Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Tuilerieën - Small Luxury Hotels of the World 4 stars

Dijver 7, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#16 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 793 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Bruges, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This room had a beautiful bathroom but there was no separate stand-up shower. This would have made it very difficult to deal with if travelling with an older or infirm person. Having to sit in a bath to shower is not ideal for many people.

    I love the canal-side location of this hotel - although the road is quite busy during the day, it is very quiet at night. It is close to all Bruges main attractions and restaurants. Beds were very comfortable and the room was large and elegantly decorated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A great location ,gorgeous hotel super friendly staff and a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complaints!

    We loved the location....overlooking the canal.....and the room was fantastic....what a beautiful bathroom! But most of all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were so nice too: And we were allowed to keep our car in the car park for as long as we needed after checkng out.No com

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. No fault.

    Looked after bags before check in, delivered to room when ready. Lovely pool and spa area. Very comfortable beds, huge bathroom. Quite possibly one if the best hotel rooms I've stayed at full stop. Better than many 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Plus and minuses...
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was as hard as a rock! I woke with a very bad backache. There wasn't a shower, only a tub with a shower handle on it at the tub level and no hanger to stand under it. We traveled with a very well behaved dog but were not allowed to bring the dog into any of the hotel amenities, so we didn't enjoy the bar or the restaurant. For the price, I would have liked to enjoy the hotel a little bit more than we were allowed because of the dog.

    The location of this hotel is ideal. It's a beautiful building inside and out with very convenient parking. The room was large, clean, and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Magnificent view - Shame about the room facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room 131 had a newly fitted bathroom but no shelf in the shower. Trying to hold on to washing items and washing your hair was a skill I did not manage. The shower easily leaked onto the floor if you used the handheld device. Our room was the top priced room in the hotel and was sadly lacking in several areas. One of the chairs was very badly stained. The cabinet for the TV was tatty. There was insufficient sockets at one side of the bed to plug in an iPhone and have the bed side light on. Only two teabags were left daily,.3 glass panes in the window were cracked However I understand that as it is a UNESCO heritage site they cannot easily replace These.The magnified mirror would not stay in place as it dropped each time you try to look into it! Overall very overpriced for the facilities we received from this hotel however I would recommend a river view room but do not go for the top rated ones If our room is the standard that is set for a royal executive room.We were very underwhelmed with the room but the view was magnificent!

    Breakfast was excellent the bed was very comfortable position could not be bettered. Staff were polite and helpful. Within walking distance to all major attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small chocolate on pillow would have been nice. The ladies like that. The bed supports couldn't measure up to the amorous mood created by the hotel and town.

    Lovely bar area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Could not have asked for a better view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the breakfast served was very good, it still felt more expensive than it should.

    We booked a room with a view facing the river, and it had a spectacular view. Its location could not be better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hospitality in the heart of Brugge.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    I have stayed in total 5 nights at the hotel. The last room was exceptional and most importantly the staff are super attentive and helpful. The secure car park is also essential to my business needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little overpriced, 25 euros per person (so 50 euros for a couple) was a significant addition to room price.

    Great location, very good facilities and extremely helpful, polite and friendly staff. The room was quiet, well air-conditioned, spacious and pretty/fancy. We were made to feel like important customers. Would definitely recommend and return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Second time I stayed this hotel and was satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you open the window, mosquito may come in

    Second time I stayed this hotel and was satisfied. This time I booked a room with camel view but felt not so much diffrece.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Very great experience here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this for my sister who lives in Germany. I booked through Booking.com prepaid and it went smooth. The Hotel accommodated a request for earlier checkin. My sister loved the place!

    Great customer service Prompt email responses by the hotel Very nice room Wellness included in room rate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    I'm extremely disappointed with the service at this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm extremely disappointed with the service at this hotel. I had pre-paid the room, however my husband and I weren't able to go on the booked date because of unforeseen family circumstances. I called the hotel 48 hours ahead explaining the situation and asked them to have the kindness of letting us change date to the following week (which is something that most hotels with a minimum sense of service do especially when it's only for one night.) In addition to being inflexible and unwilling to even do a small gesture, in explaining their policy they were also extremely rude. They absolutely have no idea of how to keep their customers happy and clearly don't care about their reputation..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Would Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelers with young children may have to take note that this hotel only accepts a max. Of 2 adults in the room (due to fire safety rules). We had to pay for upgrades to larger rooms as we have children (2 & 6 years old) in each room but it was quite worth it. The room that was previously assigned before the upgrade was very compact. Not a negative point but just something to take note of 🙂 The air conditioning in one of the rooms (335) was also not as strong but it was okay as we could open the windows to let fresh and cooler air into the room.

    Location of hotel (very close proximity to touristy areas), the beauty of the hotel (inside and out), secure onsite parking (reservation required; €30/day)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room and friendly staff plus fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "spa" could use an update and the bathroom / shower was a challenge for my 185 cm husband (no place to hang shower head and it didn't reach over his head) and not a lot of legroom around WC.

    Lovely room and friendly staff plus fantastic location. The hotel itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was rubbish and a plug socket didn’t work. Also we were in a ‘cheaper’ room which was up a separate flight of stairs and it had a tin roof. Not ideal when it was raining hard as quite noisy.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Rooms were uncomfortable and badly decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were uncomfortable and badly decorated. Bathroom was basic and probably unchanged since the 1960s. The advertised canal view was through a small window in the attic. The room was advertised and prized as a royal executive room with canal view but was basically a dark uncharming attic room with a very limited view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A paradasaical stay in wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is second to none and the staff really looks after their guests. There is a spa and a swimming-pool and the hotel exudes an incredible serenity. I simply love the location. I love the attitude of the staff: very classy and attentive, they understood it was a sort of honey moon for me and my fiancée...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    I won’t go back to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is tricky.. we did not book porter when check in to send luggage to all rooms so we pre book for check out date cos there are many elderly in our group who needed help with luggage. When check out, hotel charged for porter both check in and check out informing that the reception helped carry luggage from the bus (which parked in front of hotel) so they have to charge porter charges.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the back yard and not clean at all There were patches of damp on the ceiling. Well below expectation and not worthy of 4 stars.

    Great location and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Front desk staff and housekeeping were incredible. Hardworking, sweet and caring people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, charming and perfect accommodations ideally located in the city. Top staff and beauful. But one flaw, the breakfast buffet room was hosted by a surly, unaccommodating woman. She got upset that we pulled two tables for 2 together to make 4. We are a family of 4, and had just gotten our 2 and 5 year old settled in... only to have to move to meet her whim where 4 should sit. There was no discernible difference of any kind. Yet we had to move and she was unapologetic and overly stern about it. The restaurant was empty besides us. The food was still great, she was just inflexible and turned our morning breakfasts from a great way to start the day into our one low point of an awesome stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    Unfortunately the memory of our short stay in Brugge will always have a negative aspethe experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our car was badly damaged when another guest reversed into it in the private car park, (30 euros a night) after which the hotel staff opened the security gate and allowed the guest to leave. Also the information about the cost of the wellness centre was ambiguous. I asked if these costs could be waived in the circumstances and I was accused by the general manager of "not being honest" How mean spirited! Unbelievable! A little good will goes a long way!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, great location, pretty view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that you had to pay extra for the pool and sauna - I hadn’t noticed it in the booking confirmation. Once you’ve paid c. €200 for a room, you expect this to be included, especially as it’s not operated as a separate spa.

    Location, lovely room on top floor with very pretty views, comfy bed and modern bathroom. Staff very friendly and the bar is gorgeous and very cosy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. It is what is known as a boutique hotel, and it was a lovely experience. We booked a room overlooking the canal. The room was huge and the bathroom gorgeous. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was beautiful and perfectly located for a city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful and perfectly located for a city break. The staff were warm and wonderfully welcoming...nothing was too much trouble. They were also super helpful with recommendations for restaurants - and helped with baby related things - bottle sterilising and parking the buggy! The pool was small but great for taking time out from sightseeing. Family room - duplex - was spacious and well furnished!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was expensive but amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath robes were too small they were both sized XL My partner is a size 6 and only just fit her I’m a 42 inch chest and it wouldn’t cover my chest or belly When told staff they say that’s the biggest size Joke

    The breakfast was expensive but amazing The staff were very helpful Location perfect Rooms lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, attractive hotel but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to pay extra for swimming pool, only one changing room at the pool, no mineral water in the room (tap water) - would expect more at a "luxury" hotel

    Location, décor, ambiance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, non 4 star room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was inadequate. It moved all over the place and you couldn’t secure it effectively. Also, the ceiling of the bathroom was peeling and you could see the filler where the shower used to be. One of the room’s showers wasn’t even behind the screen! The stairs to our rooms were threadbear. We walked past the cleaner’s trolley all afternoon as it was left in the hallway. Our front door didn’t lock. The shower blew hot and cold.I have to say, I expected far more from a 4 star establishment and felt as though we had been hidden in an annexe behind the building. We were going to spend €25 on the breakfast but decided to go elsewhere as a result of the faults we found. I would be reluctant to return.

    The attentive service on arrival and central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience with only a few things to be fixed. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One heater in our room never worked. For a large room (44) odd that the shower was so small. Shower temp was an issue - was either ice cold or scalding.

    Great room with lots of character. Perfect central location. Very nice and accommodating staff. Surprisingly large pool and sauna area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Ok, but not amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt a little as if we had been given the cheap rooms at the back, the radiator in the bath room did not work, the bathroom mirror was abraded, you could not turn off the 'designer' basin taps with wet hands, the access was up a tiny staircase. They were all little things which left us slightly disappointed.

    The staff were excellent, the location was perfect, the room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again. Loved every bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Location was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a WOW factor! The bar with a cosy open fire, the pool and Sauna were lovely extras to our stay. Could not fault anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was squeaky. Other than that everything was perfect.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    You can’t beat the location of the hotel. Prime spot to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing needs to be improved in the corridors outside the room. You can hear everything. Also, it may have been just our room, but the shower seal was not great, so every time we used it, we had to use a lot of towels for the escaped water.

    The location of the hotel was amazing. Together with the very helpful staff and great service, this was perfect choice for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    A second very nice stay at Hotel De Tuilerieen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the shower water temperature wasn't stableon the first night. On the second night all was fine. This was the only minor inconvenience we encountered during our second stay at the hotel.

    We recently stayed a couple nights in Bruges and stayed at Hotel De Tuilerieen, a place we very much enjoyed during our visit last year. We were just as happy with the hotel this time around and will happily consider them during future trips to Bruges. Reservations were made by way of booking.com. Email confirmation was received immediately and we were well received upon arrival. Our room wasn't ready upon mid morning arrival. However, front desk staff gladly put our luggage in storage while we headed out for a bit of sightseeing and chocolate shop visits until afternoon check-in. On this occasion, we tried one of their canal view rooms, which was smaller yet equally as atmospheric as our room from last year. Furniture and decor are of a real and true Old Europe feel, creating a charming place to rest up in between sightseeing around the city. The room includes two separate windows which opened up to outstanding canal views below and alongside Dijver Street. Seeing the Belfry in the background and hearing the bell chimes was also rewarding. Room included adequate closet and drawer space. TV, heating, kettle and wifi all worked fine. Bathroom was nice. Location wise, you can't really beat Hotel De Tuilerieen, which is less than 5 minute walk to the Grote Markt, Burg Square and other smaller sightseeing areas. There are restaurants in very close walking range to the hotel as well. Lastly, the walk in from the train station is only 15-20 minutes depending on how many times you are distracted by the beautiful scenes of the city. Alternatively, a taxi ride is no more than 5 minutes. In the end, this was a second very good stay at Hotel De Tuilerieen. They did everything necessary to warrant further stays when we visit Bruges in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    we loved our time in Bruge but our hotel experience was disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We all found that with few exceptions the staff were indifferent to the 5 of us. They didn't seem to care if we were happy or not.

    The location is fantastic and the rooms in the hotel are beautiful. The rooms in the car park area are a huge dissapointment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Best choice for Bruges
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub only, no shower.

    Very stylish and cosy place, the best hotel in town. Perfectly located. Parking in the gated yard is very convenient. Wellness, pool, sauna... it's all there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, peaceful, elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing: everything was lovely.

    The rooms are beautifully appointed with antique fixtures and furniture, hardwood floors, large windows with beautiful views on the canal (we reserved a room with a canal view and it is well worth the additional fare).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What could have been better? Realistically, nothing.

    There are many cheaper, but there is nothing not to like about this hotel. Superb staff & fabulous in every way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great location and super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The location was excellent for the centre of Bruges. The room had everything you would need and was squeaky clean. The bed was very comfortable. English TV channels. The staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant. The building was beautiful, so much character and looked lovely decorated for Christmas. The parking was very safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    A super stay in the Centre of Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely Nothing Not to like!

    The hotel is beautifully decorated in a traditional style, but with a fresh and modern taste. There is a nice and very pleasant lounge to have a coffee, relax or read and a cosy bar for a drink. A delecious breakfast. The beautiful bedroom has a very comfortabele bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. A Place to highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    A luxurious hotel in heart of medieval bruge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have supplied more hot drinks in room. Bit mean considering cost. Have had free mini- bar at this cost.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Booked restaurants, rang for taxis etc Good to have pool and sauna which were not busy Loved room 141 Nice warming fire in bar on a cold winters day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    We will be back for a third stay in March - says it all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What is there to not like

    We stayed here in September and so we happily came back again and had a longer and delightful stay. Excellent service from the staff and the executive rooms are great. The Christmas decorations and the Bruges Chistmas market were a bonus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely go again, we loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website did not do the hotel justice, inside it was simply stunning, the breakfast room an area of calm with a beautiful muriel on the wall, and the entrance hall was gleaming, the christmas tree was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very nice. If we return would book a better room though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t the comfiest we’ve slept in. We had a room in the attic and it wasn’t very big but our stay was perfectly acceptable.

    The reception was lovely. The bar was very cosy and the drinks were gorgeous. Staff were all excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Quick stay in a beautiful hotel with a great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if the baby cot was complimentary instead of €25/night. Also, the parking situation was misleading. The front desk made it seem as though there was a complimentary garage a few blocks away, but there is a fee. On site, it is €30/day. So be prepared to pay for parking wherever you end up!

    The room was well appointed with everything we needed. You can’t beat the location! And the indoor pool was an added bonus. Great to go for a dip when it’s near freezing temperatures outside! It was also great that they allowed us to bring our dog (for an extra fee).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, on site parking, very friendly staff, Hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the Suite Room 341 which was excellent, looks a little tired now and for the price we paid you would expect these to be addressed, but overall can't fault it.

    Great location, on site parking, very friendly staff, Hotel looks a little tired in areas but would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous staff friendly small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative.

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. Room was fabulous for a family as beds split between two floors. The bar was cozy and beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed The hotel pool and lounge etc, just a bit disappointed with the room. Staff all very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room Sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family junior suite 443 was not so good for us as the boys age 9 and 11 did not sleep well in the sofa bed. Felt disappointed that the cost and 4 star rating of the hotel did not give us the comfort for sleeping that we needed. Expected proper beds for the cost.

    Breakfast was great with lots of choice, fresh fruit and pastries. Quality reflected in the cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was flawless

    Absolutely lovely staff, great attention to detail, wonderful design. Comfy beds, great views of the canal, delicious local breakfast - try the chocolate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive No other food except very limited room service menu Maid under instructions to remove surplus items I.e I only had one glass, one mug, one bath towel etc when the room was clearly intended for two persons. Unlike most other places towels were unnecessarily changed each day

    Upgraded to very spacious room Helpful restaurant recommendations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    to expensive for the given service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    really not clean enough for a 4 star hotel, no car service... sauna not ready at 12am... and toilet of sauna really disgusting. Surely a client who was sick but in a 4 star hotel we clean each day and several times in the day... No gesture for thoses fails... 2stars.

    Staff is very nice. Breakfast until 11am!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    We normally go to Paris in December but this year we will be going to Bruges instead.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We stayed in 3 other hotels on this trip and this one was outstanding. The attention to detail helped to add to the pleasure of being in Bruges and the reason why we were there. The staff were all excetionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great Bruges location and fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this property is excellent. Just overlooking one of Bruges' main canals and next door to the Groeningemuseum. It is also very close to the Town Square and other key locations in Bruges. The staff were very attentive and helpful. And the hotel has one of the best breakfasts I have had in Europe--a huge selection of fruit, bread, cheese and meat, plus hot food and chocolate with nuts. We stayed in a family room which actually had two completely separate bedrooms inside--a lovely break for families who have been sharing small rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Spacious rooms, friendly and attentive staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival the bed was not as clean as one would expect or hope for. On the other hand, the cleaning lady made sure to change the sheets the next day onwards which was refreshing.

    Spacious rooms, friendly and attentive staff, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent but expensive B&B in a great location. No longer a true hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Royal Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous building but lacked atmosphere. The rooms (old part) are fabulous, but the lack of a turn down service presents the hotel as a guest house, albeit a very nice one. No evening meal possibility adds to the B&B feel, with little atmosphere in the evening. Not such an issue as the location is good. The parking is down a narrow lane with a narrow entrance.

    Location is splendid. The rooms are good but the service is more akin to an upmarket guest house. No evening turn down service, empty bar area, E30 per day to park and very few staff around. Those staff that are around are very professional, helpful but it is very obvious there are too few of them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, private parking available (at an extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on a first floor with very steep stairs (so if you have any problems with stairs it is a no-no!). Also it had an old kind-of-dirty-feeling rug and old, run-down upholstery with a cat smell that didn't go away (even though the hotel brought a deodorizer machine) which was a pity as the rest of the hotel looked very well maintained. We should've asked to change us to another room but we didn't .....

    Excellent location, private parking available (at an extra cost). The family room was very convenient (two rooms).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa is poor. Small and no beds to lie on. Saunas were not switched on. Thankfully the staff waived the £10pp charge. Aircon in our room was binary: either freezing cold gale blowing or off altogether. Controller too complicated - even staff couldn't understand it. Ridiculously expensive breakfast. Tea and coffee provision in room was miserly. 2 teas bags a day ration.

    Great location. Efficient, courteous and helpful staff. Nice big room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Fairy tail Snow White with her Prince charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location. The people working behind the reception and the lady who served us a delicious breakfast. We are looking forward going back to this special hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They served breakfast but not lunch or dinner. There were, however, some good restaurants within easy walking distance.

    A very classy hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Faded glory and poor customer service - do not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very run down and in a poor state for a 4 star hotel. We had a Superior Deluxe and an Executive Room with canal views (€1010 for 3 nights but total came to €1457 with parking and breakfast 4 people x 2 days). Bathrooms were dirty & mouldy and many tiles were cracked. Windows in our room were filthy and the internal secondary glazing on the windows was falling off. This meant all the noise from the very busy street came into the room. Desk chairs in both rooms were rickety and felt like they might collapse. Closet door knobs were bent and damaged. Breakfast buffet was very good but insanely expensive at €25 per day per person. Parking was convenient but an eye watering €30 per day. No coffee maker in room - only kettle and instant coffee. Staff were relatively unresponsive and did not apologise when we politely complained.

    Location excellent. Right in the heart of Bruge. Views from the room fantastic. Splash pool and Sauna lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom looked tired and not at the level of a 4 star.. needs a refit. Bed was not very comfy. AC was pretty weak so you better leave it on for the whole day when it's warm outside. Breakfast on 2nd day (Mon) was sloppy with slow service and meats and cheeses that had been sitting out on the buffet for visibly too long. A shame for the high price of it.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel, perfect location, great breakfast 1st day (Sun) with a plethora of choice. Room was large and nicely decorated overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    In heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Autopark in advance booking process is not informed during my booking.

    great place, it is in heart of the city. I had a problem with parking that I was not know that should I also book for park so I parked my car in front of the hotel on street and paid extra penalty. Room view was great to see the canal. Hotel staff was so gentle, we were with our small child and it was convinient also for her.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area gets very busy and the morning we were there they were short-staffed due to an unexpected illness. They had only one person assisting about 40 guests and she was clearly overwhelmed. As a result there were no eggs when we were there and we never got our pot of tea that we requested. As there were plenty of other options we did not press the issue or I am sure she would have brought everything out in time.

    We were in a top floor room of this lovely hotel with vintage windows overlooking the river and the main sights of Bruges. Bathrobes and slippers await the guests and with a phone call we were given child-sized robes for the kids to use. The bathroom was large for European hotels with a large tub and long counter sink area. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the kids loved the chocolate options! The pool was small but as we were the only people using it at the time we went it was not an issue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    Lovely hotel accommodation with excellent service and ambience. Staff were very pleasant and helpful in providing recommendations. Location is ideal! I strongly recommend this hotel... I am taking the time to write this because we so enjoyed our stay! Perfect in every way!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Probably better off elsewhere where they are not rude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff were very rude. For some reason when checking in other guests (4 in total) felt they could interrupt us (mainly what seemed to be 'rich people' who probably thought they were more important), and we waited patiently in line! The lady at the desk dealt with everyone's enquiry before ours despite being interrupted, at which point I said something. She did not even really apologise. I asked for early check in also which they didn't help with. Directions to their parking were awful as well and we got lost because of this. I went back to gently say I was a bit disappointed and again the young chap at the front desk wouldn't really apologise or offer explanation but just said they were busy. It's not a big deal but I paid quite a lot for the hotel and was disappointed it put a sour mark on my short stay in Bruge.

    It was in a good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast was too expensive, limited choices and low quality. - breakfast hall was served by two ladies who where overwhelmed by number of guests and consequently were borderline impolite

    Location and ambience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel facilities were excellent. The selection for the breakfast buffet was huge catering to savoury and sweet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location and amazing staff, hotel is in need of a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired rooms lacking basic maintenance. Cleaning standards could definitely do with improving.

    The staff. Amazing, especially Michael and Steven on the front desk in the afternoon. They work hard, literally doing everything around the hotel, and are always helpful and friendly. Steven went above and beyond to find us a better room after the first one we were given was not up to standard. Michael gave us amazing recommendations on places to eat and drink. These guys make this hotel as special as it is!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    The perfect place in The perfect city :))))))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tout, everything. The view from my room on the second floor, the great bathroom, the B&O Hifi in the room...The breakfast room, the lounge, the bar, the dedicated personnel...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Hotel's location is great, close to attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel's location is great, close to attractions. Its bar is a perfect place to rest. Very fresh and healthy products are served in the breakfast. Most of the personnel is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Travelled back in time to a royal treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have a restaurant, but room-service is round the clock so it is alright and there are eateries all around the hotel!

    A beautiful heritage property with a very 16th century feel to it. The furniture to the carpet in the room is tastefully done. The front desk is warm and really helpful. They welcome you with a smile and words of advice on where to go. Check-in and check was smooth and quick. A cozy bar in the restaurant which is open till 1 AM. Round the clock room-service. They even have a wall with all the celebrities that have stayed at the property!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, perfect location, amazing staff. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit noisy at night being on the main street - but did not detract from the experience in any way!

    Service was incredible. Lovely friendly staff. Beautiful hotel with loads of great touches like aroma candles, flowers and lighting. Just beautiful! Huge comfortable room overlooking canal. Perfect location in the centre of town. Immaculate pool and sauna area for relaxing and taking the weight off tired feet!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Elegant boutique hotel away from the noise. Perfection!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We kept leaving the room so that it could be serviced, but each time we returned, it was not. Even with the sign on the door, asking! We only wanted toilet paper! Parking cost an extra 30 euro, but that is made known to you prior to booking. The parking lot is great!

    Elegant hotel in a restored mansion. Close to all the places to see, but far enough away to be free of noise. The breakfast was amazing. Fruit, juices, champagne, eggs, sausages, baked beans, an assortment of cheeses, jams, breads and pastries. Hot coffee was promptly served at our table by the hostess whom I noticed changing languages effortlessly to English, French and German, and I have no doubt that she spoke other languages as well. The breakfast was self service buffet. It also had several selections of Belgian chocolate! The swimming pool area is small but really relaxing and we had it to ourselves. Free glass of champagne upon arrival, although we booked a second night for the same package and were not offered anything. No matter, because we had their Spring Special which included a fabulous breakfast at no additional charge..The hotel bar has an elegant Old World ambience, and is very welcoming, fully stocked, opulent and comfortable. The desk clerk upon arrival was very polite and spoke English perfectly. Our dog was given a doggy biscuit on the way up to see our room. Nice touches like that made it even more enjoyable. Bus stop just outside the door, but the most beautiful sights to see are just 5 minutes walk. Parking is right behind the hotel, allowing us to retrieve things from the car, without having to go through some awful underground parking lot! Our room was quite large by European standards and included a mini bar, sofa bed, and a nice bathtub shower combination. Hardwood floors and gorgeous glass chandelier felt like royalty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Was lovely but breakfast last day was not good cold and bread was frozen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very slow especially leaving the staff weren't really helpful on our last day previous two days was very good especially geordie

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Just not quite there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small, bed uncomfortable with mean thin and artificial pillows , covers and linen: these days not acceptable in an establishment of this star rating. The staff was nice but wouldn't go an extra mile - this likely is the management's fault not the staffs'. This was our 35 wedding anniversary treat and We specifically booked a spacious room overlooking the canal . I told the hotel in advance together with the fact that I am claustrophobic. To end up in a smallest room in the hotel with nobody saying at least "congrats chaps" was a bit sad. I have to say that we were offered alternatives: one overlooking the car park, second in the roof with barely a window and one was just marginally bigger where we would have to pay 100 Euros for an upgrade.

    I actually filled this questionair once before directly to the hotel. But here we are once more: We liked the Position of the hotel and the bar was cosy with lovely wall paper and good choice of drinks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Stunning room with view of the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Amazing breakfast, which was included in the price of our stay. Voucher for 2 complimentary glasses of champagne with nibbles which we brought up to our room.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: