Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Belgium hotel reviews
  3. Brussels Region hotel reviews
  4. Brussels hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Dominican

Reviews of The Dominican

Rue Léopold 9, 1000 Brussels, Belgium

#21 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1077 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Always a nice stay in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We come every year and for some reason they cannot figure out how to run the bar! Staff run around like mad things but they're not actually achieving anything, as it takes ages for anyone to notice you have sat down and bring you the menu. Then it takes ages for them to come back and take your order. Then it takes ages of them to make and bring you your order. Forget asking for the bill from your table, or you'll be there all night! You have to go up to the till to pay. I don't mind ordering and paying at the bar, but if you're going to be a table service bar, then you need to actually be able to provide that service!

    Great hotel in a great location. Warm and comfortable with friendly staff. Great shower pressure and modern bathrooms.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Well-located, consistently welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed here 6 or 7 times and the standard of service, rooms and facilities has always been excellent. The location is close to the very centre of the city only 5-10 mins walk from the Grand Place and right behind the opera house.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Glamorous, friendly, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast seemed expensive at 29 euros.

    Excellent location, quiet but near the centre. Super-helpful staff. Beautiful communal spaces with cloisters-effect architecture and a lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.1
    For a quiet and very comfortable sleep downtown Brussels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price-value ratio was high compared to other hotels I had visited before . It could have been the week in Brussels though.

    Beds were indeed very comfortable, as promised on the website. The rooms were very quiet and the location was very good (close to grand place, but still in a quiet area).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious and comfortable hotel, just eat somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Biggest critique is the price of food and drink. 4.20 euros for a cappuccino and 26 euros for mostly cold buffet breakfast (especially because I am vegan and there wasn't a vegetable in sight) is outrageous. I recommend eating elsewhere.

    Beautifully decorated property (much nicer in person than the pictures) and super comfy beds. Nice at quiet at night time for sleeping (had an interior room). Very good location for all the tourist stuff and walking distance to the main area with restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great city centre hotel in the heart of Brussels with good service and a very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel in a very central location. I would recommend paying the little extra for a premium room - they are really fantastic. Very good friendly service, quiet and well located - it is hard to fault this place

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Wooow
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived late from the airport and there was a warning that hot water will not work after 11 o clock at night so we couldn't have the opportunity to relax after trip. I guess though that it was only that night

    Fantastic atmosphere, great room with very mysterious music to welcome you at the room, Belgian chocolates with taste that matches hotels theme were waiting for you at the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly checkin
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was simple and too expensive (euro 30!). Lots of better breakfast places outside the hotel.

    Friendly checkin Great location, all landmarks on walking distance from hotel Very spacious rooms (with colorful boutique interior) Nice bathroom with all amenities Great bar, checkout their cocktail menu!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    the room is very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They dont have room for Smokers the minibar must be included in price

    the room is very clean the personal is very freundlich location is Super very nice and romantic Bar

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel in an
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service and options at breakfast were somewhat below par.

    Roomy accommodation, very friendly staff and great location. Very safe area and near to restaurants and tourist destinations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    An excellent choice; a hotel with an atmosphere and good service; excellent value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had every comfort, with lovely extra touches like bathrobe, slippers and a Nespresso machine. The location is perfect - the hotel is surprisingly quiet, given the busy neighborhood. The restaurant is not inviting enough and doesn’t have enough selections; the breakfast is overpriced. No wonder we barely saw anybody eating there!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    The location and staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we asked about the toothpaste and toothbrush brush. They told us to come down to the reception and get them.

    The location and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location w/Coffee maker!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was charged for 3 waters although we only drank 2 and 1 was supposed to be free. Also the lobby had a very strong fragrant smell that permeated too strongly in the lobby.

    Wonderful location, comfortable beds, LOVED having the Nespresso machine in the room, plenty of towels, and set up of room was very convenient!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Room was clean, had in room coffee maker (espresso), and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As other reviewers said, the incense smell in the hallway was a little strong, but inside of the rooms it was not bad at all.

    Room was clean, had in room coffee maker (espresso), and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    This is a comfortable, stylish hotel in an excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No instructions for the coffee maker. No black tea bags provided - not everyone wants green tea, but that's quite usual in Belgium.

    Very comfortable room. Central location, but away from city noise. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    4.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At Booking.com they explicitly said that no prepayment was needed. At arrival I was charged 308,68€. After my stay of 4 days, I was again charged for 517,36€ (the room was 125€/night + city tax). They explained that the first charge was just a temporary charge. It's now Thursday, a week further and I still await my reimbursement. I need to have 826€ on my account for a stay of 4 days for the amount of 517€. Furthermore, the first and second night our sheets were not changed. The music in the elevator and the intense smell of incense in the hallways gets annoying

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and maximum comfort in a central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is quite expensive (€27). It is difficult to find fault with this hotel, but two minor recommendations would be to provide slippers and for some hooks in the spa area (to hang up robes / towels etc). But these are very minor points!

    Excellent location, charming and very efficient staff, and a very comfortable bed! Spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Very effective air conditioning. Very quiet / peaceful ambience. Contemporary design and decor. This is an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is an old monastry.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection. I tried to use Internat on both private PC and Work PC and on mobile. I could not connect, git always cut-off (had to use my private network). Pity for a hotel with these qualities. Internet connectivity is not a luxery these days.

    This hotel is an old monastry. I would decribe it as luxery. Great beds, nice rooms (was here before), Brussels has many hotels that I would decribe as a tourist trap. This hotel is worth it's money. Super breakfast (I spend more than 100 nights per year in hotels, so I have seen a lot)... If one remark to make, the scrambeled eggs are a bit dissapointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Stayed several times, always of the highest standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast @ €27 very expensive, so just coffee, but got via Booking.com a very good deal on the room and comparable with other Brussels hotels.

    Stayed several times, always of the highest standard. Fabulous room and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    I don't like the hotel's policy to charge €100 on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like the hotel's policy to charge €100 on your credit card in advance, assuming that you would run away from your bill otherwise. I don't recommend hotels with that attitude towards its guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location but Not Clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was dirty. There were a hair in the bathtub and something like a piece of skin in the bathtub. One of the corners of the bathtub was molded and black. The washbasin was stained, which could be cleaned easily. It was pretty disgusting. We checked in around 10 PM since our flight was canceled. We asked restaurants open late night then they said all restaurants were closed so we better used their room service. However, we found multiple restaurants within 200m away from the hotel and we had delicious French dinner at 11:40 PM.

    Location, Spa & Gym, Restaurant & Bar: Their baguet was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful when my wife was ill on Sunday evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Plaque to painter David on outside wall was hidden by a bush. Are there any plans to trim the bush?

    Staff very helpful when my wife was ill on Sunday evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderfully designed, clean hotel with superb staff in an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Foam toppers on the beds make it difficult to actually stay put- you almost fall off the bed if you roll over; the breakfast was far too expensive for the under cooked bacon and small selection of meats and fruit. You can cross the sidewalk from the hotel to have a fabulous Belgium waffle meal for half of the price. The Gregorian chant music was cool at first, but there needs to be some variety in the elevator music and in the bathroom music. It seemed like the same song or album repeating over and over again. Actually got quite irritating.

    Professional and knowledgeable and friendly staff; located within walking distance of sights, shops and restaurants. Great service at the bar and a fine selection of scotch (and other spirits).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    The hotel’s central location is perfect for exploring the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small problem with water temperature and drainage in the shower.

    The hotel’s central location is perfect for exploring the city on foot. Also, the property is beautiful, even nicer than it appears in photos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful but boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though the website promised the lounge stayed open until "at least 1 a.m." nightly, they stopped serving at 12:30 on the Friday night I was there.

    It was located in a very busy part of Brussels but it was like a refuge from the crowds and bustle. Lovely inner courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed itself was comfortable however if you tried to sit in the edge of the bed or when sleeping got too close to the edge of the bed, there was absolutely no support. My husband almost rolled out of bed the first night! 😲

    Very nice room and very clean. Bedding was nice. Excellent location quite near the central square. Quiet rooms - never heard a noise from outside or in the hallway. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have appreciated more natural light in the room as the decoration was quite dark. The fountain shower splashed onto the bathroom floor.

    Wonderful dining room and breakfast. The young lady at the reception was kind and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable short transit stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The church hymn inside the lift spooked me a little. Also the incense smell at the hallway. But I know it’s supposed to be like a Dominican monastery vibe so I’m alright with it

    The theme was unique & beautiful, friendly front desk and quick checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Classy stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the room was noisy - I could hear the next door person taking the shower and the metro train underneath the building. I had room service for dinner. The duck was tasteless and the dessert not fresh. Paid 45€ for this and a glass of wine

    Beautiful and classy rooms, nice bar and restaurant, loved the kick box room and sauna

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    The Dominican is the only hotel I will stay in when in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Dominican is the only hotel I will stay in when in Brussels. Due to the nature of my job, I need to be refreshed before attending meetings. An early check-in and late check-in is a must. The Dominican has always been able to give me this luxury. The Dominican is a member of Design Hotels, and from the moment you walk through the doors, there is a calmness and serenity that instantly relaxes you. The staff are always friendly and polite. The Dominican is within walking distance of Grote Markt, Mannekin Pis, Belgian Comic Strip Center, among many others. I feel like The Dominican is my second home. I will be staying at The Dominican again in April, and I look forward to walking through the white arches and up to my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a really good hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that piqued me was that the Nespresso machine in the room was temperamental and worked when it felt like it.

    Very nice hotel in a really good location. Room was very comfortable and a good size. Good (though pretty standard) breakfast. Very nice bar which has a great buzz in the evenings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    Really nice hotel and great staff. Very recommended, it worth experiencing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No option of espresso. Cleaning staff knocking on the door too early and too often. Type of music, though it was fit to the mood and style of the hotel.

    Amazing staff, elegance, good food, very nice pain au chocolate. Breakfast brought to the room was exclusive. Beds are very comfortable, with choice of 2 different pillows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    The location, staff, accessibility to bar, room is all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay here more often but make sure you don't get a room on the outside as always supplier trucks make you awake anytime.

    The location, staff, accessibility to bar, room is all excellent. No hassle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Modern, well priced excellent hotel. We will be coming back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cant honestly fault the hotel. We loved our stay.

    The Hotel was lovely, it was immaculate. The Lounge Bar was a cool, relaxed environment with great drinks menu. Staff were friendly and very welcoming. Rooms were nicely decorated and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, smart hotel, poor room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had no direct light and internal lighting was inadequate. Lights in bathroom not all working and temperature of shower inconsistent, ranging from VERY hot to cold.

    Bed was comfortable with good pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdated, tired room. We stayed in the grand place suite which is supposed to be the best room in the hotel. There was no bathtub in our initial room so we were forced to pay the upgrade to this room. Coffee machine was broken, furniture chipped, robes were dirty and stained on arrival. Room service food was truly awful, microwave pizza and the worst risotto I've ever had. Really disappointed at our whole experience. The hotel seemed to cater to a young party crowd, there was a nightclub environment at check-in.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Great location , nice design , comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was far better if the hotel would have asked to pay the City tax in advanc along with total room fee as the none refundable deal while they asked for it seperatly

    the location is great , you have access to whatever you need , very clean and well designed hotel . Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.2
    I recommend the Dominican
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good experience, though I wasn't in my room all that much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room comfortable, secure and quiet. The personality of the actual hotel - there is a funky smell in the hallway, ask about it - it's definitely interesting. And now I kind of miss it. I also love the chanting soundtrack in the elevator, which can be found on the tv. I would dial it up at night to fall asleep to. In fact, I would have bought a CD if they had one! Details like this, as well as the general ambiance lent to the overall feel of the place, and made it different than any other hotel. I recommend the Dominican.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    8.3
    Good value but would not take much to make great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and Hotel was not warm enough. No staff to take bags to room and explain where things were or how they worked.

    Good comfortable room with excellent shower. Good coffee and croissants. Dining Room good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I arrived early - around noon - and we could get the room straight away. Perfect start to a great stay as we could then unload luggage before going for lunch. It is the second time we stay there and we will definitely come back... Everything about this hotel is just great...the rooms, the ambiance, not to forget the staff!!! The location is also great...right in the center of Brussels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    lovely building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lobby needs better heating. not enough staff in the restaurant. should also have an al a carte menu for breakfast. i also don t think its necessary to have so much scent although i understand that it was a former monastery.

    lovely building. great hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordinary teabags would be better than the variety provided by the hotel. Especially at breakfast time. Next time I’ll bring my own.

    My room, friendly staff, wonderful hotel, good breakfast. Locality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    7.5
    Cut me some sleek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a problem with their heaters; the rooms are always cold. Every year, we ask the staff to help us regulate the heaters just to catch the trick if there is one. Sometimes you can ask for those movable gas heaters to your room. Just make sure that you got thick pjs.

    It’s a beautiful hotel with prime location. We have been regulars for the past 4 years, December time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Great location from which to sample the delights of Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice bathroom except that the bath had a crack along the top which didn’t look very nice.

    Great location, courteous staff and fabulous bar and foyer. Comfortable room with large bed. Nice bathroom with good shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the evening with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast seems very expensive, considering what is on offer.

    We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the evening with drinks. Great location. Staff are very welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.3
    A favorite in Brussels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have problem with their heating system. I am always cold, but they can bring you a heater to the room but I would still prefer if they fix the heating system. I have been undergoing the cold rooms for the past 4 years, because I love the hotel. But that's a main issue that may make change hotels in the future. Second, I think the hotels should include breakfast with the normal night charge to give more value for money and furthermore to give a nice buzzing crowd in the almost empty lovely breakfast room.

    The Dominican is a beautiful property. In a five minutes walk, you will find yourself at the Grande Place and close to many shops. We always go to eat a Belga Queen, which is almost next door. Then we enjoy The Dominican heated terrace at night with their great cocktails. I love the hotel ambience and we have been going for 4 consecutive years. Since we are regular guests, the check in and check out were very fast, but it takes a little bit longer with newer guests especially if there is one receptionist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    I love this Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I love this hotel, they have the best beds. The rooms are spotless. Most of the staff have been there for years and are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here. Its very central and you should try the cocktails in the beautiful bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.1
    The storage or staff room was mext to our room - and only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The storage or staff room was mext to our room - and only seperated by a thin door- no privacy due to the fact that we could hear every single word and noise - even flipping of newspaper pages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.6
    Another excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly, nothing.

    This is such a comfortable and attractive hotel right on the centre of town, easy walking distance from most major attractions. The rooms are excellent, the staff attentive and helpful and the food and bar also very good. I have stayed here many times since the hotel opened and the high standards have been well-maintained. When I brought my parents here for a week a few summers ago, they loved it too. Even Gregorian chant in the lifts. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.2
    Bed comfy, breakfast great, location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too dark and gloomy (brown and green decor). Very strong smell in elevator lobby on our floor—not sure what it was.

    Bed comfy, breakfast great, location good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    5.4
    Great location, very stylish, good welcome by the staff. All in all a 'thumbs up'
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms had very poor air conditioning. I asked to be moved as the first room was very stifling and the window did not open. The second room was a big improvement but still only just 'ambient' at full cooling power.

    The location, the design and the welcome from the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in downtown Brussels, close to shopping and tourist sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The previous occupant had left a bag and the housekeepers didn't remove it- at first we weren't sure if the room was already occupied

    Beautiful location, VERY friendly staff on check-in, very comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very nice clean hotel with good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location on quiet side street in city center near main square with many restaurants. Lovely outdoor area in centre of hotel with service of food and drinks. Friendly helpful staff - good service - good WIFI.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in hotel bar is slow, one of reception staff was not nice on our checkout and told us to get our bags ourselves from hotel storage room

    Very clean, the rooms are new and well designs, bed comfortable, nice view on garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Delightful!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful-modern-meets-old-world-hotel. Highly recommend this hotel as the location is perfect with just a short walk to the main square. The hotel restaurant is absolutely top-notch. Nice hotel gym with a steam room and dry sauna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Perfect stop-over after a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Oozes style, intimate and spacious, perfectly situated. We loved the cocktail lounge especially, and the central dining atrium. Our room was comfortable with good facilities. Perfect stop-over after a long journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    The location of the Dominican was perfect for seeing many of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the Dominican was perfect for seeing many of the main sights around the city. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size. I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Brussels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend The Dominican to anyone visiting Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very satisfied and enjoyed my stay at The Dominican; very comfortable and modern room; lovely restaurant and lounge area to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, and would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    7.9
    A great location for visiting the attractions of Brussels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room did not have a proper window! It was just a single door at the edge of the room. This made the room very gloomy despite the sunny weekend. When I requested a move I was told the hotel was full. I booked this holiday 6 months ago and was disappointed with our accommodation. Also housekeeping staff forgot to service the room one day - although reception staff were quick to sort us out fresh towels etc when we asked.

    A great location for visiting the attractions of Brussels. Lovely garden for a drink or relaxing. Nice ambience. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.2
    Didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am really sensitive to smells and the lobby and hallways smelled like incense which was a bit too strong for my taste.

    They gave us an option for a tub or shower & the tub was HUGE!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.8
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is a bit uncomfortable. It wasn't like I couldn't sleep. But it isn't a comfortable bed. It is this sad thin bed on a much better bed frame. The Gregorian chants at the elevator and the hallways are a bit much. My room was very clean overall. But there was a tiny patch of uncarpeted floor (rest of the room is quite big and carpeted) that wasn't cleaned during my 2 night stay. The carpeted area and the bathroom were very clean otherwise. It wasn't clear where to leave the towels to get them changed. But I was provided with plenty of towels to begin with so it wasn't a huge problem.

    The location is excellent. It is very central. It is 5 minute walk away from Centraal Station, 30 seconds walk away from Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert, 1 minute walk away from Rue Neuve with all the shops, and 5 minute walk away from Grand Place. Yet, it is not in the middle of all the tourist-y hustle and bustle. The bathroom is amazing. The room has a Nespresso machine which is always a plus. The bathrobes are actually nice. The waterfall shower is amazing. There are plenty of places to sit besides the bed in the room, along with enough storage space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    Great hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is an oasis of calm considering it is in the middle of the city. It is centrally located. The staff are excellent and accommodated any requests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, lacks the luxury touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the concept of Dominican is nice the Gregorian chant start to bother after a while. I was surprised that every time we asked for something to be brought to our room, we had to call again after 15' as it wasn't delivered. Also when we arrived at the room most lamps where disconnected and the aircon was not working properly.

    Very good central location to access most of the interesting sites by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Great city - go see it and stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were extremely comfy and rooms exceptionally clean. Excellent location. 6 min from train which brings you to and from airport in minutes. 5 min walk from Grand Plaza. Staff were really friendly. Definately will stay again on return to Brussels. Fantastic city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant short stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needs updating in places of bathroom !

    Bar staff very friendly ! Never ate there so no comments. Comfy pleasant hotel some things need updating in room, mainly bathroom, but nice touches as dressing gowns & slippers ! Sauna , steam room and happy with boxing bag plus gloves ! Generally happy with hotel great location came with my 2 boys 18 & 19 there twin room was sufficient and all our beds were very comfortable they gave me king size, would come back Again to hotel :-) One of the nicest parts of hotel is the terrace it is open and very pretty and very Mediterranean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.6
    Great value in a superb central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fruit at buffet breakfast wasn't fresh and coffee was from a machine. Not as good as other aspects of the property. We ate breakfast in the hotel once and went out after discovered it was sub-par especially as it was pricey.

    Location was fabulous with spacious well-appointed rooms. A lot of ambiance and friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.2
    Initially we had issues with wifi in room but staff where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially we had issues with wifi in room but staff where very accommodating and changed our room. Very comfortable, fantastic location near square, everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    5.8
    Belgium Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room air conditioning was not working. Front desk stated that I did not work the thermostat correctly. He then stated that he would provide a fan to us for the room. At 23:00 hours they finally provided us another room which had air conditioning operating correctly. They can through in the end but it took persistence on our part to have it corrected. The breakfast was good. They did not charge us for the beer and wine consumed from the first room refrigerator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely accommodations
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an odd and disheveled street just off a main street. A bit dicey late at night. And the interior decor tries to carry a Benedictine theme, to the point where music on the elevator is church chants -- somewhat eerie and off-putting.

    This is a lovely hotel with fresh rooms and a friendly staff. The location is very near downtown, and the eating areas on the main floor are open and bright.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal Brussels Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff. In the middle of Brussels, yet surprisingly quiet: really hard to do better in terms of convenience of all kinds. The hotel is a short walk from Brussels Central Station, so it's easy to get to the airport on the train. Brussels Central is a five-minute ride from Brussels Midi, which is the station for the international trains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room (121) looked over a side street and was therefore quite dark. This wasn't a too much of problem for us as we were only staying one night. The room was also very noisy from pipes/fans above the room. We would also have like it if they provided milk as well as tea and coffee.

    Lovely large bed, huge shower, lots of clean towels. Proper coffee machine in room. Front desk staff extremely helpful. The hotel let us store our bags with them after we checked out so that we could do some sightseeing before out train. Great location too - only 5 mins walk from the Grand Place. The hotel itself is extremely stylish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.6
    Close to everything you needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I didnt like

    Loved the size of room, comfort of the bed, and the whole atmosphere of the hotel .. The beautiful smell as you enter the hotel , so loved it,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could use even more lighting.

    The staff was SUPURB! The front desk was so helpful: giving directions, finding places for us to eat when it was a holiday and many restaurants were closed,, etc. Could not have been better!! The hotel is a great location, within walking distance of the train station and the historic square. Room was very large and nice, bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, good shower. Excellent value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    9.6
    Had a wonderful night's sleep and escaped the horrible heat and humidity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think having Gregorian chants in the elevator is a bit kitschy. Also, there were candles and burning fireplaces everywhere in the reception, bar, and lobby areas even though it was 32 degrees in Brussels. I could live without the incense too.

    Bed was excellent, water pressure in bathroom great, air conditioning good, nice large bathtub and adequate amount of towels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.8
    The glass in our shower was broken but not addressed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass in our shower was broken but not addressed in the 4 days we were there so we didn't feel comfortable using with toddler in bath. We even emailed pics.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Dominican Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: