Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Westendia

Duinenlaan 35, 8434 Westende, Belgium

#19 of 31 hotels in Westende

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Calm environment and familiar hotel close to all important places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel forgot to inform that the front door was sometimes closed but that there was a back door always open!!!!

    The location, close to the beach and centre of town, yet in a calm environment, the confortable bed, the large bathroom, the very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed a spacious and clean bedroom with nice terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a spacious and clean bedroom with nice terrace. The breakfast room was nicely decorated with beautiful tablecloths and provide enough choice for the boosting day start. Although hotel is in walking distance from the lively beaches and the public transport it is in very quiet place. This has enriched our comfortable sleep in a commodious bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    8.3
    A nice room close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a toilette in the room number 1 was uncomfortable

    a simple but tasty breakfast, a variety of bread, quite close to the sandy beach spacious rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Nice family hotel in a quiet residential area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in a quiet residential area. Very helpful and friendly staff to meet all your needs (due to early departure, they offered to serve me breakfast outside the normal hours) Large and clean room with terrace and garden view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.2
    Very good value with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is necessary to go into Westende Bad for a good choice of restaurants.For older guests It will need a short car drive.For younger guests,the walk will be fine. It is quiet,which is good and easy free parking at the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good.There was a large choice of breakfast food.good to see eggs available.The bread and croissants was fresh and warm.Full marks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    8.3
    marvellous weekend, does the sun shine so gloriously there all the time ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattress was so-so but not really bad

    value for money clean room - big bathroom (nothing luxurious) great breakfast (no buffet and I was happy about that) lots of parking space = priceless !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    8.3
    Reasonably priced no-frills accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queen size bed=two singles pushed together only joined by sheet! My friend who is a very large person fell between them and narrowly avoided injury. A simple fitting could be used to join beds together securely when needed. During our breakfast we wanted more butter but could not get attention from owner who was having a loud conversation with other guest. We had to 'steal' from another table. Couldn't open sliding door to terrace. Owner opened for me then I couldn't close it when we went to dinner. Bit of a security risk despite his assurances.

    Very clean. Parking outside our room. Very quiet location away from busy roads Nice breakfast. Reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    6.3
    North Sea Adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Poor Internet, too dark room (room 4). It had clean towels, but no change of bedclothes. Strange for 10 days.

    Nice breakfast, quiet place, amazing seaside. Very friendly owner. Good family hotel for short stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.7
    It was what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.6
    No regrets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.3
    Will stay again
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, excellent host, very helpful and accommodating. Great for the price 👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The budget room was basic and the shower lacked a screen.

    Excellent breakfast. Nice quiet location but convenient for tram system to Ostende.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    10
    tres bon week end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    patron super cool, etablissement tres correcte, endroit tres calme

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.5
    Not bad for a two stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great for that sort of hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    6.7
    a warm welcome and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a warm welcome and great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2016

    9.6
    Room was clean and recently decorated, beds were comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was clean and recently decorated, beds were comfortable, continental style breakfast was just what we wanted. Nice view out to the garden with a small terrace(ground floor). Off street parking outside the room was perfect. Ideal location for what we needed and a very helpful host that could not do enough for us. Would definitely use again.

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2015

    9.2
    A conveniently positioned, friendly small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Struggling to think of anything!

    A conveniently positioned, friendly small hotel. Breakfast was well presented and adequate as continental breakfasts go.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    8.8
    big and cozy room, breakfast was simple but enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there were mosquitos in the room

    big and cozy room, breakfast was simple but enough. I called the hotel because I wasn't sure I could be there before 18:00 and they didn't have any issues and provided a very quick solution.

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2015

    6.3
    quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - shower holder, difficult taking shower holding shower with one hand. - no little fridge in rooms - breakfast started at 8h30, should be at 7am for early birds

    quiet location. large room

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    6.3
    It was clean in the room (bathroom was run down) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This was more like a motel to me, while it was clean it was run down. The shower head in the bathroom was broken so you and to hold it an the water pressure was only a drizzle so my daughter couldn't hardly get the soap off her. There was some mold/mildew stuff in the bath/shower area. The door was hard to open and shut to get in and to of the room. The bathroom door didn't even had a handle in toilet room and you had to put your fingernail in a hole to open the door. It was not as close to the beach as the description claimed, probably double that but there is a parking lot near the beach if needed. The walls were paper thin and we could hear the loud family beside us. The bed was comfortable but no screens so hubby got bit several times by mosquitoes during the night even after shutting the windows. The breakfast was great, European style, and it yummy.

    It was clean in the room (bathroom was run down) and the wifi worked. The breakfast was good. I loved that it was fairly close to the beach, not as close as advertised but close.

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    4.6
    The location was convenient as it suited our journey towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room toilet was blocked and we were disappointed with the managers response saying it was a minor technical problem!! it was not too us!! we eventually had to use the room next door toilet, it was luck that this room was vacant.

    The location was convenient as it suited our journey towards Holland.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    6.3
    Large airy bedroom with views over a quiet garden area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unattended reception on our arrival (a post-it note with instructions stuck to the lobby window) and not not open for breakfast before 8.30. The most expensive B&B of 7 during a week-long tour of Belgium, so not best value.

    Large airy bedroom with views over a quiet garden area

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2015

    7.9
    Very clean and wide, well heated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furniture was poor but it wasn't a problem for a short stay.

    Very clean and wide, well heated rooms. Breakfast with good warm croissants . The owner was kind and served us breakfast very early the day of departure despite normal time for breakfast was much later.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    10
    Everything OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    Everything OK

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    7.1
    Big room with terrace, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea, coffee facilities, room just needs freshening up.

    Big room with terrace, breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2015

    7.5
    the room is large enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom is outdated, but functional.

    the room is large enough

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    10
    The locality room size and breakfast were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The locality room size and breakfast were excellent. The staff were courteous and we'd have no problem with booking the hotel again.

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2015

    10
    Very friendly very quiet close to the trams and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly very quiet close to the trams and beach

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff. Only 15mins walk to seafront.

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    7.1
    Good local beers and good fresh breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good local beers and good fresh breakfast selection. Good size room fo family of 4 if only a bit dated

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    7.9
    It was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was quiet. Parking is immediately outside the room. Rooms are large, with a terrace overlooking garden.

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2015

    7.1
    IT WAS OK - THE WIFI WAS EASY TO CONNECT TO & A GOOD...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    SOME OF THE LIGHTS DID NOT WORK IN THE ROOM, LIGHT SWITCH WAS HIDDEN

    IT WAS OK - THE WIFI WAS EASY TO CONNECT TO & A GOOD SIGNAL

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Westendia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: