Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun Hotel 2 stars

Rue Du Berger, 38, Elsene / Ixelles, 1050 Brussels, Belgium

#175 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1166 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was really good and right next to the hotel, however it is in a small garage and a little tricky to park if you have a larger car. The bathroom is very small and the door has a 5cm opening the floor, nothing too troublesome to me personally but it might be good to be aware of when booking. Overall good hotel, not too fancy but good value for money!

    Friendly staff and great location! Exactly what you can expect from the price. Not the fanciest hotel, but clean, comfy beds, friendly staff and definite value for money. I recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a simple hotel that's a little cheaper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    but the toilet need extra cleaning , but its okay for the price and the location , all good.

    The bed is confyyy and the location is perfect! The people who works there are nice and kind

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather restricted space in the bathroom, noise from neighbouring room and from the street, neighbouring area of the hotel in rebuilding stage.

    Perfect breakfast, very good value for money Perfect service and clever staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) The room is not even close to that it looks like in the photo, there is not enough place for one person, with 2 people inside you are like in a jail cell. When we were there, it was super hot outside, and the room has no air conditioner and thanks to its size it is even hotter inside. 2) Dirt everywhere, that "hotel" was probably renovated 50 years ago, the only thing that seemed to be clean were the bed sheets. 3) Here comes the best thing, inside of the shower you will find some soap, toilet paper and a shampoo and NO toot brushes or toothpaste. And yes, you are paying for that piece of...... 50-90 euro a night and they did not even bother to give you a toothbrush; after you go down and ask the stuff, they KINDLY offer you to BUY it from them, for 7 euros! Yepp, that is right, you have to buy a toothbrush for a 7 euro after you paid them 90 euros for a room. Do I need to tell anything more to explain that you should definitely choose another hotel?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the corridors were a little dingy.. but the room was clean and tidy. for he money - in the centre of Brussels it was good

    Staff (especially Christian) was very helpful and gave me a lot of info. Breakfast was better than expected... the pastries were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for one is already small in pictures but in reality even smaller.Place just to open a small luggage,if you go with a big one you will need to put It over the bed to have space to open it.If its only to have a bed os perfect.

    Quiet and close to two main street.You can arrive walking to the center in around 20 minutes.Personal is helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good prize..good reception....and good toilet.

    The prize is a little bit high and the toilet is not good smell.and room is to small..and the lady reception is not friendly always the face is sad.thank u..smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no soundproofing the gap under the door narrow passage by the elevator small work desk

    Quiet street All that is needed is practically deployed in the small room Pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the bed (expected worse) Tea available for guests at the reception for free (hot water from the machine and tea bags offered) Restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Actually everything meet my expectations (which were realistic).

    Sun hotel is exactly "what you paid for" - if you do not have too high expectations, it's good. Of course thanks to the mess on Ixelles this year was not so smooths.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my room, for one mysterious reason it was not possible to fix properly the shower (it was a telephone shower). Nevertheless, one could shower fine and the pressure of the water was very good. Also, because it was a small room probably, it requires ventilation other wise it might smell to "humidity". Everything was fixed once the window was open for some minutes.

    The people was friendly. It is well located, and it has all what one needs. If there is not in the room, just ask. I needed an iron, and they were very friendly and lend me one. It is value for one's money. It is a good room to stay after work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong and permanent, unbearable smell of mold from the bathroom goes in all the room, even have moments before I went to sleel I took the air refreshener from the floors corridor... It was terrific! Two chewing gums at my bed table (not mine). Hard to close door. Spots on the walls, broken window ledge, no ceiling lamp - instead just two cables. Very tiny room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite in-capacious but it is two stars hotel, so it is not so essential after all. Neighbourhood could be cleaner, not so comfortable during the evenings.

    Hotel was clean, not far from old town. Friendly staff. Breakfast was just 5 euros and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady of the reception had terrible attitude to us. She didn’t explain us nothing. Even she was rude. The room was very noisy at night. Very small room and tiny bathroom. Old furniture. Poor WiFi

    Good location. The boy of the reception was polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are quite small.

    The staff are very friendly. The location is excellent - very central but on a really quiet street. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were clean and everything worked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor repairs in the room would be appreciated. A bit noisy surrounding area at night.

    Easy to find, close to centre of the town. 15 min. walk to Central Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are too small, difficult to move in the room. No sound reduction at all.

    Location, helpful staff, been there several times, but no more than 1 night. More than 1 night is uncomfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi Worn out mattress

    Its fair for the value. The location was perfect for the purpose of my trip. The only down side is that there was no internet connection and the mattress was a little worn out. It’s perfect for a quick budget trip to Brussels or for a couple of nights if you are busy during the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is a bit small , but it doesn't bother me as along as it's clean

    1. the staffs are really friendly and helpful. 2. you can pay 5 euro more for breakfast and it's really worthy. 3. the wifi working really good. 4. the room is small but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't included in the already hefty price. The breakfast could've had more kinds of food or dishes.

    One of the staff member at the front desk was very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect luxury, but it is decent and you have your basic needs met very well.

    It was what I needed for a short stay. What I liked was that the windows opened wide. In some places that is impossible these days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slight smell of sewage once I used the bathroom but nothing as excessive as the complaints I read and it was not due to lack of cleanliness but rather the pipe system. If there are noisy people in the hotel you get to hear everything happening in the corridor and the room above.

    I chose this hotel because it was within my work budget and everywhere else was full. However it was good for a one night stay. I look for cleanliness, bed comfort and a decent shower in that order and found all three. I noticed that there were various complaints about breakfast but still opted to take it at the hotel - nothing to complain about really - see photo - it only costs around €5 and there was also cereal and hot drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are still arbitrarely blocking my account for over ten days now, though invoice paid!!! They make me take up extra duties because they are unprofessional (call bank, complaints). Very slow response to e-mails and messages (usually over 24 hours). The hotel is pretty old-fashioned. Everything creaks, and noises whenever somebody walks in corridor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV didn't work ;)

    Nice hotel for a reasonable price :) Located on a quiet street, close to main sights. 5 minute walk to a supermarket, metro, McDonald etc. The staff was friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom had even no Showergel when u had to get a shower or even hairdryer. To the people who will see this... Please dont forget to get with you a Showergel and Hairdryer.

    The room was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The structure was old and smelly. No maintenance or care of the rooms and furniture. The bathroom was very small and didn't have any space to put products like toothpaste, creams etc..

    Very close to the metro stration and a shopping street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked double bed, but got a room with two single beds put together.

    The location is not bad, a 700m walk away from the underground station. The hotel provides a parking garage for €5/€10 a day. - the provided pillows felt like concrete. + after we asked for new pillows, we got soft ones.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You couldn't swing a kitten in the rooms but sleeping is fine!

    Good value for location. Easy walking distance of a Metro Station. Friendly staff who do not insist on speaking only in French :-) Quiet. Great for a one night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is pretty small and the walls are thin, so if you have loud neighbor ours you'll have a bad time

    Good location with lots of restaurant and shops around Friendly staff The room was cleaned every day No funny smells

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Others mentioned a smelly bathroom. I confirm, there is a strange smell although the bathroom is clean. (I could close the bathroom door and it was no problem for the night)

    Clean and quiet room. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. 24h reception. My room was quite small but big enough for a night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very small and dark and it was very cold during the night. The wifi did not work in my room so I had to go to the hall to have some connection and the bathroom was not very clean.

    It is a basic room with basic necessities but it has a perfect location near Place du Luxembourg and the European area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small, and a little smelly (but not dirty). The TV had a life of it's own, changing channels automatically ... But, given the room price this is still value for money in Brussels.

    This hotel is fine for a night's stay with little 'room time'. The room was OK, bed as well. Breakfast simple but sufficient, also considering what is charged for it. Helpful staff, great location (pleasant 15- 20 minute walk to the city centre)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The top matrass is really soft and a bit larger and one needs to watch not falling out of bed, when turning over, as the bed are fairly small in width. There was obviously a problem with the shower next door, when I got out of bed in the morning I was standing in a pool of water. I hope they can fix it soon, as it ruins their house structure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matrass of the bed was quite worn out, this is the main reason for me to give a low score on the comfort. All the rest was ok and in balance with the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin. The crying baby in the next room kept waking me up all night. The little street that leads to the entrance looks a bit weird and shady. Maybe there should be a sign on the main street to indicate where the hotel is.

    The room was reasonably comfortable and good value for money. The staff was extremely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice and clean, breakfast is simple yet filling and good to start your day. The hotel overall is good, well located, I would recommend it, good value for money. If you are an easy going traveler, this place is perfect, it will fulfill your needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The region is not the best but ok, at the reception have a sign non-smoking hotel but beside our bedroom had people smoking that the smell was coming to our bedroom, coredor and lift. The pillows aren't comfortable, TV very small and blurry and toilet was smelly at the night time.

    Good breakfast for €5 and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Save yourself the trouble and do not stay here. The hotel was hard to find, they never got my request for parking so we had to park in a city garage away from the hotel, the room smelled like sewage covered up by terrible air fresheners, the window was hard to open and close, our first evening was wasted sitting in our room because our door wouldn't lock so we didn't want to leave our belongings. The staff was not helpful and would not refund us for the first night when we tried to leave after finding out the door wouldn't lock.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too small room for a business traveler. A desk for working was very minimum size. The bed was nice and big but very little space around it. Good for staying over night but a bit too small for staying longer or working.

    Great location. Walking distance from the European institutions. Good and safe neighborhood. Nice and friendly staff. Quick check in and out. Clean and warm room. Everything necessary was present. Good choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn't work and the bathroom water took so long to drain. I made the payment for breakfast but I woke up later and could not have breakfast another day and not even the money back. The receptionist was quite rude.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Very very small rooms, 2. They blocked one night in advance (immediately after booking) and take around 30 days to recover it despite the insurances from the staff that they unblock immediately. When I'm writing this review (15 days after my staying in the hotel, still my amount is blocked).

    Very good location, Inside of a shopping area. 20 min walk from the hotel to the EU institutions, and Grand Place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Telephones in the room but no instructions to call, other noisy guests and room was very cold but staff were very helpful to provide heater and duvet.

    Staff was lovely and very helpful-Excellent customer service including kitchen staff and breakfast was delicious. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so small that you have to walk on the bed to reach the floor. This type of rooms should be designed for only one single bed so you can have a place to walk in the room.

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if the place is cheap compared to the average in the area it lacks of fundamental/basic services , i.e. TV not working, bathroom door almost broken, heating off in the room. Being cheap should also not equate with being dirty. In the first room I was allocated I found a hat on the chair and in the second room there were female long hair on the floor, clearly indicating that the room had not been vacuumed before my arrival. The corridor floor is very noisy and not insulated.

    The position to reach the European district is optimal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a hairdryer - but I knew there wasn't one from the description. Slight smell in the room, but opening the window seemed to dispel it.

    Its in a quiet location as the street is a cul de sac. It is near the shops and a metro station. The wifi worked OK. Bed was OK. It had very firm pillows - like memory foam - that were quite comfortable. Lift worked. Staff pleasant and spoke English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One downside was the hum of what sounded like a generator

    Super-friendly staff. Great, central location but on very quiet street. Lovely breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a tariff of nearly €100 it was a bit shabby. One of the lights over the bed did not work. The light over the basin did not work. The shower head was fixed at a nearly unusable angle. The TV burst into life in the middle of the night.

    The location was very convenient for me. It was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some shortcomings - the room was small and there was smell from the bathroom although it was clean and tidy. Anyway I didn't have big expectations given the price so my overall rating is positive.

    Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lock on the inside of my room door was broken

    The hotel is in a great location between the Louise and Porte de Namur metro stations, perfect walking distance to visit the city. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity and a night-shop open till 1am a short walk around the corner. Staff were friendly and breakfast, although limited, was good quality and value for money. The room was small but clean, and the bed was comfortable. Staff provided me with an iron and ironing board when I asked. Wifi was fast. Would recommend for solo budget travellers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low quality hotel. Poor construction materials: 1) you hear everything from all rooms 2) all hotel including rooms smells terribly bad. Bathrooms are very poor and you smell the pipelines in all hotel. Terrible decoration. Poor cleaning I do not recommend anybody to come here. It is a waste of money

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small witch overall is not a big problem but the bathrooms are uncomfortably small.

    The location is very close to public transport stations and the staff is very helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very very very small room, very hot, the bathroom was in bad condition- the door was almost falling, the toilet flush was falling every time.

    The area in which the hotel was placed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was smelling really damp

    nice breakfast - good value - very friendly and accommodating staff - good area near pubs, restaurants, cafes, shops and really close the Metro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fittings could use some maintenance

    Simple but good value, comfortable and clean, in a good location. The staff let us leave our bags at the hotel before check in and after check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room & bathroom were very small, and in need of structural update.

    staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than enough for the money paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some air conditioning would have been lovely, but that's par for the course with Europe. The neighborhood immediately surrounding is a little rough, but it does immediately get better. The house next door was under construction, so I had to keep the windows open, which did not make for a good nights sleep, but is not the fault of the hotel. It's about a mile from the train station, all uphill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom stank of mould/damp, we had to keep the bathroom door closed. Lift is slow and unpredictable. Noisy in the street outside (building works, loud shouting in the street.

    Comfy beds, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was quite difficult in the underground, the elevator was pretty scary, the rooms were not dirty or horrible but definitely need some renovation.

    Very good location, right in the city centre, friendly and flexible staff, underground and locked parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked into our room, it was filthy. There were parts of the room that were never cleaned and had a layer of dust on them. There was even a dead moth in the corner of the room that wasn't swept away. The bathroom did not have a door and you could see had person taking a shower from the room. The wifi signal did not reach the room.

    The breakfast was decent and the location was amazing. Right next to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room is VERY small, I mean REALLY small... the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Quite disappointed to be honest. The hotel is clean, staff is nice, the location very good, and the price is cheap for Brussels, which was interesting, but the room is SO small that it was not worth it.

    The location is great, very fast check-in and check-out; nice staff. Very close to a lot of nice shops, bars, and restaurants. Also very close to the most important metro & buses lines. Also very close to the nice Ixelles and Louise areas. Walking distance from Grande Place and the city centre if you don´t mind walking 10/15 minutes. Great location indeed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect much comfort. Small rooms, tiny bathroom and improvable cleaning. Half of the TV channels did not work.

    Very good location close to Porte de Namur subway station. Breakfast was fine. Very cheap for such a central location. Early check in and late check out schedule. Good for young people or backpackers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Quiet street but near key transport. Good value for money. Simply, the best place I have found in Brussels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent price performance, exactly what I have expected. I didn't come to Brussels to enjoy hotels, but to enjoy the city :-) Extra bonus: friendly people at the reception, simple payment and simple checkout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the confusion with the City Tax. I paid already when booking the property but upon checking-inn the receptionist insisted he did not received it from booking.com and therefore I should pay it. After calling booking the matter was resolved, but if I hadn't checked my card, I would have ended up paying 4,65 € more. A further disappointment was the fact that the hotel told me a taxi drive from the airport would cost me around 30 € but it actually cost me 44€. However, I do not blame this on the hotel, rather on the taxi company.

    I suppose the location is the real strenght of this property and also the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm because an air conditioner was lacking during a heat wave. The shower head was not adjustable, and the water temperature and pressure constantly changed.

    Staff was very personal, helpful, and flexible. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos for the room was not realistic. The room was quite small with old furniture. The bathroom was recently upgraded, but the cleaning and maintenance was poor.

    The location is good, easy access to metro, restaurants, shops I was allowed to leave my luggage before check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the coffee at the breakfast. There's no real lounge or lobby where you could sit together for a while if you want to.

    It was the best price in that district of Brussels for a hotel room with bathroom. Everything was small in the hotel, the whole building is one of those narrow ones, which are so typical in the Benelux. The bathroom was also small, but clean. Also the room was clean and small :) and it was enlighted but silent as the windows looked to a pedestrian street. The bed was a new comfy double bed, the wifi went well. I arrived after midnight and it was no problem (probably 24h reception). The breakfast is not included, it should be ordered when you arrive. Staff was nice and helpful. The district is good, seemed safe at midnight too, shops, etc. are near and a Metro station is 5 min walk only.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy at night, light coming from the corridor under the door. Some items/furniture looked a bit old (slighly corroded tap , cricking sliding door to the bathroom,...).

    The staff was nice. The room was clean and functional. The value/price ratio was good for Brussels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty and small the room. You cannot take the shower that the water floods not only in the bathroom but even in the room. Furthermore there is a really bad smell in the room even if you leave open the room for the whole staying. My worst experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    actually, for this price - nothing. MB Add to the description that a hair dryer is at the reception and you need to pick it up each time you need it

    - 2 guys at the reception were extremly friendly, always ready to help with any questions arised - the single bed outlined in my booking turned out to be almost a double one, it was a wonderful surprise - the room is small, but you have evertyhing you need afterall - it is very good for individual travellers - the best thing is the location: extremly good, I wanted to get one at the Ixelles and on google.maps the hotel seemed a very gloomy place, but afterall it is situated in a very picturesque quartiere and close to metro/cafes/bars

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos look better than it actually is. Room had a damaged handle on the window, not able to be opened. The room was very dark, lights working badly almost causing a headache. Shower not working properly, no room ventilation. The elevator cant fulfill regulations, the stairs are a hazard, very narrow hallways, I cant believe it is allowed to be a hotel. In Brussels probably a cheap way to stay, yet not very comfortable and recommandable.

    Staff ok, parking nearby for good money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a strange damp smell thin walls, spent as little time in the room as possible. Photos are not representative

    Location close to old town... was clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and smelly, especially the bathroom was so small it was hard to turn around. The furniture is rather dated, the breakfast is basic.

    The hotel is well situated is a safe area not far from the metro station Porte de Namur. The staff if friendly, the wi-fi is stable and fast, which is a definitie plus. Good pillow!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful stuff, clean and quite room, good breakfast. Very good value money. Higly recommended for someone who is low on budget but needs something good, clean and in the center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not sure what this was. The bathroom looked weird, the hotel had a sweet-ish strange smell, the bed was very low. I know of course that this neighborhood in the city is always very much overprized. This may seem like a budget option in the middle of it, but believe me, when you get there, you will know you payed again double the worth of it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are vey small and some furniture needs to be renewed.

    Excellent price/quality relation. Very nice location. Breakfast was a very nice surprise for the price. Free wi-fi

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sun Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: