Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2 stars

Langestraat 1, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#86 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1960 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small, but we had a standard room and the description clearly stated that it was small. It was a good way to save money.

    The location is excellent and the value for money is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on the smaller side. Our doorknob was almost falling off.

    Great location. Right next to the bus stops coming from and going to the station. Right on the canal, however we didn't get a Canal facing room which was fine. Arrived before the check in time and were able to stow our luggage in a room and go explore the city. Walking distance from all major attractions(most of Bruges is). Be sure to carry your room key as it also unlocks the front door which is closed from 6 PM onwards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a major issue. The hotel suggests Alpha Parking nearby but took forever to find it and only fond it because of Google Maps. Staff are not very helpful in telling you how to find it. Rooms are ok but are in places a bit basic with old fashioned furniture. Brugge is an expensive place to stay with one night at this 2 star Hotel costing about 200 euros. About £175.

    Nice Canel Hotel near the centre of Brugge. Rooms are ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is no bigger than an aeroplane toilet. Way too small for comfort. It was essentially a wet room not a bathroom. Ok for 1 night but no longer

    The bed was like sleeping on a cloud!! Great nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't clear to me that the prices charged meant that your room was so basic and that, although much is made about this hotel being on a canal, in reality few rooms face the canal. Our room was the first one next to the courtyard where you got the noise from the courtyard where people sat and partied. It is helpful for people to contact the hotel with questions about what kind of room you get for the price that is quoted. We gladly would have paid more to have the room we thought we had booked.

    That breakfast was included in the price. Liked the location in the town, although given the size of the town I suspect everything is well located. Good staff interaction.They were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast and if you were coming 30 minutes after the breakfast starting hours you had all chances not to eat. Late check-in after 14.30.

    The rooms were clean and quite nice except for the bathroom. Found hair in the shower. The location is very close to the city center but quite far from the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fault was mine. Maybe I could be there un day more

    from now i will select only hotels nearby the train station... I learned that in this trip... baggage + distance = taxis and be tired...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The property is in a great location - the comfort style twin room was comfortable, clean and pleasantly decorated. Breakfast was excellent and overall the hotel is great value for money. The young staff were efficient, welcoming and conscientious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The additional charges. They were small but applied to petty items that are normally included free in the service provided. For example; cleaning charge of €2.50 per person per stay; €5 for electric jug, coffee and teabags for in-room tea and coffee making for the duration of your stay, and then wanting to charge an extra €5 when I asked for some more coffee sachets.

    The view over the canal was delightful. Reasonable walking distance to the Grand Place. Restaurants across the street and a supermarket 100 metres down the road. Frequent bus service to and from Bruges station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was super small; in fact, it was like a bathroom on a cruise ship with barely any privacy since the bathroom door was made out of plexiglass.

    Overall, the hotel is in a perfect location. If you pay a little extra, you can stay right on the canal and open your door to get a nice breeze.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom facilities were really bad, way too small. The breakfast was very poor and the room had no basic mod cons like tea/coffee making facilities or an iron.

    The view was amazing, the bed comfy enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reviews said the bathroom is small but that's an understatement. The bathroom is TINY. It's a shower cubicle with the toilet and sink fitted into it. A large person could not even get through the door let alone stand in it to shower or sit on the toilet. So if you're more than average size, this wouldn't be good for you.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Room itself was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor staff presence. We arrived at 7pm and our keys were left on the counter. Asked to check in formally at 10am that morning... no staff there then either. There was only one pillow each on the bed which lead to an uncomfortable first night as we were unable to request more as there was no staff working! It was not the cleanest of rooms. Given the title of honey moon suite seemed a bit far fetched... a battered looking 4 poster bed, an extremely dated bathroom with dry old looking towels. You pay merely for the canal view and location to Bruges. If returning I’d sacrifice the view and get a cleaner and more efficient hotel!

    Great location for accessing Bruges. Decent breakfast service too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was like an add on in the room. Was a step up, no real door, was difficult to move around in.

    We loved the location. View of the canal right by our window was great. Close to the square and all the shops and tours. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very large, with a lovely on suite shower / toilet. We did not have a room over the canal but that was OK as we were out most of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was really bad, you are better off just buying something elsewhere. The amenities in the room were lacking but that can be expected for a hotel with this rating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room (12sqm) and the bathroom. No room to move around the bed or place our luggage. The bathroom was tucked in the corner and did not have an actual door. Felt like the bathroom and bedroom were the same room.

    Location was great! Buffet breakfast was great. Also unlimited coffee from the machine that tasted decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, it was really hot while we were there, even with the window open. Had to pay extra for tea & coffee in the room. The light margarine at breakfast wasn't nice but otherwise, there was plenty of breakfast choice.

    The staff were lovely. Friendly, helpful, efficient. Great location, away from the chaos of the centre but 5/10 mins walk & you were there. Lots of restaurants on the spot. Right by 2 canals, lovely walking by them. We arrived before check in & it was no problem to store our luggage so we could get straight on with the holiday. Good amount of different foods at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the top floor. It was VERY hot with small windows/not a lot of airflow (end of May).

    Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, walking distance to main attractions, many restaurants and bars within walking distance of property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the toilet, especially the shower which was tiny and couldn't fit a normal adult inside without wetting the whole bedroom

    very friendly and helpful staff, nice variety breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer security on the luggage room, staff presence very scarce until official check in times, only two mirrors in room so good idea to have a light where the larger one is at the door, if you are tall this is not the room for you! Bathroom had low hanging beams, and steps going down to the bed, so mind your head!!

    Pancakes were a nice addition to breakfast, room was quiet, bed extremely comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately not perfectly clean room. The breakfast was okay, but would have expected more choice. Sadly they charged 10€ for a dog. This information wasn’t given anywhere.

    Good location, right at the canal. The rooms are big and staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not much better than a hostel, except you have your own room. Had to ask for new towels. The breakfast was lean at best, with a poor choice of items. Their idea of scrambled eggs was chopping up hard boiled eggs. There was no staff in the evenings, so check in would be tough after 5 pm.

    The view of the canal was great, and the location was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no toaster to toast the bread and limited vegetarian choice for breakfast. Bathroom could have been little bigger with proper doors.

    We were guided very well with places around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My 28year old Down syndrome daughter slept poorly and I asked for a slightly later check out. I was granted 1 extra hour at a cost of £20 Euro's. This is not good! I have never been charged before for genuine requests for late check out! I hope the Hotel will review it's policy around special circumstances or special needs guests!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat cramped room, mainly due to the tiny bathroom in one corner that was basically a prefabricated plastic pod possibly salvaged from the cabin of a cross-Channel ferry. Breakfast was plentiful but rather dull. Fine if all you want is corn flakes, bread and jam, and a couple of cold meats.

    Comfortable bed. Great location 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Room looked straight onto the canal. The window opened at floor/water level, making it easy to feed the ducks, step onto a passing boat... or just fall in!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cleanliness could have been improved. The bathroom door did not close so there was a gap between the door frame and the door...something to consider if you are travelling with someone you want to be discrete with.

    As many have said, the location of the property is excellent, a short walk to everything Bruges. We booked one of the suites so were lucky enough to have a solo room away from all the other accommodations; I mention this for the noise factor, we did not hear anything as there were no adjoining rooms. This particular suite had a door with Juliet balcony right on the canal, unbeatable view, in my honest opinion. One thing to note with this suite, it was ok for us as we did not spend a lot of time in the room, but note that the canal boats run about every five minutes, from morning until late afternoon and these make quite a bit of noise, as well as people being able to see right into your room (if you leave the door open), something to consider if you value your privacy and quietness. The breakfast was nothing special and I do feel that the cleanliness of the rooms could be improved.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom size is ridiculously tiny! Resembles the size of an aeroplane toilet.. no exaggeration. Absolutely fine of a short stay in my opinion, again, does what it needs to do to get you through your visit. Who needs that much room in a bathroom anyway? .. Plus you don't spend your time in a hotel room, you spend it seeing beautiful Brugge!! (probably not best for couples who may be shy around one another when using the lavatory, as there really is nowhere to hide when it comes to that) Also, the check in time in very short, from about 2:30-6pm. However they accommodated us very well as we arrived early and allowed us to keep our bags in their luggage room as we explored the city before check in.

    Lovely canal view room, just perfect for me and partner to wake up to every morning and listen to as we fell asleep. Even though we didn't stay in the room much as the town is the real beauty, it was wonderful to know we had a small cosy room with canal view to come back to. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast didn't have a huge lay out, but it's got what you need to fill yourself up in the morning to last you until lunch time.. when you can enjoy a waffle or some frites! The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from everything central, literally. Fantastic location. Would absolutely recommend for a short stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the location, room was fantastic - balcony on to the canal, great breakfast, lovely staff. Couldn't fault it. Will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room dirty and bathroom too small. We have stayed many times at this hotel and have had many rooms. This time I took friends with me and I requested a canalview with a large bathroom, not a cabin bathroom as my friends would not be happy with that. They got a very small dirty double with a cabin room. The front of house staff said they had emailed me 2 days beforehand about this. I have not received the email. I booked this many weeks in advance and they should of replied earlier then I could of changed it to a comfort double. It made the holiday very uncomfortable and it has made it a problem between me and my friends. I have stayed here about 8 times.

    Breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a total disaster. Huge gap above and below the door. Worse than a ship wc. Only way to use it if you were alone in the room.

    Fairly good breakfast. Excellent location. 2 minutes walking to a great underground parking, 7 minutes to the belfry. Nice view of the canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are quite small.

    Fantastic canal view and great location, just a 1-2 min walk from the bus stop. Very satisfying breakfast. Gracious staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely just some of the rooms in the hotel need a little tlc.

    We were in Bruges to celebrate my late fathers life, Belgium was his second home. It is very beautiful although a little expensive. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no staff despite information being the reception was open until 9pm and in the morning we had to wait until 10am to check out, which had to be done before 11am although we had plans to leave Bruges early so we had to deposit our key and leave. Therefore we saw no staff the entire stay. The breakfast was not very nice so we ate elsewhere. There were two holes in our room ceiling and you could tell they have covered up some more although the room was nicely designed and was pleasing. The bathroom was tiny and would have been an issue if we were staying longer than one night! The lift was very dodgy and small - it tried to move with the door open so if you are nervous in lifts then I would recommend taking the stairs.

    The room was lovely and bright with a nice view of the river out of large windows which opened. The location of the hotel itself was really good - in the center but away from the hustle and bustle. We were only in Bruges for one night and so it served us well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms facilities where medium to say the best, decent breakfast but not great.

    The location is very good, a few minutes walk from city center. From the hotel you have a good view of the channel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get the tv working. Wish there was a coffee maker in the room. Wish breakfast was available earlier in the morning. The beds were high and unfortunately our 3 year old fell out of his twin bed three times into the hard wood floor.

    Loved that the windows opened and had black out shades. Loved the unique style of the hotel. It was central to everywhere we wanted to go and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few things nothing major..... I would recommend that they should mention if you arrive on a sunday before 6pm the road is closed due to a market being held there. We were on motorbikes so we managed to get to the hotel. They were working in the room underneath us would have just been nice if this was mentioned to us just so we knew. Our friend had a canal view and his bathroom was a tiny triangle he had to hold the swing doors open the sit on the toliet. Again this should be advised when you are looking to book. Had I booked that room 116 as a surprise I would have been disappointed. If I knew then I could decide what I wanted to do. Just a bit more info and I dont think there would be so many negative reviews

    Great location lovely hotel on the side of the canal. We arrived laterthan planned due to directions reception had shut at 6 email had been sent with a code to get in and a lovely letter and key left at reception. Staff very friendly we happened to lock ourselves out the first night was all sorted with a phone call. Room was comfortable 106 bathroom nice size hot water at different times of the day. Love the fact they just made the bed cleaned the bins left toilet roll I am not a fan of room service so minimal was good !! Breakfast was great good choice and enough ready to walk it off around the town centre. Bruges is an expensive location this def value for money for the location. Nice litte cafe called Heavenly Cakes for a lovely cup of tea coffee cakes breakfast and lunch cheapest tea under 3 euros paid 6 euros in town. Turn left out of the hotel and follow the road cant miss it !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet seating was cramped, did not like the bathroom door, had too many gaps in it

    Bed was comfortable, heating was good, plenty of hot water good toilet flush

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in the room was way too small. In all our travels around Europe this was the only hotel that did not provide parking as part of the rate.

    The hotel is located in the perfect spot to walk almost anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was a budget hotel the price was more mid range. The "bathroom" in our room was just the corner of the room with a "saloon " type door across the facilities meaning you wouldn't want to use the toilet while your partner was in the room !

    Very good location, right on the canal and only 5 min walk from the main square. Good bars and restaurants on your door step.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast in the hotel was very sparse no tea/coffee facilities in room or in the reception like it states in your room. Bathroom/shower very very small. If over certain size IE 20 you would not be able to shower.

    How close to all the amenities in Burge. The staff that we saw were friendly. The bed was very comfortable but pillows were very flat.(Glad I bought my own)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had two rooms. The comfort double room was excellent, but our canal view room was quite poorly lit, with a very small bathroom. The bathroom also had no proper door, so there was a lack of privacy.

    The hotel was very clean, with big comfy beds. The decor was pleasing, in a non-fussy way. The staff were very pleasant, especially the cleaning staff and breakfast room staff. Breakfast was ample, with options of cereals, croissants, breads, cold meats, fruit, yogurts, pancakes, and a good supply of both hot drinks and juices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, but there's not much to do about it.

    Everything was excellent but the bathroom was tiny! The shower was really a squeeze. It didn't bother me that much but my boyfriend who is 6ft found it annoying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny!

    Location was fabulous, everything within easy walking distance. Our room was right next to the canal which was lovely. Bed was really comfortable and there was endless hot water. A huge radiator kept the room very warm. Breakfast was fresh and adequate. A great value-for- money b&b!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a budget hotel. The bathroom is just a module plunked down into the room and connected to water, so a tight squeeze. There could have been more light for reading in bed or anywhere but at the little desk lamp. No personnel readily available 6pm - 10am, which is always a little scary.

    Great location. Breakfast (with wonderful bread and good hot drinks machine) included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room or in front reception like they say in room.Breakfast very limited 2 cereals cornflakes and frosties.bread yogurt apples cold meats n croissants. Orange juice and coffee.No food allowed to your room from the breakfast.wanted to take to my son who was ill but was told not allowed to

    How close to the city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bathroom is very small and only separated from the main room with cafè doors...not a big deal, but worth noting. - Breakfast was average

    - We arrived later than 6PM (when reception closes) but we received a very clear email with directions for late check-in, which was an extremely nice touch - Room was directly on the canal, lovely view. - Very polite and helpful staff - Nice flair to the rooms - Parking available (for a fee) just 5 minutes walk away

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of staff to deal with emergencies like our 's when the key could not unlock the room and the reluctance to take responsibility for the situation .

    The location of the hotel close to the centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a tad cramped!!! No proper doors into it, basically saloon doors like in old westerns and they didn't meet in the middle... I'm glad I was sharing the room with my wife. But hey this is Europe and it didn't spoil the overall experience. Something to laugh about...

    We loved The price, The Bed, The Location, The Breakfast. The room was warm and comfortable especially considering the very cold weather outside. We'd Definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really, really small. Couldn't sit straight on the toilet. The shower cubicle was absolutely minute, and I'm a smaller person, any larger person would have struggled in there. Minimal privacy also as doors were two flimsy plastic panels with no lock and a 15cm gap at the bottom through which the feet of the person using the toilet were just about hanging out.

    Very good location, 5 minutes walk from the bleary. Nice canal side view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel overlooking canal. Kem the receptionist, was very helpful and informative. Excellently located to all sights within easy walking .Parking 14 euros a day very close by.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very bad, nothings hot!!! Nothing! Pancakes under the lamp warm up, which certainly does not help them to be hot. and even there is no microwave. in the evenings there is nowhere to take the hot water. in general for breakfast it’s epic fail

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room wasn’t a bathroom. It was the size of a shower cubicle. The door on The “bathroom” was like a cabinet door with gaps and the top and bottom so you can hear/smell everything throughout the double bedroom. I’ll just leave it at that.

    Great location. Room very modern with comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a bit tired and in need of redecorating

    Fantastic location. Literally about a maximum of 5 minute walk from the Market Square where the Belfry is located. Breakfast was fresh and the staff lovely. Would stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television had no news channel so unable to find about weather etc.

    Well situated within easy walking distances to restaurants and bars and places of interest, staff friendly. Breakfast adequate , room comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a twin room as was travelling with my brother we were given two beds together which could not be seperated it was not ideal situation as I requested twin beds and when requested stated no rooms left.

    very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I searched for hotels that had parking, this hotel does not have parking, extra 15 euro at a parking garage near by. The hotel charged me additional taxes when I got there, and additional 24 euro. The bathroom shower door fell on me while showering, not particularly pleased about that. All in all, I would not book here again, the hotel is not as advertised and the additional expenses were uncalled for, I would have booked at another hotel that was more expensive.

    The room was simple, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea facilities in the room. Very basic equipment - good for a short runaway, not suitable for luxury vacation.

    Excellent location - 5 min on foot from Vismarkt. Good bus communication with the train station (or 15 Euro by taxi at night). Decent breakfast, although nothing special. Excellent budget base to explore Brugge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was like a 1980s caravans and there was no proper door to seperate it from the room and it was cramped.The corridor constantly smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Great location, staff lovely and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was ridiculously small we had seen bigger in a caravan. Breakfast was uninspiring, bread was lovely but real butter and fresh fruit would be nice

    Location is perfect. Friendly staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration and bathroom was very basic. There were broken tiles and a kind of cement layer around the shower area.

    The room was large and warm. Excellent location. Nice croissants and warm bread.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main problem that our group had was that one of our rooms was supposed to be accessible. Reaching the room was possible, but the bathroom was too small and had a step up to enter it. It also had the soap far up on the wall so it could not be reached.

    The bath tub was fabulous in our bedroom! The breakfast was quite good including crepes, meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, juices, tea, and coffee. The beds were very comfortable. The location was very close to everything you need and yet it was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV only had a few channels working. Asked girl on reception to check but it seems nothing was improved. Her attitude was not very positive.

    Lovely top-floor room with great canal view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "open" bathroom door and the hot water kept going on and off while we showered.

    The location was perfect - on a quiet street yet so close to the main market square. The view of the canal from the room was so romantic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our welcoming was very harsh as we arrived After the reception Opening times. Also, when Looking for this Hotel, I filtered for parking included. The Hotel does Not have parking Spots. We could Park on the Street around the corner But as we were Moving and Had all our stuff in the car, we Did Not feel very comfortable with.

    The room was Nice as the Breakfast was good as Well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue that i would have with the hotel is the very small bathrooms

    Room was a great size and the view of the canal with was a bonus, bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

    Comfortable room. Close proximity to the 'city', Great breakfast-efficient. Great manager on the front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is an excellent choice if you stay for few days and want to have all major attractions nearby. It is also easily accessible. If you are looking for clean, simple and well located hotel for a low price with excellent service I would recommend this property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower was a little small with a fixed head unit which made it somewhat difficult

    excellent location. very friendly staff. good breakfast selection. very good bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t seem to work in our room - probably the room furthest from the reception.

    A fantastic room which was directly onto the canal. Breakfast buffet was also great, which set us up nicely for the day exploring Bruges. Staff were helpful, too. We chose the canal view room for a little extra, which was totally worth the money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself is nice but the bathroom is the size of an airplane toilet (and looks like it too). Everything gets wet when you have a shower - I am a slim person and there was extremely limited space.

    Breakfast is decent, location is great and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception is manned for only a few hours per day which is probably fine if no problem arises. In our case the triple radiator in the bathroom did not work and apparently could not be fixed during our stay. The water in the shower was lukewarm so showering was a very uncomfortable experience. The receptionist referred our problem to the manager who wasn't on the premises so we couldn't speak to him/her directly. The reply was that the matter was out of the hotel's control and there was nothing that could be done. We felt that in that case, some compensation should be due to us. Unfortunately the receptionist was not empowered to do that and of course the manager was nowhere to be seen. We were so frustrated by this treatment that we sent a formal complaint to the hotel when we returned home. We had no reply.

    Central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Canal View did not live up to name - windows looked out to brick wall. 'En suite' was like a cupboard - shower was smallest I have ever seen. If a large person booked in they would not be able to shower or move.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at 9:50 at breakfast room (breakfast is until 10), girl shouted at us that we went too late and we werent able to make ourselves coffee. I think stuff should be more polite and helpful. Also sink and bath in our room were dirty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We visited the hotel between Christmas and New year for one night. The hotel was easy to find and only a 5-10 minute walk from the main market square. We came from the ferry so took approximately 35 minutes to walk from the ferry bus to the hotel itself. Check in isn't until 2.30pm but there is a room to leave your suitcases and a toilet for guests. Note, there is no lock for the room with your suitcases so leave at your own risk. You have to check in before 6pm otherwise you won't be able to get through the outside door that requires your room key. Our room was basic but nice and clean. There was no kettle for tea and coffee in the room and no shampoo or conditioner provided in the bathroom. There was a hairdryer available in the bathroom. It was quite cold in the room as you cross a courtyard to the rooms which the hall way remains open. We were able to adjust the radiator to a comfortable temperature. Price was £118 for one night for two people including the city tax. Price was not too bad for the hotel itself and the time of year we visited. Breakfast is served between 8am-10am and consisted of continental items. Tea, coffee and juice, cereal, croissants, fresh bread, jams, cheese and ham. Check out is before 11am.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Canalview Hotel Ter Reien traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: