Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Century Hotel Antwerpen Centrum 3 stars

Pelikaanstraat 20, Antwerp District, 2018 Antwerp, Belgium

#58 of 65 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3477 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, but room too hot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is not air-conditioned and they don't provide any electric fan. If you open the window, mosquitoes will come in. Walls are thin and noises will disturb your sleep. Room was not thoroughly cleaned after the previous tenant.

    The train station (including metro station, various supermarkets and bakeries) is just across the street. Staff is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is delicious and lots of varieties. Wi-fi is reliable and fast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Stay away from here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in late and were given a key to someone else’s room!!! We literally walked in to someone room, luckily the people already in the room were really polite and were as surprised as we were and not mad. We went down to reception and the staff took long to give us new rooms after they had to go personally and check other room to see if they were empty :( really bad experience. Very unprofessional, hotel is dirty as well.

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good enought hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The musquito's. Killed 13 or so.

    Friendly people. Foto does not macht the hotel. Its cheap so expect cheap. Shower was clean, No airconditioning. Just a bed in a small room. Nothing to add. Nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    One night, okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt unclean. No relief from the heat, as although the window was open there was no draft. No aircon at all. The bathroom was clean ! WiFi was very weak indeed.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value, decor a little tired but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Saturday night other guests were noisy at 2am.

    I'm fairly heavy, the bed was comfortable for me which is rare in a hotel. Friday and Sunday nights were REALLY quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Choose just if you have to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff charged extra fee for baby cot but there was no baby cot in the room and it was not mentioned in the terms/conditions at booking.com. They paid back the overcharge after we complained from booking.com. Room was dirty, old furniture and spider webs around. No wi-fi available at rooms only at lobby and staff kidding with you with saying 'use internet here if you need'.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the accommodation was basic - and nothing more. No hair dryer, no toilet brush - the matresses were old and need to be replaced - or they were simply too soft for me - you can't open the window full and with no A/C it will be quite hot in summer - and the biggest problem of all: it was too loud! there were so many people in the floor, you could hear simply every world, also from other rooms as the rooms are NOT isolated at all. then some other people went out of the room and they started discussions - this was so crazy... then you can also hear the ring of the elevator which was also annoying. I definitely could not sleep longer than 5-6 hours a the noise was there through the whole night

    - the friendly staff at the reception: fast, helpful, with a smile - just next to the central station - you can reach the main sights by foot - two elevators

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Ok but I expected a little bit more comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too soft, bedlinen was clean but looked a bit grubby, the room was far too hot and there was also a lot of noise from other guests. Cleanliness was also not up to scratch as there was quite a bit of dust in the bathroom and the shower was emptying very slow so I assume it was blocked.

    Location is great, close to public transport, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.0
    Literally steps to the trains at the Antwerpen Centraal, we...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, thin walls. Worn out furniture.

    Literally steps to the trains at the Antwerpen Centraal, we arrived late in the evening and were heading further next morning - were happy not to stroll bags along the dark streets. The area is well lid and seems secure. Good shower (a bathtub), strong water pressure, they provide shower amenities. We had a family room, clean, separated in two to keep some privacy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    tolerate the lack of amenities and it is what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad planning of the room amenities lack of air flow too warm no air con low bed noise from very early workers when windows open but most hotels can suffer with some inconsiderate morons. No place for smokers to go to looks tatty when stood out side the door and passive smoke drifting in.

    close proximity to the public transport systems. Bars restaurants and late night takeaways close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    the advert for here doesn't lie 3 dying stars
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no air conditioner so hot at night.The shower cubicle was narrow . Fridge or complimentary tea coffee. The bed was too soft too narrow and too low for my age (66) for me to get in and out with out any difficulty. Three stars it may have just scrapped in at the low end of 3.

    Near transport hub.Close to places to eat and drink.Price.Having a lift

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    The ease of access to the transport links;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel has no air conditioning just a mid size window and a smaller one in the bathroom which do open with very little way of any air flow coming in,can and did become rather hot/humid at night.If the cleaners would leave the windows open instead of letting what cool air there was in,it may as not been as bad as it was. The beds are a little narrow and low down with a soft mattress. The electric door card lock isn't the best on the market as I had the odd tantrum at it .Can be erased too easily if you have a magnet on your phone cover 'wipes it lean' The "city" taxes having to pay the hotel maybe again as you (Booking.Com) stated it was all included in the price even showing the receptionist the confirmation of the booking. The shower doors could be better, a little narrow to get in, impossible if you are really large. There isn't a kettle or small fridge what would be handy. If you want a bit more pampering find some where else. This hotel served my needs ok barring unable to control the temperature with in the room .

    The ease of access to the transport links; train, tram and bus or taxis, you are directly outside them but the quiet part. The rail station has a few different shops within the building if you do not want to pay extra for the breakfast or items out of the vending machines in the hotel. Its very convenient for bars and places to eat about 250 meters or so around the corner.The zoo is the other side of the station and if your interested in animals its ideal for avisit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff. Would definately stay here again. Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea making facilities. No fridge. Other guests could be noisy sometimes.

    Excellent location right beside Central Station and Bus Terminal. Close to many restaurants and within walking distance to all tourist spots. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Room was serviced every day. Free wifi was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled terrible, it was very hot and humid, mosquitos in the room, the bed was very uncomfortable, and the pillows were possibly the worst we’ve ever had to sleep with

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.9
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most probably the dingiest grimey hotel I have ever stayed in... blood/fluid stains on the carpet, greasy stains on the headboard..grime on the walls and around the windows

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Next to the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corridor smelt of smoke room was OK. No aircon. Bathroom small with black mould starting to grow in corners of base shower. For 1 night OK any more no.

    Next to the station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Good enough for a one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon- this is my fault, I didn’t read the facilities description clearly before booking. The reception lent us a small fan to get by our one night stay. Room looked clean on a first glance but soon we realised it was not very clean, we can notice obvious finger print from a greasy palm on the door, or the oil stain on the table etc, or a bottle cap on the floor.

    Fantastic location! The room is spacious. Furniture set is quite complete. The water pressure from the shower is the best among all the hotels during our trip. To be fair to the hotel, overall is still good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    sleep = good, breakfast = disaster
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a DISASTER! Not worth 12€ at all went down at 7am , place was packed, almost no food left (and in theory it just opened), they opened the door to a conference place to sit, which was freaking dirty !!! No one to help you out so that was very disappointing!

    friendly staff, next to the train station, big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Very noisy even with the windows closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy even with the windows closed. No airco. Didn't sleep one minute. Night receptionist very impollite and not welcomming at all (checked in around midnight) I do not recommend at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Cheap so you know what you get. but wouldn't take a lot to knock it up a level
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its cheap, so you get what you pay for I guess. Odd room shapes and what felt like a very narrow bed. No aircon, so it got quite warm at night. We were only given a small sachet of shower gel each day which wasn't really enough. It wouldn't take a lot of effort to make a big difference to the hotel by just improving some small things.

    Great location, right next to the train station and close to one of the main squares and main street. Was clean as well, though there were signs of wear and tear in the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic hotel for a fair price. Great if you only want to sleep here.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be a little bit cleaner. Some corners didn;t look very nice but it was not terrible. We also got a big room but it was very empty. A painting or something would improve the room a lot.

    It is a basic hotel for a basic price. We only planned to sleep here for one night so this hotel was perfect for us! The room was very big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    loocation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception staff , room small and old fashion design need to be restoration , beds are very small and un comptable , rooms are clean but some missing places dusty and dirty

    loocation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was really great.

    The location was great. The room was awesome, very clean and neat. The m2 of the room were greatear than we imagine. Great hotel and location for a quick visit to Antwerp.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable beds, spacious room, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we encountered abnormally high temperatures and the room didn’t have air conditioning so it got a little hot

    Comfortable beds, spacious room, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is right next to the train station and in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't take the breakfast as it was cheaper to have it in the eatery in front of the hotel. In the bathroom there was only one hanger for towels.

    The hotel is right next to the train station and in a walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The bedroom was outstanding for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House keeping opened my door without knocking on the door or talking whilst I was dressing. That is an unacceptable level of service and very annoying.

    The bedroom was outstanding for the price paid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    This is a good cheap option for one night stay. It is good enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside looks very off putting. There was confusion about how long we were staying but this was easily fixed. The room was fine for one night max.

    The location was good and it had everything we needed for one night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Very good central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. Hotel was full of teenagers that were shouting till late in the night and I couldnt sleep. The walls are very thin and you hear everything from neighbouring rooms and from the corridor.

    Very good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Right in the Heart of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Completely outside the hotel's control, but work on the building site next door starts at 6.30am. I generally admire an early starter, but not when he's outside my room with a pneumatic drill! Beware crossing the road outside the hotel - there can be vans parked on the pavement which makes it very difficult to see if there is traffic coming. Again, the hotel can't be held responsible for this. The breakfast here isn't terribly good value at EUR9,50. There isn't much choice and the breakfast waiter would make a good stand-in at the gates of Hades if ever Cerberus needs to take a day off to go to see the vet!

    One of the things I pick hotels for is their location and this one is excellently-sited right next to Antwerpen-Centraal Station (come out via the Pelikaanstraat exit and it is literally just over the road). The excellent Zoo is five minutes' walk away and the Beer Lovers' Bar ten minutes. There are any number of restaurants from Belgian to Malaysian and Argentinean within ten minutes' walk. The check-in / front desk staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. My top-floor room was comfortable and spacious enough for a three-night stay. The wifi worked well in my room (but I couldn't pick it up in the breakfast lounge). I like Antwerp, and I will be back. I'd certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Television did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television did not work. Even after complaining. The WIFI neither. None of the 8 electricty plugs in the room did work, so I could't charge my phone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    It was a businnes trip for me, and the time I spend in the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell of the hotel, the menu of the breakfast.

    It was a businnes trip for me, and the time I spend in the hotel was limited. the odor was heavy, the breakfast was poor, and they didnt have variety of choices. the staff was friendly and nice. the rooms and the sheets were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    good location for a short few nights !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The noise from everywhere can be heard from the street, outside the room corridor where someone was calling for door at midnight very loudly and knocking badly. - A proper double bed would be great than two single combined beds. - No kettle in the room and a deposit rental for a hair dryer is inconvenient. - Housekeeping cleaning service can be improved.

    Location is great just in front of the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    only the location was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sleeping so good because of the noise and not so good bed to sleep in.

    The bed was bad and small. And the other guests on our floor banged the doors all the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Mere steps from the train station, this hotel has 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny but functional. We had to scoot sideways to walk between the foot of the bed and the wall, while ducking under he television. Awkward. The room we had should have been for 1 single not a double.

    Mere steps from the train station, this hotel has 2 elevators and a nice chandelier. Rooms were clean and sufficiently modern. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.8
    I arrived to the hotel, got the key from the room, but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived to the hotel, got the key from the room, but the room was dirty (towels on the floor, garbage in the trash bin). I went back to the reception, the guy gave me the key from another room. I check that room and found that there is only one set of towels, while I was with my partner. I went back to the reception and asked the guy to bring a second set of towels. He promised me to do that. When I returned back to the hotel, there were no additional towels. I went back to the reception to get them. I need to add that there are only two elevators, and one of them was broken. So, each trip (from the 9th floor to the reception took me around 10 minutes).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Next to central station and transport hubs, short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal room furnishings, very poor soundproofing of rooms

    Next to central station and transport hubs, short walk to city center, near restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Problems with toillet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with toillet. After some requests and 6 hours later the staff checked that out and moved us to other room that smelled like cigars. From the room we cannot call to the reception because there wasn't any information regarding the reception number. We had to go there to complain about the problem.

    Room heated. Great location. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location friendly staff and pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not so clean...room was just ok condition. It can really be super noisy at night .... the walls are super thin .... being just adjacent to the central station it can get super disturbing at night

    Excellent location friendly staff and pleasent stay... washrooms were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hair-dryer in the room would be welcomed. There was a very noisy group on the floor, staff tried to get them to keep the noise down but still there were doors opening and closing till late in the night. Maybe it could be an idea, when there are big groups on one floor to put other guests on a different floor as much as possible.

    Perfect hotel for a short stay! Close to the train station and trams/bus, it has the basic facilities, the rooms are clean, even if a bit old, the staff is friendly and helpful. I often stay here when I need to spend a night in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    - Good location, next to the railway station and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Soundproofing could be better

    - Good location, next to the railway station and close to the city center - Clean rooms - Friendly and hospitable reception personal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    hotel is just accross from the station which is ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds were not clean, the room was really dirty, stains on the walls, the carpet was full of dust we did not dare go barefoot. was really surprised because it had good ratings, but was not even close. will not stay here again

    hotel is just accross from the station which is ideal! breakfast was okayish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.5
    Hotel was clean enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breackfast wasnt up to much. We turned up at half nine on two consecutive mornings, I couldn’t be bothered on the third morning, to find a shortage of most things. Room very basic, clean enough, but a kettle with tea and coffees would’ve been nice

    Hotel was clean enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Antwerp trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms basic / hard bed / no drink making facilities in room / no toaster at breakfast/ breakfast not worth money

    Location is perfect/ hotel clean / good shower / helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Decent stay, really good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were very spongy and felt old. Room felt really dark.

    Very central location to where we wanted to be. Comfortable room with decent shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were pretty cold and the walls in the hotel are really thin. You can hear everything what's going outside. That's a bad choice for a light sleeper.

    The hotel is just next to the main station, so the location couldn't be more perfect for a couple of nights. The staff was nice and helpful, they helped us with the taxi as there were none outside (due to the some kind of annual train station staff strike many people were using taxis as the main transportation). Two of my friends had a room where the heating was not working, so they changed it very quickly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.6
    Despite the excellent location and the staff friendliness, the room was very dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely dirty (carpet and walls were full with stains) and the sheets also did not feel clean at all. No hair dryer either.

    Location and staff responsiveness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    The Location was very close to the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is quite outdated. The rooms are big but very simple.

    The Location was very close to the main attractions. It is just in front of the central station, taxis & bike rental shop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t recommend it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want hot water, this is not the place for you. Cold showers for two days. The third day they changed my room, but forgot to tell housekeeping, so it wasn’t cleaned the next day

    The location was convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and good sized rooms for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture has seen better days and the bathroom was spacious but old (crooked tiles etc). No money spent on decorating the room or hallways.

    Excellent location, very spacious family room and good beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    3.3
    it was not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    training to make a hotel

    there was not any facilities such as spoon its to make thee and any glas to dronk water no fridge and haire drayer to be honest it was not like a hotel they do nit accept note of 100 euro and lot of issue

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay at a low price. Not luxurious or beautiful, but contains everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast wasn't great (but to be fair, it only cost 9 euros at reception). The coffee was disgusting, and the 'warm buffet' consisted of just a few dried-up bits of scrambled egg. I got there before 9am, but the breakfast was due to go on till 10.30, so anyone coming later got even less of a choice.

    This hotel is in a brilliant location just opposite Antwerpen Centraal railway station. You can dump your stuff and then walk into town - it's only a mile to the Grote Markt, with lots of nice buildings on the way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Non pleasant stay for a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room as well as the bed was too small for two persons with a kid. They asked me to pay full in advance and get the room key. Only after that I can see the room. After visiting the room, I requested for a child's bed, but come to know that child bed is not allowed in that room. Of course, there was no space to place the child bed. Even very tiny space to walk in the room to go to the washroom. But when I booked it was explicitly written about 2 adults and a kid. If I want a child's bed, I needed to change the room. In both the cases, I need to pay in total 75 Euro/night. I could not find a reason, why they gave me that tiny room. They did not admit their mistake and did not arrange an alternative rather putting it to the shoulder on the booking.com, which is ridiculous.

    I like the location that is just opposite of the central station and all the shooing and food shops are close to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    It was grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty bad. I’d recommend not paying the extra for breakfast, train station is across the road with cafes nicer and better value. No hairdryer, iron or kettle in room. Clean but very basic.

    Location was good/

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a strong, unpleasant smell coming from the lobby area. The smell did not go away throughout our stay.

    We loved the location as it was literally opposite Antwerp Grand Centraal station. Also, the hotels are within walking distance to so many restaurants, shops and the Antwerp Zoo. As a family travelling with a small child all these were highlights for us. The room was spacious with excellent heating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.6
    I accidentally booked for the 8th Feb instead of the 8th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I accidentally booked for the 8th Feb instead of the 8th March. I tried to change the booking via the hotel but they would not allow me to because I had booked a non-refundable room. I understand that but feel very angry. I don't think it's very good customer relations. Be careful when booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfortable, the room was fairly clean, the bathroom was clean but with mould in grout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms did not meet the size depicted by the pictures on the website

    On booking I requested a room with a large window and when I arrived they did not have this notification and were unable to accommodate unless I paid €80 more

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Very fair for the price we paid ( except for the breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the breakfast and was discussed that you had minimal food for the price

    For 9 € the breakfast was disgraceful When we did out calculations we paid 9€ each for coffee and a cold sandwich. Staff were lovely though

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Super-large room, but sparsely furnished, so it felt a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Super-large room, but sparsely furnished, so it felt a bit like a barn! A few pictures on the walls would help. We had a great meal in the restaurant, but there were no other diners - makes you wonder how long the restaurant will survive. Convenient location directly opposite central station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location for that price, but thin walls and dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived a bit early, but it was told our room was ready. The room was far from ready, with a very dirty shower and bathroom (hairs and mud in the shower and on the counter). We asked the cleaners 2 days in a row to clean this,but it didn't happen. We complained at the front desk, they wrote down that our room was dirty but again our bathroom wasn't cleaned. Very irritating and disappointing, felt like we were not taken serious.

    Great location, 20m from Central Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Not a good place if you are looking for a good night of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day water was cold. Bad sound and cold insulation.. u had the impression the windows were open. Sink didn't drain neither shower. Beds very old and softned by age. Curtin ripped and therefore light would come in. Floor carpet in bad shape.

    The location was good if u move by train

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent mattress, good heating, new shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of meats, cheese, eggs at breakfast under par. Dining room had bad odour, I wanted to eat there but I went out.

    Excellent mattress, good heating, new shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Everything nice and clean, excellent shower
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    These days, it is no longer necessary to have fresh towels every day. A couple of extra hooks in the bathroom would help, though.

    Everything nice and clean, excellent shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.0
    Short stay, great location but let down by its very poor breakfast & internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel need serious refubrishment. Carpet on the corridor dirty & stained look like been neglected. Internet connection in room was utterly poor. Breakfast options was disgusting for 12 Euro. During my stay, breakfast room was full of guests only one staff looking after the breakfast, people were waiting for foods. The staff was struggling, food was running out, juices jar were empty. I felt sorry for the staff being left alone. overall I would stay in this hotel only for 1 or 2 nights, But avoid having breakfast at any cost.

    Great location which is always great, good size of room , clean and very confy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    4.2
    Ok if u just need a nights sleep and quick access to train station. Other than that its not good at.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The staff were not pleasant to talk to. The room was not clean. Sheets were dirty. Walls were mouldy. Just everything else was not good

    The bathroom was the best bit. Had a bath. Also the large wardrobe. Finally the only other nice thing was the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub leaked through the wall to the bedroom and wet the carpet. Didn't smell too good. The other radiator didn't work and the bathroom was very cold. Room had a weird layout.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    A good base for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The same limited breakfast every day: scrambled or hard-boiled eggs were the only hot items. The corridor carpets were stained.

    As we arrived and left by train the location opposite Antwerp's Central station was perfect. Incidentally the three-day ticket for rides on both trams and buses makes it easy and cheap to travel around the region.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Yells for renovation
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. VERY NOISY (see the screenshot). The decibels were as per a quiet street, but I was in my bed at the 7th floor with the windows closed 2. The windows were not closing properly 3. The walls were extremely dirty (see photos... yes...those are dead huge bugs) 4. The breakfast was too expensive for what was offering. The only hot meal was scrambled eggs. There was no variety, there were morning in which I could find only some cheese (every other thing was gone)

    As a plus would be the fact that is near the metro/tram and the central station. The heater in my room was working (on the room of a friend it was not)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. The location is perfect, especially if one wishes to travel to other places, do some sightseeing or shop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Simple stay right next to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was horrible.Overused.Must be 20 years old or something.When you lay on it,it sinks deeply down in the middle.Very uncomfortable to sleep in and gave me back pain the next day.Worst bed ever.The room stinks of cigarette smell too.Must be the previous guests violating rules.

    The staffs were friendly.It's right next to the Central Station.Convenient for everything.Near shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Beat deal of 3 hotels I stayed in Belgium on a 5 day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a walk into town centre (20 minutes?). No breakfast option (but I knew that before I booked).

    Pleasant staff. Close to station without being a run down area (which is common). All as expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Real close to Railway station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated and needs renovation in the room; Pay taxes at the check-in, around 2,5€ per person per night, not included in the booking price; No breakfast included in the price; No wifi in the room ( 4th floor); Broken shelf in the cupboard.

    Close to the Antwerp Central Rail Station, 1 min walk, right at the Station; 24 hr check in; Good beds; Shower and toilet in the room with free towels, soap, shampoo and plastic cups; Fridge in the room; Separate light near every bed; Check out at 12 pm; Elevator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, Excellent price, but needs a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired, in need of decoration. The carpet was comprehensively stained and under the bed had not been vacuumed for a long time.

    You can’t beat its location, right next to the station. For such a fantastic location, the price was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean and basic. Maybe too basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very basic and spartan. It's fine for a couple of nights but maybe some colour or decor could be added. The building needs another lift as it's just over 9 floors.

    The room was comfortable and very clean. The bed was great. The location is great and convenient. Just across the street from the main rail station. And I had a great view fron 9th floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    comfortable beds, big rooms, big bathroom, nice location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was old, you could find out about it because of the bad smell of sewage air, very noisy, I heared talking (through the bathroom pipes) from 7 floors below my floor. There was a problem with another guest (from another visiting group) who went totally crazy and drunk and banged on the door of one of our rooms (we had two). My friends were terrified and they couldn't even call someone of the hotel or police with the hotel phone in their room, it was off or broken...... We've got an apology from the desk personel, and that was it...

    comfortable beds, big rooms, big bathroom, nice location, next to central station, if you like there's a restaurant and bar in the hotel. We didn't use it, but good to know. They offer a discount for the Q-Park near the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    I exepcted much more than i received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionists was rather rude and gave no attention to the guests. The rooms looked much better on the site in comparison to reality. The rooms were small and hot.

    The customer service from the receptionist was really appreciated. There were three male receptionists while i was staying at the hotel. Two of them were very polite and friendly. I appreciated the fact that the hotel is literally a minute or less away from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Century Hotel Antwerpen Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: