Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pipers

Badenlaan 91, 8434 Middelkerke, Belgium

#24 of 32 hotels in Middelkerke

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 B&B reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom faciitaties not very nice. Shower was blocked with black hairs and a small standalone shower unit. Stairs to the 2nd floor where not the best. Would not recommend to anyone with any disabilities .. Very tiny steps and lots of them.

    Irish breakfast was a nice unexpected surprise . The beds where comfy,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was dark and dingy, as for clean that is a very loose description of it as the windows still had mold around them as you can see by my pictures, the room had a new light fitted in the bathroom above the mirror but left all the old parts screws and all in the bathroom draw . And if we had known the bar and restaurant was going to be closed for the duration of our visit we would never of come the first we knew about it was when we arrived with the notice shown in my pictures on the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great for short breaks, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation could be updated but I guess this would rize the price 😀

    We had a 1 night stop at Pipers. It's great value for money. We had a great beer in the evening and nice breakfast before check out. Would definitelly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.0
    Unrewarding !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a Wednesday , according to website all facilities ie bar and restaurant are available daily , this was not the case as bar and restaurant not open on a Wednesday !!! If this had been made clear we would not of booked to stay .

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Basic B&B with nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cumbersome room arrangement (the owner has definitely tried to maximize the space to accomodate as many rooms as possible in this oldish building), overwhelmed staff, noise from the patrons at the terrace directly audible in the room, noisy ventilation system kicking in early in the morning.

    Nice english breakfast (the full monty), real Irish ambiance (the hotel is above an Irish pub), very large family room, the restaurant at the pub seems to be a local's favorite (could not try: it was fully booked), located close to a large free public parking & a few hundred meters away from the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    The room we had was a good size for 3 ,the bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have their own parking,the town was really busy and had to park long way away, also I think the room price is a bit high

    The room we had was a good size for 3 ,the bar and restaurant was good. Also close to the beach and transport facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Present stay in Irish pub-The Pipers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I could possibly critic is possibly the room we stayed is a bit old. The sound proof with our neighbor next door is not very well.

    The best point of The B&B is an Irish Bar, after all day visiting by walking, to have one fresh beer or Cider and excenllent grilled meat is really enjoyable. Delicious breakfast is typical English breakfast with typical Belgian breakfast buffet. The hotel is in a residential area calme and close to tram station and sea front just crossed the road. Since it is a pet friendly hotel, we could pass one excellent week-end with our little dog. The staffs are very friendly, even with lot of clients, the service in the restaurant and bar is really in time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    3.8
    The pub looked nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt uncomfortable from the minute we arrived. The staff were busy getting the pub ready for restaurant customers as we waited to be shown our 'room'. The side entrance leads past the pub toilets, hold your breath. If you're claustrophobic don't book the double room it's very small and there's only one useless little window in the shower cubby hole. Still we looked forward to a meal and few drinks in the pub. We sat at a table and a waitress asked if we had a reservation, we replied no, ' then you'll have to leave' she said. I had already stood at the bar for a while and been ignored so we didn't even get a drink.we ended up in the pub across the road where we got friendly service with a smile. We thought we'd be okay it's only for one night and would have to pay anyway but I'd rather have slept in the car than that stuffy box they called a room. Anyway we'd had to abandon the car on the grass as the public car park was full. I suppose the breakfast was ok.

    The pub looked nice...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    The Pipers -a great stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were very hard

    great breakfast freshly cooked to order, close to the beach and near bars and restaurants. parking on the road is free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Great bar and restaurant, usual Flanders welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bar and restaurant, usual Flanders welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    stayed in 4 hotels in 3 week holiday. this was the overall best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a bath tub, only shower facilities.

    the friendly atmosphere, delightful owner/chef, delicious food, location, staff happy to accommidate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    3.8
    Location close to the beach and bars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very noisy, bar underneath got louder as the night went on, not a good place for children! We only had one set of keys and when one of our group went out, we were LOCKED IN! Very dangerous!!!!! You had to go through the bathroom to get into the room so we had to time our bathroom breaks that no one wanted into or out of the room! There were plenty of towels but they were old and well used! You had to check in at the bar, and they were busy and not very receptive.

    Location close to the beach and bars!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you are after a peaceful nights sleep Do Not Stay Here. The pub is below the family rooms, the pub serves food to 1.00 am. This is followed by the staff and locals drinking on to 4.00 am. The music was only turned off when I went down to the bar and complained at 1.30 am. The staff don`t care about the guests and the so called Irish breakfast is rubbish, the only thing Irish about this place is the decor and the beer. The shower head was broken, the sink blocked up, the floor board are damaged and creaking. One window had no curtains or blinds, no remote control for the TV, the bathroom door does not close or lock. The noise from the bar and the smokers outside the single glazed windows is terrible. We requested private parking in advance, on arrival we where told to use the local car park which was full up. After driving around for 30 minutes trying to find a space I returned to the pub to be told the parking space is at No 26 you can use that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This place has seen better days, the staircase up to the rooms is not for the elderly or disabled, For 169 euros a night this is not value for money, it is a RIP OFF.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.3
    We have three older dogs, the latest addition being a 17...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location being advertised as 200M from the beach is probably a little optimistic, but still an easy 5 minutes walk. With 2 adults and three dogs, it would have been nice to have the room cleaned everyday, or some supplies so we could at least sweep/vacuum the hair and sand.

    We have three older dogs, the latest addition being a 17 year old rescue just a few weeks before our trip. Piper's relocated us to a large downstairs room so she wouldn't have to try and navigate stairs. They also helped us bring meals from the restaurant to our room so we didn't have to leave the 'pack' two of the three for whom this was their first trip away. We had a package with cooked breakfast included - delicious. As was all the food we ate there. The personal sauna in the room was a unusual surprise!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Lovely food, beer and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely food, beer and breakfast. comfy bed and hot water, Good Location

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Browse The Pipers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: