Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Mechelen Vé 4 stars

Vismarkt 14, 2800 Mechelen, Belgium

#18 of 34 hotels in Mechelen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 603 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom open so seating area (table/chairs) has clear view of the toilet. Toilet is also in direct line of sight to the window. Why? Design could have been so so much better. Grey and brown is depressing, only colour is orange fake flowers. View of blank wall with window.

    Good location. Large room with a comfortable bed and table/chairs and fridge. Large walkin shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that there is no separate food preparation equipment for people who do not eat pork

    I really wanted to try the omelette during breakfast however as there is only one frying apparatus - the contamination of pork with the rest of ingredients do not allow me to benefit from it - I hope the management is able to make necessary provision to accommodate people who do not eat pork.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    interesting town with lots to offer, if you like wandering around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all shops are shut on a sunday and many of the restaurants, so you may want to book to ensure you get in the one you want, at least do not leave it too late in the evening.

    very pleasant laid back ambience to this very clean hotel. front rooms overlooking the square are a bit noisy, but it was the night of the football and people were outside enjoying the cooler night air until 3am. we needed our sleep so asked to be moved to a quieter position at the back of the hotel, which was wonderful, however belgium was also experiencing a heatwave so room was very stuffy, had to have air conditioning on all night. when we had a visit to the wellness centre we were lucky to have it all to ourselves, it was really good pool(shallow with sort of wave booster, great for massaging aches and pains,jacuzzi very warm, various steam rooms and suanas.) other people feel the charge is too high for all this i disagree, it really added to our holiday. everything about this trip was great , the food,(prices for meal for 2 with drinks is generally 50-60 euros, much cheaper than antwerp or bruge) the people, the shopping (large market in middle of town on a saturday,the architecture, the sightseeing.you can catch a tourist boat up the canal from opposite the hotel, very cheap and worth every euro.the tower in the cathedral is very much worth a visit, if you make it to the top you will see what i mean, there are plenty of stops on the way up for that all important rest, go on give it a go, you can pick out the atomium from up there.there is a flea market in the veermarkt bus station on the second sunday of each month in summer, sadly we missed it this time. mechelen is a compact town and 3-4 nights gives you time to discover most of it, enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Swimming pool unavailable after 12:00 noon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool unavailable after 12:00 noon. Like lots of hotels they try to reduce the 'headline price' for the room by asking €40 for two breakfasts - insulting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition (or generator) made some noise although off (but still okay).

    Really nicely located at a little square at the small river. Lots of sweet pubs and restaurants around. 4 minute walk to Grote Markt, the central square. Modern design.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Not for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking facilities are far in walking distance for busines travellers carrying material and documents. Price is excessive and breakfast not included. Swimming pool unaccessible all day and night after 10:00 AM.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A really nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suggest you ask for a room with a view rather than one of the more expensive room. We were in a suit but facing a wall and it was really dark.

    Great hotel, great staff, a real 4 star.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Customer service can be impo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited selection and staff member only asks whether customers have breakfast vouchers instead of offering something from the cooked menu which guests have to ask after. Very poor service. The spa is only open to guest for a couple of hours in the morning- this hotel should not be allowed to advertise a spa as a facility if it's not available tha.

    Comfortable bed, good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.4
    Not ideal for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not for the business traveller. Located in greta part of town but no on site parking. Breakfast does not start until 07:00 which is a little late for the business traveller. The breakfast was cold buffet, self boil eggs, and an omelet bar. All great facilities if you have plenty of time but I didn't. therefore my breakfast was a rushed; €20 for a cup of coffee and a bread was overpriced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Walking distance to everything in old Mechelen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location is perfect - on a walking street next to the river, close to a big parking garage. Tons of great, small restaurants within walking distance. In fact, you can easily walk to anything in the old Mechelen city center from this hotel. The hotel itself is nice, modern and clean, with a good breakfast. Regular, free wifi is good enough to watch Netflix.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Over priced pretentious hotel that could do with improving its customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt dusty, as if it hadn't been cleaned with any form of product. The listing made no reference to the pool only being available at an additional cost which was one of the main reasons for chooing it in the first place. Also, despite asking for an iron upon arrival I was told not to worry as I could get one sent to the room in the morning, however the next morning they had none left and I was told here was nothing they could do, as they couldn't go around knocking on people's doors to take them back?! Poor management and communication.

    The location was exceptionally convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    style over substance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A room which had windows which would not open and broken air conditioning. We were switched to another room, but as the hotel was full this had to be a room usually reserved for solo guests as there was no door on the toilet. Also very poor choices for coealics i.e. gluten free, how about keeping some gf pasta in the kitchen? or biscuits/cakes? they did have rolls though.

    Very helpful staff with good english spoken and a great central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    It's a shame that the wellness center is only open until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a shame that the wellness center is only open until 10 AM (or 11 AM in the weekend). It would be nice it this could be accessible in the afternoon as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    The Good and The Bad...but it's near at everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The BAD thing is that our room has a lot of cracks (ROOM 106 = walls and ceiling). We were worried about it like the building is about to collapse. You could hear the A LOT of noise outside and the AIR CONDITIONER is soo warm! We tried to fix the temperature but it doesn't work at all. Luckily it was rainy season when we booked this hotel. Because if it is in summer the room will be like an oven. I heard a lot of people complaining about it but still no words or explanation from the hotel. The mini-fridge in our 106 Room doesn't work. The breakfast is kinda BASIC. It's a few buffet breakfast and 20 euro per person. The housekeeping is UNTIL 2PM after that they're not going to clean your room. There is no parking available in the hotel. You have to park at the public parking that cost you 18 euro for 1 day.

    The Good thing about this hotel is that the staffs were friendly and easy to talked to and all you have to do is ask.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    High standards and a most pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints.

    Early check-in was provided on the day. Staff were very welcoming, helpful, attentive and friendly. Our room was great and the shower particularly praiseworthy! The public spaces, including the outside seating area and the dining- room/bar were comfortable and well tended. Food was very good and the breakfast represented excellent value - a special word of thanks, too, for our breakfast hostess. The antique and artistic touches add to the interest and ambience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Quality at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the coffee machine was hard to work and the coffee it produced underwhelming. This was literally the only fault.

    the room was enormous, the free apples were a nice touch, the staff were really helpful and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    10/10, just need to fix the heat problem
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was WAY too warm and could not be turned down. Fortunately I could open the window, but my travelling colleague suffered really badly from the excessive in her room, she could not be moved and the problem could not be fixed, which slightly spoiled our trip. I think if this problem could be fixed, I'd give the Mercure Ve 10/10.

    Lovely, very helpful front desk staff, nice, very clean rooms and great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Very original hotel concept (previous factory) and nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    9€ to pay when you want to use the swimming pool, that's a pity ! Nothing else. Perfect stay

    Very original hotel concept (previous factory) and nice and welcoming reception. Very central located, in a lively city quarter. A very convenient car park is just situated on the other side of the river, facing the hotel (2 min walk). Beds are very comfortable and soundproofing is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Not the first time in this hotel - all in all very good,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately could not use the SPA / sauna because it was rented out that evening...

    Not the first time in this hotel - all in all very good, modern rooms, very quit ; I guess breakfast could be liitle more reach for this really good 4 star hotel;

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.4
    Bland, basic and very limited time to use spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room dark and very basic. The spa was only open for between 7am and 10 am in the mornings which would be fine if they told you it was also closed on a Sunday

    The girl on reception was lovely and very helpful it was a good central location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very restricted pool hours ( 7-11am) - plus you need to pay to enter wellness area. Rooms could be warmer.

    Nice building, interesting design, excellent location. Staff was great! Clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.0
    Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: very chaotic organization + they ran out of most of the food elements 1h before expiration of breakfast Wellness: couldn't get access since the lobby clerk was too busy to take us to the wellness ("you can try to knock on the door") Resto: limited offer + shabby menu

    Rooms Location Building

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Very good price quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too much dust in room.

    choise wide and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, high quality, good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel, high quality, good position.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very comfortable, location was perfect and spa was amazing. Excellent value for mi ey and very friendly staff. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great staff and really helped me out when I found out that I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff and really helped me out when I found out that I made an error in my booking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    friendly and helpfull staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n.a.

    friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no parken

    The rooms are great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice venue with a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine didn't work but wasn't a big problem as we had coffee at breakfast.

    Nice and spacious room. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Uniek hotel in unieke stad
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole concept

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    It could be better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff etiquette who are at reception desk. They need to behave properly with guests.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    lovely small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location unbeatable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast room too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room too small. Bad organization, only one coffee set!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Modern hotel, quite rooms, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Modern hotel, quite rooms, great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Coffee machine in the room was terribly dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in the room was terribly dirty. Things were swimming in its water tank.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly. Lovely rooms. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    all lovely and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom didn't have a door. At all....

    all lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Quirky hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is a little basic for €20.

    Quirky hotel. Beautiful location, comfortable large rooms which is unusual in Europe I often find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Location, staff and room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, staff and room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Great stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and friendly front of house staff, rooms cleaned and towels changed daily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    This hotel is located in one of the best spots in Mechelen.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain! ;)

    This hotel is located in one of the best spots in Mechelen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in a perfectly located hotel property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't eat at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay, nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Freaking church bells ring every day for 1-2 hours!!

    Nice stay, nice hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable Business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    QCD - Quality - OK. Cost - OK. Delivery OK - service OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very central to shops, bars and restaurants. The parking is only a 3 min walk away, very easy and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Bathrooms need doors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no door for the bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy, very friendly people who work in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    comfortable, friendly stay for great cycling break with my son
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dark with little natural light

    Helpful staff, nice room, good restaurant, our bikes were kept in hotel garage

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully decorated room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.3
    Location, Atmosphere in an old Factory building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark, breakfast too expensive for the selection offered, WLAN slow

    Location, Atmosphere in an old Factory building

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    6.7
    nice location for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was cold in my room

    the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Preferably no two blankets on a double bed

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    5.4
    Sauna area was fully booked for my entire stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna area was fully booked for my entire stay. At least they said it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Confortable, even the new restaurant is under construction...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive breakfast and nearest parking. If added to room total price is over the average.

    Confortable, even the new restaurant is under construction in the moment of the visit

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    3.8
    It's location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -The fridge in the room was broken - The swimming pool was only open in the morning and cost 9 euros - The breakfast was expensive and not value for money - The decor in the rooms was dull and very bare - Overall not value for money

    It's location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant position, great history behind the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Travelled with our two elderly mothers and the hotel couldn't provide non-slip mats for the showers which meant they were too afraid to use them. Apologetic though. Breakfast very overpriced, empty mini bars and although a coffee machine was provided only one cup of coffee could be made in a double room. room not serviced each day.

    Brilliant position, great history behind the building.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    6.7
    Good location in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    SPA works only in the morning for few hours for hotel guests. Poor brekfast.

    Good location in the city center. On walking distance from pubs, restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    Right in the middle of Mechelen, a beatiful factory...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right in the middle of Mechelen, a beatiful factory renovated entirely into a nice hotel. Average breakfast, but really comfy rooms. Unfortunately the wellness center is open from 7am to 11am. Not really "usable"

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Location on square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to locate by car and only car parking on other side of canal and expensive. Front desk not manned after 11pm and tricky to gain entry.

    Location on square

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.1
    Location great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Asked for twin beds and didn't get them. Parking expensive - not aware of there was a deal for hotel users.

    Location great! Handy for getting to Hazewinkel for rowing event. Loved the building and its character.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    3.3
    staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were supposed to be in a superior double room with safety deposit box mini bar coffee maker etc. we ended up in a very small room with no mini bar no coffee making facilities no nothing and were told on arrival that no other rooms where available also ended up with paying huge fines because we were following gps to find hotel I am disabled was forced to walk 2km to the car park now to you might not sound like a lot but for me it is We ended up with huge fines for following instructions on gps no car parking I am disabled but still had to walk over 2km to get to the hotel no drop off zone to you that might sound like nothing but to me it does

    staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.0
    The location is fantastic as in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a double room for my wife and myself for three days. However the room had only three cloth hangers. When we asked for more none could be provided. I hanged therefore my jacket on the hook of the door. when I lifted the jacket, the hook it just fell to the ground. The person at the reception accused me: "you broke it!" It was not repaired during our stay. The space in the bath room to put your toilet things is extremely limited. The floor in the shower becomes extremely slippery when wet and there is nothing on the wall to stabilize your body by hand. This is dangerous! The reading lamp on the desk needs a computer to plug in for power.

    The location is fantastic as in the evening it is very lively. It is very close to all main parts of the old town. The breakfast is excellent and the lady serving is extremely friendly and professional.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    v friendly helpful staff who made us feel welcome instantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    v friendly helpful staff who made us feel welcome instantly and made various recommendations re eating, drinking, directions + ordered taxis. Our safe was broken and was replaced within 5 mins.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    Pool was very nice, breakfast was also great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walls were a little thin, noisy neighbors could be heard quite clearly.

    Pool was very nice, breakfast was also great. Location was great on the side of a canal with lots of restaurants round about. Appears to be an old warehouse building which has been upgraded stylishly with modern art here and there.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    7.9
    Great location, close to river-side bars and restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast room can be busy and choice a little limited - although you can order a small omlette if time allows

    Great location, close to river-side bars and restaurants, excellent secure public parking close by.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    Quite cool hotel on a nice square and by the canal in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very noisy on a weekend night with rooms facing the square, hard to sleep. Very expensive breakfast (EUR 20).Recommending "Le Pain Quotidien" nearby on shopping street instead.

    Quite cool hotel on a nice square and by the canal in Mechelen. Nice rooms and wellness area.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    5.4
    location is great
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The coffee machine in the room did not work, the doors in the evening did not open, we had to wait together with other guests for about 15 minutes untill someong came to open them, also at the check in the receptioniste gave us some room keys who did not seem to work,

    location is great

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.8
    The design is very good, the breakfast is ecellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access by car is not optimal. But there is parking space close by, but when one arrives during evening hours it could be filled up.

    The design is very good, the breakfast is ecellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    The hotel has a boutique feel with some nice design features...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel has a boutique feel with some nice design features as its an old converted cigar factory. The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable as are the beds. The location in the Vismarkt right next to the river is superb and right in the middle of things, as its also only a 2 minute walk from the Grote markt.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is nothing Special. The Hotel is a Little "cold" and with no charm

    Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    Large comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms very dark

    Large comfy beds

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Very dark rooms including the public rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very dark rooms including the public rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Mechelen Vé traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: