Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel The Lodge Diest 3 stars

Refugiestraat 23, 3290 Diest, Belgium

#5 of 7 hotels in Diest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    excellent voor kort verblijf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    position is excellent, even for leisure visits; breakfast also very good. Rooms comfy enough for a short stay, surely recommended for a stay in diest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better lighting in the hotel room

    Really well positioned hotel in this lovely town. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The desk is not manned after 7pm but not an issue if you are already checked in and have keys. Not too far from restaurants or sites of interest. Very atmospheric in the dining room. would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is difficult to find, no signing. We arrived at nine in the evening, no lights near the door. Door was closed and opened (finally) by intercom. Inside: no lights again. You have to find in the dark an envelop with your key by yourself. Shower: very awkward, no showercurtain, everything gets wet, no place to hang your shower. Spirals of the mattresses stick up.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    There was nobody at the reception at the arrival;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody at the reception at the arrival; the door was supposed to be opened by a remote operator but that dis not work. We had to wait outside in the rain without being helped for 15 minutes. Finally someone came who could open the door for us; then we found the envelop with our key.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    Spelling mistake in adress made me drive around for an hour.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spelling mistake in adress made me drive around for an hour. Refusiestraat in place of Refugiestraat. Also ,hotel is poorly signposted. And has no staff in the afternoon. I was requested to check in at "Brasserie" where was a sign explaining it was closed as off dec."16

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    3.8
    Not Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was like a youth hostel at a hotel price. When we arrived ( 7:00 PM on a Saturday) the hotel was locked and dark. We called for help and were given a key code to open the door, but it didn't work. Finally, a janitor let us in and gave us a room key. The room was tiny, with a single window looking out on a brick wall a meter away. There was no toilet paper. We wanted to ask someone about changing to a better room, but there was no one to talk to -- there was literally no staff on site.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    4.0
    A room in the "castle" was expected, not in a new building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ventilation in bathroom malfunctioning, Small warm room, noisy airco, a woman's sock was in the room, TV had a very bad reception, extreemmuch dust under the bed.

    The bed was OK

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    An unique style of hotel with a very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    An hotel with an unique character in the old part of Diest. Secure overnight storage for bicycles. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Gracious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thoughtful staff. Beautiful, clean and charming room. Perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing Stay in Quiet Diest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Diest is a hidden gem in Belgium, and we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Quite strange old room setup castel style.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite strange old room setup castel style. If you like it it could be very nice but I didn't.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    A good place to stay at Diest
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quietness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast was good delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dirty and really dark. Matrass horrible, Too soft. We could also hear our neighbours. (Thin walls)

    Breakfast was good delicious. Friendly woman at reception. Nice location.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    4.6
    Nice building from the outside in the center of Diest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room number 1 is a very tiny room in another building. The entrance of room 1 is beside the toilets. You can smell the toilets if you enter your room. There is one window with the view on an airo and two brick walls. The breakfast buffet was not refilled, so we could choice from the left overs. No fresh coffee was served. Room number 1 didn't match with the pictures on booking.com at all.

    Nice building from the outside in the center of Diest

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.7
    Excellent, central position, in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure you arrive for breakfast well before the advertised finish time of 09.30! We arrived at 09.30 to watch everything being removed from before our eyes (and hands) by a particularly unhelpful member of staff. The same member of staff was on the desk when we checked out, and couldn't even bring herself to thank us, or wish us goodbye. 0/10 for charm!

    Excellent, central position, in the heart of the town. Room was comfortable, if basic. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    3.8
    Unfortunately we did not really like anything about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff could have been more friendly,no smile or greeting. No atmosphere or facilities to get a drink. The whole place felt deserted. The Bistro was shut and I had requested dinner but no one informed us until we got there that the Bistro was closed. We were told to walk into the market which was the square and get dinner there! No recommendation was given but we did not ask either. Our daughter's room was ok but ours was dark and dated. Very expensive for what it was. The receptionist did not even say thank you at check out just processed the bill!

    Unfortunately we did not really like anything about this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.0
    Close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived 4pm on a Sunday. Couldn't get the car to the front door as the road was closed when approaching via satnav. No staff - all gone home. No help - just an answering service from a woman in Liege when a button outside the door was pressed.

    Close to town centre

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.9
    The lovely receptionist had to direct us in as the road we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lovely receptionist had to direct us in as the road we were travelling on was blocked. The entrance was through a modern arch way and the hotel sign wasn't that obvious. The bedroom was lovely and breakfast room was very interesting. We were made to feel most welcome with our dog. The breakfast was plentiful and set us up for continuing our journey. The local park next to the Brasserie was ideal for our dog and just opposite the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.3
    Great location, amazing restaurant linked to the hotel, nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Aircon did not work in room - very stuffy but not un-bearable - reported it to reception and they will get it fixed

    Great location, amazing restaurant linked to the hotel, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel and brasserie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street parking was OK but on weekdays there is a charge

    Excellent hotel and brasserie. Good for our dogs as small park right next door. Very friendly. Great location just minutes from main square

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    8.8
    excellent breakfast, fantastic room, very friendly and...
    • Couple

    wifi wasn't great, and although the bathroom looked magnificent, showering in the tub is not ideal. place looked very clean, but there were some old bottles behind the bathtub that were left over from previous visitors.

    excellent breakfast, fantastic room, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, large family room, super friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect location, large family room, super friendly staff and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.1
    Well situated, friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room next to lift, a little noisey

    Well situated, friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    Nice building features ,great breakfast and good central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice building features ,great breakfast and good central location .Not far from Zolder and the CX World Champs

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Village atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Village atmosphere. Unesco area was very interesting and worth a visit. Hotel was very central and very comfortable with an interesting history.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotel The Lodge Diest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: