Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ter Brughe 4 stars

Oost Gistelhof 2, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#69 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2120 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Our room with exposed timbers and view of canal was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs! Assistance with luggage was not available.

    Our room with exposed timbers and view of canal was excellent. Quiet and comfortable and easy walking to all the highlights of Bruges.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.0
    it is not enough to stay in a historical residence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful historical residence but staff not kind and not friendly. shameful that a four-star hotel does not provide slippers. there is no elevator and the staff does not bring suitcases to the floor. equip yourself with so much strength to bring your suitcases to the floor or do not choose this hotel!

    Beautiful historical residence

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place and great staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of things are not included in the cost. Nearly 3 euros for a coffee or tea, there should just be a coffee machine in the room.

    Comfy bed and wonderful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent central location,friendly staff,large bedroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have preferred a proper shower and tea/coffee making facilities in room would have been good.

    Excellent central location,friendly staff,large bedroom and pleasant view outlook.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    A lovely place to spend a weekend, conveniently situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely place to spend a weekend, conveniently situated. Very appealing exterior and interior design, a cosy and relaxing atmosphere. The canal view was fantastic, both from our room and the breakfast hall. We especially loved a giant double bed with perfectly fluffy pillows and a huge blanket in the room. The morning coffee was very good indeed, and so was breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Service and location were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price has gone up over the last 6 months. No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, no showers just baths with a shower hose. No lifts.

    Service and location were very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Bruges. Walked everywhere, hotel in good location, lots to do and see, food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fluffy towels would have been nice. Otherwise all good.

    Croissants were flaky and fresh! Room was much larger than expected, comfortable bed, large bathroom, no shower, so use bath shower hose - but very manageable. Historic hotel next to water. Easy walk to town centre, once you had your bearings. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast simple but good. Can't fault it for the money, good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    It’s a gorgeous old hotel right next to a canal and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    It’s a gorgeous old hotel right next to a canal and close to the centre of town.The staff are helpful and efficient. Breakfast area was wonderful and the food was good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The small patio area is great to relax and enjoy a drink, also this area is suitable for those wishing to smoke. Breakfast is very good value for money. The whole experience was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, just a few mins walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building and you could hear everything. We had a room right by the main staircase and were woken up repeatedly by people coming in or leaving

    The location was great, just a few mins walk to the main square. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Good area quiet and quaint within a few blocks from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mature desk staff were great younger desk staff not as knowledgeable about answering questions

    Good area quiet and quaint within a few blocks from the action

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well. I like old style building and this hotel is fantastic . Staff really nice and polite , clean rooms , TV worked well, you have to hold the shower ( didn’t bother us ) Nice walk to center - amazing place to visit ! I loved it :) Super recomendo :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    A 7 minute walk to center square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, which would have been nice for my poor knees. However it would have ruined the old building experience

    An old building on a Canal. Very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and the room view to the canal, very near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not noise isolated but it’s normal in buildings in wood

    Great location and the room view to the canal, very near to center and totally my best part of trip was in Bruges, enjoyed everything there Good location specially for solo travelers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful, clean, very old (15th century) updated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom only had a bathtub with a hand held shower. We prefer a wall-mounted shower head.

    Beautiful, clean, very old (15th century) updated and tastefully decorated building, in a quiet area within walking distance to the center, but away from the crowds. Lovely breakfast room with excellent choices and windows on the canal. Short taxi ride to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    It was beautifully situated north of the market square and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could use some modern sound proofing.

    It was beautifully situated north of the market square and was blissfully removed from the more touristy scene in Bruges. A visually appealing place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and historically charming place, inside and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking was expensive and barely adequate. If our car was a little smaller, the parking space would have been easier to get in and out of. It was an enclosed garage space, which made for a very secure area, but also made getting the car in and out in the tight alley like street a challenge. There's no elevator in the building or standing shower in the bathrooms due to the historical nature of the building. The lack of elevator was not a problem for us since we were on the first floor but could be for anybody placed in higher rooms. It would have been nice to take a shower, but we fully and knowingly accepted these drawbacks to be able to stay here. We were taking a chance that panned out beautifully! Most restaurants in the area were very expensive. (No fault of the hotel, obviously, but rather due to Brugge's attractiveness).

    This hotel retains a lot of it's historical charm inside as well as out. Other hotels that we looked at in the area were in historical buildings but the interiors were so modernized that the charm was lost inside. That's not to say that this hotel lacked any comfort. We were very comfortable with the amenities; the bed, the abundance of hot water, the lighting, were all extremely comfortable and inviting. The old, heavy beams across the ceiling were very impressive and intriguing, and quickly drew us into the historically charming aura that is this place. Our room was along the canal and every evening we enjoyed opening the windows and taking in the sounds and sights of our private perch just feet above the canal, lined with picturesque buildings and crossed by ancient bridges. A substantial and delicious breakfast is served in the old cellar right on the edge of the canal with the window sills just a couple of feet above the water line. Talk about historical charm! We had an outstanding stay and would stay here again. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    The area was great, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Street or Terrace View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was most uncomfortable, and the room very warm. When we opened the window mosquitos entered the room as they did not have screens. No shower screen around the bath so water went everywhere.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely break and this was the perfect place for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting system takes a bit of getting used to, but it works. Hairdryer didn't work, but since we both have short hair it didn't matter and sadly I forgot to report it. I'm sure they would have replaced it instantly had I done so.

    A very big room with a lovely view over the canal. Beams and antique furniture. Windows that open wide letting in both light and air. Super bathroom, with a proper bath (though shower only hand-held). Breakfast in the basement room caters for all tastes. The queue for the coffee machine can build up, but the staff are extemely helpful. The walls are thick and so despite being full, the hotel is totally silent. On our last morning we wanted to stay a few more hours in Bruges, and they were very happy to store our bags and to call us a taxi when we were ready to go.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Would defo return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could do with showers and acoustically challenging but works with the building, truly authentic!

    Fantastic staff - all really friendly and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay! Love the authentic building. Good breakfast too, plentiful, often replenished and friendly service. Plenty of choice and good location, 10 min walk from market square and quiet - bar some minor local construction activity! Friendly evening bar service too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Great character Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in the bath & no curtain. Also the walls were thin.

    Hotel had so much character. Lots of history to the hotel. Location was great & lovely breakfast in a fabulous restaurant in the cellar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Great n we love our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress might hv bug n mosquito due to next to river. Measurement to improve the quality stay of customers.

    Location, cosy n comfortability of the hotel room and staff are kind n warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Perfect, peaceful location in a lovely city - we would highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Beautiful quiet location in quiet corner of Bruges, next to a canal. Elegant decor, lovely room, with old architectural detail, and lovely bathroom. Excellent breakfasts, friendly helpful staff. Altogether charming!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.8
    OK for young, healthy and strong, but if stairs and lack of ventiation/cooling offends, avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not user friendly. No lift, No aircon, room with very small window, so little ventilation, no fan available to cool the room and about 50 stairs to climb from the breakfast room to our room.

    Amazing old historic building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Not as pleasant and silent as I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are small, the walls and floors are very thin, you hear every movement on a silent night. The check in and check out were rather slow, too long wait for something very straight-forward. Parking instructions before arriving were not complete and I suffered a big deal wondering around the impediments around downtown before finding a parking space 1 km away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They preauthorise your credit card for the full amount of your stay and then put through a separate payment for the full amount when you arrive, saying the preauthorised amount will be refunded in a "few" days, having seen this before I refused and insisted they claim the preauthorised payment which they did with no problem, exactly what they should have done in the first place. Not serious but if you are near your credit limit could ruin your holiday budget.

    The hotel is very comfortable but it is an old building with planning restrictions, if you can't do stairs ask for a ground floor room, there are at least 4. Breakfast is good and the staff very friendly and happy to help in anyway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really !

    Hotel was less than ten minutes walk from the centre of Brugges. We also booked a car parking space which turned out to be a locked garage which was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    I heartily recommend it and would like to return in the Autumn or Spring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very close to the center of town yet pleasantly quiet. There is a terrace to relax with familz and friends which was pleasant as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    OK But!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was helpful in finding me a group floor room, for there is no lift in the hotel & I suffer from a back injury. The upper room may well have been fine but the one I occupied was cramped, and the bathroom tiles needed regretting because of mould. Also the hotel is a fair walk from many of Bruges's attractions. Staff booked a taxi for me but let someone else take it causing a potential serious travel problem/There ws no apology and attitude of one reception staff member left something to be desired.

    Excellent continental breakfast in lovely surroundings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Location Brilliant as six minute walk from town square meant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Street or Terrace View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was dreadful , even if it would have been included but as we were charged extra for it we felt ripped off . The eggs were overcooked , they didn't put out enough rolls and croissants . They had to be asked to put out more meat and cheese . If we came back we'd go to a cafe for breakfast

    Location Brilliant as six minute walk from town square meant it was a quiet location . Being on the canal meant super view . Huge room was fabulous and nice to have seperate toilet + bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    GREAT LOCATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All a bit minimalist. No tea/coffee in room, most things available but only if you ask, no air con (OK: this summer has been a bit exceptional!). We stayed two nights but the room was not serviced at all (bed unmade etc which isn't a big deal but a bit surprised given the room rate). Breakfast room congested. None of this put us off but the impression given was that the hotel had hit on a very efficient formula to maximise profitability perhaps at the expense of a bit of T&C. Felt like we were 'just another punter' as opposed to a valued guest.

    Fantastic building and superb location. Really feels like you're experiencing the real Bruges!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    I had already left a review but the hotel reply was a lie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had already left a review but the hotel reply was a lie! I definitely was not offered a ground floor room or offered a porter service..I have been using booking. Com for years and have normally been very happy with the accommodation..I have never had the hotel lie to me before..shocking!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    old and unique hotel. the location is very near to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ı think the room we stayed, separated from another room, there was 11 lights in a small room.

    old and unique hotel. the location is very near to center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    A very good stay in an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the weather, I was there during a spell of hot weather. No air-conditioning in the room. But usually weather doesn't get that hot!

    I liked the fact that the hotel is in a very quiet area by a canal, in spite of being also close to the Market Square, the very centre of the town, which can get very crowded and noisy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no AC or Fans and it was very hot. We also could not open the windows as there were a lot of mosquitos. Not a great place in the summer heat.

    Great location. The hotel looks great, a historic building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.5
    Would recommend this hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Very traditional hotel. Breakfast excellent with a huge choice of everything you can think of. Bed comfy and clean but no tea or coffee facilities in the room. The hotel is in a quiet area and very close to the to the town center easy to walk to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Accommodation was acceptable but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallway to our room was dark and the hotel seemed too dark. It seems to need a facelift.

    Breakfast was excellent! Lots of options and the food of good quality. The assistance at the front desk was prompt although did not always seem friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, no fans, no lift (I asked if someone could take my 86 year old mothers bag up to the 2nd floor, I was told abruptly no! Walls thin could hear noise from another room

    Great location, beautiful city, lots too do, good breakfast selection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great, traditional Belgian hotel, in a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of water in the room would be nice, but that’s nit picking. The only thing we didn’t like is that we weren’t there for longer.

    Helpful staff, great breakfast, terrific location, lots of hot water, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Thank you we d love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Atmospheric Distance to centre Lovely walk 10 min to get to centre Comfortable and nostalgic Friendly kind helpful staff Good breakfast Quiet even with windows open

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely traditional hotel in a great spot but maybe avoid in hot weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was a little dated and although I know it was unseasonably hot weather the room was boiling which meant we had to sleep with the windows open then there were mosquitos and noise from the street below so we didn't sleep very well either night. Breakfast was great but there was only one lady trying to seat people, clear the tables, reset them and replenish the food which made it a little chaotic. It would also be nice to have a kettle in the bedroom.

    The hotel was lovely and traditional and in a great spot a short walk into the main centre. the staff were friendly and there was a great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Quite area close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar should have more choices.

    Very pretty hotel by the canal. Staff was great, especially Heidi and the girl working during the breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    This was a last minute stop on our trip, but we are sooo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really something we “didn’t like” but something to take note of, no elevator. I had a very heavy bag and had to carry it up three flights of stairs. But it was worth it!

    This was a last minute stop on our trip, but we are sooo glad we decided to make the trip. This hotel is very quaint, great location and the staff was extremely nice! Rooms were big, comfortable and clean. The views from the window were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way to have a stand up shower as no hook for shower head and no shower curtain. Makes it difficult to wash your hair!

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly with excellent recommendations. Canal view was lovely. Period features in the property were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Historic hotel close to Bruges centre but on a quiet part of the canal system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. A big buffet which was rather boring. Cheeses were bland, scrambled eggs congealed and the fruit salad was mainly apple with a few cubes of melon and tinned pineapple. Only one coffee machine meant queues.

    We paid extra for a canal front room. The hotel is in an historic building but the bedrooms have all modern amenities. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet and it was nice to have a fridge and TV with BBC in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom would have benefited from better showering arrangement

    Beautiful hotel, excellent location, good parking arrangement, nice breakfast, clean, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Original olde worlde hotel right on canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room but probably because it's a very old building. No drawers for clothes only a wardrobe. Too many tables in dining room. Women by building noise which is going on next to hotel

    Lovely character in building. Location was good and quite central. Bar area and outside terrace looked lovely but not warm enough for us to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    We leave because of thw noice and dirt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean room Disgusting TV noise from the next room for which the staff said they could not do anything. Because of the above, we had to leave after a few hours before we even stayed one night.

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean basic hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtains in bathroom and was hand held shower head so showers were a bit awkward. As I was with my elderly relative, the location was a good 15 min walk from most facilities which he found tiring.

    Typical building of the area, charming but basic hotel. Well run, very quick to get back to you with any queries via email. Always have staff at desk and eager to help. Good basic self serving breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    I shall definitely return both to Bruges and to Ter Bruge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to improve!

    Croissants were not especially extra flakey, but delicious as was the very comprehensive breakfast. Beds were comfy. We were in the basement room and though a bit dark, we were only there for sleep! So we were very pleased. Location was great as we walked everywhere. It was minutes away from the majority of what we needed to see and the Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Lovely location within 8 minutes walk of the main square.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm, not sure....! Nothing!!!!!

    Lovely location within 8 minutes walk of the main square. Very quiet at night with only the wildlife for company. Fed the ducks from our room (room 1) and having the ducklings there too was ace. Breakfast was fantastic and probably the best continental breakfast I've had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely olde world Belgian charm, tho lots of stairs so not...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have air con and was very warm, even in the nighttime. Bathroom did have a shower fitting but not attached to the wall so using it did need at least 3 hands - but these are minor points considering all the other factors.

    Lovely olde world Belgian charm, tho lots of stairs so not for the infirm! Staff are so helpful and the hotel is on a peaceful stretch of canal just a short stroll from the Market Square. Also happy to discover a comfy lounge and bar serving cold and hot drinks - perfect for when you have walked the streets of Bruges and are too tired to go another step :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Picturesque very enjoyable. Enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the history in Brugge. The hotel was old too, beautiful, right alongside a canal. Not far from everything. Clean, pleasant. Would have liked tea making facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could suggest would be that tea and coffee making facility in room would be good but understand that this is more of an English preference.

    Beautiful old, historic, characterful building. Lovely quiet location but easy walk into main town. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Room overlooking canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast watching ducks on the canal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel was as promised and more. The charm and atmosphere was special to Brugge. the reception by the staff was friendly and helpful, the room spacious and in every sense what was advertised. B A wonderful breakfast watching the ducks on the canal added to the experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    We loved this beautiful old hotel. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the Canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CAR PARKING - although it was a great facility to have the Hotel Garage to park our car in - and by the way you have to book this in advance - I did think it was a bit expensive. However - it was great to have the facility. I was surprised and a bit disappointed that the room didn't have a kettle and tea making facilities. I do like to make a cup of tea first thing in the morning etc. However - they did bring two lovely pots of tea when requested - so this was not a big problem.

    The hotel was fabulous. It's in an excellent location - in a quiet and peaceful part of Bruges, but only a few minutes walk to the town centre. It is situated right on a beautiful old canal, and the views from our room were delightful. We had a beautiful big room - Room No 6, which was beautifully furnished in old Antique furniture, and with four sets of double leaded light windows looking over the canal. It really was beautiful. Breakfast was included, and it was absolutely delicious - with a huge choice of everything you could think of. And the breakfast room also faced onto the canal, and it was a delight to see the swans and ducks with their little ducklings paddling by the window. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice n big old place' no air con which is understable but we had 2 nths n very hot' 5 min walk to old sqaure an safe for parking at hotel' we enjoyed our stay an staff were really helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Cute hotel right by the canal
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a view to the canal, it was a nice calming view to wake up to. The room had a good size with everything you need. The breakfast was great with many different kind of cheese to choose from. Absolutely enjoyed our stay here and wish we had more time to stay in beautiful Brugge and this cosy hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    2 star experience at the price of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, a very narrow corridor, about 4 or 5 m long inside the hotel room leads to the "roomy" part of the room - which isn't that roomy after all. You'll find a mighty old closet that takes up even more of the little space. There's no wall mount for the shower in the bathroom and no shower curtain. And you can hear every word spoken in rooms around and above, every TV set, every snore. Breakfast was average. Unfortunately only my credit card had a four star experience.

    Location is not too far from the center and very quiet. We were allowed to use the garage a little longer than their usual 11 a.m. deadline. People on reception were quite nice - at least on departure day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Loived this cozy, charming hotel in the center of he city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was a little hard to operate.

    Loved the charm of the building and the location. The room overlooked the canal and was so nice. The staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Beauitul Charming Hotel by the River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very limited and grossly expensive. To park outside the hotel it costs 9 euros, payable by machine, every 4 hours. However the hotel offers underground parking for 8 euros per day but it’s a walk away. We paid it as our visit was only for a day and a half.

    The property is very pretty and stands on one of the little rivers that cross cross Brugge. Brugge is breathtaking and charming, I don’t know how else to describe it. Little bridges crossing over rivers with restaurants selling waffles and lovely meals at every corner. You can take a bus tour from the square, which I would highly recommend or a horse and trap ride to take you around the city. We climbed the Belfry 366 steps, I would recommend if you are able. Boats trips are numerous to take you around different waterways of the city. If you love architecture then you will love it here. Enjoy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Quaint hotel in a lovely medieval city. Well recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely quaint traditional hotel. Bedrooms individually styled and comfortably appointed. Bathrooms spacious - note manual shower spray rather than an overhead shower. Not an issue. Breakfast entirely adequate for our needs. But, Bruges was exceptionally hot when we were there and our rooms were on the top floor - it was stifling. It wouldn't be a huge investment to provide fans - there were none when we enquired. Parking a little tricky some days and payment system irritating. Not sure I fully understood the parking situation from the hotel info in advance of booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel on a canal setting, close to everything in Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a hand held shower in room and breakfast area very busy, with tables so crammed in and close you were sometimes blocked in and unable to negotiate a passage.

    Nice room with view of the canal in a nice quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good - just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Street or Terrace View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bacon could have been more lean and crisp

    Bed good. TV:- surprised and happy we could get BBC news. Downstairs room good for us oldies. Perfectly quiet nights. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short stay, to live the Bruges experience with excellent view on canals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't well maintained. Impossible to take a shower without putting water everywhere in the bathroom. Plus, i ordered a special package for the birthday of my partner : flowers on the bed, etc. For the price of 20 euros, they put a bouquet of flowers in a vase on a little table. I let my partner in the room before me and i told him SURRISE! And in fact it wasn't any surprise because there wasn't anything on the bed... the bouquet was so light coloured (green and white) that we didn't even notice it. When i expressed my disappointed to the staff, they let me pay the 20 euros with no special price or reduction.

    For the ratio quality/price, the hotel was very satisfying. Nice little gem in Bruges with amazing view on the canals. Very cute monument from the outside, you can take very beautiful pictures, and the rooms are fine (little bit old but it's the concept).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Gorgeous old building, beautiful canal along side, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms. Very steep stairs, which was ok for us, but if you have even slight mobility issues or strength issues and big bags, it would not be suitable. Room was a little dark, which wasn't too bad. Only a hand held shower over a bath which was mildly annoying, and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, they were only available in the bar downstairs for a price. After travelling for a long time this really made our stay feal fairly uninspiring and a bit dull. It's a small thing, but if you like you tea or coffee it could feel like a big thing to you... it did to us.

    Gorgeous old building, beautiful canal along side, good breakfast, short stroll into center of town, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    We loved staying in this hotel, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was unpleasent smell coming from vent or something but we opened windows and this seemed to help, we ,guess it was because of old pipework or ventilatio.

    Breakfast excellent, breakfast room very impressive, lots of character in this old building, we loved this hotel and would love to stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was the best place we stayed during our 2 weeks in Europe. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing except the parking problem, but that cannot be changed.

    Marvelous breakfast in a charming room. The window allowed a view of the canal, and fresh air!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice old fashion hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift, no porters so you had to carry your bags up two flights of stairs.

    Close enough to the main town square but far enough away to be quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dated decor. Lack of lift would create problems for some. Average service, no room service-they were to busy. No ice for drinks. If you are light sleeper this hotel is not for you.

    Perfect location. Nice rooms and garage(25 euro). Breakfast included

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Quaint hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom tub is difficult to get in & out of. Would not recommend this hotel for the elderly or those with physical limitations.

    The location is great for walking to the center city. The hotel is very quaint & well maintained. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    A great stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location not far from the square, fair walk from the station but wasn't really an issue. Very nice staff and bar with local beers to relax in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    Faulty Towers Belgian Style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not 4 star as advertised, more a up market B&B. As it was very old it was noisy creaky and you could her people walking and talking in rooms above and next door. Bar did not have fresh lemon slices and was not staffed. Breakfast was chaotic ,very crowded and poorly staffed, about 1 star from my experience.

    It was was old and traditional. Very hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Loved Brugge - and loved the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very limited hotel parking. Managed to find street parking very close by but you need to feed the meter every four hours - 27€ per day!

    Lovely old canal-side building 10 minutes walk from the main square. Excellent staff. Good breakfast and after-hours bar service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Street or Terrace View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was spacious there was unfortunately no stand in shower

    The location ideal for a visit to Brugge. The staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ter Brughe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: