Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen 4 stars

Luitenant Lippenslaan 66, Borgerhout, 2140 Antwerp, Belgium

#23 of 65 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2210 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Good location for access to motorway system. Huge comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with shower over bath. Easy check in. Quick checkout. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like, but the kitchen at restaurant closes by 10. But I guess that’s common in Europe.

    The bed was amazing! Cozy and comfortable and I slept like a baby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room service menu was visible, restaurent was really nice. Great food.

    Fabulous Pool , Sauna and Steamroom.- we had the space to ourselves for most of the afternoon. room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, but that was probably a once A while activity....

    The restaurant is great, the all-in meal on Saturday is simply awesome and at an affordable price. Great staff, very friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the room was not good (slow flowing needs a maintenance visit..) Hotel corridors/room could do with decoration - looking dated and well used...

    Staff were helpful, fun and efficient..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a coffee machine with 6 capsules of tea/coffee available, however on reading the leaflet that accompanied it it stated that we able to have ‘one’ complimentary cup then others could be purchased! This was also the case for the small bottle of water left in the room. Considering breakfast needed to be purchased separately at a cost of €15 per person I felt that charging for more than one tea and coffee was unnecessary and should have been included in the room price. By the way, the charge for the water a small 33cl bottle was €3! We also felt that the bar charges were way overpriced (€5 for a 33cl of beer, gin and tonic €10))

    Comfy bed, fridge in the room and ice available if wanted. Good location near to trams and public transport. Good heating ( it was a cold weekend!). Receptionists were all really helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan heater in the room was ok, but it did take a bit of time to warm the room up on a particularly cold day. The car park is very busy, was quite difficult to find a space on a couple of occasions.

    In the Van Der Valk hotels you always get fantastic breakfasts, but this was probably the best we have had it really is worth paying extra for! Great location if travelling by car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs refurbishing .

    An efficiently run and well located hotel! With a decent and rather cosy bistro restaurant with great value for money food. Staff are efficient , friendly and well managed. The hotel has a relaxed vibe though with a positive ambience: staff are using their good sense of humour!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the suite but: living room is very simple: see refrigirator under the TV. checking in took some time. Maybe you could move to incheck kiosk terminals for loyal Van der Valk customers!

    parking at the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old and it shows. They have made an attempt to decorate this but it is all cosmetic. The bathroom is small. There was a free standing mirror in the room attached to a large peince of wood. It looked like a wardrobe door had been left leaning against the wall. There is a noticable lack of power outlets on the room. Breakfast was ok but unorgainsed.. the coffee maschin and the orange juice dispenser could not have been father appart. There is a cook your own egg hot plate which sounds nice but when the breakfast is busy and people are cooking one egg at a time it is time consuming and inconvenient. I don’t image I will return.

    This is a convenient place to stop if you are travelling past gent and need a place to stop close to the motorway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym is very Little, opening hours are too late - even though friendly reception desk Girl made it open up for me an hour earlier (thank you very much!!!), only a coffea machine with capsules, no water kettle

    Free parking, fridge (!!), good beds, staff (!!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion decoration in the rooms, however, the bed was Excellent which is the most importent issue !

    A very comfortable hotel when you are on the move ( business trip ) Food , bed and service indeed very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting there was a bit tricky - very congested roads round about, and apparently that is a frequent problem. It would help if the hotel name (as opposed to just the toucan!) was more visible from the main road. Wine list a bit short and a tad expensive.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff, very good meals in the restaurant, very comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel guests smoking on the hall at night. Bouncing on walls and doors by drunk guests. Police (!!!) break in to take the guests away in the room opposite of ours. All the three times we stayed in the hotel on of the above happened.

    Nice hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 big duvet for us 2 persons. Not enough power outlets, we needed to unplug a floor lamp to charge our devices. It will take you 30-40 minutes to travel to city centre by public transportation, i.e. 10 minutes to walk + 5 minutes to wait for bus + 20 minutes by the bus.

    Very comfortable quite big room (we had superior room, stayed for 5 nights), parking super (many places and felt safe, and it costs nothing), polite receptionists, super tv, refrigirator on room (without content from hotel), coffee machine with capsels filled up every day. Very big bathroom with shower cabin and bathtub. Even though there were quite much motorway-noise outside, we couldn't hear it much in our room as long as we kept the windows closed. Very good and cosy athmosphere in reception and bar area. Location very close to motorway, so good base to explore towns like Brugge, Gent and Brussels. Did not test aircondition as it was not summer season, did not try to eat at the hotel, no breakfast either. Did not got time to test the swimmingpool and sauna. 10 minutes to walk to bus stop, which will take you to the central train station within 20 minutes. Bus goes every 15 minutes. A bus card with 10 tours can be bought in reception for 15 euro, - same card can be used for two persons, just put in twice in the machine each time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3rd time here, the first was when it was under the previous name. Money has been spent on the lobby but the rooms (while comfortable) are a little run down - damaged furniture, plug sockets and hairdryer held together with sticky tape. The sound proofing was awful with noisy plumbing. With the increase in prices after the re-branding, these things are no longer excusable. Breakfast was twice the price you'd pay in UK.

    Great friendly staff, convenient for music venue (Trix), from landing at airport (Brussels) I was in my room within 1 hr. Lobby, bar and restaurant are nicely refurbished

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms and hotel is very dated compared to the lobby, restaurant and bar area.

    The restaurant and bar area decor is lovely but it doesn't continue throughout for the rooms. They are very dated and need modernising. The restaurant is ok but expensive. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little cold, but everything else was wonderful.

    Close to the freeway. Very friendly check-in clerk who did his job swiftly (much appreciated as we were exhausted and wanted to get to our room). Rooms were massive and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Very clean room. Coffee machine had capsules (a major win in my book).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The room was perfect, the bed very comfortable all very clean and reception staff on the ball as were the restaurant staff, meal in the evening very good, and bar staff gave good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOISY AIR CONDITION UNIT IN ROOM SMOKERS STANDING CLOSE TO MAIN ENTRANCE DOORS WAS NOT PLEASANT

    SERVICE FROM ALL STAFF WAS EXCELLENT. FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the center of the city, certain rooms/hallways could use some refurbishing

    Very kind staff, excellent beds, easy and free parking, very big room with 2 large beds for a twin room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 5 gunmen enter the hotel on the Saturday night. I was having dinner with my 7 year old and the gunmen were 10 metres away. We say them and ran through the kitchen as the only exit and hid. To say I'm still in a state of shock. It seemed there was no procedure to protect any one there at all. Police slow to turn up. My daughter is traumatised. We'd gone to stay to let her have a lovey break as my father is in hospital with cancer and she wanted to see him maybe for the last time. I'm shocked how we. He led out in middle Of the night they made us go through paying for breakfast as though nothing had happened. I want something done. It wasn't in the news either.

    Excellent breakfast. Staff perfect. Friendly and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are clearly aging and should be renovated Pool not deep enough to swim. I do not understand what the point of having a pool is then

    Amazing breakfast Very friendly staff Parking included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really nice location only 5 mins from tram Very friendly staff Facilities were good and the kids loved the pool which was indoor and also had a sauna Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool is a strange shape as it is very shallow in 2 areas.

    We have stayed at this hotel before when it was the Scandic. Van Der Valk have improved the ground floor and entrance. It was much more open and seemed more light and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in a drab area. My wife wouldn't have felt safe walking from the tram stop by herself at night. No nearby local restaurant options other than hotel, at least not obvious ones. Old furniture, due for refresh, but it was OK.

    Very conveniently located at exit to highway. Tram to city center was a about 3 blocks away. Clean, comfortable. Staff was helpful. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is great, excellent value for money. The communal areas are very stylish although the rooms are a little dated - clean rooms and comfy beds though. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic, well worth paying the extra for

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have had more time to try the pool / spa :-)

    A perfect stop for through travelling. Close to the motorway, but not disturbed by it. 24hr reception meant we weren't worried about turning up late at night. Lovely room and great quality breakfast. No problem with sharing 2 adults and 2 kids in 1 room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At dinner bringing our toddler and a baby to the restaurant the staff were slightly unhelpful. I.e. No notice of the baby i.e. Had to ask 2x for a high chair. Kind of ignored us when we were ready to order our food. Didn't bring a kids menu but having ordered of the dinner menu for our toddler 10 mins later the waiter returned that it was not possible to make what we requested (half portion of some pasta dish) instead he offered the kids menu option. All that said all good that arrived was very nice. They do have a buffet style dinner optiywhich looked nice but we were not that hungry. The reception staff could have advised us on how to purchase the tram ticket when we asked about the tram...it turned out to be cheaper when bought in the shop.

    Comfy room, nice pool, good location off the motorway when traveling by car, ok getting into town by a tram. Lovely reception staff and lunch service when the restaurant was empty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment feels a little dirty but this was also true of the city center except for the shopping street. The restaurant is okay, but a bit expensive for what you get The room itself looked its age, but it was clean and a good size

    Near to tram-stop to get into the city center Enjoyed the sauna and pool, didn't use the fitness area but it looked good too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be put off by the semi-industrial look of the outside of the hotel.

    Staff helpful, attentive, and good-humoured. Restaurant served good food. Rooms well-apponted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been good to have had breakfast included in the price.

    The location of the hotel was excellent for us as we needed an early start to cross Germany to Kiel in order to make the overnight ferry to Gothenburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not quate good, its good parking wise, but no chance to walk over old town, taxi needed.if they could do shatlle to the centre atleast once an hour would be super:) Room needed just a bit of refurbishment, major and cant tell exactly what but just had a feeling that room is old same with the swiming pool.

    Very nice personnel,many thanks for been so kind. Big medium soft beds. Good,clean bathroom.Good new Sauna and turkish sauna. Extreamly quite lift doors and the lift operation. On site bar and restarant with good drinks/food, local beer was exelent. But the real dimond is the breakfast- THE BEST i ever had, it was everything there- everythimg you can amagin (even shampaine) extremly adwising to have a breakfast there. More fitness equipment may be fitted as well. OVERAL VERY VERY NICE HOTEL WHO CARES ABOUT THEIR COSTOMENRS.THANKS

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the 2nd floor was rather tired with old furniture. The carpet in the corridor had some dirty spots. The door to the room didn't close tightly - kept making noise every time some doors were opened or closed near our room. Each room seems to have a stand alone AC unit. It is quite noisy especially when it switches between cooling cycles. The best option was to switch it off an open window. But then the noise from street and near the entrance (some late arriving guests) was too laud. Also some cigarette smoke was coming in through the window.

    Very good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. We were let to check in already 11 am due to our early arrival (official is 3 pm). Good connection to Antwerp city: tram line #24 stop is less than 10 min walking from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy aircon. US made gym equipment - I've never had a treadmill suddenly stop on me because the safety switch had cut in. Couldn't be bothered to spend time investigating, so I switched to the other machine and then fixed the first one afterwards. The pool is an L shape, which might cause confusion if you want to lane swim and the shallow end is a little too shallow.

    Aircon that worked well. A good restaurant serving very tasty meals and nice wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Your rooms and hallways need major renovations . I have stayed there 3 times since January for a total of 30 days. Nothing has changed in the rooms and hallways with the exception of a few new pieces of furniture and new elevators. I had to talk to your hotel manager to increase my spending limit without being able to order desert in the restaurant. I was told to go to the front desk to pay an additional $500.00 before being able to pay for my restaurant bill in front of my guests. This has now been resolved with a spending limit of $2000.00. An other issue is to ask for a card to exit the parking lot. Why not give your hotel guest a parking card for the entire stay if the guest is staying in the hotel and has a car or rent a car ? Maybe you should also considered having a regular mattress and not a foam one. I stayed in a suite number 727 twice and 719 once.

    Your restaurant and bar and your entire staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are only 3 restaurants within walking distance, only the Italian Ristretto is very good. The hotel restaurants give the appearance of providing excellent food, and it looks great, but in truth it's not very good and overpriced. Very sophisticated bar did not know what a whiskey sour was when I asked for one, didn't have lemon juice when I gave them the recipe. The dining situation in the hotel and the neighborhood is the only drawback to this otherwise great value, very comfortable, nice hotel.

    This is my favorite hotel in Europe. Rooms are large, with armchairs, ability to open balcony door to let in the outside, keurig coffee and tea makers, large tv with international channels. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, including my own. Parking is free and easy, near the major ring highway, tram 28 to center of the city is out the door to the left and three block walk to a major avenue. Rates are great value. My second year in a row at this hotel. Love it. However see the dining problem below.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was great but noise from nearby motorway did keep me awake at times.

    This is a great hotel. Very friendly staff, not too far from the city and breakfast absolutely brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was much more dated than reception area. Cobwebs on ceiling. Smelly old sock left behind from previous guest on floor!

    Friendly and informative staff. Free parking. Coffee machine. The brekkie was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Well sited just off the ring road. Easy access to town via tram. (driving would be a nightmare) All staff were friendly, helpful, and keen to advise. Room was spotless, bed comfortable, and well equipped. Parking was free - a nice bonus for a change. Breakfast was plentyful and varied, catered for all tastes. The only observation I could make, is that a name sign facing the main road would be helpful for first time guests. The hotel is slightly set back from the main road (which is manic), and is easily missed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a noisy environment: outside noise, and in the morning I was disturbed by the cleaning staff in adjacent rooms. Not an ideal place to work a few AM hours in your room before check-out.

    Good bed. Free parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room was stained and needed to be changed. Do not feel safe in the neighborhood it is located at.

    The room was large and comfortable and had a nice view of Antwerp. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and bright. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it wad delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms furniture is pretty old and carpets everywhere which are not very clean. Hot water in shower worked weird: you have to wait for few minutes before it actually starts being hot.

    Good location if you arrive by car, free parking. Breakfast and dinner were awesome. Beds are comfortable. Free wifi enables you even watch streaming movies which is not usually the case for hotel wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening bar tender on Saturday ( 06 / 05 / 17 ) keen to close bar on time !!

    Location was good for our requirements visiting friends in Mortsel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door to the small balcony was a little outdated (they had put a steel bar to keep it closed for thieves) and the door messed with the drapes. There's a highway at about 50 meter causing noise. Ask for a room on the other side for a more quiet stay.

    The room was very clean and tidy. The staff was very helpfull and the hotel gave an experience to me as a guest of the house :-) Parking space was good, there was enough place and to be honest... would go there again if you compare quality and price. The location is a little out of the center which makes the hotel good reachable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower has a very small divide- it is way too small - when showering I also showered the ground. I would advise a rethink on it - either longer divide or a curtain. When the next door was closed hard by their kids in the morning it was like an alarm clock. Perhaps improving the sound proofing on the doors.

    bed and welcome - slept really great... loved the fact that 2 double beds were there for a family room...clean and polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Excellent Value for money ! Clean room, Wonderful staff, the breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had ! Special thanks to Ben (at the reception) and all the staff ! Many thanks also for the chocolate Easter bunny .. it was a nice surprise ... Free Wifi - Excellent signal and bandwidth Free access to the indoors swimming pool and the sauna. Honestly .. for the price i paid ... I was not expecting that much ! Will definitely go back !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only point would be the breakfast, at 15 Euro, did seem a little expensive. However I think this is in keeping with many hotels

    Everything. The location is good, close to tram services. The bar and restaurant are very nice. Good to have outside free parking at the hotel. The rooms were very nice and the coffee maker is a very nice touch. All the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 120 was a bit noisy. Probably due to the air conditioning system making a constant but rumbling humming sound throughout the night. Substantially more than any previous experiences I have had. I sleep with ear plugs, so when I did fall a sleep, it was no problem. Less experienced travellers or more sensitive people might have a bigger problem with this than I had. Otherwise it was all good. No real complaints, just an observation on the sound level really.

    Great breakfast buffet, friendly and efficient staff. Nice room. No real surprises but still a good place to stay. Great free of charge parking is always a good thing. Will stay here next time around too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hallway carpet are dirty, stain, walls black stain.Need second elevator asap Rooms need total remodeling except for bathroom Furniture with hole in armrests scuff marks all over the walls. Electric and TV wires hanging from the ceiling. No sport channels on the TV's. All furniture needs to be replaced except for bed.

    Restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom. black mold in the edges dificult to get to from the motorway Restaurant: not many vegi options, classical "male" food

    the breakfast, the staff in the Restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is older so I can see why some reviews were negative. But, the owners are doing what they can to renovate - i.e. only one elevator because the other is under renovation. We had zero issues. The front desk staff was accommodating (answering questions, calling a taxi) and all the employees spoke English.

    Visited Antwerp for an event at the Sportpalais. Plenty of free parking at the Van der Valk and only a quick 10-12 Euro cab ride to the Sportpalais. Public transport takes you into the city center then back out to the Sportpalais so a cab is quicker. Two double beds were fine for our family of four. Clean room on the 4th floor - fairly quiet even though it was on the highway side. Fluffy towels and standard in-room bath products. In room fridge, coffee maker, stationary, tv, blow dryer. The 15 Euro breakfast buffet (half-price for kids) was well-worth the money. Gorgeous spread with meat, cheeses, eggs, sausages, salads, veggies, yogurts, cereals, and fresh breads with jams, butters and spreads. Excellent value for money - eat a big breakfast and skip lunch. We also dined in the bar and had burgers, sausages and appetizers for dinner before our show. Relaxed atmosphere. It was busy so the bar staff was a bit slow but it all worked out. Pool is dimly lit but otherwise clean and not too chlorinated. Pool area also has a sauna and steam room (hammam). My kids loved the 'candy bar' in the lobby!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This isn't the most aesthetically pleasing hotel, but do believe me, it is not what it seems.

    I think the best thing about this hotel was that it wasn't understaffed - there was always someone there to help you with whatever you needed. The staff was also very well trained. We loved it, we felt comfortable and we had a good rest. The small gestures really made our stay, like the free cup of coffee when I had to work really early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very old and needs upgrading- location is not gemrest and from the outside you would pass the hotel. Needs and upgrade.

    Great lobby, bar and restaurant. The breakfast was outstanding- really high standard and highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could not be heated to a really comfortable temperature

    One of the best breakfasts I ever had in a hotel: very large choice and all of excellent quality

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old furniture and fridge very dated. The moquette in the room smelled of old and dust. I had to change my room because the smell of dust coming from the air conditioning system was unbearable. old and noisy air conditioner. Wallpaper that had broken. Practically everything knew old, except the lobby and the restaurant, really very beautiful.

    good breakfast, and free parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to have fresh fruit with cereals and there was none prepared, unusual for a hotel with this standard One lift only working so slow

    Nice refurbishment, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Not a lot !!! I forgot my sunglasses and they didn t call me for have informations. So i call the reception again one day later and they answer with a poor simply " sorry bt we can not help " so i ost my item. Thkx a lot

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The lobby is very nice, but as soon as you get out of the elevator the carpet is dirty, the walls in the room are cracked and wires are hanging of the walls

    All food was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel had a great atmosphere, fantastic parking, great accommodations, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and great value. The restaurant was also convenient with exceptional customer service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air comes thru the junctions do the Windows . Very noisy and cold room. The room is old and the air conditioning Wasn t working Not a 4 star hotel

    Free parking Staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking space available on my arrival

    Great breakfast - huge choice of food Clean room, comfy bed, quiet room, nice bathroom Ultra nice staff Coffee bar in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use bit more light in the room (I mean electrical light).

    Breakfast was good with many tasty choices. Sauna and swimming pool small, but still nice to have free access to it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little old fashioned in comparison to the ground floor. (Pretty bad) spelling errors in various English texts.

    Ground floor was very nicely done, as far as design was concerned.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double beds are small. Nespresso machine in the room which is nice, but counterfeit capsules.

    Good breakfast with fresh orange juice. Pleasant lobby Free parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We can't comment because we only spent the night and left again first thing in the morning.

    We checked in very late at night/early in the morning. This wasn't a problem and we were even offered "late check-out" free of charge. Tram line to the city is close by.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dated, especialy in comparison to the ground floor.

    Nice hotel, great hall, bar and dining area. Friendly staff. Small but clean gym. Great breakfast, lots to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive for those who do not eat much in the morning; old carpet's smell on the floors

    Location close to the highway, free parking, friendly personnel, good food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old covering in the corridor. Noisy ventilation.

    Nice disposition for car travelers. Pool and sauna in the hotel. Very good breakfast. Ice maker machine at the hall. Coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit dirty, (Fungus) needs to be cleaned properly, and a bit outside of the centre (45 min walk), however, you have free parking so shouldn't be a problem

    Bed was amazing, also the fact that you have a swimming pool in the hotel is a big plus

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms and halls etc definitely in need of a refurbishment - which is apparently on the cards!

    The staff were all lovely, and the reception and bar / dining room were all very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attractive, clean, well located at the crossroads of all important highways, a reception desk to make you feel at home and welcome right away and a breakfast buffet and bar to fulfill your wishes. This is not located in Antwerp's historic city but it has easy connections to it. Great parking facilities and the hotel just reopened after a complete revamp from old shabby Scandic to the new Van Der Valk elegance and top service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever!!!!!!!

    Cleanliness of the property especially the bathrooms, nice breakfast, excellent service and friendliness of the staff. This Hotel is fabulous!!!!! I have already started to recommend it to my Hilton Hotel friends. Two are already planning a visit!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really great breakfast - although I thought that 15 Euros was rather expensive. Free parking - and only a short walk to get the tram to the city centre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - they charged me too much money from my credit card, hope they will fix it soon - rooms in 3rd floor need renovation - not located in the best quarter of Antwerpen

    - very nice lobby and bar/restaurant - good wifi - big parking area - swimming pool (but not so big) - coffee and tea in room

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: