Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Honfleur 3 stars

Paul de Smet de Naeyerstraat 19, 8430 Middelkerke, Belgium

#31 of 55 hotels in Middelkerke

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Top location, friendly staff but need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Fridge does not work. We also inform their staffs but it seems like they knew it already and does not care to fix it anytime soon. Although, they are nice to offer us to keep our baby food in their restaurant fridge. Appreciated it! - Fire safety measures should be better taken care. On the second floor, the fire extinguisher is located at the corner and is blocked by a couch. In reality, if that couch catches fire, you will have no chance to reach the fire extinguisher. I would suggest the hotel to remove that couch away. There is no use of it at that spot anyway. - The hotel room is good enough but very outdated decoration. The bathroom doors are not easy to close it properly. Lighting is a bit too dark in the room. They need to freshen up and renovate their rooms.

    + Top location, just steps away from the beach + Friendly and helpful staffs + Room is ok with outdated decoration + Fast elevator + Parking is nearby, it costs 5 Euro per day + Two supermarkets nearby (one is just opposite to the hotel) + Nice basic breakfast + Easy and fast check-in/out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we would've liked tea and coffee making facilities.

    The location is great, very close to the beach, parking is a slight pain as its roadside away from the hotel, although it is free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, good value in a very quiet resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a shame the restaurant closed at 6.30 each evening, as we would have liked to dine there (Booking.com advertised this as early closing on a Sunday evening but was in fact every day). Although we stayed at the end of May there were more food and drink places closed than open at night, as the season doesn't appear to get fully underway until later in June. The choice of restaurant was therefore somewhat limited but there were a couple of good friturs and plenty of choice in Newport and Ostend, both a short tram ride away. Middelkerke is a pleasant resort but we found it very, very quiet - can't fault the hotel though.

    The hotel was centrally located, just a short walk from the nearest tram stop. Katrien made us very welcome and served a great breakfast each day. The food was wonderfully fresh and tasty. Although the view was comprised of rooftops and the rear of taller buildings it was away from the road and very quiet, which suited us perfectly. Our room was fine, and although the smallest of the ones we had throughout our trip it was perfectly adequate, well decorated and clean. Staying at an independent family business made a pleasant change from the chain hotels we stayed in elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like really. We didn't find any hotel parking but pay and display on the road outside is free until 9am and there is no bar or coffee making facilities but these are less common in Europe than UK so can't complain.

    Comfortable beds, quiet, clean, warm, powerful hot shower, continental breakfast with lovely fresh bread. We arrived late but this was no problem, hotel and room key were left in the key safe outside. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the promenade and 5 minutes from the town centre where we found a great bar for a well deserved beer or two after the long drive. Great value hotel with friendly hosts, would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    8.3
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed too low

    Good breakfast and near the beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, convenient position, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, good storage overnight for our bikes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Boutique hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and friendly operaters, very good restaurant. Also good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    6.3
    I went too the restaurant for a evening meal and was told...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I went too the restaurant for a evening meal and was told they had sold out of everything. I went elsewhere for a meal and found a excellent restaurant. On my return they where still open and serving.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.8
    Good stop over travelling onto Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had to pick....parking, but not too far away

    Good stop over travelling onto Germany. Restaurant is always very busy over a weekend so book ahead.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    4.6
    The room was very dark and at the back ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dark and at the back , the bathroom was very clean . The quilt cover on the was torn and the base sheet didnt fit it was to small for the double bed and kept coming of when we slept . The light fitting by one side of the bed kept dropping down when you switched it on and during our stay and then it turned all the lights of to which my husband go down to the restaurant and ask the proprieter to fix them which was done , but asked us not to touch it again as it was loose !

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Very nice owners, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice owners, comfortable room. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    5.0
    Location near beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No place to dry towels Very small room Poor breakfast Bathroom unfinished project

    Location near beach

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: