ostend. Parking non existent, you have to use a huge public car park on the docs. There were only a couple of cars there when it got dark and it worried me somewhat.

    We didn't get the suite we booked, it had neen given to someone else. No mention was made of this at time of arrival (early) by I refused to have the room once I'd seen it, nothing like the one I had booked and noisy.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent reception and advice throughout. Comfortable room and a good night's sleep. Restaurant food was very good and breakfast was a good selection too.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staying just one night

    Simply stunning - loved everything. Beautiful homely apartment, really impressive decor, they think of everything. Will be my absolute first choice in future

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Ideally placed for the railway traveller. Breakfast room is a high-quality restaurant, good food and good street view. Single room was small but had good storage, street / harbour views, and a proper bath. Helpful staff, and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thoughtfully-designed room, impeccably clean with welcoming and competent staff. Breakfast buffet was perfect and included in room rate. Hotel has an excellent brasserie-restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TEMPORARY ONLY! Upgrading construction of roadsides and buildings in the area - but it was not intrusive!

    Location: beach, yacht harbour, fish harbour, railway & tram stations, cathedral, museum and central shopping area all within walking distance. Bar and restaurant facilities at hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only one toilet and one separate bathroom without toilet, the smaller bedroom on the very small size!

    We stayed at one of the apartments which is about 30 seconds walk from the hotel, very cute and comfortable flat with everything that one need, excellent TV channels for rainy days!!, staff are very friendly and accommodating, breakfast is rather good, food also is very good at the resturant!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No cleaning service or towel change on the 1st day as staff forgot! However this was put right when mentioned at reception and we did ask for a bottle of wine to drown our sorrows!!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not too easy to park outside while unloading luggage from car,all too common in Ostend sadly.

    With a fourth floor room the lift was handy.Good breakfast too

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reseraunt closed very early one evening 7.30pm as it was the low season and we could not get dinner. There were plenty of other places nearby

    The location of the hotel for all amenities was top notch. The staff were helpful and always willing to assist.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absolutley love the breakfasts here and the staff are so friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Excellent staff! Breakfast at 5:45? No problems! ;) That's great!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alles was dik in orde

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a bit small.

    Good location. Excellent value for the price. Confortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent service, friendly helpful staff, right on the harbour excellent location for bars and town.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent room and very helpful, friendly staff, good location.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too warm in the room, even for November. The rooms at the front of the hotel are too noisy.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have liked English breakfast

    Very friendly staff and in the right place

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. In house restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    near centre and railway station, friendly, good food

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I would of liked is to been able to make a coffee in our room.

    Great location, very clean and a good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mini suite was excellent. Plenty of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    apartment was gorgeous and people lovely

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great place to stay, nice town, nice view

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the station and the beach. Rooms were clean. Nice restaurant with outside dining area. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower difficult to regulate.

    Breakfast, location and very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location and ended up staying an extra 2 days.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel with easy access to all of Ostend Great weather Good Food

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small bedroom, tv offer a bit limited

    good location, good breakfast, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good food and perfect breakfast! Nice place to visit again.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Helpful staff. Reasonable price. Good restaurant.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Hotel du Bassin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: